Switch Theme:

Assault from deep strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




I was just thinking about units assaulting from deep strike.

Now units that deep strike must be 9" away from an enemy model. I keep seeing people refer to a 9" charge and that'll you'll fail your charge more than pass but given that your charge only needs to reach within 1" of the target unit this means you only need an 8" charge right? So a 50/50 chance?

Have I just misread something?
   
Made in gb
Aspirant Tech-Adept





UK

You must deploye more than 9" away.

So if you roll an 8, you'll be more than 1" away.

Angels Amaranthine - growing slowly

P&M blog ; http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/488077.page

Currently 200pts 
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Ah right gotcha that's mildly annoying
   
Made in gb
Aspirant Tech-Adept





UK

It makes it tougher.

Lemartes does allow a reroll though

Angels Amaranthine - growing slowly

P&M blog ; http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/488077.page

Currently 200pts 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

aye various things to help you out

khorne dudes get icon of wrath for example to re-roll charges

 
   
Made in gb
Water-Caste Negotiator




There are also several powers like Warptime and Swarmlord's ability that allow a second move in the Psychic/Shooting phase. These both allow you to almost guarantee a charge following deepstrike, but are limited to one use per turn. This is one of the reasons that Genestealers in a Trygon tunnel are so terrifying in this edition!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 09:30:59


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Lemartes for BA because whiles it's not perfect reroll charge bubble more than double's the success rate
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Aye, as yet there's nothing to help me get none death company blood angels units into combat though is there?
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

Wartime does not work i'm afraid.

The reserve rules say a unit that arrives cannot move anyfurther in its turn.

Warptime allows you to move as if it were your movement phase

because you arrived from reserve you cannot move any further in your movement phase

you can cast it, they just cant actually move (useful for harness the warp i guess)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 10:25:52


 
   
Made in nl
Lesser Daemon of Chaos






Groningen, The Netherlands

 Latro_ wrote:
Wartime does not work i'm afraid. The reserve rules say a unit that arrives cannot move anyfurther in its turn.


Sorry, I'm totally not convinced that this is the right interpretation. Of course a unit arriving from reserves is deployed at the end of the movement phase and the rules explicitly prohibits the deployed unit to move or advance any further in that phase (it is explicitly stated that the movement is taken up by deploying onto the battlefield). The unit is said to act as normal during the rest of the turn.

The rules do however not forbid any further moving in that turn. The unit is explicitly allowed to charge (and thus pile in); both actions require the unit to move.

The Warptime psychic power is resolved in the psychic phase. It allows the unit to move 'as if' it was the movement phase, but the actual movement takes place in the psychic phase. The Warptime power doesn't involve returning to the previous movement phase, where movement would be prohibited. The psychic power makes no mention of units arriving from reserves and doesn't prohibit the use of this power on such units.

Given these rules I see no reason why Warptime wouldn't allow for a unit arriving from reserves to make a move; I'd say it is a vary valid way of using Warptime.

Cilithan

Fiery the angels fell; deep thunder rolled around their shores; burning with the fires of Orc.

Armies:
Daemons: 5000+ points
CSM/Black Legion: 5000+ points
Deathwatch/Knights: 5000 points
 
   
Made in us
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





 fatbudda319 wrote:
Aye, as yet there's nothing to help me get none death company blood angels units into combat though is there?


Command points can help for a single squad.
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Chief Deputy Sub Assistant Trainee Squig Handling Intern






 Cilithan wrote:
 Latro_ wrote:
Wartime does not work i'm afraid. The reserve rules say a unit that arrives cannot move anyfurther in its turn.


Sorry, I'm totally not convinced that this is the right interpretation. Of course a unit arriving from reserves is deployed at the end of the movement phase and the rules explicitly prohibits the deployed unit to move or advance any further in that phase (it is explicitly stated that the movement is taken up by deploying onto the battlefield). The unit is said to act as normal during the rest of the turn.

The rules do however not forbid any further moving in that turn. The unit is explicitly allowed to charge (and thus pile in); both actions require the unit to move.

The Warptime psychic power is resolved in the psychic phase. It allows the unit to move 'as if' it was the movement phase, but the actual movement takes place in the psychic phase. The Warptime power doesn't involve returning to the previous movement phase, where movement would be prohibited. The psychic power makes no mention of units arriving from reserves and doesn't prohibit the use of this power on such units.

Given these rules I see no reason why Warptime wouldn't allow for a unit arriving from reserves to make a move; I'd say it is a vary valid way of using Warptime.

Cilithan


Only read the rules last night, but I'm sure it specifically states that when moving on from reserves, you can't move or advance in any phase.

Do double check that though. I may be thinking of a different clarification.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Units arriving from reserves cannot move or advance further that turn (Not phase)

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

It says turn

no phase or all phases.


 Cilithan wrote:


The Warptime psychic power is resolved in the psychic phase. It allows the unit to move 'as if' it was the movement phase, but the actual movement takes place in the psychic phase. The Warptime power doesn't involve returning to the previous movement phase, where movement would be prohibited. The psychic power makes no mention of units arriving from reserves and doesn't prohibit the use of this power on such units.


Not 'THE' movement phase it specifically says 'ITS' movement phase as in the unit you are casting it on.
The unit you are casting on in this turn used all of its movement phase to deepstrike

you could actually argue you could use warp time then immediately re-deploy the unit via deep strike again XD... not that i'd be much use, perhaps some use if psy powers did shenanigans to warrant a redeploy.

LOL that'd be quite funny sorcerer in termi armour deep strikes, smites something then casts wartime on him self and deep strikes again across the board in cover Ninja Vanish
[Thumb - Capture.PNG]

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/21 12:24:20


 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Chief Deputy Sub Assistant Trainee Squig Handling Intern






I was right. My wording wasn't :p

Expressly allows Charging though.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

You can use a command dice to reroll one of the dice.

If you are playing daemons, they get +1 inch to their charge for many units. That gives pretty good odds of making it in.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: