Switch Theme:

Can Abaddon become a Daemon Prince or Chaos Spawn.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can Abaddon become a Daemon Prince or Chaos Spawn?
Yes.
No.
He may only become a Daemon Prince.
He may only become a Chaos Spawn.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

This has come up a lot, especially with debates about deleted FAQs etc. So, after a roll on the Chaos Boon Table, can Abaddon become a Daemon Prince or Chaos Spawn?

At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Might help if you list the evidence and the most common reasons people would say yes or no.

In general, deleted FAQs have no value and shouldn't be used as evidence of current intent.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

I'm sorry,
I have no evidence and very little knowledge on the topic and that's why I'm asking. If anyone could provide any I would be grateful.

At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Rule wise no, not that I know of. Lore wise only a spawn because he is a failure after 13 failed attempts time for the gods to just zap his ass off the face of the galaxy.

I need to go to work every day.
Millions of people on welfare depend on me. 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






OgreChubbs wrote:
Rule wise no, not that I know of. Lore wise only a spawn because he is a failure after 13 failed attempts time for the gods to just zap his ass off the face of the galaxy.

Have a read of the Black Legion supplement. Those Black Crusades weren't failures at all.
   
Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

They were never expressed as failures. It's only this time his goal has been to destroy the Imperium. He had different goals for each of the others. He met them.

At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

That's the same line of logic our drill sergeants used when they tried to claim that America won Vietnam.

Abaddon got his Ababehind handed to him each time. He lost, he just needs to have a good story to save face with the troops.

Fortunately, he lost while still futzing a WHOLE LOT of crap up, and still being enough of a coward to know when to cut and run, meaning he survived to do it all again, which is why he still has the favor of the Chaos Clowns.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe




Bodt

Why would he be unable to? Unless it says so in the Black Legion supplement, which wouldn't matter unless you're using that supplement, or it says so in his regular codex unit entry.

4000 pts
4700+ pts
2500 pts Hive Fleet Gungnir

St. Peter don't you call me 'cause I can't go. I owe my soul to GW's store. 
   
Made in be
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Belgium

Because in the 6th Ed faqs of the codex it was written that Abbadon could ingore the Spawnhood or Deamonhood results on the Boons table.

But for some reason when 7th Hit, the faqs was retroed to an earlier version of a few months early, and that line, with some others that where still valide and in now way had to change, where missing.

its not that the Faqs was deleted, its missing key components for no reason, and don't " yeah but it is a 6th ed faq, we're in 7th now" CSM book is still a 6th Ed codex.

So here we use the full faq how it was before GW screwed it.

   
Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

 Slayer le boucher wrote:
Because in the 6th Ed faqs of the codex it was written that Abbadon could ingore the Spawnhood or Deamonhood results on the Boons table.

But for some reason when 7th Hit, the faqs was retroed to an earlier version of a few months early, and that line, with some others that where still valide and in now way had to change, where missing.

its not that the Faqs was deleted, its missing key components for no reason, and don't " yeah but it is a 6th ed faq, we're in 7th now" CSM book is still a 6th Ed codex.

So here we use the full faq how it was before GW screwed it.

Thanks,
This is what I'd been reading, but everybody seemed to think the FAQ was redundant. Does this apply to other special characters?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Jimsolo wrote:
That's the same line of logic our drill sergeants used when they tried to claim that America won Vietnam.

Abaddon got his Ababehind handed to him each time. He lost, he just needs to have a good story to save face with the troops.

Fortunately, he lost while still futzing a WHOLE LOT of crap up, and still being enough of a coward to know when to cut and run, meaning he survived to do it all again, which is why he still has the favor of the Chaos Clowns.

Give one example of when he lost.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/29 18:07:04


At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nottingham

Abaddon isn't loosing. He's fighting the long fight, and taking his time. If he was failing, other warlords would have stopped following him by crusade 5. Probably isn't all going just as planned for him though.

Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on Sons of Horus

Have a look at my 3d Printed Mierce Miniatures

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in us
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot





He's playing the long game by getting the Imperium to concentrate all of their forces in the Eye. Then him and his Chaos Marines will pop out of their hiding places... INSIDE THEN HIVE SWARMS!

That's why Nids and CSM will be battle brothers in the next CSM codex. Forge the narrative.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 Slayer le boucher wrote:
Because in the 6th Ed faqs of the codex it was written that Abbadon could ingore the Spawnhood or Deamonhood results on the Boons table.

But for some reason when 7th Hit, the faqs was retroed to an earlier version of a few months early, and that line, with some others that where still valide and in now way had to change, where missing.

its not that the Faqs was deleted, its missing key components for no reason, and don't " yeah but it is a 6th ed faq, we're in 7th now" CSM book is still a 6th Ed codex.

So here we use the full faq how it was before GW screwed it.

No, we don't. Why woulld we use a document that has been superceded and is no longer in print?

Feel free to house rule it that way, but don't make the mistake of passing that off as RAW.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

The faq was updated. You don't have to play the latest faq the same way you dont have to play the latest codex or even the latest rulebook.

As far as tournament play goes, expect to be using the latest version of the faq

RAW he no longer gets to ignore the spawn/daemon results

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in ie
Furious Raptor





Doesn't it say somewhere in the Chaos Space Marine codex that he isn't ready for it yet?

I don't have the codex on hand, but I could swear it did...
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Yes
Yes
   
Made in us
Hierarch





The only thing I could see that would be a problem for the Dark apotheosis result is that he has all 4 marks. As such, how does he transform into a deamon of just one of the gods? Do you choose which type he becomes when he transforms? Does he somehow gain all 4 types, and as such has hatred for himself? These are legitimate questions, that have only come up because GW removed stuff from their FAQ, which makes it somewhat sensible that people just go back to the old one, which did address them. Personally, I would rule that Abaddon ignores Dark Apotheosis results, as you cannot be every kind of deamon at once, but does NOT ignore spawnhood results and instead becomes a Spawn of Chaos Undivided.

 Tamereth wrote:

We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
 
   
Made in us
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot





OR, you could become all four at once, roll a die every beginning of every turn:

1) He evaporates into the warp. Remove from play.
2) Khorne
3) Nurgle
4) Tzeentch
5) Slaneesh
6) Gorka/Morka, turns into a squig.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






The reason the FAQ went away is because Abaddon's rules were updated in the "Warlords of the Dark Millennium: Champions of Chaos" thing that was released from GW. It has in-depth rules for all the named characters, and on Abaddon's page it says the following:

CHAOS BOON TABLE
If Abaddon rolls Spawnhood or Dark Apotheosis on the Chaos Boon Table, re-roll this result (and any further results of the same). The Despoiler is not meant for Daemonhood just yet!


So no, Abaddon cannot get Spawnhood or Dark Apotheosis.

EDIT:
Linky to the black library thing
http://www.blacklibrary.com/all-products/Abaddon.html

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/01 12:02:31


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wow, talk about burying their products. Is Abaddon changed in any other way that means I'll have to spend $5 on this? Or is my Chaos Codex still valid? Thanks for the find Mulletdude!

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

Finally,
I can't see any argument to make against this. Thanks, I'll definitely say he ignores the results. Strange that the pole says otherwise, but there is little that can be done to reverse this evidence, so thank you.
Also, does this or any other edited rule come for other special characters?

At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

So it seems they do still have it written somewhere

Its a bit harsh having to pay $5.99 for one rule though

Don't expect anyone to let you ignore those results without having a copy of that supplement to show them

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/01 21:24:31


"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






I wouldn't pay $5 for that dataslate thing. Offers no other rules that aren't already in the codex. If you're just looking for that part of the rule, here is a snippet from the epub.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thanks MulletDude.

Are there similar rules for other characters ?

DFTT 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






I don't think this works by RAW either. In short: the rules listed in "Warlords of the Dark Millennium: Abaddon the Despoiler" are not valid. Here's why:

The rulebook states that all units must be part of a Faction (RB, "Detachments"). In newer publications, this is listed in the unit entry as a symbol. This publication does not have a symbol.

In older publications, "the Faction of all the units described in a codex is the same as the codex's title." This publication is not a codex, so this rule does not apply.

For codex supplements, the Faction is the same as the parent codex instead. This publication is never listed as a supplement for Codex: Chaos Space Marines, so this rule does not apply.

Further, this publication never states that the rules contained within replace those from Codex: Chaos Space Marines, so we cannot assume that they do.

Therefore, this unit does not have a Faction listed, so cannot be used in games of Warhammer 40,000.

Therefore, the only valid rules for Abaddon the Despoiler can be found in Codex: Chaos Space Marines, which has no restriction against him from becoming a Daemon Prince or Chaos Spawn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/02 20:34:33


 
   
Made in be
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Belgium

 Cheexsta wrote:
 Slayer le boucher wrote:
Because in the 6th Ed faqs of the codex it was written that Abbadon could ingore the Spawnhood or Deamonhood results on the Boons table.

But for some reason when 7th Hit, the faqs was retroed to an earlier version of a few months early, and that line, with some others that where still valide and in now way had to change, where missing.

its not that the Faqs was deleted, its missing key components for no reason, and don't " yeah but it is a 6th ed faq, we're in 7th now" CSM book is still a 6th Ed codex.

So here we use the full faq how it was before GW screwed it.

No, we don't. Why woulld we use a document that has been superceded and is no longer in print?

Feel free to house rule it that way, but don't make the mistake of passing that off as RAW.


I meant in our LGS, and its not a mistake, since its GW's for passing from January 2015 faq to July/August 2014 for Gods know what...

Now that begs the question what about the guy that has the pdf version of the faq that date January 2015 and someone that only has the one from 2014?

By logic isn't the one that is chronologicaly closer the right one to use?

The line " up to date rules" must amount for something don't you think Cheexsta?

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: