Switch Theme:

Orbital Strike + Cherub :)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





Query?

Chapter Master (with Orbital Strike) in a Devastator Squad with a Cherub* could use the Cherub to re-roll scatter on the Orbital Strike?

*Armorium Cherub: One Use Only. One model in a unit equipped with an armorium cherub can re-roll all failed To-Hit rolls in one Shooting Phase.

Query is with To Hit and Scatter? If it has Scatter then it hasnt hit?

Thoughts.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/06/23 15:21:50


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






When firing a Blast weapon, models do not rolls To Hit.
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls:
If a model has the ability to re-rolls its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Yes, you may use an Armorium Cherub to re-roll a Blast weapon. There is no restriction on having to have missed first - you could re-roll a "hit" if you so desired.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





if the wording for cherub does not specify a weapon it would work, as the orbital strike is not a weapon.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

blaktoof wrote:
if the wording for cherub does not specify a weapon it would work, as the orbital strike is not a weapon.


It does not specify that the attack originate from a weapon... just that failed to-hit rolls in one Shooting phase can be re-rolled.

"Armorium Cherub: One Use Only. One model in a unit equipped with an armorium cherub can re-roll all failed To-Hit rolls in one Shooting Phase. "

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





Great, that's a Chapter Master in my Devs in my Battle Company then
   
Made in us
Frothing Warhound of Chaos





re-roll to hit is synonymous with twin-linked except with template weapons, because TW templates re-roll wounds. a confusing distinction that keeps popping up

3500 Points CSM
3000 Points Daemons
http://thelostandthedamnit.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






 Nostromo 69 wrote:
Great, that's a Chapter Master in my Devs in my Battle Company then


Don't rely on that too much though. I don't follow it closely, but the last I heard, ITC was saying that they won't allow the Captain in the Battle Company to become a Chapter Master, and other places might follow suit. Just something to consider and depends on where you play at.
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






 SharkoutofWata wrote:
ITC was saying that they won't allow the Captain in the Battle Company to become a Chapter Master

That is really funny, because Strike Force Command has the exact same wording regarding Captain as Battle Demi-Company and yet it is Formation that allows Calgar. Whould that mean that only way to use upgrade on Captain (to became Chapter Master) is fielding your Detachment with main rulebook CAD? Stupidity beyond all...

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




At what point does he become a Chapter master, isnt paying the 40 points just an upgade, so wouldnt that mean that you have a captain(+upgrade) which in this case makes him a chaper master
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






dangerousbag wrote:
At what point does he become a Chapter master, isnt paying the 40 points just an upgade, so wouldnt that mean that you have a captain(+upgrade) which in this case makes him a chaper master

Yes it is, but some people try to convince that you can't buy that upgrade.

   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress





If it specifies that it needs to reroll a "failed" hit roll it can't reroll scatter.

TL isn't interchangeable with this clause.

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Incorrect. Ability to reroll to hit. Check. Can reroll scatter as a result.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes, RAW cherub works for the Chapter Master. You may not like it, it may be OP, but RAW it works.

As already quoted:
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.

Cherub grants the ability, so it works on blast/barrage and multiple blast barrages if you could get one of those to join the cherub's unit.

Fluffwise, the cherub hands the CM a spare AA battery for his laser pointer.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: