Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 19:28:55
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
morgoth wrote: doctortom wrote:Unfortunately RAW doesn't back that statement up. They tell you to look at different factions. And, the obviously aren't the "exact same faction" when they have multiple factions and at least one differ. RAI, I agree with you and I think most people will aplay it that way. RAW though, not so much agreement with what you're saying.
If there's nothing to discuss and what others are saying is irrelevant, I'm sure you can provide the rules citation to prove that.
There is zero RAW support for the theory that they are not the exact same faction.
Here's what the BRB says:
The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army.
Unit A is Ynneari&&Eldar
Unit B is Ynneari&&Harlequin
Unit A and B have the same faction.
It's only a matter of defining what it means to have a faction.
If you see it as a set bit, as it is intended in the case of multiple factions, then everything's fine.
More RAW to the rescue:
Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s
Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.
Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction
embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.
Battle Brothers cannot embark into each other's transports.
BUT
Wraithguard from Ynneari Detachment 1 can deploy in Raiders from Ynneari Detachment 2 and vice versa.
This tells us that Ynneari multi-faction units are NOT to be considered as Battle Brothers with regards to deployment within transport vehicles.
It just as much tells us that a unit with the Ynnari and Craftworld Eldar factions can not deploy on a transport with the Ynnari and Dark Eldar factions (and vice versa) because Craftworld Eldar and Dark Eldar are Battle Brothers. It doesn't say that being the same faction overrides also having different factions. That's all assumptions you''re reading into it. The RAW is that there's a rule prohibiting it that we are not told is overwritten. The FAQ question you are relying on is dealing with two detachments with the same faction, not one detachment with multiple factions, so it doesn't address handling multiple factions for a unit. Far from being told that Ynarri multi-faction units are NOT to be considered as Battle Brothers, we are left with conflicting rules that do NOT tell us that they are allowed to deploy inside others' transports. RAI, sure, I'll believe it, You don't get to use that RAI to try to state that RAW says what it doesn't, however.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 19:56:58
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
morgoth wrote: Charistoph wrote:Just having one Faction the same as another means absolutely nothing so long as there is another Faction that is different also present in the same unit. The has been stated several times now:
The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army.
Ynnari is different from Eldar just as much as Eldar is different from Dark Eldar. So, when one of those Transports sees a unit from their detachment, it sees a unit with two Factions, and two of them are different from its two. After all Ynnari does not match Eldar, and Eldar does not match Ynnari. The fact that Ynnari matches Ynnari means nothing as we are not supposed to consider this ramification at any point.
Now, if we only consider rules that are in the rulebook and the amendments and errata to such that have been provided, this is no problem. Battle Brothers can enter Transports with no restrictions.
It is only when one applies the FAQs which have zero written rule support (as opposed to clarifying a bad writing) that this actually becomes a problem.
Dude.. they are BOTH Ynnari.
That's it. Nothing to discuss, nothing to consider.
Whatever you or others may state on the topic is irrelevant: they are the exact same faction.
And this is incorrect and demonstrate you haven't read what you have written and what the rules have stated.
The Ynnari rules first state that the units within these detachments gain the Ynnari Faction in addition to their current Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequin Faction. So, they are not just Ynnari. If this is incorrect. please have someone backing up a quote or provide a screenshot which demonstrates this as innacurate.
Having the Same Factions along the same line is irrelevant if there is another Faction present. We are not told to not consider Allies if all Factions match, just if there are different Factions. Eldar and Ynnari are not the same Faction. If Ynnari is Eldar/Dark Eldar/Harlequin, please provide some manner of proof aside from your assertion that this is the case.
We are not told to consider two units who have the same group of multiple Factions as not Allies, so we cannot ignore the paragraph above, and Allies rules trigger. If the Ynnari rules state otherwise, please provide some manner of proof aside from your assertion that this is the case.
morgoth wrote:There is zero RAW support for the theory that they are not the exact same faction.
Actually, that's opposite, there is nothing to support the theory that two units that both share the same multiple Factions are to be considered the same Faction.
morgoth wrote:Here's what the BRB says:
The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army.
Unit A is Ynneari&&Eldar
Unit B is Ynneari&&Harlequin
Unit A and B have the same faction.
And they also have different Factions. Since the Allies rules do not care about the same Factions, and only care different Factions as noted in your quote, the Allies rules are triggered.
morgoth wrote:It's only a matter of defining what it means to have a faction.
If you see it as a set bit, as it is intended in the case of multiple factions, then everything's fine.
More RAW to the rescue:
Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s
Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.
Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction
embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.
Battle Brothers cannot embark into each other's transports.
BUT
Wraithguard from Ynneari Detachment 1 can deploy in Raiders from Ynneari Detachment 2 and vice versa.
This tells us that Ynneari multi-faction units are NOT to be considered as Battle Brothers with regards to deployment within transport vehicles.
Now that is reading into the question and applying RAW to a House Rule (per GW's own presentation of such). Which one gains precedence? Battle Brothers still applies, and usually if you have one rule stating, "no", and one stating "yes", "no" wins unless the "yes" directly addresses the "no" condition.
The second question does not allow us to ignore the status of Battle Brothers, which now is implemented here.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/20 19:57:31
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 20:16:28
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The problem with your theory is that while you consider having one of two factions being different enough to say "these models are of a different faction", you do not recognize that the opposite statement is just as true: "these models are of the same faction", which means that if the allies matrix applies, the BRB FaQ applies just the same.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 20:54:13
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
morgoth wrote:The problem with your theory is that while you consider having one of two factions being different enough to say "these models are of a different faction", you do not recognize that the opposite statement is just as true: "these models are of the same faction", which means that if the allies matrix applies, the BRB FaQ applies just the same.
His is not a theory. What you are not recognizing is that the permission you were quoting about the same faction in two different detachments being able to deploy in vehicles does not say anything about getting to ignore other factions in the units if there are multiple factions. Since there is no instruction to do that, you are forced to look at all the factions by RAW and have to follow the rules as to Battle Brothers if you find out that some of the factions aren't the same. But, you're right, the BrB FAQ applies - it's the FAQ question/answer about Battle Brothers that applies since we have no instructions about ignoring these factions if there is also the same faction present.
For what you say to be true, you have to supply a rules citation that tells you that if there is the same faction involved, you ignore all other factions that might be associated with the models involved. The FAQ question you cited does not address this, it's merely an unwarranted assumption on your part that we get to ignore the preceding FAQ question without actual rules that we may do so.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/20 20:57:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 23:34:37
Subject: Re:Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
You are clinging to a rule in the BRB that was written when units only hade ONE (1) faction.
This is not the case now. GW will FAQ it, or not.
But I would like to ask you something:
Unlike most units in Warhammer 40,000, Yvraine, the Visarch and the Yncarne are new Army List Entries that can be included in any Eldar, Dark Eldar or Harlequins Detachment, regardless of Faction restrictions.
Can the Visarch, for example, in a Dark Eldar CAD, join a unit of wyches, and embark on a fast slot raider?
"Regardless of Faction restrictions"
Or "No, they are ynnari faction and battle brother, they cannot"?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 01:32:49
Subject: Re:Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Tyrpak wrote:You are clinging to a rule in the BRB that was written when units only hade ONE (1) faction.
This is not the case now. GW will FAQ it, or not.
But I would like to ask you something:
Unlike most units in Warhammer 40,000, Yvraine, the Visarch and the Yncarne are new Army List Entries that can be included in any Eldar, Dark Eldar or Harlequins Detachment, regardless of Faction restrictions.
Can the Visarch, for example, in a Dark Eldar CAD, join a unit of wyches, and embark on a fast slot raider?
"Regardless of Faction restrictions"
Or "No, they are ynnari faction and battle brother, they cannot"?
The Visarch can embark, but cannot start in embarked - he is Ynnari and the Raider is Dark Eldar. The Faction restrictions deals with when a detachment (such as a CAD) says "All units in this detachment must have the same Faction (or no Faction)."
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 03:00:25
Subject: Re:Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
Victoria, Australia
|
Please forgive my ignorance but isn't everyone discussing the same points?
If you take a Ynnari Reborn Warhost Formation then you share the same faction and therefore can board each others transports which is countered by the FAQ states that if you have a different Faction you may not?
You could safely argue that if you took a Reborn Warhost with allied eldar/dark eldar/Harli detachment the allied units couldn't mount the transports from the Warhost on the basis that the vehicle in the Warhost also have the Ynnari faction which the allies do not, even if selected from the same codex and would share the same base faction as well as arguing that they can because they share the same faction.
There are persuasive arguments in both camps and I imagine until a FAQ is released people will just have to obtain TO's ruling/4+ dice roll it or simply come to an agreement with their opponent.
HIWPI would be argue that if you took a Reborn Warhost they share the same faction so they can use the same transport, for operation of the rule - I understand my opponent may not agree with my view but until we get a FAQ that is probably the best anyone can currently suggest.
While it is not compelling there is already a foundation for this view in the BRB FAQ under preferred enemy wherein it states you use all the factions of the unit, do they share the factions? If so then yes they can board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 03:28:19
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
morgoth wrote:The problem with your theory is that while you consider having one of two factions being different enough to say "these models are of a different faction", you do not recognize that the opposite statement is just as true: "these models are of the same faction", which means that if the allies matrix applies, the BRB FaQ applies just the same.
Actually I explained why this is the case and what you need to demonstrate otherwise. You have ignored this.
To repeat my points ala DoctorTom, highlighting the key points:
doctortom wrote:What you are not recognizing is that the permission you were quoting about the same faction in two different detachments being able to deploy in vehicles does not say anything about getting to ignore other factions in the units if there are multiple factions. Since there is no instruction to do that, you are forced to look at all the factions by RAW and have to follow the rules as to Battle Brothers if you find out that some of the factions aren't the same. But, you're right, the BrB FAQ applies - it's the FAQ question/answer about Battle Brothers that applies since we have no instructions about ignoring these factions if there is also the same faction present.
For what you say to be true, you have to supply a rules citation that tells you that if there is the same faction involved, you ignore all other factions that might be associated with the models involved. The FAQ question you cited does not address this, it's merely an unwarranted assumption on your part that we get to ignore the preceding FAQ question without actual rules that we may do so.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 06:35:32
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You chose to interpret the situation as having different factions.
That is only half of the truth.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 14:49:02
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
morgoth wrote:You chose to interpret the situation as having different factions.
That is only half of the truth.
Show me where having a same Faction allows me to ignore having a different Faction? This question has been asked several times and is necessary to support your position.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 15:02:40
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:morgoth wrote:You chose to interpret the situation as having different factions.
That is only half of the truth.
Show me where having a same Faction allows me to ignore having a different Faction? This question has been asked several times and is necessary to support your position.
It's very very simple Charistoph.
There are two questions.
Question A: BRB Allied Matrix: Are the units from different factions?
Question B: BRB FAQ on starting in transports cross detachments: Are the units from the same faction?
In reality, in all cases, the factions are both the same and different between the unit.
You decided that for your interpretation of the RAW, what matters is that there are indeed factions which are different, so your answer to question A is yes.
Following the same logic, what matters for question B is that there are indeed factions which are the same, so your answer to question B must also be yes, lest you be incoherent with yourself.
By your own logic, it is possible for any unit having faction Ynneari in addition to its codex faction to get into an Ynneari faction transport as long as it's from another detachment.
By the other logic, it is always possible for any unit having faction Ynneari to get into any faction Ynneari transport from your army, whatever detachment it may be from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/21 15:03:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 15:39:01
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
morgoth wrote: Charistoph wrote:morgoth wrote:You chose to interpret the situation as having different factions.
That is only half of the truth.
Show me where having a same Faction allows me to ignore having a different Faction? This question has been asked several times and is necessary to support your position.
It's very very simple Charistoph.
There are two questions.
Question A: BRB Allied Matrix: Are the units from different factions?
Question B: BRB FAQ on starting in transports cross detachments: Are the units from the same faction?
In reality, in all cases, the factions are both the same and different between the unit.
You decided that for your interpretation of the RAW, what matters is that there are indeed factions which are different, so your answer to question A is yes.
Following the same logic, what matters for question B is that there are indeed factions which are the same, so your answer to question B must also be yes, lest you be incoherent with yourself.
By your own logic, it is possible for any unit having faction Ynneari in addition to its codex faction to get into an Ynneari faction transport as long as it's from another detachment.
By the other logic, it is always possible for any unit having faction Ynneari to get into any faction Ynneari transport from your army, whatever detachment it may be from.
That is using YOUR logic, not mine. Do not attribute to me what you are doing. I have already answered this, and you have chosen not to address it, but rather continue ignoring it.
Battle Brothers say "no", and aside from ignoring the FAQ, nothing presented has gainsaid it. The fact that these units also share a Faction does not override this. If you have an actual rules quote that states that if units share a Faction, we get to ignore Ally relationships, please share it.
When a rule says "no", then it is "no" unless another rule directly addresses it. A Tactical Squad arriving by Drop Pod does not get to Charge that turn just because they Disembarked from an Assault Vehicle. This is because the rules against Charging after Deep Striking AND Arriving From Reserves are still in effect, and the Assault Vehicle rule does nothing to address either of these restrictions.
This FAQ you use to justify this does NOT address any Ally rules at all, therefore it has no power to address the other FAQ answer.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 16:03:17
Subject: Re:Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph is correct by the RAW. I think the RAI is pretty clear that they can start in each other's transports so that a Ynnari force is actually "one faction", but can also start in their shared faction's transports from other detachments. However, to do that, GW really needs an FAQ that provides errata to the main rulebook thusly: Remove the line from the BRB stating: "The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army." and replace with "The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that do not share a Faction in the same army." Such a change would allow Ynnari Eldar to start the game in a Ynnari Dark Eldar transport, would allow a Ynnari Eldar to start the game in an Eldar transport, and would disallow a Ynnari Eldar from starting the game in a Dark Eldar transport.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/21 16:04:03
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 19:52:38
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
You have to understand something about the Brits. They expect a certain level of non density when they say/write things.
I'm sure Englishmen have no problem understanding that units that have the same faction - are in fact the same faction - regardless of any other factions they posses.
You also have to understand something about the FAQ. The ruling about battle brothers and transports was specifically directed at drop pods. Because when you start putting non space marine things in drop pods - really silly things start happening. Like Imperial knights being destroyed reliably with sisters of battle and IG command squads for less than the cost of a tactical squad in a drop pod with no special weapons. So they just put out a blanket ruling that would prevent it. It hardly affects anything else. Until now. The intent of the Ynnari faction is clear here though and the intent of the FAQ is also clear. Get your heads out of your butts people.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 21:04:58
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Xenomancers wrote:You have to understand something about the Brits. They expect a certain level of non density when they say/write things.
I'm sure Englishmen have no problem understanding that units that have the same faction - are in fact the same faction - regardless of any other factions they posses.
You also have to understand something about the FAQ. The ruling about battle brothers and transports was specifically directed at drop pods. Because when you start putting non space marine things in drop pods - really silly things start happening. Like Imperial knights being destroyed reliably with sisters of battle and IG command squads for less than the cost of a tactical squad in a drop pod with no special weapons. So they just put out a blanket ruling that would prevent it. It hardly affects anything else. Until now. The intent of the Ynnari faction is clear here though and the intent of the FAQ is also clear. Get your heads out of your butts people.
They've just skipped the part where they say if a unit has one faction in common with another, you don't look at the factions that are different. Of course, if that's how they're handling it, then it does raise some questions based on their other FAQ answers, especially the one that was originally in relation to Hatred but gives an answer saying units with models with multiple factions count as all those factions. Does that then mean that if you took the detachment with an Officer of the Fleet and a Valkyrie, the Officer of the Fleet could be attached to another unit and that unit would count as the same faction as the Valkyrie as being able to be deployed in it? (Substitute SM IC and Sister of Battle unit or other Army of the Imperium unit, and a Drop Pod taken as a fast attack choice instead of a Valkyrie).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 21:07:15
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Xenomancers wrote:You also have to understand something about the FAQ. The ruling about battle brothers and transports was specifically directed at drop pods. Because when you start putting non space marine things in drop pods - really silly things start happening. Like Imperial knights being destroyed reliably with sisters of battle and IG command squads for less than the cost of a tactical squad in a drop pod with no special weapons. So they just put out a blanket ruling that would prevent it. It hardly affects anything else. Until now. The intent of the Ynnari faction is clear here though and the intent of the FAQ is also clear. Get your heads out of your butts people.
That bit about Drop Pods is an assumption. NOTHING in the FAQ supports this. If this was specifically about Drop Pods, they would have specifically addressed Drop Pod's Transport Capacity, nor would it have affected Space Wolf ICs dropping in a Blood Angels Drop Pod.
And you are incorrect that it didn't hardly affect things before, it just didn't reach this level because no other army set themselves up to have two Factions at the same time AND DID NOT ADDRESS THIS.
Better to just ignore this FAQ answer which came out of nowhere and has zero support in the rulebook than trying to justify it anywhere else.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 22:10:54
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yeah, it is funny that the BB transport FAQ seemed to purposefully deny cheesy Blood Angels Drop pod & Dark Eldar Taxi services, just for this new faction to come out and seem to override it anyway.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 22:52:19
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Clousseau
|
A is a letter A is a word Construct a sentence wherein all words are length greater than 1. "Hello, how are you?" I used an "A." Does this violate the rule I set forth? No, because in this case, the important part to remember that while "A" is a word, in this context it is being applied as a letter. Additionally, arguing that a unit with multiple factions faces restrictions because it has said factions, would mean having more than 1 faction would strictly be a negative, because when you ask the question "Is it X faction," according to this thread you would always answer no, even if one of the factions did indeed match. Or other such silliness: Model is X and Y. I have hatred Y. Rules lawyer says, "Sorry, I am X, your hatred does not apply."
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/02/21 22:56:05
Galas wrote:I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you 
Bharring wrote:He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/21 23:41:16
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
This discussion it's no different that arguing that Jump units or Jet pack units must behave as normal infantry under all circunstances because they are a subset of those while ignoring all their special rules because infantry do not have them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/22 01:57:35
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
There is perhaps a bit of unnecessary ego flying around this thread. The OP question is quite reasonable, and when it comes to RAW, we have a contradiction due to the FAQ.
Same faction can deploy in each other's transports, and battle brother factions cannot. In this case, BOTH rulings apply, so you simultaneously can and cannot deploy a Ynnari Dire Avenger unit in a Ynnari Venom.
Since this is YMDC though, we should be choosing one to go with. Looking at the gathering storm book, there are only 3 units in the whole of the Warhammer 40,000 game that have the Ynnari faction and no other faction - these are the three new models (1 MC and 2 HQ).
For these models, the allies matrix is easy to apply, and it explains how to ally Ynnari units with all the other factions on P114 of the gathering storm II book. This means if I take Yvraine (an HQ) in a Combined Arms Detachment of the Eldar (craftworlds) faction, she can be my HQ in that detachment, regardless of faction restrictions (this special rule seems to allow this). In that CAD, I have Dire Avengers and I have a Wave Serpent. Yvraine is BB with both of these units , as she is Ynnari faction and they are Eldar faction. She can't deploy in that wave serpent according to the FAQ ruling about BB transports.
In a Reborn Warhost detachment, all models/units have the Ynnari faction in addition to their own separate factions, creating this weird problem where we have two factions. However, we must be careful in assuming that each unit has two distinct factions and is therefore somehow treated as two separate units.
The Ynnari faction rule states that all Ynnari models gain the SfD rule, but lose Ancient Doom, Battle Focus and Power from Pain special rules if they had them. If I was to treat my Dire Avenger unit as having two distinct factions in this way, I could argue that the Ynnari faction part of them gains SfD, but the Ynnari faction part of them didn't have Ancient Doom or Battle Focus, so they don't lose it. Then I could say that the Eldar Faction part of them has Ancient Doom and Battle Focus, but that's OK because this is the Eldar faction part of them, so they are not required to gain or lose Ynnari rules. Of course I'm not suggesting to do this, but you see where I'm coming from regarding treating them as two factions for all purposes.
A slippery slope! I feel that the intention was to give them a combined faction to help them be treated as one combined faction (with all the benefits). Feel free to disagree with this version of "making da call", but throwing RAW at it is fairly pointless until GW come out with their intentions regarding this, as RAW simply points towards a contradiction. So that's HIWPI.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/22 02:00:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/22 03:00:51
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Marmatag wrote:A is a letter
A is a word
Construct a sentence wherein all words are length greater than 1.
"Hello, how are you?"
I used an "A." Does this violate the rule I set forth? No, because in this case, the important part to remember that while "A" is a word, in this context it is being applied as a letter.
Additionally, arguing that a unit with multiple factions faces restrictions because it has said factions, would mean having more than 1 faction would strictly be a negative, because when you ask the question "Is it X faction," according to this thread you would always answer no, even if one of the factions did indeed match.
Or other such silliness:
Model is X and Y.
I have hatred Y.
Rules lawyer says, "Sorry, I am X, your hatred does not apply."
Wow, you have that backwards. Rules lawyer says, "Your hatred Y applies because Y is there". The FAQ even states this.
Remember, the Allies rules do not care if you have the same Faction in the unit or not, they only care if there is a different Faction. This is something that is being completely forgotten by those who want to have no issues.
Lord Perversor wrote:This discussion it's no different that arguing that Jump units or Jet pack units must behave as normal infantry under all circunstances because they are a subset of those while ignoring all their special rules because infantry do not have them.
They can, because their rules say they can. But that also doesn't mean we get to ignore their Jump and Jet Pack when Embarking on a Vehicle, for example.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/22 03:01:13
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/22 15:35:59
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Warhanna wrote:There is perhaps a bit of unnecessary ego flying around this thread. The OP question is quite reasonable, and when it comes to RAW, we have a contradiction due to the FAQ.
Same faction can deploy in each other's transports, and battle brother factions cannot. In this case, BOTH rulings apply, so you simultaneously can and cannot deploy a Ynnari Dire Avenger unit in a Ynnari Venom.
Since this is YMDC though, we should be choosing one to go with. Looking at the gathering storm book, there are only 3 units in the whole of the Warhammer 40,000 game that have the Ynnari faction and no other faction - these are the three new models (1 MC and 2 HQ).
For these models, the allies matrix is easy to apply, and it explains how to ally Ynnari units with all the other factions on P114 of the gathering storm II book. This means if I take Yvraine (an HQ) in a Combined Arms Detachment of the Eldar (craftworlds) faction, she can be my HQ in that detachment, regardless of faction restrictions (this special rule seems to allow this). In that CAD, I have Dire Avengers and I have a Wave Serpent. Yvraine is BB with both of these units , as she is Ynnari faction and they are Eldar faction. She can't deploy in that wave serpent according to the FAQ ruling about BB transports.
In a Reborn Warhost detachment, all models/units have the Ynnari faction in addition to their own separate factions, creating this weird problem where we have two factions. However, we must be careful in assuming that each unit has two distinct factions and is therefore somehow treated as two separate units.
The Ynnari faction rule states that all Ynnari models gain the SfD rule, but lose Ancient Doom, Battle Focus and Power from Pain special rules if they had them. If I was to treat my Dire Avenger unit as having two distinct factions in this way, I could argue that the Ynnari faction part of them gains SfD, but the Ynnari faction part of them didn't have Ancient Doom or Battle Focus, so they don't lose it. Then I could say that the Eldar Faction part of them has Ancient Doom and Battle Focus, but that's OK because this is the Eldar faction part of them, so they are not required to gain or lose Ynnari rules. Of course I'm not suggesting to do this, but you see where I'm coming from regarding treating them as two factions for all purposes.
A slippery slope! I feel that the intention was to give them a combined faction to help them be treated as one combined faction (with all the benefits). Feel free to disagree with this version of "making da call", but throwing RAW at it is fairly pointless until GW come out with their intentions regarding this, as RAW simply points towards a contradiction. So that's HIWPI.
This makes sense, and I think most people will agree to go with the RAI of letting units deploy in vehicles in the detachment because of the common Ynnari faction. The argument that I see is that some people are arguing the RAW is the same, when - as you point out - there are contradictory rules listed sequentially in the FAQ, and we are not told that we can ignore the the one about Battle Brothers because there is a common faction. Without that we have RAW that can't definitively prove that they get to deploy in them because there is still that pesky FAQ question that says something to the contrary that makes permission to deploy unprovable. I would certainly hope that people would go by RAI here.
Of course, that RAI might be a slippery slope down the line for units with multiple factions in it. That's down the line, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/24 19:01:57
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I dont understand the confusion here, at least with the Ynnari codex. I thought it was painfully obvious that they were all of the same faction (ynnari) meaning you could use each others transports the same as you can attach an autarch to a squad of wyches.
|
Necrons - 6000+
Eldar/DE/Harlequins- 6000+
Genestealer Cult - 2000
Currently enthralled by Blanchitsu and INQ28. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/24 19:18:10
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
supreme overlord wrote:I dont understand the confusion here, at least with the Ynnari codex. I thought it was painfully obvious that they were all of the same faction (ynnari) meaning you could use each others transports the same as you can attach an autarch to a squad of wyches.
For RAI, I agree it's painfully obvious. From a RAW standpoint, however, there's nothing to say that sharing the same faction means you ignore any other factions associated with the models, which means from a RAW standpoint there's still a rule that could prevent them from sharing. That RAW doesn't support it seems to be where there's confusion with some people. Since it's obvious from a RAI standpoint, however, I'm sure people will play it as RAI. There are ramifications, however since we have a different FAQ that says a unit made up of models with different factions count as all its factions. Does that mean that unit could be deployed in the transport belonging to any one of those factions?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/24 19:58:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/24 20:21:10
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I would say yes so long as you can take the transport in a different slot
i.e. my dire avengers are riding in a venom that I took as a fast attack slot.
|
Necrons - 6000+
Eldar/DE/Harlequins- 6000+
Genestealer Cult - 2000
Currently enthralled by Blanchitsu and INQ28. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/24 20:29:11
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, it might mean you get to have those drop pod armies with battle brothers in them then as long as an IC with the same faction as the drop pod is attached, or shenanigans like that.
Or, attach Master of the Fleet to a unit and let them ride in his Valkyrie. I don't think GW wanted these kinds of complications. That's the problem with inconsistent FAQs, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/24 20:43:11
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Here's hoping 8th edition says units can only ever be embarked in tranports with the same faction.
That would solve Drop Pod sharing and make Ynnari function as they should.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:04:41
Subject: Re:Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Painfully obvious RAI, eh? From the new FAQ:
Q: How do the models/units with mixed Factions work? Can
units that share at least one Faction start the game embarked on
a Transport?
A: Ynnari models have two Factions (except in the
case of Yvraine, the Visarch and the Yncarne, who only
have one). You must consider both of their Factions to
determine their levels of Alliance and which Transports
they may be embarked on at the beginning of the
game. For example, an Eldar/Ynnari unit shares the
same Factions as other Eldar/Ynnari, but is of different
Factions from (though Battle Brothers with) Dark
Eldar/Ynnari and Harlequins/Ynnari. An Eldar/Ynnari
unit can therefore only begin the game embarked if it is
embarked on an Eldar/Ynnari vehicle.
Note that Yvraine and the Visarch can begin the game
embarked on Ynnari vehicles (regardless of those
vehicles’ other Factions).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:22:31
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
Courageous Beastmaster
|
I cannot read Jack's sentence without hearing a smug undertone.
on the whole I like this FAQ it does what is supposed to do: clean up the (regrettably huge) mess.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:26:55
Subject: Same Faction, but still battle brothers? Share Transports.
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|