Switch Theme:

1+ FnP  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

I've just seen this article on BoLS (which is eh anyway when it comes to rules) so I thought I'd bring it to Dakkadakka.

Basically, it talks about adding modifiers to a FnP role that an Iron Hands Chapter Master has.

Basically, you've got Endurance for a 4+ fnp and the Gorgon's chain + Flesh is Weak Warlord Trait + Iron Hands Chapter tactics all give +3 to FnP. So with all these bonuses, you could roll a 1, add three to it to modify it to a four and pass any wounds failed (aside ID and Destroyer wounds).

As FnP isn't classed as a save, it's not under the restrictions that say armour saves can only ever be 2+ at best.

Is this legal and have to be houseruled to a minimum of 2+ or have I/BoLs missed something?

Link here

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/04 17:16:05


YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

Yes, by strict book rules if you manage to roll all those things then you have a character that cannot be harmed by less than str 10 or D.

Its really not that ridiculous when he's just a dude on a bike with a hammer who paid a lot of points to not die. I'd play against it in a normal size game. Any game where it would be cheesy to bring a wraithknight, (500-1000 points or so) I'd say it'd also be cheesy to have that guy.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





you can argue RAW that rolls of 1 are failed fnp rolls.

FNP is not classified as a save under the step of save versus wounds, however we are told in its text that it is a save.

we are told in the text of FnP it is not a save, however we are also told it is a save when it mentions making a "feel no pain save"

so yes its not a save, but it is a save.

so it does not auto fail on a 1, but it does auto fail on a 1.

RAW it is both a save and not a save.

RAI it not a save you make during the save step after being wounded, however it is a save to prevent suffering an unsaved wound as it is described using the words "when making a feeel no pain save" in its own text.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/04 17:31:13


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

blaktoof wrote:
you can argue RAW that rolls of 1 are failed fnp rolls.

FNP is not classified as a save under the step of save versus wounds, however we are told in its text that it is a save.

we are told in the text of FnP it is not a save, however we are also told it is a save when it mentions making a "feel no pain save"

so yes its not a save, but it is a save.

so it does not auto fail on a 1, but it does auto fail on a 1.

RAW it is both a save and not a save.

RAI it not a save you make during the save step after being wounded, however it is a save to prevent suffering an unsaved wound as it is described using the words "when making a feeel no pain save" in its own text.



RAW FNP is not a save.

"Models With More Than One Save" tells us that " a model only ever gets to make one saving throw, but it has the advantage of always using the best available save"

If FNP were a save, we would not get to use it after a failed save.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler






Las his face, or PK him to death with an Ork Nobz (on charge) or Warboss.

I don't mind playing againsnt someone with a 1+ FnP, because it cost a good amounts of points for what it gives.

Ahriman + 1 TSons squad: Painting in progress. Will gift them to my bro at Xmas!
2000+ Tau: Painting in progress. http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/images-78163-46237_Tau%20Battelforce.html 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
you can argue RAW that rolls of 1 are failed fnp rolls.

FNP is not classified as a save under the step of save versus wounds, however we are told in its text that it is a save.

we are told in the text of FnP it is not a save, however we are also told it is a save when it mentions making a "feel no pain save"

so yes its not a save, but it is a save.

so it does not auto fail on a 1, but it does auto fail on a 1.

RAW it is both a save and not a save.

RAI it not a save you make during the save step after being wounded, however it is a save to prevent suffering an unsaved wound as it is described using the words "when making a feeel no pain save" in its own text.



RAW FNP is not a save.

"Models With More Than One Save" tells us that " a model only ever gets to make one saving throw, but it has the advantage of always using the best available save"

If FNP were a save, we would not get to use it after a failed save.


I agree and disagree with you, the rules for FnP as written, [RAW] tell us it is a save in part of the rules.

RAW FnP is not a save, and at the same time RAW FnP is a save. this is undeniable, because the rules as written, RAW, are poorly written.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/04 18:30:20


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

blaktoof wrote:
RAW FnP is a save.

This is where your argument is false.

FNP is not a save...

you can not agree and disagree, that makes no sense...

If FNP were a save you would not be able to take it after a failed Save...

And it doesnt matter anyway, FNP, even if it were a save, could be improved beyond 2+, because of this rule:

"However, no save (armour, cover or invulnerable) can ever
be improved beyond 2+." (The Shooting Phase chapter, Maximum Save section).

Note how it only lists the saves that can not be improved? Notice how FNP is not on that list?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/04 18:34:29


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

 PandaHero wrote:
Las his face, or PK him to death with an Ork Nobz (on charge) or Warboss.

I don't mind playing againsnt someone with a 1+ FnP, because it cost a good amounts of points for what it gives.
He would be T5 so no ID from Las. I don't know what strength a Klaw ends up as but it would need to be a Str 10 to wound and he still has Eternal Warrior and IWND. Str D, Str 10, and ID weapons are the only things that can even wound him.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
RAW FnP is a save.

This is where your argument is false.

FNP is not a save...

you can not agree and disagree, that makes no sense...

If FNP were a save you would not be able to take it after a failed Save...

And it doesnt matter anyway, FNP, even if it were a save, could be improved beyond 2+, because of this rule:

"However, no save (armour, cover or invulnerable) can ever
be improved beyond 2+." (The Shooting Phase chapter, Maximum Save section).

Note how it only lists the saves that can not be improved? Notice how FNP is not on that list?


armor/cover/invulnerable saves are basic rules, advanced rules [special rules[fnp is a special rule]] modify basic rules. Saying basic rules cannot be applied to advance rules, or that advance rules are not rules if they interact with the basic rules is not true. It is the same as saying you cannot take RP rolls, because the basic rules say the model is removed as a casualty when it fails its save, note how the basic rules do not say the model can use advanced rules in these places. Which is just not true.

look in the rule for FnP, do you see anywhere where it describes making a "feel no pain save" if you do, then rules as written Feel No Pain is listed as a save in its rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/04 18:49:23


 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






I could have sworn there was a rule that said a natural roll of 1 was always a fail, regardless of modifiers, in any test that isn't a (Profile Stat) Check. Maybe somewhere at the front of the book? I don't have my rulebook on me at the minute.

I do know ITC has made it so that the FNP can't be upgraded past 2+ in their FAQ. Since my group and the FLGS I play at use that FAQ for rules not agreed to beforehand, it hasn't been an issue for me.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 SharkoutofWata wrote:
I could have sworn there was a rule that said a natural roll of 1 was always a fail, regardless of modifiers, in any test that isn't a (Profile Stat) Check. Maybe somewhere at the front of the book? I don't have my rulebook on me at the minute.

That rule was only ever been to wound and to save.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No. There is no universal rule that says a roll of a one always fails.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There is no such "1 always fails" rule in a general form.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Nosferatu I believe is right, there is no rule stating that a roll of 1 is all ways a fail. The only time it says this is in reference to characteristics tests, to wound, and saves.
But I also would like to ask where it says "Fnp is not a save" it only says that fnp is not a staving throw. You could argue they are the same. But I can aruge they are they are under the category of "Save" and still not be a "saving throw."
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Did look at maximum save rules and it says that a roll of a one, regardless of what is giving the model it's save, always fails (not word for word but that is what the rule says).

And FnP, despite them stating it's not a saving throw so can be taken against stuff that disallows saves, such as Perils, is then stated as FnP saves (which, since being a save, follow maximum save rules).

Sloppy rules writing, but would this be a valid interpretation of RAW disallowing a 1+ FnP?

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Same thing would apply to casting Tzeentch psychic powers and passing all those sweet sweet T checks
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Frozocrone wrote:
Did look at maximum save rules and it says that a roll of a one, regardless of what is giving the model it's save, always fails (not word for word but that is what the rule says).

And FnP, despite them stating it's not a saving throw so can be taken against stuff that disallows saves, such as Perils, is then stated as FnP saves (which, since being a save, follow maximum save rules).

Sloppy rules writing, but would this be a valid interpretation of RAW disallowing a 1+ FnP?


Just because they use the phrase "Feel No Pain save" does not mean that Feel No Pain is a save. Just like Assault Cannons are not Assault weapons, nor are Heavy Flamers Heavy weapons.

The rule is quite specific that FNP is not a save, otherwise as pointed out if you fail an armour/cover/invulnerable save you cannot take FNP.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

blaktoof wrote:
look in the rule for FnP, do you see anywhere where it describes making a "feel no pain save" if you do, then rules as written Feel No Pain is listed as a save in its rules.


It is explicitly not a Save...

"When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that ‘no saves of any kind are allowed’, for example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp)." (Emphasis mine. Special Rules chapter, Feel No Pain section).


See the Bold/Underscored section?

You argument is not correct.

FNP is explicitly not a Save, it says as much in its rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/05 09:01:02


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

FnP should never be a 1+ that is just ridiculous. I would never play someone who did that in any game regardless of points. Furthermore I very much doubt any TO would allow it either.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

 Ghaz wrote:
No. There is no universal rule that says a roll of a one always fails.
If it was universal, it would apply to characteristic tests.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Selym wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No. There is no universal rule that says a roll of a one always fails.
If it was universal, it would apply to characteristic tests.

Unless it said it didn't.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

Which would make it non-universal, and thus not applicable in all situations.
   
Made in us
Monstrous Master Moulder




Cleveland, Ohio, USA

They must generate Endurance.

They must utilize a primary detachment of Clan Raukaan (I don't believe Raukaan is capable of operating under Vanilla SM Demi-Company, and so must be Combined Arms).

They must generate the correct warlord trait.

They must purchase the Gorgon's Chain.

They should purchase a bike.

They must successfully manifest Endurance (including it not being denied).

Now one model is only subject to wounds from Str 10/D for a game turn, after which Endurance must be successfully reapplied.

They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my Space Marines, and they shall know no fear. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Selym wrote:
Which would make it non-universal, and thus not applicable in all situations.

False. A universal rue can have exceptions in the rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

 Ghazkuul wrote:
FnP should never be a 1+ that is just ridiculous. I would never play someone who did that in any game regardless of points. Furthermore I very much doubt any TO would allow it either.


I don't think it's all that different from invis-ing a superheavy, or getting a 2+ reroll save. If they got lucky enough to get the stars aligned 1+ fnp in a decently large game, I'd just ignore or tarpit the overly expensive unit. If he was silly enough to boost right into my deployment zone early and I'm running tanks, I could always kill him with a tank shock trap. Good ol' Str D and stomps also rock his world.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

niv-mizzet wrote:
 Ghazkuul wrote:
FnP should never be a 1+ that is just ridiculous. I would never play someone who did that in any game regardless of points. Furthermore I very much doubt any TO would allow it either.


I don't think it's all that different from invis-ing a superheavy, or getting a 2+ reroll save. If they got lucky enough to get the stars aligned 1+ fnp in a decently large game, I'd just ignore or tarpit the overly expensive unit. If he was silly enough to boost right into my deployment zone early and I'm running tanks, I could always kill him with a tank shock trap. Good ol' Str D and stomps also rock his world.


Tank Shock trap? I hope you have a skimmer tank to pull that one off.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
 Frozocrone wrote:
Did look at maximum save rules and it says that a roll of a one, regardless of what is giving the model it's save, always fails (not word for word but that is what the rule says).

And FnP, despite them stating it's not a saving throw so can be taken against stuff that disallows saves, such as Perils, is then stated as FnP saves (which, since being a save, follow maximum save rules).

Sloppy rules writing, but would this be a valid interpretation of RAW disallowing a 1+ FnP?


Just because they use the phrase "Feel No Pain save" does not mean that Feel No Pain is a save. Just like Assault Cannons are not Assault weapons, nor are Heavy Flamers Heavy weapons.

The rule is quite specific that FNP is not a save, otherwise as pointed out if you fail an armour/cover/invulnerable save you cannot take FNP.


except in this case where the actual rules state otherwise, and not the name.

so your point is actually not correct in any way.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

blaktoof wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 Frozocrone wrote:
Did look at maximum save rules and it says that a roll of a one, regardless of what is giving the model it's save, always fails (not word for word but that is what the rule says).

And FnP, despite them stating it's not a saving throw so can be taken against stuff that disallows saves, such as Perils, is then stated as FnP saves (which, since being a save, follow maximum save rules).

Sloppy rules writing, but would this be a valid interpretation of RAW disallowing a 1+ FnP?


Just because they use the phrase "Feel No Pain save" does not mean that Feel No Pain is a save. Just like Assault Cannons are not Assault weapons, nor are Heavy Flamers Heavy weapons.

The rule is quite specific that FNP is not a save, otherwise as pointed out if you fail an armour/cover/invulnerable save you cannot take FNP.


except in this case where the actual rules state otherwise, and not the name.

so your point is actually not correct in any way.


How do you figure my point is incorrect? The rules for FNP specifically say that it is not a save. Therefore, whether or not they call it a "Feel No Pain save" does not matter, as per FNP, it is not a save.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
look in the rule for FnP, do you see anywhere where it describes making a "feel no pain save" if you do, then rules as written Feel No Pain is listed as a save in its rules.


It is explicitly not a Save...

"When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that ‘no saves of any kind are allowed’, for example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp)." (Emphasis mine. Special Rules chapter, Feel No Pain section).


See the Bold/Underscored section?

You argument is not correct.

FNP is explicitly not a Save, it says as much in its rules.


OH GREAT YOU HAVE A RULEBOOK!!!

Considering you must be very good at reading, you probably kept reading past that quote and came across the rest of the FnP rule:

Feel no pain saves may not be taken against Destroyer attacks or against unsaved Wounds that have the Instant Death rule.


[b]Roll a d6 each time an unsaved wound is suffered. On a 4 or less, you must take the wound as normal. On a 5+ the unsaved Wound is discounted- treat it as having been saved[/b]

so as I said earlier and you for whatever reason selectively ignored in not only my post but your reading of the rules, as well as quoting.

Feel no pain is not a saving throw by the RAW, however by the RAW FnP is a save.

Do saves fail on the roll of a 1?




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Happyjew wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 Frozocrone wrote:
Did look at maximum save rules and it says that a roll of a one, regardless of what is giving the model it's save, always fails (not word for word but that is what the rule says).

And FnP, despite them stating it's not a saving throw so can be taken against stuff that disallows saves, such as Perils, is then stated as FnP saves (which, since being a save, follow maximum save rules).

Sloppy rules writing, but would this be a valid interpretation of RAW disallowing a 1+ FnP?


Just because they use the phrase "Feel No Pain save" does not mean that Feel No Pain is a save. Just like Assault Cannons are not Assault weapons, nor are Heavy Flamers Heavy weapons.

The rule is quite specific that FNP is not a save, otherwise as pointed out if you fail an armour/cover/invulnerable save you cannot take FNP.


except in this case where the actual rules state otherwise, and not the name.

so your point is actually not correct in any way.


How do you figure my point is incorrect? The rules for FNP specifically say that it is not a save. Therefore, whether or not they call it a "Feel No Pain save" does not matter, as per FNP, it is not a save.


the rules state feel no pain is not a saving throw.

the rules state feel no pain is a save.

find me rules for saving throws, and find rules for saves. Because it is not one by the rules as written, and is the other by rules as written. your point was that the rules as written do not mean they are rules. You used a terrible arguement that had no actual value in this discussion by taking the title of something and saying it did not have the rule because of the title, then compared it to FnP by saying the rules for feel no pain do not mean they are rules because the title of assault cannon says assault. the two have 0 relation to one another. If FnP had the word "save" in its title Ie "Feel no pain save" you would have a point, but as the word save is used in the rules itself which are the rules, you do not.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/05 17:19:10


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

blaktoof, your argument is not correct. FNP says it is explicitly NOT a save...

I even quoted the rules that state it is not a save. This is indisputable.

They call it a Feel no pain save, but it is not a Save.

This can not be disputed because there are rules that explicitly state "(this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that ‘no saves of any kind are allowed’,"

If FNP was a save you could not use it after a failed Armor Save...

But we know that we can take it after a failed save or against something that states "that ‘no saves of any kind are allowed’,"

Look at "The Shooting Phase" chapter, "Types of Saving Throws" section. Do you see FNP listed? No? then FNP IS NOT a type of saving throw.

Your argument is incorrect.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/05 17:42:00


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: