Switch Theme:

Combat Squads and Deepstrike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

Can you combat squad a unit that deepstrikes? I used to think no, but the rule says they combat squad "when deployed." Sicne they're deployed when deepstriking, I suppose you can, but can you combat squad first and deepstrike seperatly, or can you only split up after you land?

I've been playing that I can split when I outflank, and while I roll one side for both, I can deploy either where I want. Am I doing that right?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes you can. You roll as one unit, declare CS and then roll each CS separately for scatter
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

no you cant.the rules for combat squads viaSM faq says that reserves cant use CS,except in drop ods where they CS on disembarking

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




The FAQ says you can't combat squad in reserves. That's because you combat squad during deployment. Which happens when you come out of reserves.

Which is why you can't come out of reserves and combat squad with one squad in a transport and one squad on foot. Because the unit has to be put into reserves embarked in the transport.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/02 18:43:30


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Deadshot wrote:no you cant.the rules for combat squads viaSM faq says that reserves cant use CS,except in drop ods where they CS on disembarking


1) Please use proper spelling and grammar.

2) That is NOT what the FAQ says. It says that squads in reserves are not split into combat squads. This is because combat squad splitting occurs as you deploy the squad. Putting a unit into reserves isn't deploying the squad, bringing them onto the board from reserves is deploying them. And, that's when you break into combat squads.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




ignore this please

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/02 18:43:21


 
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Minnesota, the southeastern part that time forgot

The SM players I've played against have often split up drop podding squads into 2 CS's. It seems to be keeping with the ruels since (and I hope I'm not wrong here) deepstriking is a form of deployment, and that is when you declare whether they will be combat squads. So yeah, I'd say you're doing it right.

I will split your thoughts open! 
   
Made in us
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






San Diego

Grakmar wrote:
Deadshot wrote:no you cant.the rules for combat squads viaSM faq says that reserves cant use CS,except in drop ods where they CS on disembarking


1) Please use proper spelling and grammar.

2) That is NOT what the FAQ says. It says that squads in reserves are not split into combat squads. This is because combat squad splitting occurs as you deploy the squad. Putting a unit into reserves isn't deploying the squad, bringing them onto the board from reserves is deploying them. And, that's when you break into combat squads.

This is the correct interpretation. It's a matter of when the unit is "deployed". If you read the rules for reserves, you "deploy" the unit the moment it arrives, allowing you to combat squad the unit at that time. That said, you may NOT combat squad a Tactical Squad with a Razorback and have half of it arrive riding inside of the Razorback. This is because when the unit is held for in reserves, you must either choose to have it arrive riding in its transport, or on foot with the transport separate, and at that point the unit has not been deployed and thus has not been broken into combat squads. Since they have not broken into combat squads, they are not able to fit inside the Razorback, and so you must bring them on separately. Nothing is stopping you from moving the Razorback on first though, then having the unit deploy as combat squads and have half hop inside the Razorback. It just means the tank cannot move as far, which shouldn't matter for a Razorback that wants to shoot anyway.

Drop Pods are the exception to this since it specifically says you may choose to break them into combat squads the moment you disembark.

"Duty is heavier than a mountain, death lighter than a feather."

Proud supporter of Scott the Paladin. Long Live Scott! 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate



United States of America

So you are all agreeing that a 10 model squad can combat squad after deep striking, like assualt marines or terminators? I want to be clear on this one. I have a Palidin army that would love to do this.

When I get home I'm going to do SO much coke and ---- hot women. It will be like, 'It's 5pm..., time to do some coke and ---- hot women!' 
   
Made in gb
Cowboy Wannabe



London

Yes. As above:

You roll for the squad as one.

Declare you are combat squadding.

Deploy and scatter as 2 units.
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate



United States of America

Jangustus wrote:Yes. As above:

You roll for the squad as one.

Declare you are combat squadding.

Deploy and scatter as 2 units.


Sweet. I searched a few more You Make Da Call that confirms and explains everything. This opens all kinds of flavors of pain for my opponents. Thanks, Dakka!

When I get home I'm going to do SO much coke and ---- hot women. It will be like, 'It's 5pm..., time to do some coke and ---- hot women!' 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: