Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/04 16:12:05
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ineedvc2500 wrote:Not happy with codex lay out. Points in back and not on data sheets.
Points question
for example the helbrute is armed with a multimelta and helbrute fist. do we have to add the cost for those weapons to the helbrute point cost or are they included?
On the point sheet, at the top it states whether or not Wargear is included.
For general units its not included, for most characters it is included.
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/04 16:15:08
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
How long before GW fix the errors within the books. So far I have seen two.
Lord of Contagion costs 20pts more than Typhus who has the same stats with extra rules.
And Inquistorial Acolytes have three Wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 02:35:46
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
C.Straken wrote:How long before GW fix the errors within the books. So far I have seen two.
Lord of Contagion costs 20pts more than Typhus who has the same stats with extra rules.
And Inquistorial Acolytes have three Wounds.
Probably when their codex comes out (Indexes are gap fillers) or if not by then when the First Chapter Approved gets released (generals handbook)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 03:48:49
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
GodDamUser wrote:C.Straken wrote:How long before GW fix the errors within the books. So far I have seen two.
Lord of Contagion costs 20pts more than Typhus who has the same stats with extra rules.
And Inquistorial Acolytes have three Wounds.
Probably when their codex comes out (Indexes are gap fillers) or if not by then when the First Chapter Approved gets released (generals handbook)
Was this something GW has outright said? or is this just the assumption
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 03:50:13
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
DevilsPox wrote:
Was this something GW has outright said? or is this just the assumption
While they haven't stated exactly rebalancing that example.
They have stated, Codexes will still be a thing
Chapter Approved will be the Equiv of Generals Handbook
They will have living FAQ's
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 05:57:54
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
benlac wrote:steerpike92 wrote:SilverAlien wrote:
Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.
Yes but it appears the range limit still applies for flamers on overwatch. Cognis Flamers are even supposed to get to roll 2d6 and discard the lowest for number of overwatch hits, yet do nothing if the enemy starts charging through the entire range of the weapon from outside the range of the weapon.
Really the only thing in the new edition that has my knickers in a knot.
Whatt.. that's lame. It's not like they wouldn't be moving in closer as you're shooting. Charging from 8+ inches is difficult, but still. Might have to house rule that one away.
Well the 40k clearly doesn't work on assumption things are simultaneous. It's quite literally how they are played on the table.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 06:10:44
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Where are the looted wagon stats? Why must you do this to ork players GW. I'm a blood axe player, I actually need them to play a fluffy army.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 06:24:19
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
tneva82 wrote: benlac wrote:steerpike92 wrote:SilverAlien wrote:
Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.
Yes but it appears the range limit still applies for flamers on overwatch. Cognis Flamers are even supposed to get to roll 2d6 and discard the lowest for number of overwatch hits, yet do nothing if the enemy starts charging through the entire range of the weapon from outside the range of the weapon.
Really the only thing in the new edition that has my knickers in a knot.
Whatt.. that's lame. It's not like they wouldn't be moving in closer as you're shooting. Charging from 8+ inches is difficult, but still. Might have to house rule that one away.
Well the 40k clearly doesn't work on assumption things are simultaneous. It's quite literally how they are played on the table.
It's literally why there was a rule needed for Wall of Fire.
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 06:42:48
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So, correct me if I am wrong about this.
Models with Fly can move over enemy models because they ignore models for movement right? Even though you can't move within 1" of enemy models?
Falling back has no restrictions in direction, so long as you don't end up within 1" of enemy models, right?
So if you have a unit with Fly, you can "fall back" directly over the enemy and deeper into their lines, correct? And then immediately shoot and/or charge what you want past any screens?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 06:44:22
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
PoorGravitasHandling wrote:I feel like I'm missing a few pages. Like the ones that explain what the Vehicle keyword means (I see Transports as a sidebar entry though).
Or "Terminator" (shared across both regular termi's and their cataphractii brethren).
I ask this because barring something I've missed in the book, terminators and dreads cannot assault after firing rapidfire or heavy weapons right? Which seems silly for an edition that's about getting on in there and doing cool stuff faster.
Vehicle does nothing in itself. It's only for what OTHER things to like haywire that gets bonus against vehicles. Vehicles themselves work 100% like tactical marine does.
Terminator likewise just in case somebody buffs or debuffs terminators. For example rhino prevents terminators.
And you can assault at will regardless of what you have shot at what. You can shoot everything at enemy squad A and then charge enemy squad B. Terminators need no special rule for that since that's how it works for all. Automatically Appended Next Post: The Happy Anarchist wrote:So, correct me if I am wrong about this.
Models with Fly can move over enemy models because they ignore models for movement right? Even though you can't move within 1" of enemy models?
Falling back has no restrictions in direction, so long as you don't end up within 1" of enemy models, right?
So if you have a unit with Fly, you can "fall back" directly over the enemy and deeper into their lines, correct? And then immediately shoot and/or charge what you want past any screens?
Yup. Just like that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 06:45:50
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 07:59:55
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
In matched play, can you refuse to buy wargear for units that do not include it into the unit cost? Like can I just have a unit of assault marines charging up field with no chainsword, no bolter, no bolt pistol, no grenades? I know these are free but lets just say they cost 1pt a piece. Is there somewhere in the rules that tell me I have to buy this equipment no matter what?
|
I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 09:14:19
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Now that's not specifically allowed so no. You get to do what's allowed. Not allowed to do what's not forbidden.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 10:07:03
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Disbeliever of the Greater Good
|
Didn't see any specification saying "inly rule related questions", so here we go;
After just seeing the Repulsor video and this being the only thing I really know about the 8th edition besides the index system and the new box, are there any leaks about more coming models?
It seems Papa Smurf wants to re-realease some 30k technology n' stuff, so I thought about main battle tanks for space marines and more admech stuff, since that's the factions on his side...
For example I always would've liked a Legion Glaive in 40k and similar stuff (although a lot of people seem to be thinking bad about new SM tanks :( )
Anything leaked yet or will we have to see (I heard about Thunderhawks for Priamris SM somewhere, but I can't really remember).
Greets,
Raze
|
2000
1500
2000
Next project |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 10:11:26
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Doubt they would start releasing much of plastic versions of FW models rather than inventing new units alltogether.
FW model in plastic=people who have resin version aren't big target to sell to.
New unit=every marine player is potential customer. Even every IG player is potential customer!
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 10:38:45
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Pedroig wrote: Backspacehacker wrote:1. does the rule of one still exists, IE dice rolls of 1 always fail, if not, scarab occult terminators can not be wounded by bolters or anything that fires a single shot with no rend.
2. If you have a mechanic that allows you to reroll misses, and you use super chaged plasma, get a 1, are you allowed to reroll it and not deal with gets hot like twin linked used to be.
1) Yes, likewise 6 seems to always succeed...
2) Yes, inverse would be true as well, if you rolled a 2 and missed, rerolled and rolled a 1, you get the only instance of Instant Death I see in the game.
Perils of the Warp is as well.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 10:42:39
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I have a Yannari question.
I just got the xenos book. And if I understand correctly, I can take a Falcon as dedicated transport for my incubi or wytches?
And start the game with the units inside the falcon?
|
My youtube cahnnel! Go and check it out!
youtube.com/c/ChampionofTerra
And my Facebook page!
https://www.facebook.com/DarmamuWargamer/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 11:02:55
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
I heard tell that you can only overwatch as far as weapon range permits meaning a charge out of a Drop Pod is actually outside a Flamer's 8" range, that true?
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 11:12:10
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dakka Wolf wrote:I heard tell that you can only overwatch as far as weapon range permits meaning a charge out of a Drop Pod is actually outside a Flamer's 8" range, that true?
The rules just say "uses all the normal rules"
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 11:38:29
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Talamare wrote: Dakka Wolf wrote:I heard tell that you can only overwatch as far as weapon range permits meaning a charge out of a Drop Pod is actually outside a Flamer's 8" range, that true?
The rules just say "uses all the normal rules"
All normal rules - I'm guessing that means normal rules for shooting, meaning range is a thing.
Gotta love the vague GW writing.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 11:39:02
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Skillful Swordmaster
The Shadowlands of Nagarythe
|
I am unsure if this was asked already and it's a pretty dumb question as it probably has an answer and I didn't read it in the leaks.
Does the shooting Heavy Weapons on the move penalty affect vehicles too?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 11:43:25
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
UK
|
Lithlandis Stormcrow wrote:I am unsure if this was asked already and it's a pretty dumb question as it probably has an answer and I didn't read it in the leaks.
Does the shooting Heavy Weapons on the move penalty affect vehicles too?
It does but several vehicles have rules letting you ignore it, varies from vehicle to vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 11:44:47
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Skillful Swordmaster
The Shadowlands of Nagarythe
|
hobojebus wrote: Lithlandis Stormcrow wrote:I am unsure if this was asked already and it's a pretty dumb question as it probably has an answer and I didn't read it in the leaks.
Does the shooting Heavy Weapons on the move penalty affect vehicles too?
It does but several vehicles have rules letting you ignore it, varies from vehicle to vehicle.
Thanks.
I am not going mad then. I read the rules twice when on saturday when I was doing a 40 PL test match vs tau.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 12:16:30
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
If the enemy is 9" away after you deep strike and you assault/charge and you roll a 7.
do you:
1. not move
2 move 7" anywhere you want
3 move 7" toward the target unit
thanks
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 12:18:18
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is my question jut ignored? xD
|
My youtube cahnnel! Go and check it out!
youtube.com/c/ChampionofTerra
And my Facebook page!
https://www.facebook.com/DarmamuWargamer/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 12:23:10
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
More likely there aren't any players who can answer your question online. Automatically Appended Next Post: admironheart wrote:If the enemy is 9" away after you deep strike and you assault/charge and you roll a 7.
do you:
1. not move
2 move 7" anywhere you want
3 move 7" toward the target unit
thanks
Doesn't actually say specifically but it does say if the charge fails because you can't get at your target due to having to move within an inch of an enemy model they don't move so my guess is 1. not move.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 12:26:19
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 13:09:18
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Finland
|
Is there a requirement that the casualties must be removed so that the unit coherency is not broken?
|
Feel the sunbeams shine on me.
And the thunder under the dancing feet. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 13:11:01
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I have a question, it might be silly or simple, but do I need scatter dice? I'm trying to get set up and I know the templates are gone, just can't seem to find any info on scatter dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 13:11:24
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
steam wrote: I have a Yannari question.
I just got the xenos book. And if I understand correctly, I can take a Falcon as dedicated transport for my incubi or wytches?
And start the game with the units inside the falcon?
You can start units inside a dedicated transport. Counts as a single unit (transport plus unit inside) for deployment purposes.
Have no idea on what you can take for dedicated transports on those skinny models... Automatically Appended Next Post: Genesaika wrote:I have a question, it might be silly or simple, but do I need scatter dice? I'm trying to get set up and I know the templates are gone, just can't seem to find any info on scatter dice.
Nope, scatter is gone for everything. Automatically Appended Next Post: jamopower wrote:Is there a requirement that the casualties must be removed so that the unit coherency is not broken?
Not that I see, it only states that an unit must finish any type of move as a group. So Move, Advance, Charge, Consolidate, and Fall Back would all require to for all models to finish within 2" horizontally and 6" vertically. If anything causes an unit to be split up, it must re-establish coherency the next time it moves.
Doesn't say what happens if you do not reestablish though...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/05 13:17:56
si vis pacem, para bellum |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 13:50:16
Subject: Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
steam wrote: I have a Yannari question.
I just got the xenos book. And if I understand correctly, I can take a Falcon as dedicated transport for my incubi or wytches?
And start the game with the units inside the falcon?
It doesn't appear so. The ability to embark on other eldar transportation is tied to the specific Ynnead's Will ability, which is not conferred on all members of a Ynnari army. So while the unique characters can embark on anyone's transport, everyone else is stuck with their faction ones.
However, I do think you could take a Falcon using a dedicated transport slot even if you army was purely incubi and wyches. That seems allowed in case you wanna grab a falcon for the Ynnari HQs (or just for the guns or something) but aren't taking craftworld infantry. Not positive though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 13:51:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:04:53
Subject: Re:Post your 8th questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It doesn't appear so. The ability to embark on other eldar transportation is tied to the specific Ynnead's Will ability, which is not conferred on all members of a Ynnari army. So while the unique characters can embark on anyone's transport, everyone else is stuck with their faction ones.
However, I do think you could take a Falcon using a dedicated transport slot even if you army was purely incubi and wyches. That seems allowed in case you wanna grab a falcon for the Ynnari HQs (or just for the guns or something) but aren't taking craftworld infantry. Not positive though.
Thank you! English is not my first language. So some times I dont understand what GW means.
As it states in the book, all models that you take for the ynnari army, get the ynnari key word. And I assumed if they all get the Ynnary key word, it means that I can start the game with an dark eldar units and an eldar transport.
|
My youtube cahnnel! Go and check it out!
youtube.com/c/ChampionofTerra
And my Facebook page!
https://www.facebook.com/DarmamuWargamer/
|
|
 |
 |
|