Switch Theme:

Embark on Valkyrie, disembark on Valkyrie  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Dadavester wrote:
So in my mind with a normal transport which hasn't moved,

You disembark the model. This model can now act normally. Disembark is not a Move action, it does not use your Move characteristic, it is a seperate action that allows you to disembark the model and place it within 3 inches. You then act normally. If you decide not to Move the model that model is still classed as having moved for rules purposes.

This is backed up by the part in the disembark rule where is states that if the model doesn't move after disembarking it is classed as moving. Why would it need that if disembarking was moving? So if a model disembarks before the transport moves it is not having been classed as moving until after the entirw action is complete.

If the transport moves and then the model disembarks the model is already classed as moving, therefore it cannot be moved a second time.

There is no rule that removes the fact that the model has moved before disembarking, and the fact that the rule states 'Acts normally' means you follow all the normal rules and the unit cannot move a second time.

I am fairly sure this is the right interpretation.

If you have a special rule that says you can disembark AFTER the transport has moved then you don't get to do a second move. This is the whole reason why disembarkation has been moved to the start of the movement phase in 8th - to prevent "all up in yo face" transport move + passenger move + charge shenanigans. The threat radius for an embarked unit would be way too high.

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

That's not 'my logic', that's Dadavester's logic.

Plus you're intentionally leaving parts of the rule out. Ypu know, the part where it states "... they still count as having moved for any rules purposes..."

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





 Ghaz wrote:
T
Plus you're intentionally leaving parts of the rule out. Ypu know, the part where it states "... they still count as having moved for any rules purposes..."

I don't understand what you are saying here at all.

The rule saying "they count as having moved" totally backs up Dadavester's point.

Do you honestly think the Valkyrie is supposed to be the one model in the game for which it's OK for passengers to move again after the transport has moved? Why would that be the case? And if it was the case, do you not think they would have deliberately stated that it breaks the standard rules?

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/07 14:11:42


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





I mean I am reading the same discussion all over the internet on reddit and stuff and the overriding opinion seems to be that you are right - you can jump out and move.

I am really not sure it's right. If something counts as having moved, how can it move again?

I will ask the question a second time: Do you honestly think the Valkyrie is supposed to be the one model in the game for which it's OK for passengers to move again after the transport has moved? Why would that be the case? And if it was the case, do you not think they would have deliberately stated that it breaks the standard rules?

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Considering I have to roll a die for each model. Which has a possibility of losing models.

Unlike getting out after a vehicle explodes in which you choose which models to remove. With grav shute you can lose characters.

So yes. This model is meant to do this

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Silentz wrote:
I mean I am reading the same discussion all over the internet on reddit and stuff and the overriding opinion seems to be that you are right - you can jump out and move.

I am really not sure it's right. If something counts as having moved, how can it move again?

By having a specific rule that makes it a unique case where it's meant to disembark later, despite it being illegal normally.
- If you disembark from a Valkyrie and don't move afterwards, you still count as having moved.
- If you stay inside your transport, and the transport moved, the units inside will be counted as having moved - so that e.g. Heavy weapons fire at -1 toHit (usually).
- If you use Grav Chutes, you get to disembark at any point during the movement of the valkyrie. that's what's changing.
I will ask the question a second time: Do you honestly think the Valkyrie is supposed to be the one model in the game for which it's OK for passengers to move again after the transport has moved? Why would that be the case? And if it was the case, do you not think they would have deliberately stated that it breaks the standard rules?

The valkyrie is the only* unit (that I am aware of) that allows disembarkation during the transport movement. Why would I change the whole disembarkation process for that unit, when it's kinda clear that it is an exception to the norm? You disembark "later", that's literally the point of using grav chutes. It's balanced by having to roll for each model. It's the only transport in the game that kills its passengers during disembarkation, I wouldn't question that either. Nor do I question that the killed models are rolled differently from an emergency disembarkation - as you can't pick and choose which model dies. If you Company Commander decides "that wall over there, let me paint it red", that's that for him - doesn't matter how many veterans also jumped out at the same time.

I know I'm repeating myself, but:
Now, sure, you can play it as if all of that is meaningless and simply stick with the literal wordings, and probably have a good case on it not being allowed at all - meaning you can't move after disembarkation at all. But that's about as reasonable as the Pistol or Assault weapons don't work-thing. Or the old act of faith for movement not allowing two moves in the movement phase. Technically maybe correct, but clearly still wrong on any other level.

