Switch Theme:

When does a unit arrive from reserves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indeed, All I am saying is that it is called "start of your fourth turn" because that is where you would normally make your Reserve Roll.

I do not think that para is intending to establish any kind of sequence.

Obviously its poorly written, if it were well written we wouldn't be having this discussion.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
To break it down more clearly

"At the start of your third turn"- make a reserve roll
"At the start of your fourth turn" - A reserve roll is not required, so the unit arrives automatically.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/14 06:30:09


DFTT 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






 DJGietzen wrote:
 SRSFACE wrote:
"Any further" doesn't necessarily denote they would have "moved," simply that they cannot move. Rules also reflect the fluff of what it's supposed to represent, and a unit that is deep striking from a fluff standpoint most certainly moved to get there.

I know of no other way to read 'any further' then to limit something that has already begun. Perhaps your right and its just a poor choice of words influenced by the fluff, perhaps not. Its not clear.

Captyn_Bob wrote:
I would say arriving from reserves is movement (in the movement phase , although it rarely matters).

And what about reserves that arrive on turn 4? Or units returning from ongoing resevers. There is zero doubt as to when these units arrive and its not in the movement phase.


Its a poor choice of words influenced by them taking the rules verbatim from 6th edition when there was no 'start of the turn' phase.
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




"At the start of your third turn"- make a reserve roll
"At the start of your fourth turn" - A reserve roll is not required, so the unit arrives automatically.


Right, but it still says it arrives at the start of the turn.
It still specifies at the start of the turn.

"so the unit arrives automatically" , when? "at the start of your fourth turn"

Whatever way you read it. It still very specifically states that
1. It arrives
2. It does so automatically
3. It does it at the start of your fourth turn.

Regardless of whether a roll is needed or not, does not change the 3 points above, which are specifically addressed with "arrives automatically at the start of your fourth turn."

It's about RAW as you can get. You have to somehow ignore the "at the start of your turn" part, to get any other interpretation.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




I think. You do not understand. The start of turn is when you determine if something will arrive. Not when it arrives. But I cannot be more clear so I shall agree to disagree.

DFTT 
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




I think. You do not understand. The start of turn is when you determine if something will arrive. Not when it arrives. But I cannot be more clear so I shall agree to disagree.


You may , at the start of the turn, determine if something arrives.
However it is incredibly specific here.

It doesn't say , at the start of the turn, the roll is automatically passed, it doesn't say, it arrives automatically next turn.

The discussion is when it Arrives
And the quote says, "it arrives automatically at the start of the turn"

I apologize, but it is indisputable here. the sentence literally tells you it arrives at the start of the turn. Any way you interpret it, to get your version you have to change something.

Just to bring up a past point, it is incredibly straight forward.

"It arrives ( What it does) automatically (how it does it) at the start of the turn (when it does it)"

Seriously, It is as RAW as it gets, It gives you all the info ,right there.
If you want to interpret it a different way , thats fine, use RAI. But look at that sentence, and tell me how, in it's simplest form, without changing it's structure, it means anything other that "what happens, how it happens, and when it happens"

I get wanting to agree to disagree, but come on, this is so unambiguous it's like some saying, my infantry can move up to 24" in the movement phase, saying it's how they interpret it.

The simplest answer is usually the best, It says it arrives automatically at the start of the turn, It probably means , It arrives (automatically) at the start of the turn.

PS. I'm not just dropping it, after you said agree to disagree, as it's a discussion thread, i'm just putting this out there in case of lurkers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/14 10:56:44


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 The start of turn is when you determine if something will arrive. Not when it arrives.


The rules say the literal opposite of that second sentence. Who are we to believe you or the rules?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Captyn_Bob wrote:
I think. You do not understand. The start of turn is when you determine if something will arrive. Not when it arrives. But I cannot be more clear so I shall agree to disagree.


This is only partially true. On Turns 2 and 3 you are required to roll at the start of the turn to determine if something will arrive 'this turn'. The timing of the arrival of the units from successful rolls is a bit ambiguous as 'this turn' does not pin it down very well. However when you fail the roll on trun 3 the units MUST arrive at the start of turn 4. These is zero wiggle room as to the timing of when those units arrive. The game isn't telling you to automatically determine at the start of turn 4 that they will arrive, the fact that they will arrive was determined as part of the roll you made on turn 3. The game is informing you that timing of their arrival will be the start of turn 4. This is unquestionably not in the movement phase.

You aren't so much agreeing to disagree as you are sticking your head in the sand so people will stop pointing out how you got it wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/14 19:35:25


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Being a noob even i read these rules as clear cut, arrive at start of your turn. Start of turn.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Righteousrob wrote:
Being a noob even i read these rules as clear cut, arrive at start of your turn. Start of turn.


That's because you're not a Daemonkin player desperate for Blood Tithe summoned FMCs to be special flowers because they DS at the start of the turn and therefore you need normal reserves to arrive at a different time so you can claim a timing issue...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: