Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/02 17:40:26
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
I agree on the bomb squig. Having checked how they work they're just a normal gun as far as mechanics are concerned.
Tankhammers work differently though, they cause no damage and have an ability that means they inflict mortal wounds if the attack hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/02 17:54:19
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
I do have to agree with kirotheavenger.
You generate d3 MW if the attack hits. Strictly speaking, that means it doesn't matter if you hit once, twice or 100 times - the attack will always do d3 MW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/02 18:12:43
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
the intent of the weapon is that it does 1d3 MWs and then dies. It's clear as day.
Actually, let me argue against myself here. If a hell blaster shoots four shots,, and rolls a 1 on the first roll, they still gets to fire the other shots, even though it says they are destroyed after rolling the first one.
EDIT: Gender neutral
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/02 18:13:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/02 18:38:44
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I still dont know what to make of the tankhammer. I feel like its worded so it both could and could not get the extra hit from a 6.
But whether it deals 3 mortal wounds or not should not matter?
Why shouldnt 2 hits, equal 2D3 mortal wounds? In the same way that a powerklaw hitting twice would also deal 2D3 non mortal wounds? the mortal wounds is just its damage value like any other damage value.
Im unsure about what you guys mean when you say it deals D3 mortal wounds and that somehow means it can only attack once. If it turns out that the tankhammer rightfully should get 2 hits with a roll of 6, i dont see why the second hit should not also deal D3 MW
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:the intent of the weapon is that it does 1d3 MWs and then dies. It's clear as day.
EDIT: Gender neutral
I think you are right as the tankbustas are probably from a time where Goff as clan culture didnt give exploding 6's on CC attacks, depending on how you understand these things. I think. im not sure at all as i only started playing in 8th and both Goffs and tankhammer tankbustas were a thing there.
But that doesnt change that we're right now in a situation where tankhammers potentially can deal 2D3 MW if you DO use tankbustas as Goff which also uses tankhammers (which is frankly no one). Although nobody uses tankhammers because its slowed and you can only have like 3 in a grp of 15 ranged tank bustas so you would literally never run in to this issue.
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2021/03/02 18:45:17
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/02 19:05:01
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
The mortal wounds aren't the damage though, it's the special ability.
If the special ability was replicated and applied again, would that mean choppas gave two bonus attacks for a 6?
First the bonus attack for the Goffs, plus that attack triggering another bonus attack for the special rule.
Of course not, because that's silly.
Just like the Choppa only triggers once, so too does a tankhammer only trigger once.
I do agree this is somewhat a non-issue though as no one ever uses them anyways.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 00:19:34
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Unfortunately tankhammers potentially can not deal 2D3 MW, They only deal D3 MW's.
The Tankhammer rules say that "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain."
So after you roll your attack and score a hit (Even if it is a 6 and you get multiple hits) it deals D3 MW's because the attack hits. It doesn't matter how many attacks or hits you have as there is no provision for having multiple hits and it does not let you do more than D3 mortal wounds.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 00:00:10
Subject: Re:Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I think everyone should read this FAQ Item and reconsider if their position is correct:
*Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
Attacks That Make Multiple Hit Rolls
Some rules, typically weapon abilities, tell you to roll more than one hit roll for each attack made , e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, make 2 hit rolls instead of 1’. In these cases, each hit roll is treated as a separate attack that is made against the same target. As such, all normal rules that are triggered by attacks, or that apply to attacks (such as re-rolls or modifiers conferred by other rules) apply to each ‘hit roll’. Note that these additional attacks do not themselves result in more hit rolls being made.
This seems to dovetail nicely with rules telling you on an attack roll of X, make another hit roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 03:39:14
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
So then that would literally break the weapons rule, which states the bearer makes one attack, and is then slain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 04:16:33
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:So then that would literally break the weapons rule, which states the bearer makes one attack, and is then slain.
Sure, but it doesn't matter because the Tankhammer rules say If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain. So there can't be a second attack.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 04:34:08
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
So going by what has been said, we have the following three rules to take into account:
Tankhammer: Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon. If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain.
Goff Kultur: Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 for an attack with a melee weapon made by a model with this kultur, immediately make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon. These additional hit rolls cannot themselves generate any further hit rolls."
*Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
Attacks That Make Multiple Hit Rolls
Some rules, typically weapon abilities, tell you to roll more than one hit roll for each attack made , e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, make 2 hit rolls instead of 1’. In these cases, each hit roll is treated as a separate attack that is made against the same target. As such, all normal rules that are triggered by attacks, or that apply to attacks (such as re-rolls or modifiers conferred by other rules) apply to each ‘hit roll’. Note that these additional attacks do not themselves result in more hit rolls being made.
So going by these, the Goff Tankbusta can make one attack with the Tankhammer (and the rest of his attacks with his close combat weapon if the does them before he dies). It makes a hit roll for the Tankhammer attack and if it is an unmodified hit roll of 6, it immediately makes another hit roll against the same target with the Tankhammer. Per the Rare Rules, that hit roll is treated as a separate attack. If he hits again, he has successfully hit the target with the Tankhammer twice. The target takes d3 Mortal Wounds for each hit (2d3 Mortal Wounds) and the Tankbusta is killed, twice for good measure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 04:43:03
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, The target takes D3 Mortal Wounds, that is all and the Tankbusta is killed.
Remember it says "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds"
If he hits twice, has he hit?
If yes then the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and that is all the target suffers.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 05:58:20
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the tankhammers definitely needs a GW overview to even out the odds and ends and and explain what works and what doesnt, even though its a completely odd scenario one would never be in.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 07:38:51
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 08:21:22
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss
Italy
|
DeathReaper wrote:No, The target takes D3 Mortal Wounds, that is all and the Tankbusta is killed.
Remember it says "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds"
If he hits twice, has he hit?
If yes then the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and that is all the target suffers.
It says the attacks instead of each attack because typically you can only have one attack with that weapon. I don't see the confusion here, a Goffs triggered additional attack that hits should definitely deal additional D3 mortal wounds.
We have "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds", and then another "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds". They are considered two different attacks. So the target does suffer 2D3 mortal wounds.
It doesn't say "if the model hits" or "if the model's attacks hit", it says "if the attack hits", which means the D3 mortal wounds are a consequence of a single attack. If you have two, the consequence is applied twice. There's no difference between a single tankhammer hitting twice thanks to the Goffs trait and 2 tankhammers from 2 different tankbustas hitting once.
It also doens't matter if the tankbusta (or the bomb squig) is killed, the additional hit roll is a consquence of the previous hit roll, when the model was alive and well. It just represents the chance of a lucky shot to do more damage than usual, it's not like a slain model has the chance to play again. It's the possibility of getting double hits with a single shot and for the purpose of resolving that additional attack the FAQ said the player must resolve it as a separate attack against the same target. Separate attack means that a line such as "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds" must be repeated.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 09:23:51
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except the attack sequence ends before you get that second attack, since the model has died.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 09:58:58
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss
Italy
|
DeathReaper wrote:Except the attack sequence ends before you get that second attack, since the model has died.
Why you say so? The second attack is a consequence of the first one, it's not a second round of attacks. Yes, it's resolved as a separate attack but it's generated by the first attack and part of the same sequence, it doesn't require the model to remain alive, just like the original attack. It's generated from the first hit roll and after that the additional attack is added to the pool, regardless of the model being alive or slain. Once it's genereated why should it be canceled? The state of the model becomes irrelevant for resolving it.
The point, which many seems to have trouble to understand, is that those ork rules don't make a model fight again, which he couldn't do if he's slain, they simply enhance already rolled hit rolls by generating additional attacks that are resolved as they were separate attacks. But they are still part of the original batch of rolls, it's not a second round of shooting/fighting. Those abilities represent the fact that lucky 6s on hit rolls can cause more damage, that's all.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 10:02:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 10:02:32
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I don't say so, the rules do. (It is not a part of the same sequence as attacks are made one at a time, it is a separate attack sequence). Normally you roll to hit, then to wound, then the opponent allocates the wound, rolls for save, and then applies damage. With the Tankhammer, you roll to hit, and "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain." So at the instant the attack hits, it has its effect and the bearer is slain. Here is where the attack sequence ends. And since we don't have a Dataslate to reference, any additional hits do nothing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 10:03:21
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 10:06:37
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss
Italy
|
To me it's clear that the rules confirm what I'm saying.
You say "normally", but these aren't normal rules, these are special rules. 6s grant an extra attack to roll, that's the rule. Pretty simple to me. Attack sequence ends when there are no more rolls to make. There are stratagems that allow models to fight/shoot again after they die, also orks have one of those, and these specific cases aren't any different: special rules always have priority over general rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 10:09:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 10:32:20
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Blackie wrote:To me it's clear that the rules confirm what I'm saying.
You say "normally", but these aren't normal rules, these are special rules. 6s grant an extra attack to roll, that's the rule. Pretty simple to me. Attack sequence ends when there are no more rolls to make. There are stratagems that allow models to fight/shoot again after they die, also orks have one of those, and these specific cases aren't any different: special rules always have priority over general rules.
Except the rules contradict what you are saying. Making attacks is on Page 18 of the free rules PDF.
It states "The following sequence is used to make attacks one at a time:
1. HIT ROLL
2. WOUND ROLL
3. ALLOCATE ATTACK
4. SAVING THROW
5. INFLICT DAMAGE"
With the Tankhammer, you get to the "1. HIT ROLL" and if it hits, that is it, since the model is slain.
Even with the "GOFFS: NO MUKKIN’ ABOUT" rules, the moment you roll that 6, the Tankhammer text comes into play and the Ork dies, and once that happens, there is no Dataslate to reference for any other attacks for that model, as the model no longer exists in the game.
There are stratagems that allow models to fight/shoot again after they die, but they are specifically noted as such. Neither the Tankhammer or the Goffs rules do any such thing.
P.S. Since we try to break no rules, we can not get extra attacks with the Tankhammer anyway, as it specifically states that "Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon." and since "6s grant an extra attack to roll" (specifically the Goffs rules say "make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon.") that can not happen since "it can only make a single attack with this weapon."
You do not get multiple attacks with the Tankhammer. Each hit roll is the start of the attack sequence and as such is a separate attack. (If you really want to break it down and say it is the same attack, then nothing happens as you have already hit with that attack and hitting twice on a single attack does nothing. If it is two separate hit rolls, it has to be two separate attacks, and as such can not happen with the Tankhammer).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:02:02
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think the Tankhammer gets the exploding 6 additional hit to generate 2d3 mortal wounds. The way I see it, this comes down to sequencing. A successful hit roll means d3 mortal wounds are inflicted. If that hit roll is a 6 then you make an additional hit roll. If the initial hit roll is successful the model is slain. The d3 mortal wounds, the additional hit from the exploding 6, and the model being slain all have the same trigger - the initial hit roll. The sequencing rule would come into play and the player whose turn it is chooses the order to resolve these actions, so the Ork player could choose to kill the model before any mortal wounds are inflicted (but why would you?). More likely, the player chooses to resolve the initial d3 MWs, and the exploding 6 roll (for another d3 MWs if successful) before the model is slain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:02:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:09:11
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Aash wrote:I think the Tankhammer gets the exploding 6 additional hit to generate 2d3 mortal wounds.
The way I see it, this comes down to sequencing. A successful hit roll means d3 mortal wounds are inflicted. If that hit roll is a 6 then you make an additional hit roll. If the initial hit roll is successful the model is slain.
The d3 mortal wounds, the additional hit from the exploding 6, and the model being slain all have the same trigger - the initial hit roll. The sequencing rule would come into play and the player whose turn it is chooses the order to resolve these actions, so the Ork player could choose to kill the model before any mortal wounds are inflicted (but why would you?). More likely, the player chooses to resolve the initial d3 MWs, and the exploding 6 roll (for another d3 MWs if successful) before the model is slain.
You are missing the part that says A model with a Tankhammer "can only make a single attack with this weapon."
Why are you breaking that rule?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:12:46
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote: Blackie wrote:To me it's clear that the rules confirm what I'm saying.
You say "normally", but these aren't normal rules, these are special rules. 6s grant an extra attack to roll, that's the rule. Pretty simple to me. Attack sequence ends when there are no more rolls to make. There are stratagems that allow models to fight/shoot again after they die, also orks have one of those, and these specific cases aren't any different: special rules always have priority over general rules.
Except the rules contradict what you are saying. Making attacks is on Page 18 of the free rules PDF.
It states "The following sequence is used to make attacks one at a time:
1. HIT ROLL
2. WOUND ROLL
3. ALLOCATE ATTACK
4. SAVING THROW
5. INFLICT DAMAGE"
With the Tankhammer, you get to the "1. HIT ROLL" and if it hits, that is it, since the model is slain.
Even with the "GOFFS: NO MUKKIN’ ABOUT" rules, the moment you roll that 6, the Tankhammer text comes into play and the Ork dies, and once that happens, there is no Dataslate to reference for any other attacks for that model, as the model no longer exists in the game.
There are stratagems that allow models to fight/shoot again after they die, but they are specifically noted as such. Neither the Tankhammer or the Goffs rules do any such thing.
P.S. Since we try to break no rules, we can not get extra attacks with the Tankhammer anyway, as it specifically states that "Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon." and since "6s grant an extra attack to roll" (specifically the Goffs rules say "make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon.") that can not happen since "it can only make a single attack with this weapon."
You do not get multiple attacks with the Tankhammer. Each hit roll is the start of the attack sequence and as such is a separate attack. (If you really want to break it down and say it is the same attack, then nothing happens as you have already hit with that attack and hitting twice on a single attack does nothing. If it is two separate hit rolls, it has to be two separate attacks, and as such can not happen with the Tankhammer).
technically it says you get one attack with the tankhammer, not one hit roll, and when the attack hits, the model dies. But again, an attack can have several hits, which is pretty important in this context, as Goffs exploding 6s is a hit, not an attack.
Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon. An attack, not a hit.
Im at a place right now, where i can see the rule of goff getting 2D3 MW being correct, but at the same time, depending on how you read it, it could clearly also mean you DONT get it. Its a bit like the whole: This unit can only be wounded on a +4, against a weapon that always wounds on a +2. There are some contradictions here yet i feel like both of you are correct.
Both blackie and you, are correct as i see it (as it depends on what, in the text, you pay heed to) but there has to be a right and a wrong way for this to play out. I cant see the right answer atm.
The way i see it:
Why it should NOT work:
the whole MW attack is a special ability, like choppas ability to hit twice, as someone explained earlier. an ability cant proc twice. The Tankhammer itself doesnt have a weapons profile, unlike the bomb squig that DOES have a weapons profile that simply lets it die after finishing its attack.
Why it SHOULD work:
A unit DOES NOT die before its own attack sequence ends, and one attack CAN have two or even more hits. Im actually uncertain if a unit has 5 attacks and kills itself after the first attack, that he still gets the rest? but in this case, it doesnt matter, because exploding 6s for goffs is an extra hit, not an attack. The hit ties to the attack. And a model cant die midway through an attacks sequence. In this case the unit cant possibly die before it makes its 2 hits related to that ONE attack. it doesnt just die midway through as ONE attack in this case is TWO hits. Goffs provide hits, not attacks, and the text does say, that the unit dies after its attack hits, in this case, that "hit" is two hits from a roll of 6.
It could be argued that this weapons damage is simply the D3 MW and was made in a time where exploding 6s in CC were not a thing. So rather than giving it an actual profile, it became an ability. but one can consider the D3 MW its damage profile now because otherwise GOFF exploding 6s makes no sense.
And i point out, again, that a unit cannot die before ending its hits related to that attack attack sequence ends.
Personally i dont know what i lean the most towards. I want to lean towards Goffs getting that extra hit because its in their ability to immediately get another hit roll when getting a 6, its their thing, obviously it should gain another D3 MW hit, however, thats my opinion. Rules wise, i dont know what is the right call here. I can see it either way, as both can be argued for.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:20:20
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:13:55
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Aash wrote:I think the Tankhammer gets the exploding 6 additional hit to generate 2d3 mortal wounds.
The way I see it, this comes down to sequencing. A successful hit roll means d3 mortal wounds are inflicted. If that hit roll is a 6 then you make an additional hit roll. If the initial hit roll is successful the model is slain.
The d3 mortal wounds, the additional hit from the exploding 6, and the model being slain all have the same trigger - the initial hit roll. The sequencing rule would come into play and the player whose turn it is chooses the order to resolve these actions, so the Ork player could choose to kill the model before any mortal wounds are inflicted (but why would you?). More likely, the player chooses to resolve the initial d3 MWs, and the exploding 6 roll (for another d3 MWs if successful) before the model is slain.
You are missing the part that says A model with a Tankhammer "can only make a single attack with this weapon."
Why are you breaking that rule?
The Goff faction rule says:
Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 for an attack with a melee weapon made by a model with this kultur, immediately make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon. These additional hit rolls cannot themselves generate any further hit rolls.
Additional hits rolls are generated, not additional attacks. I don't see any rules being broken.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:23:12
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
As previously shown by Alextroy, additional hit rolls ARE additional attacks.
As I see it, you can't have it both ways.
If it were two hit rolls for one attack, it's only d3 mortal wounds because the rule triggers if the attack hits. Not for each time the attack hits.
If, as it is, hit rolls are additional attacks, it's only d3 mortal wounds because you can only make a single attack. It seems very specific about being a single attack. Not to mention the guy's now dead.
I'm pretty sure all rules that allow models to attack post-mortem are quite specific in that they're played after the model is slain but before removing the model, the tankhammer doesn't have this timing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:26:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:31:54
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
kirotheavenger wrote:As previously shown by Alextroy, additional hit rolls ARE additional attacks.
As I see it, you can't have it both ways.
If it were two hit rolls for one attack, it's only d3 mortal wounds because the rule triggers if the attack hits. Not for each time the attack hits.
If, as it is, hit rolls are additional attacks, it's only d3 mortal wounds because you can only make a single attack. It seems very specific about being a single attack. Not to mention the guy's now dead.
I'm pretty sure all rules that allow models to attack post-mortem are quite specific in that they're played after the model is slain but before removing the model, the tankhammer doesn't have this timing.
additional hit rolls are the same as additional hits, just in a worse category. Sequence wise however, they are the same. Hit rolls are not attacks. All attacks are made up by hit rolls, Hit rolls are not made up by attacks.
If an additional hit roll is an attack, then Goffs should get 3 extra "attacks" per exploding 6 from the SMASH profile of Gorkanauts and Morkanauts, as each attack counts as 3 hits with that profile.
Smash: Make 3 hit rolls for each attack made with this weapon. Said rule would also apply to Goffs exploding 6 then.
And that would be borderline OP and incorrect.
An attack can have several hits, therefore, attacks are not hits and hits are not attacks.
If one attack makes 3 hit rolls (smash profile = gorkanauts) then you dont roll one die at time and finish the entire sequence with that die with wounds, saves etc. You throw all 3 die because thats the hit roll. Your attack was worth 3 hit rolls
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:38:52
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:34:25
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Beardedragon wrote:technically it says you get one attack with the tankhammer, not one hit roll, and when the attack hits, the model dies. But again, an attack can have several hits, which is pretty important in this context, as Goffs exploding 6s is a hit, not an attack.
Incorrect, the Goffs exploding 6s is not a hit, it is a hit roll. Slight but huge difference. An attack can have several hits (looking at you Necron Tesla carbine), but that is not what is happening here. You do not generate extra hits, you get an extra hit roll (which is an attack). The Goffs rules say "make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon." Extra hit rolls = another attack, as that is the start of the attack sequence, it is not an extra hit on the same attack. Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon. An attack, not a hit.
Right, but the second to hit roll is basically shorthand for another attack, as the hit roll starts the attack sequence. And as we know the Tankhammer rules specify only one attack. So you can not get that second hit roll. And i point out, again, that a unit cannot die before ending its hits related to that attack attack sequence ends.
Sure, but each attack is a separate hit roll.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:37:28
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:36:19
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Beardedragon wrote:technically it says you get one attack with the tankhammer, not one hit roll, and when the attack hits, the model dies. But again, an attack can have several hits, which is pretty important in this context, as Goffs exploding 6s is a hit, not an attack.
An attack can have several hits (looking at you Necron Tesla carbine), but that is not what is happening here. You do not generate extra hits, you get an extra hit roll (which is an attack). The Goffs rules say "make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon." Extra hit rolls = another attack, as that is the start of the attack sequence, it is not an extra hit on the same attack.
Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon. An attack, not a hit.
Right, but the second to hit roll is basically shorthand for another attack, as the hit roll starts the attack sequence. And as we know the Tankhammer rules specify only one attack. So you can not get that second hit roll.
And i point out, again, that a unit cannot die before ending its hits related to that attack attack sequence ends.
Sure, but each attack is a separate hit roll.
theres no difference between a hit and a hit roll, one is just required to be rolled where as the other auto hits. Sequence wise its exactly the same. If the exploding Goff 6s gave a hit rather than a hit roll, it wouldnt make any difference.
its like a flamethrower versus a heavy bolter. Theres no difference except one auto hits and the other dont. Sequence wise you're at the same place.
The extra hit does NOT start another attack sequence.
One attack with two hits, is not two attack sequences. this is very incorrect
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:42:29
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:40:50
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
kirotheavenger wrote:As previously shown by Alextroy, additional hit rolls ARE additional attacks.
As I see it, you can't have it both ways.
If it were two hit rolls for one attack, it's only d3 mortal wounds because the rule triggers if the attack hits. Not for each time the attack hits.
If, as it is, hit rolls are additional attacks, it's only d3 mortal wounds because you can only make a single attack. It seems very specific about being a single attack. Not to mention the guy's now dead.
I'm pretty sure all rules that allow models to attack post-mortem are quite specific in that they're played after the model is slain but before removing the model, the tankhammer doesn't have this timing.
I see where you are coming from. I had missed the quote provided from the Rare Rules.
To address each of your points in turn:
"If it were two hit rolls for one attack, it's only d3 mortal wounds because the rule triggers if the attack hits. Not for each time the attack hits."
The rules are phrased on the assumption that one roll is made at a time, and it has been demonstrated throughout the rules and FAQs that the use of singular for "attack", "hit roll" etc. is based on this assumption, and that it is valid to read this for each individual instance, without "each time" being used, so I disgree on this issue.
"If, as it is, hit rolls are additional attacks, it's only d3 mortal wounds because you can only make a single attack. It seems very specific about being a single attack. Not to mention the guy's now dead."
As you say, the Rare Rules does indeed say that additional hit rolls are treated as a separate attack.
I dispute the model being dead though. The rule is very clear:
If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain
not "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds then the bearer is slain"
These events are simultaneous, so sequencing applies. The exploding 6 applies at the same time, so again sequencing applies. The player whose turn it is can resolve these in the order of their choosing.
As for the Rare Rules establishing that
each hit roll is treated as a separate attack that is made against the same target
Then yes, I agree that there is now a direct conflict as we have two rules that cannot both be applied. Exploding 6s and the weapon's own rule that it may only make a "single attack".
I don't see a way to resolve this without breaking one of the two rules. Unfortunately, it seems to be a case where a roll-off is required until (if?) a FAQ is issued. :(
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:41:29
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Beardedragon wrote:
theres no difference between a hit and a hit roll, one is just required to be rolled where as the other auto hits.
What ???? I suggest you read the core rules, before engaging in rules discussions. A hit is a successful hit roll, after you rolled a dice, and a hit roll is when you roll the dice. Hit rolls arent auto hits. As a matter of fact, there are no hit rolls for auto hits, because they hit automatically, hence the name.
1. HIT ROLLS
If an attack is made with a weapon that has an ability that says it
‘automatically hits the target’, no hit roll is made – that attack simply
scores one hit on the target unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:44:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:44:34
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
p5freak wrote:Beardedragon wrote:
theres no difference between a hit and a hit roll, one is just required to be rolled where as the other auto hits.
What ???? I suggest you read the core rules, before engaging in rules discussions. A hit is a successful hit roll, after you rolled a dice, and a hit roll is when you roll the dice. Hit rolls arent auto hits. As a matter of fact, there are no hit rolls for auto hits, because they hit automatically, hence the name.
regardless that has nothing to do with whether the tankhammer should get one or two hits.
IF theres a comment to be made on why it shouldnt, it should be that its an ability and abilities dont trigger twice.
the tankhammer doesnt have a D3 MW damage value profile.
that reason alone i could accept, but as someone else said, it still conflicts with how Goff is meant to work.
One of the two rules will have to be broken for the game to move on.
I wonder if i wrote to GW and asked them, they would reply an answer?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:48:22
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/03/03 11:52:13
Subject: Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Beardedragon wrote:theres no difference between a hit and a hit roll, one is just required to be rolled where as the other auto hits. Sequence wise its exactly the same. If the exploding Goff 6s gave a hit rather than a hit roll, it wouldnt make any difference.
This is 100% false. A hit automatically goes to the WOUND ROLL step. A hit roll does not. The extra hit does NOT start another attack sequence.
Again this is false, because you "make one hit roll for that attack" if it is not a separate attack sequence, you you can not actually roll the additional hit roll. P. 18 PDF rulebook wrote:When a model makes an attack, make one hit roll for that attack This, of course is false as I have shown.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/03/03 11:57:35
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|