* Technically the Vendetta does the same, but it's just an anti-tank Valkyrie, so I'll let that slide ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/07 17:27:53


 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Iowa

An interesting idea. Does the FAQ or BRB say that when you disembark from a vehicle that you stop moving? Is it perhaps one looong move including the disembark action?

If the truth can destroy it, then it deserves to be destroyed. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Apple Peel wrote:
An interesting idea. Does the FAQ or BRB say that when you disembark from a vehicle that you stop moving? Is it perhaps one looong move including the disembark action?


It says embarked passengers in a transport count as having moved. The passengers start in the Vakyrie when it starts to move, so therefore they fit the requirements for embarked passengers. Now, when they disembark they count as having moved from that rule. The disembark rules say you can act normally, but you already have the former embarked unit as counting as having moved when embarked. They wouldn't be able to move again. That limitation does not have a qualifier saying they get to move further after disembarking, only that they count as having moved while emarked in a moving transport. Disembarking does not change that condition.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Apple Peel wrote:
An interesting idea. Does the FAQ or BRB say that when you disembark from a vehicle that you stop moving? Is it perhaps one looong move including the disembark action?

Disembarking and moving are two different actions.

You can disembark, then move the transport, then move the infantry squad that just disembarked, for example.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 doctortom wrote:
 Apple Peel wrote:
An interesting idea. Does the FAQ or BRB say that when you disembark from a vehicle that you stop moving? Is it perhaps one looong move including the disembark action?


It says embarked passengers in a transport count as having moved. The passengers start in the Vakyrie when it starts to move, so therefore they fit the requirements for embarked passengers. Now, when they disembark they count as having moved from that rule. The disembark rules say you can act normally, but you already have the former embarked unit as counting as having moved when embarked. They wouldn't be able to move again. That limitation does not have a qualifier saying they get to move further after disembarking, only that they count as having moved while emarked in a moving transport. Disembarking does not change that condition.


Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes

That's from the regular disembark rules. "ignoring whether or not you move, from now on you count as having moved". If "counts as having moved" means you cannot do your normal move, this is true for any transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/07 19:17:49


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nekooni wrote:
 Apple Peel wrote:
An interesting idea. Does the FAQ or BRB say that when you disembark from a vehicle that you stop moving? Is it perhaps one looong move including the disembark action?

Disembarking and moving are two different actions.

You can disembark, then move the transport, then move the infantry squad that just disembarked, for example.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 doctortom wrote:
 Apple Peel wrote:
An interesting idea. Does the FAQ or BRB say that when you disembark from a vehicle that you stop moving? Is it perhaps one looong move including the disembark action?


It says embarked passengers in a transport count as having moved. The passengers start in the Vakyrie when it starts to move, so therefore they fit the requirements for embarked passengers. Now, when they disembark they count as having moved from that rule. The disembark rules say you can act normally, but you already have the former embarked unit as counting as having moved when embarked. They wouldn't be able to move again. That limitation does not have a qualifier saying they get to move further after disembarking, only that they count as having moved while emarked in a moving transport. Disembarking does not change that condition.


Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes

That's from the regular disembark rules. "ignoring whether or not you move, from now on you count as having moved". If "counts as having moved" means you cannot do your normal move, this is true for any transport.


I agree disembarking and moving are two different things. You get the embarked unit as counting as having moved from the rules for the transport moving, however, not from the disembarking process. When you plop the unit onto the board it counts as having moved because the transport moved and therefore having them count as having moved too; it has nothing at all to do with the disembarking rules. That would mean that it being true for any transport if it's true in this case isn't quite correct. It would be true for any transport that moves before or during passengers disembarking but not for transports in which the passengers disembark before the transport moves.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 doctortom wrote:

I agree disembarking and moving are two different things. You get the embarked unit as counting as having moved from the rules for the transport moving, however, not from the disembarking process. When you plop the unit onto the board it counts as having moved because the transport moved and therefore having them count as having moved too; it has nothing at all to do with the disembarking rules. That would mean that it being true for any transport if it's true in this case isn't quite correct. It would be true for any transport that moves before or during passengers disembarking but not for transports in which the passengers disembark before the transport moves.


This is literally from the disembarking rules.
Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/07 20:34:27


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nekooni wrote:
 doctortom wrote:

I agree disembarking and moving are two different things. You get the embarked unit as counting as having moved from the rules for the transport moving, however, not from the disembarking process. When you plop the unit onto the board it counts as having moved because the transport moved and therefore having them count as having moved too; it has nothing at all to do with the disembarking rules. That would mean that it being true for any transport if it's true in this case isn't quite correct. It would be true for any transport that moves before or during passengers disembarking but not for transports in which the passengers disembark before the transport moves.


This is literally from the disembarking rules.
Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes


Move "further" - and you're told by the disembarking rules that you can act normally after disembarking. But, you already count as having moved when you hit the board at the point you disembark if you moved in a transport and are no longer embarked due to a special rule. That's a separate prohibition from moving or not moving after normally disembarking from a vehicle that hasn't moved.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 doctortom wrote:
nekooni wrote:
 doctortom wrote:

I agree disembarking and moving are two different things. You get the embarked unit as counting as having moved from the rules for the transport moving, however, not from the disembarking process. When you plop the unit onto the board it counts as having moved because the transport moved and therefore having them count as having moved too; it has nothing at all to do with the disembarking rules. That would mean that it being true for any transport if it's true in this case isn't quite correct. It would be true for any transport that moves before or during passengers disembarking but not for transports in which the passengers disembark before the transport moves.


This is literally from the disembarking rules.
Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes


Move "further" - and you're told by the disembarking rules that you can act normally after disembarking. But, you already count as having moved when you hit the board at the point you disembark if you moved in a transport and are no longer embarked due to a special rule. That's a separate prohibition from moving or not moving after normally disembarking from a vehicle that hasn't moved.


Whether or not you move after leaving the transport you count as "having moved" for any rules purpose. That's what the rule says. It doesn't say you count as having moved "after moving". It's effective immediately after you disembarked. It's the same as being in a moving transport. The rule I quoted basically says "I don't care if, after disembarking, you actually move or not, you count as having moved".

And honestly, if "you disembarked and got special permission to move" is your argument for that not applying to regular transports, why wouldn't it also apply to disembarking from Valkyries midflight? They still disembarked.

and another follow-up: You realize that Grav-chutes refer to the normal disembarkation rules, do you? It's not magically setting up units on the board, it's letting you disembark:

Models may disembark from this vehicle at any point during its move, but ... (and so on - the remainder isn't relevant)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/01/07 21:06:41


 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Dadavester wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.


this seems to be the top and bottom of it from RAW

disembark from a 'Stationary' vehicle and then move
disembark from a 'Stationary' vehicle then move vehicle (counts as having moved so no further movement)
Disembark from a 'Moving' Vehicle may not move further as models count as having moved while embarked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/08 13:27:59


 
   
Made in es
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Dadavester wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.

Well with what you say in 3 it is pretty clear how you understand that rule is not how it is meant to, there is absolutely no indication that “the unit can then act normally” means “if you don’t move it inmediatly it can’t move for the rest of the phase”.
I will further insist that the sentence “a unit embarked in a transport that has moved counts as having moved” has no effect on a unit that is not embarked since it disembarked for any reason so the disembarking rules only should apply.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Dadavester wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.


Why do you think they are moving again?

Page 3 40k Battle Primer wrote:Start your Movement phase by picking one of your units and moving each model in that unit until you’ve moved all the models you want to. You can then pick another unit to move, until you have moved as many of your units as you wish. No model can be moved more than once in each Movement phase


You are not selecting the embarked unit to move when you move the Valk...

"count as also having moved" is not the same as actually selecting the embarked unit to move and then physically moving the models in the unit as far as the rules are concerned.

So you can move the models after they disembark as you are not moving them twice, you are only moving them once. You are moving the Valk once, but that has nothing to do with the embarked unit. the now-disembarked unit does "count as also having moved" but since they actually moved this does not matter at all.

Edit: Cleared up some weird wording.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/08 13:41:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

 DeathReaper wrote:
Dadavester wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.


Why do you think they are moving again?

Page 3 40k Battle Primer wrote:Start your Movement phase by picking one of your units and moving each model in that unit until you’ve moved all the models you want to. You can then pick another unit to move, until you have moved as many of your units as you wish. No model can be moved more than once in each Movement phase


You are not selecting the embarked unit to move when you move the Valk...

"count as also having moved" is not the same as actually selecting the embarked unit to move and then physically moving the models in the unit as far as the rules are concerned.

So you can move the models after they disembark as you are not moving them twice, you are only moving them once. You are moving the Valk once, but that has nothing to do with the embarked unit. the now-disembarked unit does "count as also having moved" but since they actually moved this does not matter at all.

Edit: Cleared up some weird wording.


The BRB FAQ pg 6 states that a unit inside a transport that has moved are classed as moving. So by moving the Valk you are moving the unit inside. So once the unit has disembarked it cannot then be moved again.

Edit: a word.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/08 13:49:59


 
   
Made in gb
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

Reanimation_Protocol wrote:

this seems to be the top and bottom of it from RAW

disembark from a 'Stationary' vehicle and then move
disembark from a 'Stationary' vehicle then move vehicle (counts as having moved so no further movement)
Disembark from a 'Moving' Vehicle may not move further as models count as having moved while embarked.



How is there a difference between your cases a and b? Disembarking is not part of the movement of the unit being transported. You are allowed to disembark, then move the transport, then move the unit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Dadavester wrote:

The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.



As I already said: Whether or not you move after leaving the transport you count as "having moved" for any rules purpose. That's what the rule says. It doesn't say you count as having moved "after moving". It's effective immediately after you disembarked. It's the same as being in a moving transport. The rule I quoted basically says "I don't care if, after disembarking, you actually move or not, you count as having moved".

There is nothing ng that would indicate that this only happens at the end of the movement phase (which is when you'd decide not to move a unit)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/08 14:30:27


 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

Kaneda88 wrote:
Dadavester wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.

Well with what you say in 3 it is pretty clear how you understand that rule is not how it is meant to, there is absolutely no indication that “the unit can then act normally” means “if you don’t move it inmediatly it can’t move for the rest of the phase”.
I will further insist that the sentence “a unit embarked in a transport that has moved counts as having moved” has no effect on a unit that is not embarked since it disembarked for any reason so the disembarking rules only should apply.


To be honest having read the disembarking rules again I rescind the "you cannot disembark, move a different unit then go back and move the disembarked unit," comment, as the disembark rule states "if you do not move the unit further in your movement phase." So having moved for rules purposes doesn't kick in until the end of the movement phase. I had not taken that part into account when typing that so admit I was in error.

However i still feel my interpretation of the moving after disembarking a moving transport is correct. The FAQ states

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The unit does not lose the "counts as moved" status because it has disembarked, i cannot see any rule to that affect. The only rule we have is that units inside a transport that have moved, are also counting as having moved. Disembark rules do not contradict this and only give you permission for the unit to act normally.

If you can show me a rule that does i will happily admit I am wrong.

Edit: removed a word.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/08 15:14:14


 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Dadavester wrote:

I still feel my interpretation of the moving after disembarking a moving transport is correct. The FAQ states

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The unit does not lose the "counts as moved" status because it has disembarked, i cannot see any rule to that affect. The only rule we have is that units inside a transport that have moved, are also counting as having moved. Disembark rules do not contradict this and only give you permission for the unit to act normally.

If you can show me a rule that does i will happily admit I am wrong.

I agree entirely with you, Dadavester... however I can see that in almost every discussion about this rule on reddit or other forums or here... of which there are many... the vast majority have no issue with AM players moving a transport 45", disembarking within 3" anywhere along that line, then getting to fully move all over again.

The threat radius for plasma scions squads in a vendetta shooting at a non-character is a rectangle 66 inches wide (9 inches either side of the flyer plus 24 inches shooting) and 111 inches long. Bigger than the board.

RAW for the win.

TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.

Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Silentz wrote:

The threat radius for plasma scions squads in a vendetta shooting at a non-character is a rectangle 66 inches wide (9 inches either side of the flyer plus 24 inches shooting) and 111 inches long. Bigger than the board.


TBH, plasma scions don't need to use the valk, they can just deepstrike wherever they want. 9" is close enough to double tap already. The valk is only useful for melta, flamers and hot-shot lasguns. And Ogryns too for a nice charge.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Silentz wrote:
Dadavester wrote:

I still feel my interpretation of the moving after disembarking a moving transport is correct. The FAQ states

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The unit does not lose the "counts as moved" status because it has disembarked, i cannot see any rule to that affect. The only rule we have is that units inside a transport that have moved, are also counting as having moved. Disembark rules do not contradict this and only give you permission for the unit to act normally.

If you can show me a rule that does i will happily admit I am wrong.

I agree entirely with you, Dadavester... however I can see that in almost every discussion about this rule on reddit or other forums or here... of which there are many... the vast majority have no issue with AM players moving a transport 45", disembarking within 3" anywhere along that line, then getting to fully move all over again.

The threat radius for plasma scions squads in a vendetta shooting at a non-character is a rectangle 66 inches wide (9 inches either side of the flyer plus 24 inches shooting) and 111 inches long. Bigger than the board.

RAW for the win.


Tallarn Command Squads (and any other Tallarn) can advance and still shoot their rapid-fire and assault weapons without negative modifiers, so you'll want to add a D6, not that any of that is relevant. And it's not like that threat area changes much by not moving after disembarking, does it? You do realize Valkyries and Vendettas can turn before flying, right?

The real benefit is that you can get within 9'' of the enemy by moving, which while rare, is not unheard of for a turn 1 action. So there's no balance issue, especially since you're not dropping a Khorne Berserker squad, to name something truly dangerous.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/08 17:28:11


 
   
Made in gb
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator




I have exploited this rule to the Max already by pulling off a TURN ONE CHARGE WITH STORMTROOPERS.

Everyone should certainly be afraid of the possible abuse of this coming to a tournament near you soon.

Disclaimer - I am a Games Workshop Shareholder. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

AdmiralHalsey wrote:
I have exploited this rule to the Max already by pulling off a TURN ONE CHARGE WITH STORMTROOPERS.

Everyone should certainly be afraid of the possible abuse of this coming to a tournament near you soon.


The biggest problem is the turn one charge with Bullgryns + Priest + Psyker to give them 1+ saves.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
AdmiralHalsey wrote:
I have exploited this rule to the Max already by pulling off a TURN ONE CHARGE WITH STORMTROOPERS.

Everyone should certainly be afraid of the possible abuse of this coming to a tournament near you soon.


The biggest problem is the turn one charge with Bullgryns + Priest + Psyker to give them 1+ saves.

No, the problem is the mighty stormtrooper aerial tide, way worse than any teleporting ork squad or overclocked scifi-ogres could ever be. Almost as dangerous as Melee Acolytes.

Spoiler:
I think he was being sarcastic. At least I hope he was.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/08 17:50:20


 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Iowa

*Pulls out the long combat knife* You will fear the Tempestus Scion!

If the truth can destroy it, then it deserves to be destroyed. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Dadavester wrote:
To be honest having read the disembarking rules again I rescind the "you cannot disembark, move a different unit then go back and move the disembarked unit," comment, as the disembark rule states "if you do not move the unit further in your movement phase." So having moved for rules purposes doesn't kick in until the end of the movement phase. I had not taken that part into account when typing that so admit I was in error.

However i still feel my interpretation of the moving after disembarking a moving transport is correct. The FAQ states

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The unit does not lose the "counts as moved" status because it has disembarked, i cannot see any rule to that affect. The only rule we have is that units inside a transport that have moved, are also counting as having moved. Disembark rules do not contradict this and only give you permission for the unit to act normally.

If you can show me a rule that does i will happily admit I am wrong.

Edit: removed a word.


Why do you think they are moving again?

They did not move, you moved their transport. The unit inside only "count as also having moved" Which is not the same as actually moving the dudes inside since you don't actually move the dudes inside.

The valk moving makes the unit inside count as having moved. You then disembark them and keep moving the unit that was embarked. It is all one move, since you have to select a unit to move it per the BRB. And since you didnt select the unit (you only selected the Valk) then you are still free to select them and keep moving them that phase.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:


Why do you think they are moving again?


Because they count as having moved at the time they disembark due to the transport's move.

 DeathReaper wrote:
They did not move, you moved their transport. The unit inside only "count as also having moved" Which is not the same as actually moving the dudes inside since you don't actually move the dudes inside.


Whether they actually moved or only count as having moved, after they disembark they are in a state of already being treated as having moved. That means they don't move again.


 DeathReaper wrote:
The valk moving makes the unit inside count as having moved. You then disembark them and keep moving the unit that was embarked. It is all one move, since you have to select a unit to move it per the BRB. And since you didnt select the unit (you only selected the Valk) then you are still free to select them and keep moving them that phase.


No, it already counts as having moved when it disembarks, so it does not get to move. You can try to select them later in the phase, but they already count as having moved at that point as per the FAQ, so are not eligible to move again. that phase.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: