Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 20:49:22
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
insaniak wrote: jokerkd wrote:Half of the formations and detachments in the book allow you to take vehicles in the same detachment as units with CT.
or how about the fact that a unit with CT is permitted to take a dedicated transport that doesn't have CT
Neither of which answers the question.
You don't consider datasheets part of the rules?
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 20:55:40
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
jokerkd wrote: insaniak wrote: jokerkd wrote:Half of the formations and detachments in the book allow you to take vehicles in the same detachment as units with CT.
or how about the fact that a unit with CT is permitted to take a dedicated transport that doesn't have CT
Neither of which answers the question.
You don't consider datasheets part of the rules?
You are correct that the formations have slots that either require or allow for vehicles to be taken as part of them. That still doesn't allow you to ignore the rule that requires everything in a detachment or formation to be drawn from the same chapter. This is the problem. Those vehicles, aside from dreadnoughts, cannot be currently labeled as part of a chapter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:15:12
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote: This is where I think the rules gap, if there is one in the RAW, exists. There is no permission to draw units from a chapter explicitly stated in this codex.
Your very next paragraph disagrees with you:
"When choosing an army you must make a note of which Chapter each unit with the Chapter Tactics rule is being drawn from." The wording of this rule prohibits drawing a single unit from multiple chapters
So here not only am I seeing permission for units with CTs to bedrawn from a Chapter but a requirement to pick one. Where issuch pepermission for nonCT units?
No, a requirement to do something when X happen is not permission for you to cause X to happen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:26:03
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
You must make a note of the Chapter they are drawn from. How are you not making a note of the chapter they are drawn from from?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:31:59
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Requiring you make a note of the chapter they are drawn from does not give you permission to draw them from a chapter in the 1st place. Much the same way requiring that you roll your Rs when speaking Spanish does not cause you to be able to speak Spanish or requiring you to exit the building when the fire alarm is pulled does not give you permission to pull the fire alarm. Or to bring it back to 40k terms, requiring that you snap fire all your weapons when your vehicle moves at cruising speed does not give you permission to move your vehicle at cruising speed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:37:42
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Making a note is picking a Chapter though. That is the point.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:54:36
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
"When choosing an army, you must make a note of which Chapter each unit with the Chapter Tactics special rule is drawn from."
If the unit doesn't have the chapter tactics special rule, you're not making a note of it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:54:53
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, making a note of what you picked is not picking. When you draw units from a chapter you inevitably have to pick which chapter you are drawing them from.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 21:58:00
Subject: Re:New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
DJGietzen wrote:No, making a note of what you picked is not picking. When you draw units from a chapter you inevitably have to pick which chapter you are drawing them from.
Cool beans. I disagree but see where you're coming from. However your interpretation still leads to me being able to put Calgary and Pedro in the same detachment as I've no instructions on how to draw units from chapter (outside of the posted rule you disagree on). But hey you can take nonCT units that way.
Either way RaW is very broken.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/16 22:09:52
Subject: New SM book, vehicles don't have chapter tactics, so can't be included in the army? What?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Which seems like a good place to give this one a rest...
To summarise: rules are broken, but we all know what they meant. If in doubt, discuss with your opponent.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|