Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 07:45:14
Subject: Re:Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote:'1 canoptek spyder' refers to a unit of 1 spyder with an ALE that allows me to add additional spyders
'1 unit of canoptek spyders' refers to a unit of 1 spyder with an ALE that allows me to add additional spyders
The Formation rules, as they are, do not distinguish between those two ways of talking about a unit of 1 spyder.
That's the RAW.
The Datasheet of Canoptek Spyders does say you can add more Spyders.
However, the Formation List specifically states 1, as in singular, Spyder. And no matter how you try to change it, 2 Spyders do not equal the 1 Spyder as it is written.
Therefore, no matter how you try to wiggle around it the RAW is 1 Canoptek Spyder, period. And 2 is not equal to one, no matter if they are in the same unit or not.
Is it stupid, oh yes. Is it consistent with how GW operates. You betcha. But that is how it is written.
The formation rules give me access to the ALE and I add 2 spyders to the unit of 1 spyder because the rules allow me to do that.
Furthermore, the formation rules specify that '1 canoptek spyder' refers to a unit of 1 spyder with an ALE that allows me to add additional spyders.
Otherwise, if you want to claim a RAW argument, find me the rule that says I cannot access the ALE, because here are the rule that say I most certainly can!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 07:48:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 07:58:12
Subject: Re:Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote:'1 canoptek spyder' refers to a unit of 1 spyder with an ALE that allows me to add additional spyders '1 unit of canoptek spyders' refers to a unit of 1 spyder with an ALE that allows me to add additional spyders The Formation rules, as they are, do not distinguish between those two ways of talking about a unit of 1 spyder. That's the RAW.
The Datasheet of Canoptek Spyders does say you can add more Spyders. However, the Formation List specifically states 1, as in singular, Spyder. And no matter how you try to change it, 2 Spyders do not equal the 1 Spyder as it is written. Therefore, no matter how you try to wiggle around it the RAW is 1 Canoptek Spyder, period. And 2 is not equal to one, no matter if they are in the same unit or not. Is it stupid, oh yes. Is it consistent with how GW operates. You betcha. But that is how it is written. The formation rules give me access to the ALE and I add 2 spyders to the unit of 1 spyder because the rules allow me to do that. Furthermore, the formation rules specify that '1 canoptek spyder' refers to a unit of 1 spyder with an ALE that allows me to add additional spyders. Otherwise, if you want to claim a RAW argument, find me the rule that says I cannot access the ALE, because here are the rule that say I most certainly can! Accessing the ALE is not the issue. BRB pg 13 basic vs advanced. advanced rules always take precedence over basic rules. In the same way that a ALE will trump the basic rules of the game the formation may trump the ALE. Since the formation specifies 1 spyder. ALE trumped. The more specific rule about any given model take precedence.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:02:32
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:03:45
Subject: Re:Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:
Accessing the ALE is not the issue. BRB pg 13 basic vs advanced.
advanced rules always take precedence over basic rules. In the same way that a ALE will trump the basic rules of the game the formation may trump the ALE. Since the formation specifies 1 spyder. ALE trumped. The more specific rule about any given model take precedence.
The codex here is actually the less specific since by itself it does not specify what the 1 canoptek spyder is exactly.
Luckily we have the Formation rules which clarify that they deal in units and ALEs.
You are suggesting that . . .
1 canoptek spyder = 1 canoptek spyder [model]
But the formation rules specify that . . .
1 canoptek spyder = [unit of] 1 canoptek spyder
In fact, we know your suggestion is utterly wrong with other lines of reasoning as well, since 1 canoptek spyder cannot refer just to the model. If it did we would lack any rules for shooting at that 1 canoptek spyder model floating out there outside of any unit. You are well astray from the RAW with your suggestions.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:10:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:04:25
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
1 one spider not one unit
just one spider
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:09:20
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:10:45
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
This.
In fact, what I am saying, is that specifying 1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size.
And, that the formation is the more advanced rule. Which trumps your ALE. 1 unit of 1 Spyder. When the book says "1 unit of canoptek spyders" you will have an argument. It doesn't. You don't.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:18:52
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:
This.
In fact, what I am saying, is that specifying 1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size.
And, that the formation is the more advanced rule. Which trumps your ALE. 1 unit of 1 Spyder. When the book says "1 unit of canoptek spyders" you will have an argument. It doesn't. You don't.
You are making up out of thin air a rule somehow that "1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size."
Find a rule in the BRB or necron codex that supports this wild claim.
The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
Further if the unit size were restricted it would say so in the restrictions box, because that is the place where such restrictions are stated.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:29:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:20:51
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:
This.
In fact, what I am saying, is that specifying 1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size.
And, that the formation is the more advanced rule. Which trumps your ALE. 1 unit of 1 Spyder. When the book says "1 unit of canoptek spyders" you will have an argument. It doesn't. You don't.
The formation rules spell it out that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
There it is! You found it. And the more specific more advanced rule trumps the other ones.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:22:17
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:
This.
In fact, what I am saying, is that specifying 1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size.
And, that the formation is the more advanced rule. Which trumps your ALE. 1 unit of 1 Spyder. When the book says "1 unit of canoptek spyders" you will have an argument. It doesn't. You don't.
The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
There it is! You found it. And the more specific more advanced rule trumps the other ones.
And so I apply this rule since there is no restriction on the unit size in the restriction box
Now I have 3 spyders and I have broken no rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:29:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:23:46
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
... and in the process make Adaptive Subroutines break.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:24:41
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote: This. In fact, what I am saying, is that specifying 1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size. And, that the formation is the more advanced rule. Which trumps your ALE. 1 unit of 1 Spyder. When the book says "1 unit of canoptek spyders" you will have an argument. It doesn't. You don't. The formation rules spell it out that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder. There it is! You found it. And the more specific more advanced rule trumps the other ones. And so I apply this rule since there is no restriction on the unit size in the restriction box Now I have 3 spyders and I have broken no rule. NOPE! The more specific rule trumps the ALE. Since it SPECIFIES 1 unit of 1 spyder. Not a normal unit. But a unit with a specific number of models. You cannot do that. By your own admission it specifies the number of models. Which makes it the more advanced more specific rule. The ALE takes a back seat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:26:06
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:25:40
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:
This.
In fact, what I am saying, is that specifying 1 Canoptek Spyder model means 1 unit restricted to 1 model in size.
And, that the formation is the more advanced rule. Which trumps your ALE. 1 unit of 1 Spyder. When the book says "1 unit of canoptek spyders" you will have an argument. It doesn't. You don't.
The formation rules spell it out that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
There it is! You found it. And the more specific more advanced rule trumps the other ones.
And so I apply this rule since there is no restriction on the unit size in the restriction box
Now I have 3 spyders and I have broken no rule.
NOPE!
The more specific rule trumps the ALE. Since it SPECIFIES 1 unit of 1 spyder. Not a normal unit. But a unit with a specific number of models. You cannot do that.
Show me the rule where it is restricted in size. The restrictions box says "none." In fact, I strongly suggest you get a copy of the necron codex, since you are failing at backing up your argument with rules quotes.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Technically, they don't break. They just get clunky since they include an implicit task of bookkeeping. But that's the naked RAW.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:31:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:33:15
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
My Necron Dex arrives Monday apparently. But it's ok. Because I have seen pictures of the formation and the unit from the dex. I can read it just fine. You are just refusing to read it.
It states, exactly, 1 Spyder. Not 1 unit. Thus, as you said, 1 unit of 1 spyder. if you pay the extra points to bring a second Spyder is it a unit of 1 spyder?
No.
What does the formation require? 1 unit of 1 spyder.
Any unit of spyders with more then 1 spyder in it does not meet the requirements of the formation. Which is the more advanced rule. Darn. Guess you cannot take more than 1 spyder in the formation.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:37:15
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:My Necron Dex arrives Monday apparently. But it's ok. Because I have seen pictures of the formation and the unit from the dex. I can read it just fine. You are just refusing to read it.
It states, exactly, 1 Spyder. Not 1 unit. Thus, as you said, 1 unit of 1 spyder. if you pay the extra points to bring a second Spyder is it a unit of 1 spyder?
No.
What does the formation require? 1 unit of 1 spyder.
Any unit of spyders with more then 1 spyder in it does not meet the requirements of the formation. Which is the more advanced rule. Darn. Guess you cannot take more than 1 spyder in the formation.
You are lacking a rule that restricts the unit to 1 spyder. It says "none" in the Restrictions box. If a unit has restrictions on its size in a formation it will be listed in the restrictions box. You are not allowed to make up a restriction where none exist.
Otherwise I have clear permission to use these rules.
And I add 2 spyders to the unit of 1 spyder.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:40:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:44:35
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:My Necron Dex arrives Monday apparently. But it's ok. Because I have seen pictures of the formation and the unit from the dex. I can read it just fine. You are just refusing to read it.
It states, exactly, 1 Spyder. Not 1 unit. Thus, as you said, 1 unit of 1 spyder. if you pay the extra points to bring a second Spyder is it a unit of 1 spyder?
No.
What does the formation require? 1 unit of 1 spyder.
Any unit of spyders with more then 1 spyder in it does not meet the requirements of the formation. Which is the more advanced rule. Darn. Guess you cannot take more than 1 spyder in the formation.
You are lacking a rule that restricts the unit to 1 spyder. It says "none" in the Restrictions box. If a unit has restrictions on its size in a formation it will be listed in the restrictions box. You are not allowed to make up a restriction where none exist.
Otherwise I have clear permission to use these rules.
And I add 2 spyders to the unit of 1 spyder.
It is like talking to a wall.
You already stated the rule. Go reread your own post.
A specification of the number of models IS the restriction. Done-zo, The more specific rule wins out.
Refute that the formation says 1 canoptek spyder. Explain how adding 1 or 2 more spyders still = 1 canoptek spyder.
Until you can do so, the burden of proof is on you.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:48:41
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:My Necron Dex arrives Monday apparently. But it's ok. Because I have seen pictures of the formation and the unit from the dex. I can read it just fine. You are just refusing to read it.
It states, exactly, 1 Spyder. Not 1 unit. Thus, as you said, 1 unit of 1 spyder. if you pay the extra points to bring a second Spyder is it a unit of 1 spyder?
No.
What does the formation require? 1 unit of 1 spyder.
Any unit of spyders with more then 1 spyder in it does not meet the requirements of the formation. Which is the more advanced rule. Darn. Guess you cannot take more than 1 spyder in the formation.
You are lacking a rule that restricts the unit to 1 spyder. It says "none" in the Restrictions box. If a unit has restrictions on its size in a formation it will be listed in the restrictions box. You are not allowed to make up a restriction where none exist.
Otherwise I have clear permission to use these rules.
And I add 2 spyders to the unit of 1 spyder.
It is like talking to a wall.
You already stated the rule. Go reread your own post.
A specification of the number of models IS the restriction. Done-zo, The more specific rule wins out.
Refute that the formation says 1 canoptek spyder. Explain how adding 1 or 2 more spyders still = 1 canoptek spyder.
Until you can do so, the burden of proof is on you.
The burden of proof is actually on you. There is a whole rule you are willfully ignoring and you are wholly unable to point to a rule that applies a restriction to this rule, and that is why you CANNOT claim RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:52:18
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:
The burden of proof is actually on you. There is a whole rule you are willfully ignoring and you are wholly unable to point to a rule that applies a restriction to this rule, and that is why you CANNOT claim RAW.
I have pointed to the rule repeatedly. So have you. You just keep ignoring it.
Show me how 2 spyders = 1 spyder.
Prove it mathematically.
That is the rule you are breaking by adding more spyders.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:53:19
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:
The burden of proof is actually on you. There is a whole rule you are willfully ignoring and you are wholly unable to point to a rule that applies a restriction to this rule, and that is why you CANNOT claim RAW.
I have pointed to the rule repeatedly. So have you. You just keep ignoring it.
Show me how 2 spyders = 1 spyder.
Prove it mathematically.
That is the rule you are breaking by adding more spyders.
Quote the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:53:27
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I think we've gone around the loop now.... Mod lock incoming, i can feel it....
I would definitely agree with the following, and apart from specific Shield of Baal wording for Formations in that book, i'd see everything else like this:
(And let Canoptek Harvests contain any options they wish to have)
BlackSwanDelta wrote:Actually, I think this is a key point not just for the Eldar.
Army List Entries say they refer to units, not models (very first paragraph of "Preparing for Battle in the BRB, and in several places after that). I can't find a place where ALEs say reference models and not units.
Formations say the refer to Army List Entries or units, not models (under "Formations" in the BRB). Again, no place I can find where Formations references a model and not an ALE or unit.
The Data Sheet Description pages in the Codexes point 3 refer to the item at the top of the page as the Unit Name for the Army List Entry. Since The Army List Entry refers to units, then this is the name of the Army List Entry as well.
Unit composition is a separate entry at point 7 that lists the models that are in the unit.
Point 3 and point 7 are very commonly the same, but not always such as in the case of the "Warlock Conclave" and the "Vaul's Wrath Support Battery", which add "warlocks" and "support weapon" to the units as options.
So, the unit name and the model name are not the same thing, even if they commonly share a name.
So unless there is a further restriction, units that have options to take more models should be able to do so because the number next to the Army List Entry in a formation description is referring to Army List Entries which are a references to the number of units, and not the number of models that a unit can take unless there is a further restriction.
So, the "Strike Force Ultra" formation that lists "1 Venerable Dreadnought" is a reference to the ALE, which is the unit and not the model so it can add more dreadnoughts up the the maximum allowed for that ALE. Which is how the Eldar formations can take more "Warlock" models in a "Warlock Conclave" unit. And why the Canoptek Spysders unit can take more Canoptek Spyder models.
At least, that's what I'm reading.
BlackSwanDelta wrote:Because the thread started about Necrons, then I started asking about Eldar, and Space Marines followed suit since Necron and after, which is Necron, Eldar, and now Space Marines, there's been an obvious design shift in the Codexes. The "Decurion" style detachment and formations are the en vogue method of Codex construction and it's going to be that way for the forseeable future. Some of the old supplements don't work or are supposed to be "worked out with your opponent" like Iyanden for Eldar, while some of the others were apparently confirmed to be GTG with the new Space Marine Codex. It's a big mess between the "old" and the "new".
I'm not trying to find a way to "break" people's formations and say they can't field a Canoptek Harvest because one of the ALEs is missing an "s" (well, I am, but hold on), but I think it's important to understand what the RAW specifically says no matter how stupid it is. Infact, the stupider the RAW is, the more important it is to understand it. There's no way to play this game without at least making up some of your own rules, but I think it's important to understand exactly how and why stuff might be broken in order to fix it properly. If I heard someone tell someone else they couldn't field a Canoptek Harvest because of a missing "s", I'd roll my eyes and run far, far away. But again, it isn't about breaking the game to make it stupid for everyone, you need to break it to understand what needs to be fixed, or at least that's how I see it.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:56:23
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote: The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder. Specifically 1 spyder in the unit. Which is more advanced and overrides the ALE. The formation has to have the things listed in the formation to work. Since it doesn't just ask for a unit of spyders. But a unit of 1 spyder, any unit with anything but 1 spyder cannot occupy that spot in the formation. Thus, no.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/14 08:58:05
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 08:59:43
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:
The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
Specifically 1 spyder in the unit. Which is more advanced and overrides the ALE.
The formation has to have the things listed in the formation to work. Since it doesn't just ask for a unit of spyders. But a unit of 1 spyder, any unit with anything but 1 spyder cannot occupy that spot in the formation. Thus, no.
Those are rules you are literally making up. You are not allowed to do that. Your argument is not RAW but HYWPI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:01:18
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote: The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder. Specifically 1 spyder in the unit. Which is more advanced and overrides the ALE. The formation has to have the things listed in the formation to work. Since it doesn't just ask for a unit of spyders. But a unit of 1 spyder, any unit with anything but 1 spyder cannot occupy that spot in the formation. Thus, no. Those are rules you are literally making up. You are not allowed to do that. Your argument is not RAW but HYWPI. Pg 13 brb more advanced and specific rules trump the more basic ones. That quote is YOU reading the plain English in the formation. And yeah. I imagine the lock is coming. Automatically Appended Next Post: Also this from the necron book. The special rules of the formation take precedence. 1 unit, of 1 spyder.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 09:05:15
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:04:40
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:
The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
Specifically 1 spyder in the unit. Which is more advanced and overrides the ALE.
The formation has to have the things listed in the formation to work. Since it doesn't just ask for a unit of spyders. But a unit of 1 spyder, any unit with anything but 1 spyder cannot occupy that spot in the formation. Thus, no.
Those are rules you are literally making up. You are not allowed to do that. Your argument is not RAW but HYWPI.
Pg 13 brb more advanced and specific rules trump the more basic ones.
That quote is YOU reading the plain English in the formation.
And yeah. I imagine the lock is coming.
And no rule is restricting that unit in size. If there were such a restriction it would be listed in the restriction box or otherwise explicitly stated by a rule.
So the rules give me free permission to add additional spyders.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 09:09:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:09:51
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:
The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
Specifically 1 spyder in the unit. Which is more advanced and overrides the ALE.
The formation has to have the things listed in the formation to work. Since it doesn't just ask for a unit of spyders. But a unit of 1 spyder, any unit with anything but 1 spyder cannot occupy that spot in the formation. Thus, no.
Those are rules you are literally making up. You are not allowed to do that. Your argument is not RAW but HYWPI.
Pg 13 brb more advanced and specific rules trump the more basic ones.
That quote is YOU reading the plain English in the formation.
And yeah. I imagine the lock is coming.
And no rule is restricting that unit in size. If there were such a restriction it would be listed in the restriction box.
So the rules give me free permission to add additional spyders.
If you add more spyders is it 1 unit of 1 spyder?
Please fit the square inside of the circle hole.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:13:06
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:Lance845 wrote:col_impact wrote:
The formation rules make it clear that 1 canoptek spyder = [a unit of] 1 canoptek spyder.
Specifically 1 spyder in the unit. Which is more advanced and overrides the ALE.
The formation has to have the things listed in the formation to work. Since it doesn't just ask for a unit of spyders. But a unit of 1 spyder, any unit with anything but 1 spyder cannot occupy that spot in the formation. Thus, no.
Those are rules you are literally making up. You are not allowed to do that. Your argument is not RAW but HYWPI.
Pg 13 brb more advanced and specific rules trump the more basic ones.
That quote is YOU reading the plain English in the formation.
And yeah. I imagine the lock is coming.
And no rule is restricting that unit in size. If there were such a restriction it would be listed in the restriction box.
So the rules give me free permission to add additional spyders.
If you add more spyders is it 1 unit of 1 spyder?
Please fit the square inside of the circle hole.
Find a rule that restricts that unit in size. You are utterly failing at finding rules.
I have a rule that allows me to add additional spyders to the unit of 1 spyder that is in the formation.
There are no restrictions on the size of the unit of 1 spyder. If there were any restrictions they would be listed in the restrictions box.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:17:09
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
It doesn't have to be in the restrictions box. It's in the formation make up. 1 spyder. 1 unit of 1 unit of. The formation is made of 3 units. 2 of them have no specific numbers of models. 1 does. The one that does requires a unit of 1 spyder. If you add more spyders you no longer meet the requirements. The special rules of the formation apply to the units in that formation. Necron codex. Brb pg 13 advanced rules trump basic rules. The formation specifies the number of models. the advanced rule of the formation trumps the ALE. You cannot have a unit of more than 1 spyder in the unit in the formation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/14 09:20:34
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:19:50
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lance845 wrote:It doesn't have to be in the restrictions box. It's in the formation make up.
1 spyder.
1 unit of
1 unit of.
The formation is made of 3 units. 2 of them have no specific numbers of models. 1 does. The one that does requires a unit of 1 spyder. If you add more spyders you no longer meet the requirements.
There is no rule that is restricting the size of the unit of 1 spyder. There is a rule that allows you to add additional spyders to that unit. There is no rule that is restricting you from accessing the rule to add additional spyders to the unit. That is RAW.
Feel free to point to the rules which clarify how requirements for Formations are actually met. You seem to have a whole wealth of stuff and notions and made-up rules in your own head that is nowhere to be found in the actual rule book.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/06/14 09:33:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:38:19
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Not repeating myself any more. Enjoy your attempts at cheating.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:50:13
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A unit of Canoptek Spyders has a base unit composition of '1 Canoptek Spyder'.
The formation lists the Sypder as '1 Canoptek Spyder'.
The moment you have two Spyders, the unit composition changes, which breaks the formation rules (including Adaptive Subroutines).
Not that hard to understand, but I'm going to bow out of this discussion because last time was a headache and I'd much rather see this thread locked and the formation FAQ'd once and for all.
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/14 09:55:29
Subject: Beating a dead horse, because its fun. How many spyders in a canoptek harvest?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Like I said elsewhere - reading the way Col Impact is - I can run a dark artisan with 3 talos, 3 chronos and 1 haemy as a single unit!
Happy days! *sarcasm*
|
|
|
 |
 |
|