Switch Theme:

Guilliman never being removed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Local player made a claim: Big Gs rules say when slain, you put marker down and roll to see if he gets back up. Manager says that even if you fail the roll, you'll get a chance next turn, as it states if you fail the roll he is slain, not removed from play. And if he is slain, the token gets put down again. Is this true?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/12 14:43:35


 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






 stompygitz wrote:
Local player made a claim: Big Gs rules say when slain, you put marker down and roll to see if he gets back up. Manager says that even if you fail the roll, you'll get a chance next turn, as it states if you fail the roll he is slain, not removed from play. And if he is slain, the token gets put down again. Is this true?


No. RAI clearly not, RAW less clearly, but also not.

The rule "Armour of Fate" is quite explicit.
If Robby G is slain, you place a marker as close as possible. At the beginning of your next player turn, on a 4+, he is placed as close as possible to the marker, more than 1" away from other units.

That means when the model is slain, it is removed from the board as normal, but a marker is placed. When the roll fails, the model is off the board and the marker is already in place. Which means that it's not possible to follow the "Armour of Fate" rule for another cycle.

   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

You only have one Next Player Turn, which is the turn after he his killed.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






 casvalremdeikun wrote:
You only have one Next Player Turn, which is the turn after he his killed.


Excellent point. However, someone who confuses the marker and the model might claim that it's just going to be the next turn when going around again.

Would it be fair to say that since Robby G is off the board when the test is made, the artifact with it's special rule is out of play also and is therefore unable to trigger another round of 4+?

   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Yeah, you get one chance, not multiple.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

Yep once chance -its a copy paste of the older Celestine rules

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Mr Morden wrote:
Yep once chance -its a copy paste of the older Celestine rules


Which makes a ton of sense as Celestine gave Robby G. her halo thing in the latest campaign book. Same rules because it's the same piece of wargear.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Crazed Zealot




Ophelia VII

 Kriswall wrote:
 Mr Morden wrote:
Yep once chance -its a copy paste of the older Celestine rules


Which makes a ton of sense as Celestine gave Robby G. her halo thing in the latest campaign book. Same rules because it's the same piece of wargear.

Except that Celestine's Iron Halo has exactly nothing to do with her "Miraculous Intervention" ability, fluff-wise

Let it be known to all present and future Sisters of our Orders that they must fast at the High Vigils of Saint Thor, Saint Aspira, Saint Jason, Saint Orlanda, Saint Dolan and Saint Constantine of Alamar. Upon the Holy Days of Saint Gherick the Confessor, Saint Decessio and Saint Lucius of Agatha, let them meditate. Let them fast for not less than five days preceding the Most Holy Days of Our Founding Sisters, Saints Dominica, Katherine, Silvana, Mina, Lucia and Arabella. Let them observe silence for the vigils of Saint Capilene, Saint Josmane and Saint Lacena. Upon the Low Days of Saints Yamalla and Corvus the Sabines, Saint Tomasi, Saint Dufaux and most especially Saint Josina, they should both fast and maintain silence, and upon the Days of Saint Praxedes, Saint Kozak and Saint Verevya they should meditate upon martyrdom. Upon the Feast of Saint Jasone, they must fast, but may consider themselves at liberty between matins and vespers.
- Rule DCCLXXXV, the Rule of the Sororitas, Volume 12 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




London

Celestine and Girlyman rules are not exactly the same.

Celestine's start with 'first time...'

Girlyman is just 'if Roboute is slain,...' [...] 'Otherwise Guilliman is slain' creating a circle as he would be slain, so you need to place the marker again and try in your next turn
   
Made in au
Lady of the Lake






RAI, if an opponent pulls this loop you're allowed to smack them across the face with the rule book.

   
Made in nl
Dakka Veteran





 n0t_u wrote:
RAI, if an opponent pulls this loop you're allowed to smack them across the face with the rule book.

the biggest you've got

 
   
Made in au
Lady of the Lake






terry wrote:
 n0t_u wrote:
RAI, if an opponent pulls this loop you're allowed to smack them across the face with the rule book.

the biggest you've got

All 7 editions of hard covers is the maximum allowed.

   
Made in nl
Dakka Veteran





 n0t_u wrote:
terry wrote:
 n0t_u wrote:
RAI, if an opponent pulls this loop you're allowed to smack them across the face with the rule book.

the biggest you've got

All 7 editions of hard covers is the maximum allowed.

I would allow forgeworld books as well

 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Does that mean he can resurrect multiple times?

For example, dies turn 1.

Turn 2, rolls a 4+, resurrects, is killed later in that turn.

Turn 3, rolls a 4+, resurrects, is killed later in that turn. .

Etc.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Does that mean he can resurrect multiple times?

For example, dies turn 1.

Turn 2, rolls a 4+, resurrects, is killed later in that turn.

Turn 3, rolls a 4+, resurrects, is killed later in that turn. .

Etc.


Yes.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say






One chance, but if he is killed AGAIN you can attempt again

The rule doesnt say its a one use only
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Ok, sounds good. I doubt it'll ever come up, as I don't think I can ever kill guilliman, but still, good to know.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Does that mean he can resurrect multiple times?

For example, dies turn 1.

Turn 2, rolls a 4+, resurrects, is killed later in that turn.

Turn 3, rolls a 4+, resurrects, is killed later in that turn. .

Etc.


Or is killed right when he comes back if you've taken him in the Imperial Knight detachment that makes him a superheavy walker with 0 hull points, causing a Catastrophic Damage apocalyptic blast every time he dies.
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




He's basically yarrick on steroids
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





ft. Bragg

terry wrote:
 n0t_u wrote:
terry wrote:
 n0t_u wrote:
RAI, if an opponent pulls this loop you're allowed to smack them across the face with the rule book.

the biggest you've got

All 7 editions of hard covers is the maximum allowed.

I would allow forgeworld books as well


First you are going to knock them silly with the old Big Blue GW book from like 2003 that had ALL the models by part number (back when you could still bit order anything). Then while they are laying on the ground you drop the complete sealed WHFB End Times (hardback edition) Collection on their head. Should be about like crushing someone with a cinder block.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/03/18 23:59:23


Let a billion souls burn in death than for one soul to bend knee to a false Emperor.....
"I am the punishment of God, had you not committed great sin, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If your strong enough to carry all that, I dont think you need to worry about needing them
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: