Switch Theme:

Natural 1s vs modifiers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Hey folks!

Another newbie question:

1. Auspex Scan modified hit rolls to be -1.
2. HQ allows rerolls of 1s.
3. I roll some hit rolls of 2, which are modified to 1s.

Do those dice reroll?

   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Nope. Rerolls happen BEFORE modifiers.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 Dashofpepper wrote:
Hey folks!

Another newbie question:

1. Auspex Scan modified hit rolls to be -1.
2. HQ allows rerolls of 1s.
3. I roll some hit rolls of 2, which are modified to 1s.

Do those dice reroll?


A general rule of thumb is to look for the "+" sign in from of the number. If the number has one (such as: hit rolls of 6+) it means that it is affected by modifiers. If there isn't one, it is not affected by modifiers.

Most HQs that I can think of do not have the "+" sign on their rerolls, so you would not be able to reroll anything other than a natural roll.

EDIT: Also as mentioned above, rerolls before modifiers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/26 00:51:56


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 178 of the main rulebook:

... re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied.

So if the dice showed a '2', it would not be re-rolled because its not a '1' when you determine what can be re-rolled.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/26 02:12:30


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: