Switch Theme:

basic game questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

1. Can deploy units into a transport that I already put on the board during deployment?

2. Can a 8 shot gun, shoot multiple targets?

3. with the 2pt strategem can you interrupt a charge and fight first so long as its not the first combat this turn?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Sazzlefrats wrote:
1. Can deploy units into a transport that I already put on the board during deployment?

2. Can a 8 shot gun, shoot multiple targets?

3. with the 2pt strategem can you interrupt a charge and fight first so long as its not the first combat this turn?


1. No. During deployment the transport must be deployed at the same time as any units that you want to be embarked on it at the start of the game. Units can of course embark during the game in the movement phase.

2. Generally no. Each gun must target a single unit with all shots, though if a model has multiple guns they may target a different unit with each gun.

3. Yes. You use the stratagem after your opponent fights, so they will get to fight with at least one charging unit before you, but after that you can fight immediately using the Strat before chargers.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Sazzlefrats wrote:
1. Can deploy units into a transport that I already put on the board during deployment?

2. Can a 8 shot gun, shoot multiple targets?

3. with the 2pt strategem can you interrupt a charge and fight first so long as its not the first combat this turn?
1. No. When you deploy a transport, you must declare what, if any, units are deployed within it. After that, you cannot deploy units within it.

2. No. A single weapon cannot fire at multiple units.

3. Correct. The opponent will always get the chance to fight with at least one of their units before you get to use the interrupt stratagem.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 180 of the Main Rulebook, second paragraph under 'Weapon Types':

If a weapon has more than one attack, it must make all of its attacks against the same target unit.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Stux wrote:

2. Generally no. Each gun must target a single unit with all shots, though if a model has multiple guns they may target a different unit with each gun.


Note that you cannot target one enemy unit with 2 of 3 weapons (lets say your unit has 3 weapons). You have to shoot every weapon at that enemy unit, or each weapon at 3 different enemy units.

3. Choose Ranged Weapon
The weapons a model has are listed
on its datasheet. If a model has several
weapons, it can shoot all of them at the
same target, or it can shoot each at a
different enemy unit.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

I'm pretty certain that the literal RAW that you quoted isn't how anyone in reality would ever play it. Me and my group certainly don't. Be kinda dumb if you had two targets in range, and three guns, but you (for some reason) can't shoot with the third one if you target both units.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

2. Generally no. Each gun must target a single unit with all shots, though if a model has multiple guns they may target a different unit with each gun.


Note that you cannot target one enemy unit with 2 of 3 weapons (lets say your unit has 3 weapons). You have to shoot every weapon at that enemy unit, or each weapon at 3 different enemy units.

3. Choose Ranged Weapon
The weapons a model has are listed
on its datasheet. If a model has several
weapons, it can shoot all of them at the
same target, or it can shoot each at a
different enemy unit.


I have never seen this interpretation before. The current FAQ states:

Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to read:
‘In either case, at the same time that you choose targets
for the shooting unit’s attacks, you must declare how you
will split the shooting unit’s shots; then resolve all the
shots against one target before moving on to the next.’
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

2. Generally no. Each gun must target a single unit with all shots, though if a model has multiple guns they may target a different unit with each gun.


Note that you cannot target one enemy unit with 2 of 3 weapons (lets say your unit has 3 weapons). You have to shoot every weapon at that enemy unit, or each weapon at 3 different enemy units.

3. Choose Ranged Weapon
The weapons a model has are listed
on its datasheet. If a model has several
weapons, it can shoot all of them at the
same target, or it can shoot each at a
different enemy unit.


While technically accurate, I have never run into anyone who plays it like this.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Please see the previous thread for this discussion: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/754650.page
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Kriswall wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

2. Generally no. Each gun must target a single unit with all shots, though if a model has multiple guns they may target a different unit with each gun.


Note that you cannot target one enemy unit with 2 of 3 weapons (lets say your unit has 3 weapons). You have to shoot every weapon at that enemy unit, or each weapon at 3 different enemy units.

3. Choose Ranged Weapon
The weapons a model has are listed
on its datasheet. If a model has several
weapons, it can shoot all of them at the
same target, or it can shoot each at a
different enemy unit.


While technically accurate, I have never run into anyone who plays it like this.

I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Ghaz wrote:
I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.
I have a Lascannon, a Storm Bolter and Battle Cannon on my Leman Russ. I fire the Lascannon and Battle Cannon at Unit A, I fire the Storm Bolter at unit B. Have I "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"? Unit A is not different to Unit A.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

2. Generally no. Each gun must target a single unit with all shots, though if a model has multiple guns they may target a different unit with each gun.


Note that you cannot target one enemy unit with 2 of 3 weapons (lets say your unit has 3 weapons). You have to shoot every weapon at that enemy unit, or each weapon at 3 different enemy units.

3. Choose Ranged Weapon
The weapons a model has are listed
on its datasheet. If a model has several
weapons, it can shoot all of them at the
same target, or it can shoot each at a
different enemy unit.


Except in real games, where this doesn't apply at all.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.
I have a Lascannon, a Storm Bolter and Battle Cannon on my Leman Russ. I fire the Lascannon and Battle Cannon at Unit A, I fire the Storm Bolter at unit B. Have I "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"? Unit A is not different to Unit A.


But unit A is different than Unit B so you have "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.
I have a Lascannon, a Storm Bolter and Battle Cannon on my Leman Russ. I fire the Lascannon and Battle Cannon at Unit A, I fire the Storm Bolter at unit B. Have I "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"? Unit A is not different to Unit A.


But unit A is different than Unit B so you have "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"


No, because he had three weapons and only two units for targets. If you go by it technically being you have to shoot each weapon at a different unit, you're not allowed to split shooting if there are more weapons for you to shoot than units to shoot at. You aren't given permission to not shoot a weapon if every weapon has to be fired at a different units and there aren't enough units to split the weapons between.

Which just goes to emphasize why most people don't read it that way.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/21 19:10:21


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Stux wrote:

Except in real games, where this doesn't apply at all.


I know you dont play by the rules.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.
I have a Lascannon, a Storm Bolter and Battle Cannon on my Leman Russ. I fire the Lascannon and Battle Cannon at Unit A, I fire the Storm Bolter at unit B. Have I "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"? Unit A is not different to Unit A.


But unit A is different than Unit B so you have "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"


No, because he had three weapons and only two units for targets. If you go by it technically being you have to shoot each weapon at a different unit, you're not allowed to split shooting if there are more weapons for you to shoot than units to shoot at. You aren't given permission to not shoot a weapon if every weapon has to be fired at a different units and there aren't enough units to split the weapons between.

Which just goes to emphasize why most people don't read it that way.


To use a BCB standard, it's down to how people use English. In normal speech if someone uses this phrasing it doesn't usually mean they all have to be strictly different.

The intention here is absolutely crystal clear and I don't know why p5freak is insisting on taking a ludicrous interpretation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

Except in real games, where this doesn't apply at all.


I know you dont play by the rules.


Nobody does. Say hi to Assault weapons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/21 19:12:52


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stux wrote:
The intention here is absolutely crystal clear and I don't know why p5freak is insisting on taking a ludicrous interpretation.
If it's so clear then why is it unclear?

Yes, it's due to English language ambiguity and where the stress in the sentence is. A good rules writer works around that. You can't argue that "it's silly otherwise" because re-rolls before modifiers, flamers autohitting supersonic aircraft, being unable to charge units on ruins, etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/21 19:23:02


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Stux wrote:
The intention here is absolutely crystal clear and I don't know why p5freak is insisting on taking a ludicrous interpretation.
If it's so clear then why is it unclear?

Yes, it's due to English language ambiguity and where the stress in the sentence is. A good rules writer works around that. You can't argue that "it's silly otherwise" because re-rolls before modifiers, flamers autohitting supersonic aircraft, being unable to charge units on ruins, etc.


All those I can accept are intentional, because there's no English ambiguity. Unlike those other examples you gave, you're saying this is an ambiguous situation though, so surely we pick the more reasonable interpretation? The one that makes logical sense.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/21 19:27:07


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Oh gawd not this chestnut again...

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The weapons a model has are listed on its datasheet. If a model has several weapons, it can shoot all of them at the same target, or it can shoot each at a different enemy unit.

So each weapon can be either A) Be fired at the same target or B) Be fired at a 'different enemy unit' (i.e., any eligible unit other than the unit unit given in A). Option B is just that, it's an option for each weapon .

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.
I have a Lascannon, a Storm Bolter and Battle Cannon on my Leman Russ. I fire the Lascannon and Battle Cannon at Unit A, I fire the Storm Bolter at unit B. Have I "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"? Unit A is not different to Unit A.


But unit A is different than Unit B so you have "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"


No, because he had three weapons and only two units for targets.
Which of course does not matter at all.

If you go by it technically being you have to shoot each weapon at a different unit


That is not what is required at all.

you're not allowed to split shooting if there are more weapons for you to shoot than units to shoot at.
Again, not what it means at all.

You aren't given permission to not shoot a weapon if every weapon has to be fired at a different units and there aren't enough units to split the weapons between.

Which just goes to emphasize why most people don't read it that way.
It is not the correct way to read it. so that is why most people don't read it that way.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
I don't believe it is even 'technically accurate' as it would need to replace the word 'different' with something like 'second'.
I have a Lascannon, a Storm Bolter and Battle Cannon on my Leman Russ. I fire the Lascannon and Battle Cannon at Unit A, I fire the Storm Bolter at unit B. Have I "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"? Unit A is not different to Unit A.


But unit A is different than Unit B so you have "[shot] each at a different enemy unit"


No, because he had three weapons and only two units for targets.
Which of course does not matter at all.

If you go by it technically being you have to shoot each weapon at a different unit


That is not what is required at all.

you're not allowed to split shooting if there are more weapons for you to shoot than units to shoot at.
Again, not what it means at all. If you want to read it as having to fire at different units.

You aren't given permission to not shoot a weapon if every weapon has to be fired at a different units and there aren't enough units to split the weapons between.

Which just goes to emphasize why most people don't read it that way.
It is not the correct way to read it. so that is why most people don't read it that way.



It is a viable reading of it, though it's far less reasonable than the reading that you can just fire whatever weapons at whatever units. Why bother breaking up to retort to different sections of the post when it really only looks like you're trying to address the last sentence in my post?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/21 20:38:45


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 JohnnyHell wrote:
Oh gawd not this chestnut again...


Right!? Is there a full moon today or something?
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Thanks guys, I think we've answered all my questions and there's no need to take a stroll down Ambiguity Avenue.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: