Switch Theme:

Tallarn tank order and moving out of close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Can you still fire after using the tallarn order 'get around behind them' to move out of CC and still fire in the shooting phase? It says the tank can move before or after firing as if it were the movement phase, so I'm guessing probably not?

Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DoomMouse wrote:
Can you still fire after using the tallarn order 'get around behind them' to move out of CC and still fire in the shooting phase? It says the tank can move before or after firing as if it were the movement phase, so I'm guessing probably not?
In either situation (barring another rule allowing you to fire within 1" of an enemy unit or to fire after falling back), the answer is no.

Beforehand, you're within 1" of the enemy, so may not be selected to fire.
Afterwards, you've fallen back, thus cannot be selected to fire.

BRB Page 179, Shooting Phase, Step 1, Choose Unit to Shoot With wrote:You may not pick a unit that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, or a unit that is within 1" of an enemy unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/10 18:23:34


 
   
Made in gb
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Cheers, just wanted to check my interpretation was right! Thanks

Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights  
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Milan/Turin, Italy

 BaconCatBug wrote:


BRB Page 179, Shooting Phase, Step 1, Choose Unit to Shoot With wrote:You may not pick a unit that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, or a unit that is within 1" of an enemy unit.


Wouldn't that completely break pistols or make then anyway useless, if taken as written?

   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Pistols are a specific exception to that rule.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 flandarz wrote:
Pistols are a specific exception to that rule.
Not RaW https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/730922.page
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Maybe not, but quite literally everyone plays them as intended. Ie: shooting Pistols within 1" and firing Assault after Advancing. So I'd say that's kind of a pointless argument.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 flandarz wrote:
Maybe not, but quite literally everyone plays them as intended. Ie: shooting Pistols within 1" and firing Assault after Advancing. So I'd say that's kind of a pointless argument.


Yeah, except as an important example proving how RAW =/= RAI
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 flandarz wrote:
Maybe not, but quite literally everyone plays them as intended. Ie: shooting Pistols within 1" and firing Assault after Advancing. So I'd say that's kind of a pointless argument.
I play them as written, and I'll leave it at that.
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Milan/Turin, Italy

 Stux wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
Maybe not, but quite literally everyone plays them as intended. Ie: shooting Pistols within 1" and firing Assault after Advancing. So I'd say that's kind of a pointless argument.


Yeah, except as an important example proving how RAW =/= RAI


This was basically my doubt, I realize it does not make sense, but don't want to trigger an argument over RAW or RAI
It's ok guys, just making sure

   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

As per the first reply, if the Transport Fell Back it can’t shoot unless some other special rule allows it.

What’s with another thread full of off topic arguing? Keep to the topic guys, let’s this forum become useless.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: