Switch Theme:

Honour the Chapter question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Honour the Chapter stratagem lets a unit fight for a second time at the end of the fight phase. If they pile in and engage a unit that was not previously engaged, can that enemy unit then fight back, or do they not have an opportunity to since it’s the end of the phase?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 AduroT wrote:
Honour the Chapter stratagem lets a unit fight for a second time at the end of the fight phase. If they pile in and engage a unit that was not previously engaged, can that enemy unit then fight back, or do they not have an opportunity to since it’s the end of the phase?


The unit that used Honour the Chapter can not attack a unit it did not charge at all.

WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK FAQ wrote:Q: If a unit that can fight twice in the Fight phase charges one enemy unit and destroys it during their first ‘fight’ in the subsequent Fight phase, and then consolidates into a second enemy unit, can they then attack that unit during their second ‘fight’?

A: The charging unit can only make attacks against the second unit if it also declared a charge against it in its charge phase.



"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






I don’t think that’s the question he’s asking DR:

If a unit of marines (A) uses HtC to wipe out a unit of Orks (B), and then consolidates within 1” of a different Ork unit (C), can Ork unit C attack that turn, or not because it is “the end” of the phase?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

HTC doesnt say that you go through every step of the fight phase, only that the unit gets to fight for a second time. Can you fight a unit you consolidated into, but didnt declare a charge against ? The stratagem doesnt give you permission to do that, so i would say no.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Charging unit could have declared a multi charge and only reached one of its declared targets. There are ways.

Regarding the OP’s question, then no. It’s the end of the phase so all Fighting is done, bar this happening by special permission of the Stratagem.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
HTC doesnt say that you go through every step of the fight phase, only that the unit gets to fight for a second time. Can you fight a unit you consolidated into, but didnt declare a charge against ? The stratagem doesnt give you permission to do that, so i would say no.
The Rulebook FAQ says you do though.
Q: If a rule states that you can choose a unit to ‘fight again’,
what does this mean exactly?
A: Repeat the entire Fight phase for that unit – i.e.,
choose to fight with the unit, pile in with that unit, choose
its target, choose its melee weapon, resolve its close
combat attacks, then consolidate with it.

To answer the OP, the attacked unit would not have a chance to attack back because it's the end of the Fight Phase and thus cannot be selected, same how you cannot select a unit to move after Deep Strikers come in because it's the end of the Movement Phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/03 02:26:52


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Ok, but they still cant fight a unit they didnt declare a charge against.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
Ok, but they still cant fight a unit they didnt declare a charge against.
Unless they didn't charge that turn.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
Ok, but they still cant fight a unit they didnt declare a charge against.


EDIT
Nevermind, misread what you wrote.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/09/03 07:40:49


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: