Switch Theme:

Confusion due to the DE codex  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Masculine Male Wych





Under your bed

Greetings Dakka,

i have noticed something very peculiar that i hope somebody can converse with me about

in the DE codex there is a unit called a ravager, which carries no splinter weaponry of any kind and has no transport capacity. so my question is why in the hell does it have the ability to take splinter racks?

"splinter racks- whilst a model is embarked in a vehicle with splinter racks, all splinter weapons have the Twin-linked special rule"
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

The Ravavger itself does not have access to Splinter Racks, it has access to the Vehicle upgrades, of which the Racks are listed.
So you could take SRs on a Ravager, but they do nothing. GW only bothers to restrict what things a model can take when they don't want you to take them, not when they'll do nothing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/30 16:49:31


   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress






^

Ravagers are just anti-tank raiders, so they didn't' split the rules out further about what upgrades it could take.

Splinter racks on your kabalite transport raiders can be very useful.


 
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter







 Galef wrote:
...GW only bothers to restrict what things a model can take when they don't want you to take them, not when they'll do nothing.


Or when they're being tight-a**es about WYSIWYG. Land Raiders can't take Dozer Blades these days because there's no official way to model it, not because they shouldn't be able to.

Balanced Game: Noun. A game in which all options and choices are worth using.
Homebrew oldhammer project: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/790996.page#10896267
Meridian: Necromunda-based 40k skirmish: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/795374.page 
   
Made in ca
Masculine Male Wych





Under your bed

Lmao alright thanks guys
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre




Olympia, WA

 asdrubeal vect124 wrote:
Greetings Dakka,

i have noticed something very peculiar that i hope somebody can converse with me about

in the DE codex there is a unit called a ravager, which carries no splinter weaponry of any kind and has no transport capacity. so my question is why in the hell does it have the ability to take splinter racks?

"splinter racks- whilst a model is embarked in a vehicle with splinter racks, all splinter weapons have the Twin-linked special rule"


For completeness sake.

Hold out bait to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and then crush him.
-Sun Tzu, the Art of War
http://www.40kunorthodoxy.blogspot.com

7th Ambassadorial Grand Tournament Registration: http://40kambassadors.com/register.php 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 AnomanderRake wrote:
 Galef wrote:
...GW only bothers to restrict what things a model can take when they don't want you to take them, not when they'll do nothing.


Or when they're being tight-a**es about WYSIWYG. Land Raiders can't take Dozer Blades these days because there's no official way to model it, not because they shouldn't be able to.


Where's the assault ramp on a LR?

Yes, that.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: