Switch Theme:

40K FAQ first draft posted (ALL CODEX FINAL FAQS added 1/20)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Bojazz wrote:
Okay, let's compare that to another rule that says a unit can do something. Eldar Crystal Targeting Matrix. - "One use only. A non-Walker vehicle with this upgrade can fire one weapon, at the vehicle’s full Ballistic Skill, after moving Flat Out in the Shooting phase."

The unit CAN.. again "CAN" fire a weapon at full ballistic skill. Can the unit fire at full ballistic skill if it jinked? No, it must snap fire. Saying a unit CAN do something does not give it permission to ignore every other restriction that would affect that action. Saying a unit "can" do something gives it permission to attempt it, while obeying all normal restrictions unless specifically stated otherwise.

So while the Tyrant has permission to attempt to join as if it were an Independent Character, the new FAQ has made it so that a Monstrous Creature Independent Character would not be able to join, so the join attempt fails.


This has nothing to do with independent character joining MC units, this has to do with Monstrous Creature Independent Character joining normal units - which they cannot do as per the new FAQ.

"Q: If a Monstrous Creature is also an Independent Character,
can it join other units? Can other Independent Characters then
join the unit that the Monstrous Creature is now a part of?
A: No, to both question."


Thst rules in question was talking about after moving flat out, not at all times or when jinking... Also 1 ruling from a different rule cant alway be used for another rule, we've seen this turn out wrong many times.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Charistoph wrote:
Q: If the Veil of Darkness is used while with a group of warriors and you go into Ongoing Reserves due to a Deep Strike Mishap, can you come in by Deep Striking?
A: Only if all of the models involved have the Deep Strike rule.

Q: If a unit has successfully manifested the Gate of Infinity psychic power but mishaps with its Deep Strike and gets the Delayed result, how does it come back into play the next round – walking on from its own table edge or by Deep Strike?
A: It arrives by Deep Strike.

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.

Double Standards still exist.

Q: When listing Formations, sometimes it states ‘1 model’ (like 1 Tomb Spyder), while other times it lists ‘1 Unit of models’ (like 1 unit of Tomb Blades). Are these interchangeable?
A: No. The former means a single model of the type listed, while the later means a single unit of the type listed.

No Chapter Masters for the Demi-Company.

Still that crap about ICs not having detachment rules apply to them, never mind that most operate in the same method as Stubborn, Slow and Purposeful, etc.

And still that crap about using a grenade in Assault as being "thrown".


The BB in transport vs 2 formations.

That makes sense that, If i had 2 DE formations and 1 Eldar, my DE can use each others vehicles in Depolyment, its there technology, its their vehicles still, where the eldar vehicles are theirs.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/11/23 00:13:29


   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Amishprn86 wrote:

Thst rules in question was talking about after moving flat out, not at all times or when jinking... Also 1 ruling from a different rule cant alway be used for another rule, we've seen this turn out wrong many times.
And the Guard rule is talking about treating the Tyrant like an Independent Character, not giving it blanket permission to join.

Okay, let's look at a closer scenario.
If the Tyrant guard were locked in combat, would the Hive Tyrant be able to join them? No, because Independent Characters cannot join units that are locked in combat. Here you see that the restrictions on what Independent Characters can and cannot join still apply, the Shieldwall special rule does not give the Tyrant blanket permission to ignore all restrictions. It gives the Hive Tyrant permission to join when an Independent Character normally would be able to. The FAQ just changed when a MC IC would be able to to "Never".

As I said earlier, I doubt anyone would actually deny you the ability to join, because it is clearly the RAI - however I feel the new ruling in the FAQ broke the RAW on this one.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/11/23 00:32:12


 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




 Amishprn86 wrote:
pm713 wrote:
 Amishprn86 wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
 Amishprn86 wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Bojazz wrote:


-
- Tyrants May join Hive Guard "Exactly as if it were an Independent Character", which is now officially FAQ'd to mean "Not at all".


Codex still trumps BRB and this rule is specific, so its fine.

Codex may trump BRB, but if you're joining a unit that an Independent Character isn't able to join, then you are not joining "Exactly like an Independent Character", and breaking the rule in the codex.


"like a IC joining a unit" thats what it is referring to, its a reference to how it is working not the rules to let it do so.

Codex Nids is worded so you can do this.


Let's test the same interpretation in another scenario. Imagine a psychic power that said "While this power is in effect, target non-vehicle unit can join units exactly as if it were an Independent Character". I realize there is no such power in the game, but the wording and the hypothetical scenario in which it would be used is the same as Shieldwall from the Tyranid codex
- If "Exactly as if it were an Independent Character" is only giving it permission to perform a joining action without any of the restrictions of being an Independent Chararacter, the target unit would be able to join vehicle units, monstrous creatures, heck, even enemy units.
- If "Exactly as if it were an Independent Character" means to treat it as if it were an Independent Character for the joining action, then it would not be able to join Vehicles or Monstrous Creatures as normal.

I agree that RAI - The Tyrant should absolutely be able to join the guard, that's the entire purpose of the rule. Unfortunately, I believe the new ruling by GW would prevent it.


"As if it was an IC" aka not a MC.

And anyways Codex > BrB so it doesnt matter, why are you even arguing this?

Where on Earth does the not an MC part come from? The rule just makes the Tyrant an IC when trying to join the Tyrant Guard which does nothing now.


The rule states it acts like a IC that CAN.. again "CAN" join this unit.... why is that so hard for you? Now you are just arguing semantics to argue.

Rules state "Codex rules over BrB" Codex states "This unit CAN join the Hive Tyrant"

End.

"as if it were an IC". So like IC's it can't join the unit. You got a page number for codex over brb?

tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam  
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Amishprn86 wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.

Double Standards still exist.

The BB in transport vs 2 formations.

That makes sense that, If i had 2 DE formations and 1 Eldar, my DE can use each others vehicles in Depolyment, its there technology, its their vehicles still, where the eldar vehicles are theirs.

It is a double standard since Battle Brothers and units from the same Faction both treat each other exactly the same according to the rulebook, "friendly units". No distinction of difference is noted during Deployment in either Transport Rules, Ally Rules, or the Deployment section. They can Embark on each others' Transports during the game, but they couldn't have hopped a ride?

Eldar make as much sense as Space Marines in this case. Dark Eldar were using Eldar equipment before Space Marines were created, and should be sufficiently familiar.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






 Charistoph wrote:
Amishprn86 wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.

Double Standards still exist.

The BB in transport vs 2 formations.

That makes sense that, If i had 2 DE formations and 1 Eldar, my DE can use each others vehicles in Depolyment, its there technology, its their vehicles still, where the eldar vehicles are theirs.

It is a double standard since Battle Brothers and units from the same Faction both treat each other exactly the same according to the rulebook, "friendly units". No distinction of difference is noted during Deployment in either Transport Rules, Ally Rules, or the Deployment section. They can Embark on each others' Transports during the game, but they couldn't have hopped a ride?

Eldar make as much sense as Space Marines in this case. Dark Eldar were using Eldar equipment before Space Marines were created, and should be sufficiently familiar.


10k years is a long time tho, enough could have changed

   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





 Insectum7 wrote:
 Togusa wrote:
 Insectum7 wrote:
They kept the stupid "only one model may use a grenade in assault" grenade ruling. Shame.


. . .That's not how actual combat works. . .


Obviously I can't change the ruling, but that argument never made sense to me for a number of reasons. But rather than re-hash that entire debate, the clearest issue with the ruling to me is the "twenety-man unit with lots of grenades is only as effective as a three-man unit with one grenade."

I think the whole point of this ruling is to simulate each model carrying one grenade. If all 15 tankbustas used a meltabomb in each combat (I know, almost impossible) then the unit would detonate 210 melta bombs total. If 1 tankbusta used a grenade in each combat (same caveat) they would use 14.

Not very satisfactory, but I think that is what they were getting at.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I think they clarified tank shock very well. Crunch is still possible, even likely in many cases. Trukks are back as light D weapons....just leave 1 guy standing in a pocket and the rest of his unit goes bye-bye:
Pick up only those models actively displaced by the
Tank Shock, and place them on the battlefield with all
models within unit coherency, as close as possible to
their starting location and with no models within 1" of
an enemy unit. Any models that cannot be placed in
this way will be removed as casualties. If the whole unit
is displaced, it will be moved together as above, and
because of this it is impossible to remove an entire unit
from play with a Tank Shock, unless the unit is unable to
move; units that have Gone to Ground return to normal
immediately, as it counts as being forced to move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/23 01:03:49


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

It is referring the Grenades that are used in Assault as "thrown" that gets me. If it was just those in in base contact, it would make sense, but ignoring how you used your own words is a mockery.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Galef wrote:
I've known of this issue since 5th ed. Under the 7th ed rules, it is "possible" but mathematically improbably if you must move in a straight line to your primary target. I liked that they changed the answer to "No", but wish they worded it more inclusively

It's not possible at all, and hasn't been for several editions now at least.

In the current edition, the rules for charging in multiple combats very specifically forbid you from moving a model into contact with a secondary target unless it is unable to make contact with the primary. And if you're unable to make contact with the primary target, that charge fails.

So there is no legal way for a single model unit to successfully charge two separate units, even if you manage to fluke their placement so that they are perfectly equidistant.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Bojazz wrote:
 Amishprn86 wrote:

Thst rules in question was talking about after moving flat out, not at all times or when jinking... Also 1 ruling from a different rule cant alway be used for another rule, we've seen this turn out wrong many times.
And the Guard rule is talking about treating the Tyrant like an Independent Character, not giving it blanket permission to join.


Incorrect. The rule allows the Tyrant to join the unit, exactly as if it were an IC, which it is not.

Okay, let's look at a closer scenario.
If the Tyrant guard were locked in combat, would the Hive Tyrant be able to join them? No, because Independent Characters cannot join units that are locked in combat. Here you see that the restrictions on what Independent Characters can and cannot join still apply, the Shieldwall special rule does not give the Tyrant blanket permission to ignore all restrictions. It gives the Hive Tyrant permission to join when an Independent Character normally would be able to. The FAQ just changed when a MC IC would be able to to "Never".

As I said earlier, I doubt anyone would actually deny you the ability to join, because it is clearly the RAI - however I feel the new ruling in the FAQ broke the RAW on this one.


The FAQ just stopped the silly "This MC IC will join last rules lawyering that everyone was saying was possible"
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Guys, I guarantee you that the change to IC MCs will hit affect the hive Tyrant. Getting in to nutty gritty debate about it is entirely a waste of time.

   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Fragile wrote:
The FAQ just stopped the silly "This MC IC will join last rules lawyering that everyone was saying was possible"
I totally get that this was the reason for the rule change, and I agree with the reasoning, but they ended up breaking this at the same time. If the Hive Tyrant is allowed to ignore joining restrictions because it is not an Independent Character even though it is being treated as one, then would you also allow it to join Tyrant Guard locked in combat? Tyrant Guard across the table? Tyrant Guard that are currently in Reserve? These are all restrictions for Independent Characters joining units. If not, then why would you force it to abide by those restrictions but not the new one?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Trasvi wrote:
Guys, I guarantee you that the change to IC MCs will hit affect the hive Tyrant. Getting in to nutty gritty debate about it is entirely a waste of time.


Nobody disagrees with that point. As has been stated several times already, we all realize nobody would play this way - We are simply discussing the RAW. This IS the YMDC forum, devoted to discussing rules as they are written.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/23 02:00:08


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Let's wait until we see what the Tyranid FAQ says about the Hive Tyrant joining the Hive Guard first.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

One relic per model


Waiting for clarification about Tau on this and their "relics".

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Bojazz wrote:
Fragile wrote:
The FAQ just stopped the silly "This MC IC will join last rules lawyering that everyone was saying was possible"
I totally get that this was the reason for the rule change, and I agree with the reasoning, but they ended up breaking this at the same time. If the Hive Tyrant is allowed to ignore joining restrictions because it is not an Independent Character even though it is being treated as one, then would you also allow it to join Tyrant Guard locked in combat? Tyrant Guard across the table? Tyrant Guard that are currently in Reserve? These are all restrictions for Independent Characters joining units. If not, then why would you force it to abide by those restrictions but not the new one?


Again your failing to apply basic vs advanced. You have a codex rule telling you to allow a Tyrant to join a unit exactly like an IC would. It does not give the Tyrant the IC rule, which would be the scenario you put forth. So you follow all of those rules in the IC section for joining.

BRB says it cant join because its a MC.
Codex says it can join due to special, specific rule.

Codex wins.

Your making more complicated than it is.

edit:: I bet Ovesa get a rule stated similarly, whenever they update

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/11/23 13:44:22


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Fragile wrote:
Again your failing to apply basic vs advanced. You have a codex rule telling you to allow a Tyrant to join a unit exactly like an IC would. It does not give the Tyrant the IC rule, which would be the scenario you put forth. So you follow all of those rules in the IC section for joining.

BRB says it cant join because its a MC.
Codex says it can join due to special, specific rule.

Codex wins.

Your making more complicated than it is.

edit:: I bet Ovesa get a rule stated similarly, whenever they update

A few of the FAQs also ignore the Basic vs Advanced rule as well.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




I was letting DE players keep their BS while jinking anyway. I guess my opinion was vindicated in the end. DE did not need that kick in the balls. I get a little help for my sternguard on board stormravens, assuming I ever use them again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/23 15:26:42


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





 Mr Morden wrote:
One relic per model


Waiting for clarification about Tau on this and their "relics".


It still includes "unless specifically noted otherwise" and I believe the entries for the Tau allow them to take multiple Sig Systems. The commander, for example, "may take items from the Signature System list." If they can take items, they aren't limited to one. Whether that's considered to be an instance of "specifically noted otherwise" is potentially up for debate.

I'd agree that, despite not using the word "Relic" in their name and description, Signature Systems are "relics" of the Tau Empire.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Unusual Suspect wrote:
 Mr Morden wrote:
One relic per model


Waiting for clarification about Tau on this and their "relics".


It still includes "unless specifically noted otherwise" and I believe the entries for the Tau allow them to take multiple Sig Systems. The commander, for example, "may take items from the Signature System list." If they can take items, they aren't limited to one. Whether that's considered to be an instance of "specifically noted otherwise" is potentially up for debate.

I'd agree that, despite not using the word "Relic" in their name and description, Signature Systems are "relics" of the Tau Empire.


I disagree that Tau Empire Signature Systems are "Relics/Artifacts". Doesn't match the fluff. They're not unique and beautiful snowflakes. They're generally pieces of prototype wargear which would presumably be handed out in limited numbers for testing purposes before being rolled out en masse. For an in game perspective, look at a couple of the weapons that used to be "relics", but are now available to any Crisis Suit. In any case, their Codex specifically allows them to take items from the list... items (plural) being a permission to take more than one.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





 Kriswall wrote:
 Unusual Suspect wrote:
 Mr Morden wrote:
One relic per model


Waiting for clarification about Tau on this and their "relics".


It still includes "unless specifically noted otherwise" and I believe the entries for the Tau allow them to take multiple Sig Systems. The commander, for example, "may take items from the Signature System list." If they can take items, they aren't limited to one. Whether that's considered to be an instance of "specifically noted otherwise" is potentially up for debate.

I'd agree that, despite not using the word "Relic" in their name and description, Signature Systems are "relics" of the Tau Empire.


I disagree that Tau Empire Signature Systems are "Relics/Artifacts". Doesn't match the fluff. They're not unique and beautiful snowflakes. They're generally pieces of prototype wargear which would presumably be handed out in limited numbers for testing purposes before being rolled out en masse. For an in game perspective, look at a couple of the weapons that used to be "relics", but are now available to any Crisis Suit. In any case, their Codex specifically allows them to take items from the list... items (plural) being a permission to take more than one.


They are not relics, but they seem sufficiently "special snowflake" for me to put them in the same category as a relic would be for any other faction, particularly given their parallel rule structure and layout to every other faction's relic-equivalents, and thus should be subject to "relic" rules generally.

It's ultimately mostly an inconsequential interpretive element, given our agreement on your second point - that by allowing them to take "items" and not "an item" they have "specifically noted" an allowance to take multiple Signature Systems such that the FAQ's clarification wouldn't apply to the Tau Empire's "relics" regardless.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Kriswall wrote:
In any case, their Codex specifically allows them to take items from the list... items (plural) being a permission to take more than one.


Does that mean Farseers and Autarchs ("May take items from the Remnants of Glory") can take more than one Remnant?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





 Happyjew wrote:
 Kriswall wrote:
In any case, their Codex specifically allows them to take items from the list... items (plural) being a permission to take more than one.


Does that mean Farseers and Autarchs ("May take items from the Remnants of Glory") can take more than one Remnant?


Seems reasonable to me, given there is no further limitation in the Remnants of Glory rules (in the same way that there's no further limitation in the Signature Systems rules).

Looking further, a lot of commander units have that same wording. Space Marine Captains, for one.

That makes the wording alone more dubious, unless there is different wording for other commander units.
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

 Kriswall wrote:
 Unusual Suspect wrote:
 Mr Morden wrote:
One relic per model


Waiting for clarification about Tau on this and their "relics".


It still includes "unless specifically noted otherwise" and I believe the entries for the Tau allow them to take multiple Sig Systems. The commander, for example, "may take items from the Signature System list." If they can take items, they aren't limited to one. Whether that's considered to be an instance of "specifically noted otherwise" is potentially up for debate.

I'd agree that, despite not using the word "Relic" in their name and description, Signature Systems are "relics" of the Tau Empire.


I disagree that Tau Empire Signature Systems are "Relics/Artifacts". Doesn't match the fluff. They're not unique and beautiful snowflakes. They're generally pieces of prototype wargear which would presumably be handed out in limited numbers for testing purposes before being rolled out en masse. For an in game perspective, look at a couple of the weapons that used to be "relics", but are now available to any Crisis Suit. In any case, their Codex specifically allows them to take items from the list... items (plural) being a permission to take more than one.


Are they are only allowed one per army like any other Relic?

We will see if the Tau are singled out to allow multiple special snowflake items on a single model or not.

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





Bojazz wrote:
Okay, let's compare that to another rule that says a unit can do something. Eldar Crystal Targeting Matrix. - "One use only. A non-Walker vehicle with this upgrade can fire one weapon, at the vehicle’s full Ballistic Skill, after moving Flat Out in the Shooting phase."

The unit CAN.. again "CAN" fire a weapon at full ballistic skill. Can the unit fire at full ballistic skill if it jinked? No, it must snap fire. Saying a unit CAN do something does not give it permission to ignore every other restriction that would affect that action. Saying a unit "can" do something gives it permission to attempt it, while obeying all normal restrictions unless specifically stated otherwise.

So while the Tyrant has permission to attempt to join as if it were an Independent Character, the new FAQ has made it so that a Monstrous Creature Independent Character would not be able to join, so the join attempt fails.


This has nothing to do with independent characters joining MC units, this has to do with Monstrous Creature Independent Characters joining normal units - which they cannot do as per the new FAQ.

"Q: If a Monstrous Creature is also an Independent Character,
can it join other units? Can other Independent Characters then
join the unit that the Monstrous Creature is now a part of?
A: No, to both question."


It's the Hive Tyrant an IC Monstrous creature no.

The codex just points that there is an exception where they can join a tyrant guard as an IC would join other units but that doesn't make him an IC just follow the normal rules the Hive Tyrant it's still a normal MC (with character) and the Tyrant guard it's still a normal infantry unit.

Remember the Hive tyrant DO NOT become a Monstrous Creature IC you are just told to follow the IC rules to join the unit.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




But it's still an MC so it can't join things according to the IC rules.

tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Lord Perversor wrote:
...you are just told to follow the IC rules to join the unit.

...which tell us that he can't join if he's a monstrous creature.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 insaniak wrote:
Lord Perversor wrote:
...you are just told to follow the IC rules to join the unit.

...which tell us that he can't join if he's a monstrous creature.


Which is irrelevant, since there is a codex rule that tells you to join him.

The Tyrant is not an IC so cannot join a unit. The Tyrant is a MC, so cannot join a unit. Codex tells you to ignore both those and join him exactly like the IC rules tell you to.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




Fragile wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Lord Perversor wrote:
...you are just told to follow the IC rules to join the unit.

...which tell us that he can't join if he's a monstrous creature.


Which is irrelevant, since there is a codex rule that tells you to join him.

The Tyrant is not an IC so cannot join a unit. The Tyrant is a MC, so cannot join a unit. Codex tells you to ignore both those and join him exactly like the IC rules tell you to.

It doesn't tell you to ignore anything. It gives you the Independant Character rule regarding one unit not permission to ignore anything.

tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




pm713 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Lord Perversor wrote:
...you are just told to follow the IC rules to join the unit.

...which tell us that he can't join if he's a monstrous creature.


Which is irrelevant, since there is a codex rule that tells you to join him.

The Tyrant is not an IC so cannot join a unit. The Tyrant is a MC, so cannot join a unit. Codex tells you to ignore both those and join him exactly like the IC rules tell you to.

It doesn't tell you to ignore anything. It gives you the Independant Character rule regarding one unit not permission to ignore anything.


Perhaps you should reread the rule, you appear confused as to what the rule actually says.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




Fragile wrote:
pm713 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Lord Perversor wrote:
...you are just told to follow the IC rules to join the unit.

...which tell us that he can't join if he's a monstrous creature.


Which is irrelevant, since there is a codex rule that tells you to join him.

The Tyrant is not an IC so cannot join a unit. The Tyrant is a MC, so cannot join a unit. Codex tells you to ignore both those and join him exactly like the IC rules tell you to.

It doesn't tell you to ignore anything. It gives you the Independant Character rule regarding one unit not permission to ignore anything.


Perhaps you should reread the rule, you appear confused as to what the rule actually says.

I know it says to follow the IC rules.

tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam  
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





pm713 wrote:

I know it says to follow the IC rules.


And the Ic rules properly says.

"In order to join a unit, an (Independent Character/Hive Tyrant on this case) simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase."


Again the Codex gives you a specific permission to join the unit and how it's must be done.

IC cannot join MC or MC (IC) cannot join other units = general restriction
Hive tyrant can join a Tyrant guard unit on same way as IC join units = specific permission on a Codex .

The Codex just points you to follow the Joining and Leaving a Unit part of IC rules when the HIve Tyrant joins the Tyrant guard.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: