Switch Theme:

Let's go ahead and settle this, Can IC who join Harlequin units Run and Charge?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I thought this would be a rule that is going to come up and well, I think it's pretty clear that this is in fact the case.

The Harlequin Masque, Detachment allows units from turn 2 onward to run and charge in the same turn. If a independent character that is not a Harlequin joins the squad can the squad run and charge in the same turn?

I say yes, it does not stop being a unit of Harlequins.

Here's the problem, what kind of unit is it when it's 1 IC and another IC?

What if a Shadowseer joins a unit of Wyches? Do the Wyches gain the run and charge? It's still considered a unit and is allowed to declare a charge if it runs.

Anyway this is the question that's going to come up eventually thought I'd get it out there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/23 22:32:50


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Depends. Who joined who?

If IC A moves into coherency of IC B, then the unit is IC B.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

That's a good point. Having someone join you and you joining someone else are different.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/23 22:33:30


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

I think if an IC joins a unit from C:H then yes as they become a part of that unit for all rules purposes.

Not so much in the SS joining the Wyches example for the same reason in reverse.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

If they are Battle Brothers then the IC can join the unit(pg 127, only Battle Brothers can join each other's units). And as long as at least 1 model in the unit has H&R (pg 165) the whole unit can hit and run.

So if you're Battle Brothers then yes, it can confer.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Yeah the question wasn't regarding Hit and Run but rather those two.

A Non Harlequin IC joining a Harlequin Character do they gain the ability to charge and run?

A Harlequin joining say a Wych Squad do they gain the ability to charge and run?

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

Hollismason wrote:
Yeah the question wasn't regarding Hit and Run but rather those two.

A Non Harlequin IC joining a Harlequin Character do they gain the ability to charge and run?

A Harlequin joining say a Wych Squad do they gain the ability to charge and run?


You did see the second part where I pointed out that Hit and Run only needs a model in the unit with the rule to use it right? It's a rule that confers.
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian



New York

It depends on the exact wording of the special rule that allows them to run and charge. Can anyone provide the exact wording?

 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

 ClockworkZion wrote:
Hollismason wrote:
Yeah the question wasn't regarding Hit and Run but rather those two.

A Non Harlequin IC joining a Harlequin Character do they gain the ability to charge and run?

A Harlequin joining say a Wych Squad do they gain the ability to charge and run?


You did see the second part where I pointed out that Hit and Run only needs a model in the unit with the rule to use it right? It's a rule that confers.

The new Harlequin formation allows units within it to run and then charge. He is asking about whether that ability confers to battle brother units.

Hit and run is a separate issue and is quite clear as you stated.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

 Eldarain wrote:
 ClockworkZion wrote:
Hollismason wrote:
Yeah the question wasn't regarding Hit and Run but rather those two.

A Non Harlequin IC joining a Harlequin Character do they gain the ability to charge and run?

A Harlequin joining say a Wych Squad do they gain the ability to charge and run?


You did see the second part where I pointed out that Hit and Run only needs a model in the unit with the rule to use it right? It's a rule that confers.

The new Harlequin formation allows units within it to run and then charge. He is asking about whether that ability confers to battle brother units.

Hit and run is a separate issue and is quite clear as you stated.

I don't have the book yet, so the question is, does it give those models the Hit and Run rule specifically (like how the Decurion gives models Relentless) or does it just say that they may Hit and Run?

I think the distinction will rest there (pending FAQs 3 years from now).
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

You can't normally charge after running. This formation allows units within it to do so. He wants to know if an IC from the formation joins a BB unit can they then run and charge.

Hit and Run is not part of the formations rules. Harlequins do have it and confer to others normally as you described.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

The main special detachment allows you to run and charge as well.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




Bournemouth

It all depens on the wording of the rule...

"Units in this formation may run and charge..."
Yes, the IC joins the unit and is subject to this rule.

"Models in this formation may run and charge..."
No, the IC is subject to rules effecting the unit, this rule doesnt it effects models.

I dont have access to the Harlequin formation in question, but it comes down to the rule saying units or models.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And to add, if the IC joins a not Formation unit the IC is subject to rules that effect his new unit, not units from his formation. As he is kind of no longer a "unit" from the formation, hes a model in another unit now.

IC joining IC, very hard to say

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/23 23:39:03


WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Assuming it applies to units from the Harlequins detachment, if an non-Harlequins IC joins a Harlequins unit then absolutely they remain a Harlequins unit.

If a Harlequins IC joins a non-Harlequins unit then absolutely not, as the unit is a non-Harlequins unit.

If a non-Harlequins IC and a Harlequins IC are joined then it seems it would depend on which IC moved into coherency with the other.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ClockworkZion wrote:
I don't have the book yet, so the question is, does it give those models the Hit and Run rule specifically (like how the Decurion gives models Relentless) or does it just say that they may Hit and Run?

I think the distinction will rest there (pending FAQs 3 years from now).


Stop asking about Hit and Run. The question is NOT ABOUT hit and run, this has been made clear 3 or 4 times now.

Some Harlequin formations allow you to make a Run move and then Declare a Charge in the same turn. The query is whether a non-Harlequin IC joining a Harlequin unit frmo one of these formations could Run and then Declare a charge, or whether they would prohibit the unit from doing so.

From memory alone, the wording is "units from", as an IC is anormal member of theunit for all rules purposes, and the unit most definitely is from C:H, they can indeed charge and run.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




As to the issue of only 2 IC's joining each other, it would appear that it would not have the ability to both run and charge. The unit of the 2 IC's would be both Factions and be both a unit from the Detachment/Formation and not a unit from the Detachment/Formation. This hybrid status does not comply with the conditions of the ability. It does not matter who joins whom because the rules state:

"While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes,..."

Regardless of who joins whom, they are part of each other's unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/24 16:30:52


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The IC does not have the special rule when joined to the unit, because special rules for formations/detachments are given to the models in them prior to deployment.

So the rule would have to state it affects the unit in the special rule itself, if it states 'models with this rule' then the unit would not be able to use it with the IC attached that does not have the special rule. If the rule states 'units with this rule' or something similar, it appears the IC counts as a member of the unit for "all rules purposes" and the unit would benefit from the rule. As the IC is part of the unit, it would also appear to benefit from the rule.

Until someone can verbatim quote the rule and not the leaked poor translation from italy/spain in the rumors thread it is hard to discuss the issue.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






blaktoof wrote:
Until someone can verbatim quote the rule and not the leaked poor translation from italy/spain in the rumors thread it is hard to discuss the issue.
Codex: Harlequins, p68 wrote:Rising Crescendo: From the start of the second turn, all units in this Detachment that have the Fleet special rule can Run and Charge in the same turn.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Happyjew wrote:
Depends. Who joined who?

If IC A moves into coherency of IC B, then the unit is IC B.


Got a rules quote to support that?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 FlingitNow wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Depends. Who joined who?

If IC A moves into coherency of IC B, then the unit is IC B.


Got a rules quote to support that?


Independent Character rules.

To join a unit an IC simply has to move so that they are within coherency at the end of the Movement phase.

So, two IC's 12" apart. IC A moves 6" towards IC B. IC B moves 4" towards IC A. IC B moved so that at the end of the Movement phase he is in coherency with IC A, thus joining the unit "IC A".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





IC A also moved such that he was within 2" of IC B at the end of the movement phase. Unless you're claiming IC A moves 6" towards unit B, unit B moves 4" towards IC A, means IC A does not join unit B? Is that your claim.

Always both ICs have moved such that they have ended the movement phase within 2" of each other, even if one elected to not move such that he ended the movement phase within 2" of the other.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Happyjew wrote:

Independent Character rules.

To join a unit an IC simply has to move so that they are within coherency at the end of the Movement phase.

So, two IC's 12" apart. IC A moves 6" towards IC B. IC B moves 4" towards IC A. IC B moved so that at the end of the Movement phase he is in coherency with IC A, thus joining the unit "IC A".


As I quoted above, the rules regarding IC's don't concern themselves with who joined whom in the "part of the unit for all rules purposes" language. It is irrelevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/24 22:06:46


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The IC who was joined isn't part of the unit, they are the unit. So yes, it does care.
   
Made in us
Masculine Male Wych





 Quanar wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
Until someone can verbatim quote the rule and not the leaked poor translation from italy/spain in the rumors thread it is hard to discuss the issue.
Codex: Harlequins, p68 wrote:Rising Crescendo: From the start of the second turn, all units in this Detachment that have the Fleet special rule can Run and Charge in the same turn.


Based on the wording, I'd say no, an IC that joins a Harlequin unit /cannot/ take advantage of the Run and Charge. It says "units in this detachment" (referring to the harlequin units in the formation/masque), and while an allied Battle Brother IC could join them, he's not part of their detachment, despite being part of their unit.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





So the Harlequin unit, despite being a unit in the detachment, cannot use Rising Crescendo?

Why is that?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
The IC who was joined isn't part of the unit, they are the unit. So yes, it does care.


That makes absolutely no sense. After they have been joined they are absolutely part of a unit. The unit is 2 IC's of which each is a part of.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/24 22:13:43


 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

Angelic wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
The IC who was joined isn't part of the unit, they are the unit. So yes, it does care.


That makes absolutely no sense. After they have been joined they are absolutely part of a unit.

The question is which IC is being joined to make it a unit.

I can't find anywhere in the rulebook that details how you determine who joined who. As we are only given permission to declare who an IC is joining if there are more than one available options.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Eldarain wrote:
Angelic wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
The IC who was joined isn't part of the unit, they are the unit. So yes, it does care.


That makes absolutely no sense. After they have been joined they are absolutely part of a unit.

The question is which IC is being joined to make it a unit.

I can't find anywhere in the rulebook that details how you determine who joined who. As we are only given permission to declare who an IC is joining if there are more than one available options.


It doesn't matter. The rules say "While and Independent Character is part of a unit...". It is not a once and done thing determined by who joined whom. How is it possible to say that either IC is not part of a unit of 2 members?
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

If two BB ICs move within 2" of each other and join to form a unit which detachment is the unit from for the purposes of utilizing detachment specific special rules.

A? B? Both? Neither?

Honest question. I don't know.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




 Quanar wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
Until someone can verbatim quote the rule and not the leaked poor translation from italy/spain in the rumors thread it is hard to discuss the issue.
Codex: Harlequins, p68 wrote:Rising Crescendo: From the start of the second turn, all units in this Detachment that have the Fleet special rule can Run and Charge in the same turn.


Just so it doesn't get overlooked, the IC that is joining a Harlequin unit must also have Fleet. As quoted above, the Run and Charge ability applies to Units with Fleet, and Units only have Fleet if they are "...composed entirely of models with this special rule..." (from the Fleet entry in the BRB. This might not settle the arguement of the 2 IC unit, but it might lower the instances in which it applies.

Edit: Never mind, I just looked at how many IC choices for the Eldar and Dark Eldar have Fleet. It only rules out 2 from the Dark Eldar and none from the Eldar.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/24 23:11:32


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: