| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/23 15:18:51
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
Query?
Chapter Master (with Orbital Strike) in a Devastator Squad with a Cherub* could use the Cherub to re-roll scatter on the Orbital Strike?
*Armorium Cherub: One Use Only. One model in a unit equipped with an armorium cherub can re-roll all failed To-Hit rolls in one Shooting Phase.
Query is with To Hit and Scatter? If it has Scatter then it hasnt hit?
Thoughts.
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/06/23 15:21:50
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/23 16:16:31
Subject: Re:Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
When firing a Blast weapon, models do not rolls To Hit.
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls:
If a model has the ability to re-rolls its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Yes, you may use an Armorium Cherub to re-roll a Blast weapon. There is no restriction on having to have missed first - you could re-roll a "hit" if you so desired.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/23 17:20:16
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
if the wording for cherub does not specify a weapon it would work, as the orbital strike is not a weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/23 19:05:23
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
blaktoof wrote:if the wording for cherub does not specify a weapon it would work, as the orbital strike is not a weapon.
It does not specify that the attack originate from a weapon... just that failed to-hit rolls in one Shooting phase can be re-rolled.
"Armorium Cherub: One Use Only. One model in a unit equipped with an armorium cherub can re-roll all failed To-Hit rolls in one Shooting Phase. "
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/23 19:18:07
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
Great, that's a Chapter Master in my Devs in my Battle Company then
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 09:17:02
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Frothing Warhound of Chaos
|
re-roll to hit is synonymous with twin-linked except with template weapons, because TW templates re-roll wounds. a confusing distinction that keeps popping up
|
3500 Points CSM
3000 Points Daemons
http://thelostandthedamnit.blogspot.com/ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 09:21:06
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Don't rely on that too much though. I don't follow it closely, but the last I heard, ITC was saying that they won't allow the Captain in the Battle Company to become a Chapter Master, and other places might follow suit. Just something to consider and depends on where you play at.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/27 21:26:20
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
SharkoutofWata wrote:ITC was saying that they won't allow the Captain in the Battle Company to become a Chapter Master
That is really funny, because Strike Force Command has the exact same wording regarding Captain as Battle Demi-Company and yet it is Formation that allows Calgar. Whould that mean that only way to use upgrade on Captain (to became Chapter Master) is fielding your Detachment with main rulebook CAD? Stupidity beyond all...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/30 21:54:21
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
At what point does he become a Chapter master, isnt paying the 40 points just an upgade, so wouldnt that mean that you have a captain(+upgrade) which in this case makes him a chaper master
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/01 08:23:30
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
dangerousbag wrote:At what point does he become a Chapter master, isnt paying the 40 points just an upgade, so wouldnt that mean that you have a captain(+upgrade) which in this case makes him a chaper master
Yes it is, but some people try to convince that you can't buy that upgrade.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/02 03:55:16
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
If it specifies that it needs to reroll a "failed" hit roll it can't reroll scatter.
TL isn't interchangeable with this clause.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/02 09:09:45
Subject: Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Incorrect. Ability to reroll to hit. Check. Can reroll scatter as a result.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/04 08:17:40
Subject: Re:Orbital Strike + Cherub :)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yes, RAW cherub works for the Chapter Master. You may not like it, it may be OP, but RAW it works.
As already quoted:
Blast Weapons and Re-rolls If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Cherub grants the ability, so it works on blast/barrage and multiple blast barrages if you could get one of those to join the cherub's unit.
Fluffwise, the cherub hands the CM a spare AA battery for his laser pointer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|