Switch Theme:

Monster, Vehicles and Bikes charges in ruins  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Question, if I have an infantry squad on the second floor in a ruin, can a monster, vehicle or bike charge at them?

According with the rules monster, vehicles and bikes cannot end their movement above ground floor on ruins....

Thoughts?
   
Made in us
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Ohio

I'd say they cannot.

Also, rules questions go in You Make Da Call section.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




OK, thanks!
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Unless they can cleanly fit/jam a skimmer ie vyper/skyweaver on the same level, no.


In war there is poetry; in death, release. 
   
Made in de
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






Actually, I think it is possible. The charging model(s) has to end movement within 1" of the charged model(s).

So basically, if a model is large enough to stand on ground level and still hit you on a higher floor, its clearly possible....
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Mickmann wrote:
Actually, I think it is possible. The charging model(s) has to end movement within 1" of the charged model(s).

So basically, if a model is large enough to stand on ground level and still hit you on a higher floor, its clearly possible....
You measure base to base, and bases are half an inch thick at best.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
Mickmann wrote:
Actually, I think it is possible. The charging model(s) has to end movement within 1" of the charged model(s).

So basically, if a model is large enough to stand on ground level and still hit you on a higher floor, its clearly possible....
You measure base to base, and bases are half an inch thick at best.

Unless you don’t have a base. “Tools of war” page 176
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






True enough, I guess your mighty Land Raider that hits on those juicy 6s will clean out that rubble in no time.
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Maryland, USA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
True enough, I guess your mighty Land Raider that hits on those juicy 6s will clean out that rubble in no time.


What else are Dozer blades for, if not leveling ruins

M.

Codex: Soyuzki - A fluffy guidebook to my Astra Militarum subfaction. Now version 0.6!
Another way would be to simply slide the landraider sideways like a big slowed hovercraft full of eels. -pismakron
Sometimes a little murder is necessary in this hobby. -necrontyrOG

Out-of-the-loop from November 2010 - November 2017 so please excuse my ignorance!
 
   
Made in de
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






So you are at an advantage if you're imperial knight can stand upright without basing him ...
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Mickmann wrote:
So you are at an advantage if you're imperial knight can stand upright without basing him ...
Models supplied with bases must use them.

It's never explicitly stated but it is one of the core principles of the game that is needed for it to work whatsoever.

One can argue that the instruction "If a model does not have a base" implies that you must use a base, since the kit is supplied with one and you're never given permission to use non-fully assembled models, but that's kind of stretching it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/13 15:16:12


 
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




No modeling for advantage.
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





A warhound titan, though, which doesn't come with a base? Sure.

Which makes sense. A gargantuan walking war machine shouldn't have trouble attacking a unit on the second floor. Of course, neither should a Knight, but what can you do?

"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




You can take that Knight and collect skulls for the skull god or pox for the pox god. Oh wait.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: