Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 11:32:48
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Changing Our Legion's Name
Coventry
|
Can't find whether or not this has been covered before but:
Can a Warp Spider unit use FlickerJump when it's targeted by an overwatch attack? and if so is this resolved immediately? Essentially giving them a 4d6 charge? (Though they obviously could not DECLARE a charge unless they are within 12" to start with)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 13:34:37
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
RAW yes you may flicker jump when targeted by over watch since it's a shooting attack, and it is resolved before any shots are fired so you could flicker closer 2d6 and then charge 2d6 RAW. And it doesn't state anywhere in the rules that you need to be in charge range to declare a charge. You you could be lets say 20" away from a unit and declare a charge. You'll just fail the charge and they get to fire over watch on you lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 15:45:32
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Changing Our Legion's Name
Coventry
|
Actually you can't declare a charge against a unit you can't reach.
“A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit that it cannot see, though it is allowed to charge an enemy unit it is impossible for it to harm. This means that a charge can usually only be declared on a unit up to 12" away (the maximum charge range for most models”
I would argue that at the time of declaring the charge it is impossible for the Warp Spider unit to reach the target if it's >12" away - as their additional 2d6 move is conditional on the target unit declaring overwatch. Though i could see an argument both ways.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 18:39:17
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Here's the thing, though. I believe you CAN declare that charge if you're further than 12" away because there is a chance you can make it. There are additional steps that go into successfully making that charge, sure, but it IS possible.
The enemy is 12" away, can my unit of hormagaunts make it? Sure, they have a chance, they have to be able to roll 2 6's, but there's a chance.
Can my marines hurt that Maulerfiend? Sure, with krak grenades. They have a CHANCE at harming it, and therefore cannot declare our weapons are useless.
Can my warp spiders make an 18" charge? Sure, but the opponent must declare overwatch. If they do, the charge is possible, if they don't, the charge automatically fails. Again, as long as there is a CHANCE, I believe it's acceptable.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 18:50:37
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Mr ghoti wrote:Here's the thing, though. I believe you CAN declare that charge if you're further than 12" away because there is a chance you can make it. There are additional steps that go into successfully making that charge, sure, but it IS possible.
The enemy is 12" away, can my unit of hormagaunts make it? Sure, they have a chance, they have to be able to roll 2 6's, but there's a chance.
Can my marines hurt that Maulerfiend? Sure, with krak grenades. They have a CHANCE at harming it, and therefore cannot declare our weapons are useless.
Can my warp spiders make an 18" charge? Sure, but the opponent must declare overwatch. If they do, the charge is possible, if they don't, the charge automatically fails. Again, as long as there is a CHANCE, I believe it's acceptable.
I don't think you can declare a charge against an enemy more than 12" away in this instance. Your model only has a 2D6 inch charge range. At most, they can charge 12".
BUT... let's say you did. Your opponent would simply NOT perform an Overwatch and therefore your charge would auto-fail. In that sense, this is kind of a moot point. Unless your opponent is a fool, you're never going to be able to flicker jump closer if you're 12.0001" or more away because your opponent is never going to perform an Overwatch. In fact, I wouldn't perform an Overwatch if you were within, say, 10". I'd make you roll the 2D6 and hope for a 10+ result.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 18:55:05
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kriswall wrote:Mr ghoti wrote:Here's the thing, though. I believe you CAN declare that charge if you're further than 12" away because there is a chance you can make it. There are additional steps that go into successfully making that charge, sure, but it IS possible.
The enemy is 12" away, can my unit of hormagaunts make it? Sure, they have a chance, they have to be able to roll 2 6's, but there's a chance.
Can my marines hurt that Maulerfiend? Sure, with krak grenades. They have a CHANCE at harming it, and therefore cannot declare our weapons are useless.
Can my warp spiders make an 18" charge? Sure, but the opponent must declare overwatch. If they do, the charge is possible, if they don't, the charge automatically fails. Again, as long as there is a CHANCE, I believe it's acceptable.
I don't think you can declare a charge against an enemy more than 12" away in this instance. Your model only has a 2D6 inch charge range. At most, they can charge 12".
BUT... let's say you did. Your opponent would simply NOT perform an Overwatch and therefore your charge would auto-fail. In that sense, this is kind of a moot point. Unless your opponent is a fool, you're never going to be able to flicker jump closer if you're 12.0001" or more away because your opponent is never going to perform an Overwatch. In fact, I wouldn't perform an Overwatch if you were within, say, 10". I'd make you roll the 2D6 and hope for a 10+ result.
I agree.
You declare charge before overwatch happens and as you are more than 12" away you cannot declare the charge at all as per the rules as written, at this time you are not able to reach the enemy unit with the max result you could have from the distance you are currently allowed to move.. At that time you are unable to reach the unit, regardless of the possibility of what could happen if your opponent choose to shoot at you or not, or even can should they be already engaged.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/08 18:56:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 18:56:16
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Does overwatch target the enemy unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 18:59:01
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Yup. You can't declare the charge because you can't reach the unit. The implication is that you need to be able to reach the unit when you make the charge. Typically, the main criteria of being able to reach the unit is that it be within 12". There are other things that might prevent this. Your target might be surrounded by other models. Your target might be in a narrow alley between two piece of impassable terrain that you can't fit down if you're on a bigger base.
Overwatch might change your starting point for an ongoing charge through a successful flicker jump, but it doesn't change your ability to declare a charge (reach your target) when you declare the charge. Automatically Appended Next Post:
Yes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 18:59:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 19:24:40
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Not knowing whether you can reach the target based on whether or not the target overwatches is exactly the same as being 12" away and not knowing whether or not you will roll boxcars.
The denial of being able to reach the unit is from older editions, just updated slightly that implies the possibility of reaching as a requirement; if the warpspiders are 24" away, there is a possibility(ever so slight), besides the free movement pre-overwatch there is no real benefit to declating such a charge unless the spiders actually roll 4 6s, if the charge is declared and the opponent doesn't overwatch the unit will roll charge range, fail, and sit there.
Warp spiders are jet-pack infantry, so a declared charge denied overwatch is actually worse than just moving the 2d6 in the assault phase.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 19:35:45
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Not knowing whether you can reach the target based on whether or not the target overwatches is exactly the same as being 12" away and not knowing whether or not you will roll boxcars.
The denial of being able to reach the unit is from older editions, just updated slightly that implies the possibility of reaching as a requirement; if the warpspiders are 24" away, there is a possibility(ever so slight), besides the free movement pre-overwatch there is no real benefit to declating such a charge unless the spiders actually roll 4 6s, if the charge is declared and the opponent doesn't overwatch the unit will roll charge range, fail, and sit there.
Warp spiders are jet-pack infantry, so a declared charge denied overwatch is actually worse than just moving the 2d6 in the assault phase.
At the time the warp spiders can declare the assault charges their flickerjump is not an option in how far they can assault.
Its not the same as saying you may not roll 12 on 2d6, so you can't say you can charge 12".
Because at the time an unit assaults it is possible for it to go 2d6" which means the max is 12".
At the time warp spiders assault, they have no flickerjump movement so at that step in the game the max they can go is 12" from the 2d6" roll they currently are allowed to possibly move.
Its not exactly the same thing.
at the time you declare charges the warp spiders only have a possible 2d6" assault move, you have no possible flickerjump movement yet.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 19:40:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 20:06:48
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
You absolutely have a possible flickerjump, it is not quite available until after your declaration of charge and the opponent's declaration of overwatch, but it is a possibility.
If you meant you don't have access to the flickerjump yet, that is true. But again the delarations themselves grant the access.
You absolutely have the possibility to reach the unit over 12" away with spiders. It does not matter that the possibility is reliant on your opponent overwatching, you could only reach the opponent <12" away if you rolled boxcars. That is the same situation as both are things that could be done reliant on outside forces.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 20:17:49
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Flickerjump is no less a potential "can" to declare a charge at a unit 23" away than rolling two sixes on your 2D6 charge range to declare a charge at a unit 12" away.
There is the potential for it to succeed, thus you may declare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 20:56:16
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, there is currently no potential for it to succeed because until they are targetted to be shot at they cannot flickerjump and gain movement.
they cannot be targeted when they declare the charge, so at the time they declare it the only possible charge range they can do is 12", which is 2d6".
Claiming otherwise is not allowed within the rules, not only that it is the same as claiming you can target units with blast weapons that are out of your range, because you might scatter and hit them because of a result that happens after target declaration and can change where the shot ends.
Which is also not allowed.
When you declare your charge you do not have any flickerjump movement, you do not even have the option to decide to flickerjump yet.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 21:04:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:11:09
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
blaktoof wrote:No, there is currently no potential for it to succeed because until they are targetted to be shot at they cannot flickerjump and gain movement.
And until you roll two sixes you cannot complete any charge you wish to declare. If the possibility of rolling sufficient charge distance is enough to allow you to declare a charge why is the possibility of being targeted by Overwatch to engage Flickerjump not enough to allow you to declare a charge?
they cannot be targeted when they declare the charge, so at the time they declare it the only possible charge range they can do is 12", which is 2d6".
Claiming otherwise is not allowed within the rules, not only that it is the same as claiming you can target units with blast weapons that are out of your range, because you might scatter and hit them because of a result that happens after target declaration and can change where the shot ends.
Which is also not allowed.
No. Your example is wrong. Shooting rules state you may only target a unit within range and line of sight (a strictly defined requirement), not that you may target a unit that it can end up being able to hit and allocate wounds to (a potential requirement).
When you declare your charge you do not have any flickerjump movement, you do not even have the option to decide to flickerjump yet.
When you declare your charge you have no charge range. As above, when charging you are relying on a potential ability to reach - you have the potential to engage Flickerjump to close the distance just as much as you have the potential to roll 12" on 2D6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:18:59
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Mr. Shine wrote:And until you roll two sixes you cannot complete any charge you wish to declare. If the possibility of rolling sufficient charge distance is enough to allow you to declare a charge why is the possibility of being targeted by Overwatch to engage Flickerjump not enough to allow you to declare a charge?
The point is the declaration of the charge grants the roll, whereas Flickerjump is not granted by the declaration of the charge. The Flickerjump is dependent on the charged unit declaring Overwatch.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:24:04
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghaz wrote:The point is the declaration of the charge grants the roll, whereas Flickerjump is not granted by the declaration of the charge. The Flickerjump is dependent on the charged unit declaring Overwatch.
And the declaration grants the target unit the opportunity to Overwatch, which grants the Warp Spiders the opportunity to Flickerjump.
Simply because it is a further step removed does not exclude the possibility they then could make the charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:27:26
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Ghaz wrote:The point is the declaration of the charge grants the roll, whereas Flickerjump is not granted by the declaration of the charge. The Flickerjump is dependent on the charged unit declaring Overwatch.
And the declaration grants the target unit the opportunity to Overwatch, which grants the Warp Spiders the opportunity to Flickerjump.
Simply because it is a further step removed does not exclude the possibility they then could make the charge.
at the time you declare the charge, it has to be a valid charge for the opponent to overwatch.
If you declare a charge from 13" you did not declare a valid charge as you cannot reach your opponent with the 2d6" assault move you are allowed to make, and they can not opt to overwatch.
So actually because it is a further step removed, and you do not have the extra dice/distance yet because you have no permission to flickerjump until targetted it does prevent you from using it as a possibility. While you may reason they can jump that distance, the rules do not allow you to do it as you have zero possibility to flickerjump at the time you declare a charge, you do not gain that option until you are targetted by overwatch from declaring a valid charge- which is 2d6"- where you do have the possibility of moving 2d6" from the assault moved you are given permission to take at that time.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/08 21:29:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:35:39
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The rules for declaring a charge say nothing about granting permission to roll charge range. That is a subsequent step in the Charge Sub-phase, but it is not granted in declaring a charge.
The limitations/restrictions on charging (relevant to this discussion) are:
"A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit that it cannot see... This means that a charge can usually only be declared on a unit up to 12" away..."
These rules place no limitation on the method of reaching the charge target, only the possibility of that unit being reached. Indeed, mention is specifically made that a 12" charge range is only usually the distance limit to which a unit can declare their charge target, but is not definitive.
Just because the ability for the Warp Spiders to reach the unit is dependent on three things (the enemy unit choosing to Overwatch, rolling sufficiently for Flickerjump and then rolling sufficient charge range) rather than two (not losing enough models from Overwatch to increase charge range beyond what is possible, and then rolling sufficient charge range) does not mean they cannot reach the charge target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 21:39:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:42:21
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mr. Shine wrote:The rules for declaring a charge say nothing about granting permission to roll charge range. That is a subsequent step in the Charge Sub-phase, but it is not granted in declaring a charge.
The limitations/restrictions on charging (relevant to this discussion) are:
"A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit that it cannot see... This means that a charge can usually only be declared on a unit up to 12" away..."
These rules place no limitation on the method of reaching the charge target, only the possibility of that unit being reached. Indeed, mention is specifically made that a 12" charge range is only usually the distance limit to which a unit can declare their charge target, but is not definitive.
At the time warp spiders declare a charge they have what for a charge range?
you have only a 2d6" assault move at the time you declare the charge.
Can you reach the unit at the time you declare the charge?
no.
Overwatch does not happen until after you declare the charge, at which point the charge had to have been valid (if it was beyond 12" it was not valid and you could not have declared it)- then IF you get overwatched you can then flickerjump. The point that you have the possibility of even being allowed to flickerjump is not until after you have declared a valid charge and the opponent opts to overwatch.
You cannot declare a charge for an unit with a 2d6" assault range, which is what warp spiders have, that is greater than their assault distance of 12".
If you cannot declare a charge for greater than the unit can assault, the enemy unit cannot overwatch to give you "flickerjump" movement, so it is not possible under any rules that exist in the game to consider that as part of how far an unit can assault.
at the time you declare an assault, it is not possible to reach an unit more than 12" away by any means with warp spiders.
the word "usually" does not give blanket permission for everything to declare a charge from any distance, some models get +3" or +6" to their charge move, which is called out through a special rule. Flickerjump is not one of those, or anything like that.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/10/08 21:47:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:46:52
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Charge range is not stated to be the definitive and exclusive limiting factor, though; only the usual limiting factor.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:49:04
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
according to the entry for jetpack units, there is a defined charge range.
That is your limit, because that is how far the warp spiders can reach on their assault move when you are declaring charges.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:52:38
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
blaktoof wrote:according to the entry for jetpack units, there is a defined charge range.
That is your limit, because that is how far the warp spiders can reach on their assault move when you are declaring charges.
Wrong again:
"A Jet Pack unit that is not locked in combat or charging can move 2D6" in the Assault phase..."
If the Warp Spiders are charging they are not limited by the above.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:54:39
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Again, you're arguing a moot point. No sane opponent will ever grant you the extra 2D6 inches by performing an Overwatch.
Bob: I declare a charge with my dudes.
John: Um... ok. Roll for your charge range. Good luck getting 20" on 2D6.
Bob: Wait. Aren't you going to perform an Overwatch?
John: Lol! Of course not. Now good luck with your charge range. Oh, incidentally, I'll be moving away from you and firing at you in my turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:05:18
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
so are you saying jet pack units can't charge in the assault phase.
not sure what the wrong again part is, since you are pretty much making up permission to use flickerjump movement when you don't have it yet to do something. Whats wrong with the rules saying you have to declare a charge against a unit you can reach with your charge move, which for warp spiders is 2d6"? Flickerjump does not happen until targetted by shooting, which in this case is overwatch and does not happen until after you declare a charge(that is valid since you can't declare a charge that is not valid)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 21:58:39
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Kriswall wrote:Again, you're arguing a moot point. No sane opponent will ever grant you the extra 2D6 inches by performing an Overwatch.
Bob: I declare a charge with my dudes.
John: Um... ok. Roll for your charge range. Good luck getting 20" on 2D6.
Bob: Wait. Aren't you going to perform an Overwatch?
John: Lol! Of course not. Now good luck with your charge range. Oh, incidentally, I'll be moving away from you and firing at you in my turn.
100% agreed. I don't know why there's so much resistance when all it takes is to decline to Overwatch. Automatically Appended Next Post: blaktoof wrote:so are you saying jet pack units can't charge in the assault phase.
What? You've missed the point completely.
You're saying Jet Pack units are limited to 2D6" in the Assault phase because of the line I quoted under 'Thrust Move'.
That rule only applies if the Jet Pack unit is not locked in combat or not charging, so the 2D6" limitation you claim does not exist in the scenario we're discussing (because the Warp Spiders are declaring a charge).
not sure what the wrong again part is, since you are pretty much making up permission to use flickerjump movement when you don't have it yet to do something. Whats wrong with the rules saying you have to declare a charge against a unit you can reach with your charge move,
The rules don't say this. Read my earlier quote. In fact because you seem to have difficulty understanding me, I'll post it again:
"A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit that it cannot see..."
Notice how it doesn't say, "cannot reach with its charge move"?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 22:02:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 22:07:26
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mr. Shine wrote: Kriswall wrote:Again, you're arguing a moot point. No sane opponent will ever grant you the extra 2D6 inches by performing an Overwatch.
Bob: I declare a charge with my dudes.
John: Um... ok. Roll for your charge range. Good luck getting 20" on 2D6.
Bob: Wait. Aren't you going to perform an Overwatch?
John: Lol! Of course not. Now good luck with your charge range. Oh, incidentally, I'll be moving away from you and firing at you in my turn.
100% agreed. I don't know why there's so much resistance when all it takes is to decline to Overwatch.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
blaktoof wrote:so are you saying jet pack units can't charge in the assault phase.
What? You've missed the point completely.
You're saying Jet Pack units are limited to 2D6" in the Assault phase because of the line I quoted under 'Thrust Move'.
That rule only applies if the Jet Pack unit is not locked in combat or not charging, so the 2D6" limitation you claim does not exist in the scenario we're discussing (because the Warp Spiders are declaring a charge).
Yes so if that is how far jetpack units move when NOT locked in combat or NOT charging, I am asking you how far do they move when assaulting?
you are throwing that up as a strawman to say they have no limit on how far they can assault, which is ridiculous.
They have the 2d6" assault distance infantry do, and an additional and separate thrust move rule which you quoted as a strawman.
When you declare your charge, have you been targetted for shooting?
NO?
then you have a 2d6" assault move at the time you declare your charge, and that is the max possible distance at the time you declare your charge you can move, which means at the time you declare your charge that is the maximum you can reach.
I am sorry this is so hard for you to understand.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/08 22:08:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 22:14:51
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
blaktoof wrote:Yes so if that is how far jetpack units move when NOT locked in combat or NOT charging, I am asking you how far do they move when assaulting?
Ordinarily 2D6" although if Overwatch is declared that distance may increase. We know this because they definitely may charge and thus Flickerjump in response to Overwatch if within 12" as all seem to agree.
you are throwing that up as a strawman to say they have no limit on how far they can assault, which is ridiculous.
They have the 2d6" assault distance infantry do, and an additional and separate thrust move rule which you quoted as a strawman.
Are you drunk or high? You brought up the Thrust Move rule, here:
blaktoof wrote:according to the entry for jetpack units, there is a defined charge range.
It's your strawman, not mine.
When you declare your charge, have you been targetted for shooting?
NO?
then you have a 2d6" assault move at the time you declare your charge, and that is the max possible distance at the time you declare your charge you can move.
Wrong. You do not roll for charge distance until after Overwatch has been resolved. At the time of declaring the charge you in fact have zero charge distance.
I am sorry this is so hard for you to understand.
You're not even able to keep track of your own posts, and don't understand the basic Charge Sub-phase sequence. I'll remind you:
"- First, pick one of your units, and declare which enemy unit it wishes to charge.
- Then, the target enemy unit gets to make a special kind of shooting attack called Overwatch (see below).
- Once Overwatch is resolved, roll the charge distance for the unit and, if it is within range, move it into contact with the enemy unit - this is sometimes called 'launching an assault'."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 22:26:39
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mr. Shine wrote:blaktoof wrote:Yes so if that is how far jetpack units move when NOT locked in combat or NOT charging, I am asking you how far do they move when assaulting?
Ordinarily 2D6" although if Overwatch is declared that distance may increase. We know this because they definitely may charge and thus Flickerjump in response to Overwatch if within 12" as all seem to agree.
you are throwing that up as a strawman to say they have no limit on how far they can assault, which is ridiculous.
They have the 2d6" assault distance infantry do, and an additional and separate thrust move rule which you quoted as a strawman.
Are you drunk or high? You brought up the Thrust Move rule, here:
blaktoof wrote:according to the entry for jetpack units, there is a defined charge range.
It's your strawman, not mine.
When you declare your charge, have you been targetted for shooting?
NO?
then you have a 2d6" assault move at the time you declare your charge, and that is the max possible distance at the time you declare your charge you can move.
Wrong. You do not roll for charge distance until after Overwatch has been resolved. At the time of declaring the charge you in fact have zero charge distance.
I am sorry this is so hard for you to understand.
You're not even able to keep track of your own posts, and don't understand the basic Charge Sub-phase sequence. I'll remind you:
"- First, pick one of your units, and declare which enemy unit it wishes to charge.
- Then, the target enemy unit gets to make a special kind of shooting attack called Overwatch (see below).
- Once Overwatch is resolved, roll the charge distance for the unit and, if it is within range, move it into contact with the enemy unit - this is sometimes called 'launching an assault'."
I asked you how far jet pack units assault and you brought up thrust move which has nothing to do with how far they move when they assault....anyways beyond you being difficult on purpose...
The distance an unit can assault is the reach it can make on its charge, if the distance is not a factor until after overwatch you would not need to worry about how far any unit could reach on any assault, because you could still declare the charge which is not how the rules work.
You cannot declare a charge a distance you cannot possibly reach, and until overwatch happens you cannot declare a charge beyond 12" because that is the max warp spiders can assault move - which is the only possible movement you have at that time before overwatch is even an possibility.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 22:27:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 22:51:54
Subject: Re:Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
blaktoof wrote:I asked you how far jet pack units assault and you brought up thrust move which has nothing to do with how far they move when they assault....anyways beyond you being difficult on purpose...
No. As quoted, you explicitly stated there is a defined charge range for Jet Pack units according to their entry. The only mention of ranges and charging for Jet Pack units is the line I mentioned, so you were incorrectly stating they are limited to 2D6" in the assault phase, which is only the case if they are not already locked in combat or are not charging.
if the distance is not a factor until after overwatch you would not need to worry about how far any unit could reach on any assault, because you could still declare the charge which is not how the rules work.
You're leaving out the fact that, with Flickerjump, the unit could potentially reach their charge target. Again, you're making up that the rules only consider the rolled charge range to be relevant when in fact no such limitation is stated or exists.
You cannot declare a charge a distance you cannot possibly reach, and until overwatch happens you cannot declare a charge beyond 12" because that is the max warp spiders can assault move - which is the only possible movement you have at that time before overwatch is even an possibility.
Wrong. You "can never declare a charge against a unit you cannot reach". In a given scenario with a good Flickerjump you could, thus the charge declaration is valid. If the enemy unit do not Overwatch then you roll the 2D6 and the target is too far away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/08 22:57:47
Subject: Warp Spiders Flickerjump
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:blaktoof wrote:Yes so if that is how far jetpack units move when NOT locked in combat or NOT charging, I am asking you how far do they move when assaulting?
Ordinarily 2D6" although if Overwatch is declared that distance may increase. We know this because they definitely may charge and thus Flickerjump in response to Overwatch if within 12" as all seem to agree.
Considering there are units that can actually charge farther than 2D6" without situational things like FlickerJump, I am not sure this is the case.
Mr. Shine wrote:you are throwing that up as a strawman to say they have no limit on how far they can assault, which is ridiculous.
They have the 2d6" assault distance infantry do, and an additional and separate thrust move rule which you quoted as a strawman.
Are you drunk or high? You brought up the Thrust Move rule, here:
blaktoof wrote:according to the entry for jetpack units, there is a defined charge range.
It's your strawman, not mine.
Thrust wasn't brought up specifically here, Mr. Shine. I think he was pointing out that Jet Packs don't gain any advantages but the standard 2D6 Charge, especially since Thrust isn't used for the Charge, but when you are not.
Mr. Shine wrote:When you declare your charge, have you been targetted for shooting?
NO?
then you have a 2d6" assault move at the time you declare your charge, and that is the max possible distance at the time you declare your charge you can move.
Wrong. You do not roll for charge distance until after Overwatch has been resolved. At the time of declaring the charge you in fact have zero charge distance.
But only a potential 2D6", and even after FlickerJump, it is still a 2D6", just the starting point has changed is all.
Mr. Shine wrote:I am sorry this is so hard for you to understand.
You're not even able to keep track of your own posts, and don't understand the basic Charge Sub-phase sequence. I'll remind you:
"- First, pick one of your units, and declare which enemy unit it wishes to charge.
- Then, the target enemy unit gets to make a special kind of shooting attack called Overwatch (see below).
- Once Overwatch is resolved, roll the charge distance for the unit and, if it is within range, move it into contact with the enemy unit - this is sometimes called 'launching an assault'."
Also keep in mind that if you choose to Charge and fail because you overreached, you cannot Thrust. If you want to waste your Assault Phase like that, feel free, but the only reason I could see doing that is against a Tau Line, or similar, who can Overwatch the unit several times and just didn't know better, and that is rather dirty and unsportsmanlike play. But if you want to take full advantage of it, you should be able to make that 2D6" Charge so it would work even if they DID know better.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/08 22:58:43
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|