Switch Theme:

[V5] YMTC - Charging units that always count as being in cover  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
READ BELOW FOR THE QUESTION
OPTION A (read below for details)
OPTION B (read below for details)
OPTION C (read below for details)
OPTION D (read below for details)
OPTION E (read below for details)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



FOR THIS POLL, PLEASE ANSWER HOW YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY THE GAME, NOT NECESSARILY WHAT THE RULES AS WRITTEN (RAW) SAY.



The Dark Eldar Mandrake Shadow-Skinned rules say (Dark Eldar codex, pg 8): "Mandrakes always count as being in cover, giving them a 5+ cover save. This counts in an assault as well, so unless the attackers are armed with frag grenades, the Mandrakes will always strike first."


The Tau Stealth Field Generator rules say (Tau Empire codex, pg 27): "Models equipped with stealth field generators count as being in cover if they are assaulted."


The Space Wolves Storm Caller psychic power rules say (Space Wolves codex, pg 6): "This unit counts as being in cover for rules purposes and so will receive a 5+ cover save and will strike first in close combat until the end of the following enemy turn."


The Assaulting Through Cover rules say (rulebook, pg 36): "If, following the rules for moving assaulting models, any model in an assaulting unit will have to go through difficult or dangerous terrain as part of its assault move, the unit must take the relevant terrain test before moving. . .if an assaulting unit had to take a difficult or dangerous terrain test during their assault move, all of its models have their Initiative value lowered to 1 when attacking, regardless of other Initiative modifiers."



QUESTION: If a unit assaults a unit that 'always counts as being in cover' (but isn't actually physically in cover) what happens?



OPTION A. In the new rules, a unit that is "in cover" means nothing if the enemy doesn't actually have to move through cover. In the case of the Mandrake and Stormcaller rules, they too just say the unit 'counts as being in cover' and then they provide examples which are no longer relevant to the current rules for cover. Therefore, none of these units get any benefit from their special rules when they are charged by the enemy.


OPTION B. In the new rules, a unit that is "in cover" means nothing if the enemy doesn't actually have to move through cover. However, in the case of the Mandrake and Stormcaller rules, they offer more specific examples of how their rules function. Therefore, Tau Stealth Suits do not get any benefit from their special rules when charged, but Mandrakes and Space Wolves protected by Stormcaller do get to 'strike first' in combat.


OPTION C. These units always count as being in cover and therefore any enemy unit wishing to charge them must take a difficult terrain test to do so and thus will strike them at I1 that round.


OPTION D. Enemy units charging a unit that 'always counts as being in cover' still assault them normally but any attacks directed at these units are resolved at I1 for that round.


OPTION E. Something else entirely: reply exactly what it is below.



This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/11/04 14:40:09


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in nz
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




New Zealand

I think B. After all, it has specific examples. Chances are that is what I would play. A pity none of my friends take that sort of wargear.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






D, all rules clearly intend for you to strike first unless the opponent has frag grenades, as that is the only benefit cover can offer to a unit in an assault and all three specify that they offer cover in an assault.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

The cover RAW has changed, but the intention of these rules is very clear. D.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

Its clearly D

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in gb
Spawn of Chaos



Birmingham, England.

I voted B simply because that is the rules interpretation i have been using, however i might have to change my opinion based on how this vote goes.


GMort.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

I voted B because that's what the rules say. Anything else is conjecture, especially since GW had the opprotunity to fix this in the FAQs....and didn't.

Codex> Rulebook fixes everything! Ya!

lol

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

I voted B for the poll. The codexes (codicies) offer specific direction about how it affects cover, especially consideering, as mentioned, RAW about cover has changed.

The only way I could see D working (which was a close second), is if the charging unit needed to make a difficult terrain test, which is now the qualifier for units to benefit from being in cover.

Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

I voted D, as this I think is the best compromise between "obsolete" rules that can be adapted, and pure RAW.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




I voted B too. The books in question specifically says a unit attacking them will go last, so they do. It doesn't matter if a difficult terrain role is made, when the codex makes a rules change for a specific scenario or unit. There are literally dozens of such rules that specifically counter how a normal rule is used because the codex it came from said so.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

C.

Cover is cover, and 40k treats cover as binary - if you're entering cover, it's difficult terrain and I1. Apply the full rule.

   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

JohnHwangDD wrote:C.

Cover is cover, and 40k treats cover as binary - if you're entering cover, it's difficult terrain and I1. Apply the full rule.


You must know the full rule to apply it. Read Pg 36 again.

In the curent edition there can be times where a unit is "in cover" and would not benefit from the initiative bonus/handicap in combat.

The rules specify that the I1 is only taken into account if the chargers had to take a Difficult or Dangerous Terrain check.

"Cover" can be granted to a unit that is partially inside Area Terrain, but with all of its bases at the edge of the terrain boundary.

If that unit were assaulted and no chargers had to enter the terrain to get into B2B, they wouldn't have to make a DT check, and therefore wouldn't suffer a loss of I.

Those units that are granted "Cover" that do not require a DT check (or have specific reference to I1) shouldn't grant the I1.


Cover is binary, but seperate from the rules for the I loss. I loss is exclusively the result of a DT check.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/04 18:37:42


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





CT, USA

I vote B, not because I don't understand the intent of the cover rule, but because I understand the intent of the stormcaller and Shadowskinned rules. The units that assault will never ENTER the terrain. This prevents models from standing half a base in cover, and still striking first.

"any model in an assaulting unit will have to go through difficult or dangerous terrain as part of its assault move"

They are not going through cover, but the rules have a specific strike first statement.

That's just my opinion...

...one amongst untold billions.
DR:90S+G+M+B++I+Pw40k05+D++A++/hWD318R++T(G)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut







The rules quoted for Space Wolves are incorrect. The 2nd printing of the SW Codex states that Wolves only go first if assaulted. I have a PDF of the page if anyone would like to take a look at it. PM me with your email address.

No Comment 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Iboshi2 wrote:
" If any model in an assaulting unit will have to go through difficult or dangerous terrain as part of its assault move"



You forgot a bit, which changes the application of the rule a lot.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






Option A.

Although specifically mentioned, the rules all relate to older Core Rules (and thank you for pointing out the change, as I wasn't previously aware!)

Ergo, the cover only counts for shooting.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in us
Unbalanced Fanatic






Chicago, IL

I voted D as I think it is the way it was meant to go.

Finished 3rd Co Starting First Company

Arbites
DS:70+S+G+MB+IPw40k03#++D++A++/wWD280R+++T(D)DM++
Adepticon TT Headhunter 2008 1-800-INQUISITION 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

We usually play D, just because it is what makes sense, and we never really thought about the change from 4th to 5th. I suppose at a tournament I would make a point to ask the organizers for a ruling though, since logically the rules don't even really work together now.

One of the rare cases where we assume RAI I suppose. I wouldn't nit pick someone over it certainly.


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in ru
Drew_Riggio




Russia

about Storm Caller
i have two versions of SW dex. one normal and one free from Canada GW (pdf)
in normal one power sounds as:
This unit counts as being in cover for rules purposes and so will receive a 5+ cover save and will strike first in close combat until the end of the following enemy turn.

But in Canadian pdf it sounds as:
The Space Wolves Storm Caller psychic power rules say (Space Wolves codex, pg 6): "This unit counts as being in cover for rules purposes and so will receive a 5+ cover save and will strike first in the first round of combat if they are charged.


so by Canadian dex, Storm Caller give your unit strike first only if its charged\assaulted by someone, not in case if they self charged\assaulted.
so what codex are right ? because in one example you will strike first even if you assault, but in second example it works only if you assaulted.

ps. voted for D.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/04 20:06:25


are writer, not reader
FB DE 1-0-0 | 1-1-0 
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Minnesota

Voted for D.

C makes no sense; nowhere does it say that charging a unit in cover requires a difficult terratin test, and nowhere does it say that mandrakes put difficult terrain between them and their enemies.

Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





I chose Option E because I believe option D is correct unless one has grenades that render the I1 penalty moot. Those grenades seem to be much more common now and I found it odd they weren't mentioned in the scenario at all.

I never thought that units that count as "in cover" for assault purposes would ever need to make a difficult terrain check as only their bases would technically be "cover". I also think that is drawing a too fine line on the rules. The intent in my mind is the "in cover" only applies to the I1 rule when assaulted and cover save from shooting in the case of the Wolves and mandrake examples.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Dal'yth Dude wrote:I chose Option E because I believe option D is correct unless one has grenades that render the I1 penalty moot. Those grenades seem to be much more common now and I found it odd they weren't mentioned in the scenario at all.

I never thought that units that count as "in cover" for assault purposes would ever need to make a difficult terrain check as only their bases would technically be "cover". I also think that is drawing a too fine line on the rules. The intent in my mind is the "in cover" only applies to the I1 rule when assaulted and cover save from shooting in the case of the Wolves and mandrake examples.



Your vote should have been for 'D' then. Grenades aren't included in this example as doing so would needlessly complicate the question and answers. The poll is trying to establish whether or not these units count as being in cover. If you play that they *do* count as being in cover then applying grenades to the scenario would then follow the normal rules.

I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





I suppose, but then you do mention things like "do get to 'strike first' in combat" and " will strike them at I1 that round". Splitting hairs, but then that is often how rules debates end up.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation





Definately option "A", as it adheres most closely to 5th edition RAW. Outdated codexes simply suffer unless patched with an FAQ.
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






D. From a Tau perspective, my suits are INVISIBLE. that makes it harder for you to hit me.

I'm also of the opinion that grenades don't work.

The obvious intent was for these units to have an edge in combat if charged. i'm much more in favor of following the intent (especially in this cross-edition switch) than the RAW in cases like this where they conflict.
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller






Fargo

I wish I could justify D since that's definitely the intent, but I play it as A because that's how it's written now.

I agree with the others who've said that a unit being in cover doesn't affect someone else charging that unit, so I can't agree with C. And the language of the extra examples sounds to me like clarifications rather than additional rules, so I can't agree with B.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





MythicalMothman:

How is D definitely the intent? Can you demonstrate that, or provide a proof?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I voted for D as this made the most sense to me.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

Its C and i shall explain why!!!!

All of the aforementioned units are "in cover" this is very clear on all the descriptions. Now go with me here for a moment... in order in be in base to base contact with something that is IN COVER you must be in-fact moving into cover right? Even if its for an infinitesimal amount, no? So the very act of assaulting a unit that is "in cover" requires movement into cover, and on a side note not all cover requires a terrain test to move through.

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Agreed, D makes the most sense to me, but I can definitely see A or B working just as well. It's one of those things players will need to sort out before their games.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: