Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:06:15
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
rigeld2 wrote: Tonberry7 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Tonberry7 wrote:I did read your post, and yes, you did attempt to address it. Unfortunately, as I said, all you managed to establish is that reserves arrive that turn, not that they arrive before the Movement phase. But why are you even continuing to discuss Reserves? You've already conceded that units summoned via the Blood Tithe aren't coming from reserve so it's really not relevant to the issue of the of the Bloodthirster being summoned this way. However, just to draw a line under this issue, I'll run you through the RAW.
I wasn't the first person who brought it up. I was responding to you arguing about Reserves.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/preList/641693/7715421.page
Well, the rules state that they move "onto the table as described below". Let's then look below where the rules say "When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge". So when do we move units? In the Movement phase. The rules also state that "A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve". This is because it has missed the start of the turn phase, having entered play at the start of the Movement phase. We already know Deep Striking units arrive during the Movement Phase; why would it be any different for units in Reserve moving on from the board edge?
So you are actually contending that Reserves that arrive on T4 arrive at a different time than those on turns 2 and 3? And Ongoing Reserves also arrive at a different time than normal Reserves?
In actual fact, the way the Reserves rules are written is very compatible with them arriving during the Movement Phase and there are no rules or conflicts suggesting that this isn't the case. The only explicit restriction is that you must move all your arriving Reserves before moving your other units but this is not at all incompatible with the Reserves arriving during the Movement Phase; indeed if they were arriving during the start of the turn phase this instruction would be redundant and unnecessary.
The fact that it's redundant doesn't mean anything.
It's a reminder more than anything else - that you can't move a unit out of the way and then move Reserves on.
I also love how you snipped part of my post out that addressed literally every word you typed in this one before you even typed it.
Do Reserves arrive on turn 4 at the same point in the turn that they do on turns 2 and 3? If you say no, be prepared to back up your answer with rules. I'd love an answer to this question.
Do Ongoing Reserves arrive at the same point in the turn as regular Reserves? If you say no, be prepared to back up your answer with rules. I'd love an answer to this question.
1. Apologies for not addressing your post straight away, however, I have a life outside of internet forums and can't be on here all day every day.
Even though you replied to other comments twice before now? Yeah, okay.
2. I thought we had agreed that Reserves were irrelevant to the topic under discussion, namely a Bloodthirster being summoned via the Blood Tithe and whether or not it can change flight modes in the turn in which it arrives. Yet you still continue to discuss Reserves, in fact it's the only thing you seem able to discuss.
No, we never "agreed" to that - you made that assertion after you brought it up and I showed you that you were wrong.
It's not irrelevant, no matter how much you want to pretend it is.
3. I'm going to choose not to answer your questions, and not because my answers would "prove me wrong" (they wouldn't). Firstly, the answers would be as irrelevant as the questions themselves, but also because your entire post offers nothing of merit in terms of the rules debate. You haven't presented any new arguments discussing the topic, in fact you haven't offered any arguments at all. All you have posted are a few questions that have nothing to do with a Blood Tithe Bloodthirster. To be honest I had expected some semblance of a reasoned response, but your posts are starting to sound like Flingitnow's and quite frankly smack of desperation. If you have a fresh argument regarding the rules that you can back up with citations, please do present it, but just to respond with questions is weak in terms of presenting a case.
I've presented the rules, you've ignored the citations. Instead of discussing rules, you simply tell me I'm wrong. When I find an alternate method of explaining to you (asking questions) you pretend it's irrelevant and want to ignore it.
Poor debate form sir.
Finally, I've shown in this thread, over the course of several posts, with citations and explanations, how the RAW allow a Bloodthirster being summoned via the Blood Tithe to change flight modes during the same turn and therefore charge the next turn.
That's incorrect - you've posted citations and assertions, but they do not match with the actual rules, especially since you must ignore rules to get your assertions to be correct.
Nothing you've posted (or any other posts) has proven this to be incorrect; if you can come up with any new (and valid) points please let me know and I'll have a look but until then there's it's fairly clear that there's little point in discussing it further. You've obviously decided for some reason that you don't like the fact that the Blood Tithe Bloodthirster can do this by RAW and will argue against it no matter what, even though your counter-arguments to date have involved irrelevant topics, unsafe assumptions, and the outright ignoring of some rules.
a) Insinuating bias when there is none is rude.
b) Cite a single rule my arguments ignore. Just one please - or retract the statement.
c) You've asserted and literally failed to prove that the Blood Tithe'd Thirster is unique in its arrival prior to the movement phase. As a matter of fact, this isn't true. This is why the Reserves argument is relevant - this "uniqueness" is core to your argument and trivial to debunk, but you'd rather ignore that.
So unless GW issue a rules errata, I'm going to continue to summon Blood Tithe Bloodthirsters and then charge them in the next turn. And no, this won't be HIWPI or a House Rule, but a perfectly permissible tactic fully compatible with the RAW as they stand.
I can't help it if you decide to cheat, but please don't present that as actual rules as they're written - because they're not. As I've (and others have) shown.
So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:10:30
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
I assume this is you conceding. There is nothing unique about the Blood tithe summoning beyond not starting in reserves nor rolling for arrival. You go ahead with your houserule when you summon then move your BT and then charge the following turn. Don't be surprised if your opponents give you funny looks or call you on your cheatingg. But good luck with your future endeavours.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:13:37
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Have we got a consensus yet ladies and gents? Automatically Appended Next Post: FlingitNow wrote: So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
I assume this is you conceding. There is nothing unique about the Blood tithe summoning beyond not starting in reserves nor rolling for arrival. You go ahead with your houserule when you summon then move your BT and then charge the following turn. Don't be surprised if your opponents give you funny looks or call you on your cheatingg. But good luck with your future endeavours.
Dude haven't read the rest of the thread much but you need to take a chill pill, go have a cup of tea and then come back or something as you seem like your raeging hard.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/07 22:14:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:33:55
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
FlingitNow wrote: So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
I assume this is you conceding. There is nothing unique about the Blood tithe summoning beyond not starting in reserves nor rolling for arrival. You go ahead with your houserule when you summon then move your BT and then charge the following turn. Don't be surprised if your opponents give you funny looks or call you on your cheatingg. But good luck with your future endeavours.
Don't break a YMDC tenant and accuse people of cheating just because they aren't convinced by your argument.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:38:45
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Ignatius wrote: FlingitNow wrote: So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
I assume this is you conceding. There is nothing unique about the Blood tithe summoning beyond not starting in reserves nor rolling for arrival. You go ahead with your houserule when you summon then move your BT and then charge the following turn. Don't be surprised if your opponents give you funny looks or call you on your cheatingg. But good luck with your future endeavours.
Don't break a YMDC tenant and accuse people of cheating just because they aren't convinced by your argument.
So got any argument as to why a summoned BT is different from one that arrived from DS reserve in terms of what actions they can take? Anything? Automatically Appended Next Post: Have we got a consensus yet ladies and gents?
In terms of RaW yes we have a Consensus. However some people think their made up wish list of rules that they can move the same turn they arrive by DS take precedent over RaW.
RaW there is nothing different between a Blood Tithe thirster and one that arrived by DS reserves. They arrive at the same time and nothing in the Blood Tithe summoning rules changes what actions you can make regardless of what people want them to say.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/07 22:42:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:48:33
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
FlingitNow wrote: Ignatius wrote: FlingitNow wrote: So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
I assume this is you conceding. There is nothing unique about the Blood tithe summoning beyond not starting in reserves nor rolling for arrival. You go ahead with your houserule when you summon then move your BT and then charge the following turn. Don't be surprised if your opponents give you funny looks or call you on your cheatingg. But good luck with your future endeavours.
Don't break a YMDC tenant and accuse people of cheating just because they aren't convinced by your argument.
So got any argument as to why a summoned BT is different from one that arrived from DS reserve in terms of what actions they can take? Anything?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Have we got a consensus yet ladies and gents?
In terms of RaW yes we have a Consensus. However some people think their made up wish list of rules that they can move the same turn they arrive by DS take precedent over RaW.
RaW there is nothing different between a Blood Tithe thirster and one that arrived by DS reserves. They arrive at the same time and nothing in the Blood Tithe summoning rules changes what actions you can make regardless of what people want them to say.
thanks for the reply fling, now seriously get off the bleeding internet for 10 mins and relax, have a smoke or whatever, your posts are oozing anger and frustration, go listen to always look on the bright side of life, that always does it for me mate!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 22:54:12
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Formosa wrote:thanks for the reply fling, now seriously get off the bleeding internet for 10 mins and relax, have a smoke or whatever, your posts are oozing anger and frustration, go listen to always look on the bright side of life, that always does it for me mate!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJUhlRoBL8M
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 23:04:04
Subject: Re:Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My 2 cents. Units that arrive via deep strike must begin the game in reserves. Thems the deepstrike rules. This means, to me, that a tithe summoned model begins the game the moment the rules allow for its unit's creation. Since it must come arrive via deep strike the unit is created in reserves and then arrives. This satisfies the the deep strike rules with a new(ish) interruption of what it means to begin the game in reserve. it also means that tithe summoned units are also units that are arriving from reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 23:17:34
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
thanks for the reply fling, now seriously get off the bleeding internet for 10 mins and relax, have a smoke or whatever, your posts are oozing anger and frustration, go listen to always look on the bright side of life, that always does it for me mate!
I shall never and will never get off the internet. You can not silence me!!!!!! Your mind tricks can't work on me I am protected by my foil hat!
Back on topic. In terms of RaW we must now have a Consensus. However some people still think their made up wish list of rules that they can move the same turn they arrive by DS take precedent over RaW.
RaW there is nothing different between a Blood Tithe thirster and one that arrived by DS reserves. They arrive at the same time and nothing in the Blood Tithe summoning rules changes what actions you can make regardless of what people want them to say.
Play it how you and your group wishes. If you want to play it that the BT can chance flight modes the turn it arrives and your group agrees to those houserules that's great. If you want to play it so that space marines are all T5 with 2+ armour and your group agrees that is fine too.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/07 23:59:25
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dude. Having a different opinion to you isn't making stuff up or wishlisting. Sometimes it's reading something and interpreting it a different way.
The RAW argument is simple. There is no rule , written down anywhere at all that prevents something brought in via blood thithe moving after it arrives.
Find a rule that prevents movement. Quote it , and we can finish this argument. All this stuff about reserves is totally irrelevant.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 00:59:57
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
pg 110 Khorne Daemonkin Codex
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
As the Daemonkin shed blood they draw Khorne’s burning gaze; whether the sacrifice is
theirs or their foes’ matters not.
A Khorne Daemonkin army generates Blood Tithe points during the course of each battle;
the controlling player must keep a record of how many points his army accrues. A Blood
Tithe point is generated each time one of the following events occurs during the game
(this may mean that you earn multiple Blood Tithe points simultaneously):
• A unit containing at least one model with the Blood for the Blood God! special rule is
completely destroyed, or destroys an enemy unit.
• A character with the Blood for the Blood God! special rule is slain, or slays an enemy
character in a challenge.
The maximum number of Blood Tithe points an army can have at any one time is 8; any
additional points generated are lost. The controlling player can choose to expend Blood
Tithe points at the start of any of his turns. To do so, pick one reward on the Blood Tithe
table opposite that has a value equal to or less than your number of Blood Tithe points.
When one or more Blood Tithe points are expended, any remaining points are lost,
though more points can be generated later in the game as normal.
Pg 111 Khorne Daemonkin Codex
"when a rule indicates a unit is summoned, a new unit under your control immediately arrives via Deep strike within range of the specified unit(s) on the board."
You can decide to summon a unit, then you follow the rules for Deepstrike. NOTHING to suggest it's handled any differently from the standard use of the USR.
pg 162 BRB
"In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must start the game in Reserve. When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve). Some units must arrive by Deep Strike. They always begin the game in Reserve and always arrive by Deep Strike."
"In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one"
pg 26 BRB
Conjuration Conjuration powers can summon units across great distances, call new allies to the fray, or even create them from the raw stuff of the Warp. Each conjuration power specifies the type and number of models to be conjured. Unless stated otherwise, the new unit cannot take any additional options or upgrades. If you do not have enough models to place the entire unit on the board, place as many as you can – the excess are destroyed. When the power is resolved, the new unit then arrives via Deep Strike, within the power’s maximum range; the new unit is under your control and is treated as having arrived from Reserves for all rules purposes. If the new unit suffers a Deep Strike mishap and ends up in Ongoing Reserves, it can Deep Strike anywhere on the board when it enters play. If the new unit is a Psyker, generate its psychic power( s) as soon as the conjuration is manifested; the new unit cannot attempt to manifest conjuration powers on the same turn it was itself conjured. If the new unit has any random powers/ abilities that would normally need to be generated before the start of the game, generate them at the same time. Unless otherwise noted, conjured units are scoring units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 06:19:37
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
FlingitNow wrote: So, you have nothing resembling a relevant argument to add then? I didn't think so. Thank you for proving my point, it seems we're finished here.
I did enjoy your accusation of cheating though. Cheating does involve breaking the rules though - which I'm not.
I assume this is you conceding. There is nothing unique about the Blood tithe summoning beyond not starting in reserves nor rolling for arrival. You go ahead with your houserule when you summon then move your BT and then charge the following turn. Don't be surprised if your opponents give you funny looks or call you on your cheatingg. But good luck with your future endeavours.
Your assumption is wrong then, just like your assumptions about the rules in this case. And I've had absolutely no issues so far with opponents, playing by the rules, because it's easy to demonstrate that this is correct in terms of RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 09:53:47
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:Dude. Having a different opinion to you isn't making stuff up or wishlisting. Sometimes it's reading something and interpreting it a different way.
The RAW argument is simple. There is no rule , written down anywhere at all that prevents something brought in via blood thithe moving after it arrives.
Find a rule that prevents movement. Quote it , and we can finish this argument. All this stuff about reserves is totally irrelevant.
So do you believe the same is true for FMCs that arrive by DS? If not explain what the difference is using rules. Automatically Appended Next Post: Your assumption is wrong then, just like your assumptions about the rules in this case. And I've had absolutely no issues so far with opponents, playing by the rules, because it's easy to demonstrate that this is correct in terms of RAW.
Cool if the people in your area are fine with you making up rules to suit yourself and you enjoy playing that way then crack on. So what about the Blood Tithe rules make it any different to arriving by DS reserve? You agree they bith arrive at the start of your turn as the rules explicitly state this (so if you disagree you must mark your posts HYWPI according to forum rules).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/08 09:57:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:01:02
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
FlingitNow wrote:Captyn_Bob wrote:Dude. Having a different opinion to you isn't making stuff up or wishlisting. Sometimes it's reading something and interpreting it a different way.
The RAW argument is simple. There is no rule , written down anywhere at all that prevents something brought in via blood thithe moving after it arrives.
Find a rule that prevents movement. Quote it , and we can finish this argument. All this stuff about reserves is totally irrelevant.
So do you believe the same is true for FMCs that arrive by DS? If not explain what the difference is using rules.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Your assumption is wrong then, just like your assumptions about the rules in this case. And I've had absolutely no issues so far with opponents, playing by the rules, because it's easy to demonstrate that this is correct in terms of RAW.
Cool if the people in your area are fine with you making up rules to suit yourself and you enjoy playing that way then crack on. So what about the Blood Tithe rules make it any different to arriving by DS reserve? You agree they bith arrive at the start of your turn as the rules explicitly state this (so if you disagree you must mark your posts HYWPI according to forum rules).
I don't agree because the rules don't explicitly state this. If they did you would be able to provide a straighforwards quote. The reality is you've just made that up and provides just one example of your incorrect assumptions. What the rules actually say is that you make the roll at the start of your turn to see if the Deep Strike unit arrives that turn. The unit then arrives by Deep Strike in the movement phase as the Deep Strike rules state. The difference with the Blood Tithe summons is that it is given explicit permission to arrive immediately, in the start of turn phase, overruling this part of the Deep Strike rules because codex > rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:18:41
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Tonberry7 wrote:I don't agree because the rules don't explicitly state this. If they did you would be able to provide a straighforwards quote. The reality is you've just made that up and provides just one example of your incorrect assumptions. What the rules actually say is that you make the roll at the start of your turn to see if the Deep Strike unit arrives that turn. The unit then arrives by Deep Strike in the movement phase as the Deep Strike rules state. The difference with the Blood Tithe summons is that it is given explicit permission to arrive immediately, in the start of turn phase, overruling this part of the Deep Strike rules because codex > rulebook.
My 2 cents on this is on the "Deep Strike via Blood Tithe" = / = "Deep Striking from Deep Strike Reserves" side of things, which i can agree to with all the "immediately" wording, and my own view that "arriving by Deep Strike" does not force any involvement of the Reserves rules. I'm happy observing rather than arguing though.
But i would make sure anyone still reading is fully aware that:
- Being in "Deep Strike Reserves" does not equal "arriving by Deep Strike".
"Deep Strike Reserves" =/= "Deep Strike"
I insist !
Rules support: Blood Angels Codex; Drop Pods
Drop Pods and Units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves
Passengers are in "Deep Strike Reserves", however it is impossible for them to be "arriving by Deep Strike".
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:20:26
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Reserves page 135
"At the start of your second turn you must roll..."
"If the roll is less than 3, it remains in Reserve and automatically arrives at the start of your fourth turn."
Ongoing Reserves page 136
"Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of the their controlling player's following turn"
I don't think you understand codex vs rulebook. The codex gives permission to arrive during start of the turn, the rulebook tells you that you arrive during the start of the turn. This is not conflict. Conflict is when they say different things not the same thing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:24:36
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I spoke to my guys about it and while they agree it can't change flight modes they have decided that's pretty naff and will allow it, since I'm the only deamonkin player I opted out of the decision, so hwipi is that it can, even though I don't think it can.
Democracy!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:32:13
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Formosa wrote:I spoke to my guys about it and while they agree it can't change flight modes they have decided that's pretty naff and will allow it, since I'm the only deamonkin player I opted out of the decision, so hwipi is that it can, even though I don't think it can. Democracy! I dunno, i'd really agree with them HYWPI: BlackTalos wrote:By HIWPI: The FMC rule for Deep Striking is assuming you are flying onto the field. Blood Tithe works for a non- FMC Daemon ("summoning"). I do not see why it would be forced to Swoop when being summoned. They might FAQ when pigs fly (Might have read wrong, if you cannot summon a BT without wings? )
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/08 11:33:24
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:38:50
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
FlingitNow wrote:Reserves page 135
"At the start of your second turn you must roll..."
"If the roll is less than 3, it remains in Reserve and automatically arrives at the start of your fourth turn."
Ongoing Reserves page 136
"Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of the their controlling player's following turn"
I don't think you understand codex vs rulebook. The codex gives permission to arrive during start of the turn, the rulebook tells you that you arrive during the start of the turn. This is not conflict. Conflict is when they say different things not the same thing.
No, the rulebook says they arrive in the movement phase. As I've cited several times, but which you still continue to ignore. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlackTalos wrote: Tonberry7 wrote:I don't agree because the rules don't explicitly state this. If they did you would be able to provide a straighforwards quote. The reality is you've just made that up and provides just one example of your incorrect assumptions. What the rules actually say is that you make the roll at the start of your turn to see if the Deep Strike unit arrives that turn. The unit then arrives by Deep Strike in the movement phase as the Deep Strike rules state. The difference with the Blood Tithe summons is that it is given explicit permission to arrive immediately, in the start of turn phase, overruling this part of the Deep Strike rules because codex > rulebook.
My 2 cents on this is on the "Deep Strike via Blood Tithe" = / = "Deep Striking from Deep Strike Reserves" side of things, which i can agree to with all the "immediately" wording, and my own view that "arriving by Deep Strike" does not force any involvement of the Reserves rules. I'm happy observing rather than arguing though.
But i would make sure anyone still reading is fully aware that:
- Being in "Deep Strike Reserves" does not equal "arriving by Deep Strike".
"Deep Strike Reserves" =/= "Deep Strike"
I insist !
Rules support: Blood Angels Codex; Drop Pods
Drop Pods and Units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves
Passengers are in "Deep Strike Reserves", however it is impossible for them to be "arriving by Deep Strike".
I agree with this post. A lot of people can't understand the difference though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/08 11:42:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:49:40
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
No, the rulebook says they arrive in the movement phase. As I've cited several times, but which you still continue to ignore.
A restriction on actions you may take in the move phase you arrive does not mean you arrive in the movement phase. Particularly when all the rules tell you that you arrive at the start of the turn. Please mark all your posts HYWPI if you're arguing that DS reserves do not arrive at the start of the turn. Until you admit that the rules are correct when they tell you that you arrive at the start of the turn we can not engage in discussion as you are refusing to discuss RaW.
So which is it? Do DS reserves arrive at the start of the turn or is the rulebook wrong?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 11:53:27
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote:
So do you believe the same is true for FMCs that arrive by DS? If not explain what the difference is using rules.
Of course I can explain.
The deep strike rules are refreshingly clear and unambiguous,
P162, 'Arriving by Deep Strike' fifth paragraph.
"In the movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one"
So pretty clear Deep Striking units arrive in the movement phase, and cannot move any further. FMCs get told they are in swoop mode and have no opportunity to change it.
No problems here.
Now the reserves section has some text which suggests reserves arrive in the start of the turn. rather than the movement phase. This is interesting, and could be a topic of discussion elsewhere, but ultimately irrelevant to the topic at hand, which is units arriving by blood tithe, which has nothing to do with reserves.
Now the blood tithe specifies that it happens at the start of turn, and that a 'new unit under your control immediately arrives via Deep Strike .. " Immediately means it happens at the start of turn, not the movement phase. So the line quoted above, which specifies the movement phase, cannot apply by RAW.
So as I said the RAW argument is straightforward.
Is it the best way to play it? No idea, and not my problem. I can't afford any bloodthirsters :(
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/08 11:55:59
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:00:37
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
So pretty clear Deep Striking units arrive in the movement phase, and cannot move any further. FMCs get told they are in swoop mode and have no opportunity to change it.
The rule you quoted only stated the 2nd half of your statement. For when you arrive you need these rules:
Reserves page 135
"At the start of your second turn you must roll..."
"If the roll is less than 3, it remains in Reserve and automatically arrives at the start of your fourth turn."
Ongoing Reserves page 136
"Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of the their controlling player's following turn"
So given that all reserves arrive during the start of the turn. How are summoned Daemonkin different? That is what I want to understand. Rather than lying about what phasethey arrive lets just assume the Rulebook is correct when it says they arrive during the start of the turn. So what makes them different (not the same as you keep pointing to). So we know that they both arrive during the start of the turn. Why can one lot move and the other can't?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:11:55
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:Now the blood tithe specifies that it happens at the start of turn, and that a 'new unit under your control immediately arrives via Deep Strike .. " Immediately means it happens at the start of turn, not the movement phase. So the line quoted above, which specifies the movement phase, cannot apply by RAW. So as I said the RAW argument is straightforward. Is it the best way to play it? No idea, and not my problem. I can't afford any bloodthirsters :( Although i agree with the view and conclusions, i'm not sure you can disregard "In the movement phase during which they arrive" as easily as you think. Sure, they're arriving immediately by Deep Strike, but the rules from "Arriving by Deep Strike" must still all apply, including the above. How does the above apply for an arrival before the movement phase? Could you take: "In the movement phase during which they arrive" to mean that, upon arrival that turn (start of Turn), the movement phase ("one phase later") would still have the restrictions that follow (No movement)?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/08 12:12:45
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:21:07
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BlackTalos wrote:
Although i agree with the view and conclusions, i'm not sure you can disregard "In the movement phase during which they arrive" as easily as you think.
Sure, they're arriving immediately by Deep Strike, but the rules from "Arriving by Deep Strike" must still all apply, including the above.
How does the above apply for an arrival before the movement phase?
Could you take: "In the movement phase during which they arrive" to mean that, upon arrival that turn (start of Turn), the movement phase ("one phase later") would still have the restrictions that follow (No movement)?
Well you are told to apply the whole 'Arriving by deep strike' section and not given any permission to change those rules.
So for each line you must judge if it applies or not.
If a line starts, "In the movement phase during which they arrive" I will disregard that line, as it is not the movement phase.
This isn't necessary the best interpretation, but its the only one I can logically make.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/08 12:21:16
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:30:52
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Captyn_Bob wrote: BlackTalos wrote: Although i agree with the view and conclusions, i'm not sure you can disregard "In the movement phase during which they arrive" as easily as you think. Sure, they're arriving immediately by Deep Strike, but the rules from "Arriving by Deep Strike" must still all apply, including the above. How does the above apply for an arrival before the movement phase? Could you take: "In the movement phase during which they arrive" to mean that, upon arrival that turn (start of Turn), the movement phase ("one phase later") would still have the restrictions that follow (No movement)? Well you are told to apply the whole 'Arriving by deep strike' section and not given any permission to change those rules. So for each line you must judge if it applies or not. If a line starts, "In the movement phase during which they arrive" I will disregard that line, as it is not the movement phase. This isn't necessary the best interpretation, but its the only one I can logically make. I think i would disagree. Based on a vague impression though, but looking at the full quote: "In the movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one" The underlined section (to me anyway) is not restricted to the movement phase of that turn. The rule is saying what you are forbidden to do (may not move any further) during the movement phase, but i do not believe it is restricting it's 'existance' to the aforementioned Movement phase. Am i reading it as this? Possibly, but it seems more "right" (personal interpretation after all....) : 'In the movement phase during [the Turn in] which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one' (It is implicit that they are arriving, that Turn, by Deep Strike - it would be hard to disagree "they are not arriving that Turn" or "they are not arriving", when? by BTithe at the start of the Turn)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/08 12:33:02
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:34:18
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That is a valid interpretation, and certainly the first one I came to, but it does involve you ignoring part of the rule, and rewriting it in your head.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:39:46
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
BlackTalos wrote:
Am i reading it as this? Possibly, but it seems more "right" (personal interpretation after all....) :
'In the movement phase during [the Turn in] which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one'
(It is implicit that they are arriving, that Turn, by Deep Strike - it would be hard to disagree "they are not arriving that Turn" or "they are not arriving", when? by BTithe at the start of the Turn)
That is how I interpret it as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:44:37
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:That is a valid interpretation, and certainly the first one I came to, but it does involve you ignoring part of the rule, and rewriting it in your head.
I disagree on it involving ignoring a part of it and rewriting.
I simply read "In the movement phase during which they arrive". and interpret it as said. I suppose it's based on how much you analyse "during which". Does "during which" force the arrival (in the relevance of the rule) or is the arrival independent of "during which" which is used only to restrict you (from movement) in a specific phase?
In the end, it does not solve the problem about changing flight mode, as "At the start of its move" is still a valid time point, when the Movement phase begins. Arguing whether movement is allowed or not in the ensuing movement phase would be another topic IMO....
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:47:51
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
FlingitNow wrote: No, the rulebook says they arrive in the movement phase. As I've cited several times, but which you still continue to ignore.
A restriction on actions you may take in the move phase you arrive does not mean you arrive in the movement phase. Particularly when all the rules tell you that you arrive at the start of the turn. Please mark all your posts HYWPI if you're arguing that DS reserves do not arrive at the start of the turn. Until you admit that the rules are correct when they tell you that you arrive at the start of the turn we can not engage in discussion as you are refusing to discuss RaW.
So which is it? Do DS reserves arrive at the start of the turn or is the rulebook wrong?
I'm arguing that because the rules say "In the movement phase in which they arrive". There is no other way to interpret that statement other than the unit is arriving in the movement phase. Please mark all your posts as HIWPI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/08 12:50:06
Subject: Khorne Daemonkin
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BlackTalos wrote: Arguing whether movement is allowed or not in the ensuing movement phase would be another topic IMO....
I'm not sure my brain can handle another topic...but yeah there do seem to be a wide range of rules interactions tied up in this.
I just which GW answered emails, wrote batreps, or in any way communicated how the rules were meant to work.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
|