Switch Theme:

Flyers, reserves and getting on board.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

Just an issue that came up and wondering what the dakkites feel about it.

Large flyers like valkries and vendettas and may some others to a lesser degree come on board and move 6" on. This means that part of the model is going to be off board.

1. Is this legal by the rules?
2. If it is legal, does this mean in subsequent rounds I can avoid targetability by always keeping the base on the board but hugging the edge and keeping the minimum of a large flyer targettable.

Personally, my feeling is too bad so sad but you have a large model and you have to deal with it and keep it all on board. And perhaps that may mean a forced movement of greater than 6" and thus not the ability to unload all weapon systems.

What do you think?

BTW the "semi-official" ruling from GW was that the base is what counts and only if a weapon system (say a rocket pod on a valkrie) that is currently off board cannot shoot.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Tucson, Arizona

Well its either you move greater than 6" to get on the board or you move 6" on and not make it completely on thus destroying your own unit. The choice is yours and yours alone.

-5000 Pts. of Orks
-1750 Pts. of Ravenwing 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Have a check of the FAQ, which confirms that any unit which fails to make it completely onto the board is destroyed

So if you choose to move your model partly onto the board it is destroyed.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





What they said. And, those units aren't flyers. They're skimmers on large oval bases.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Grand ol US of A

Edit: I was wrong. You have to move all the way on including the hull.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/05 18:31:35


d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.

 
   
Made in gb
Veteran Knight Baron in a Crusader






UK

So as long as the base is completely on the board, the vehicle is also not destroyed?

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

geordie09 wrote:So as long as the base is completely on the board, the vehicle is also not destroyed?

No.

The base is used for determining if the vehicle is on difficult terrain or models. To determine if it is on the board, it's both the base and the model itself.

Move 6" on and the Valk is destroyed.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Akroma06 wrote:All that matters for things on the flying stand is the base. It's in the FAQ:
Q: What part of a skimmer on a large oval flying base
is used to determine if it is in/on terrain or if it is on
friendly or enemy models? (p71)
A: Just the base itself.

Otherwise while part of the vehicle is off the board it is still targetable as long as it is hull. So just because its hanging off the edge doesn't mean it is magicaly out of LOS.


Terrain /= "off the board", youre conflating two very different things there

If any part of your model is off the board when you ve moved on from Reserves, youre destroyed.
   
Made in fi
Human Auxiliary to the Empire




Middle-Finland, Karstula

So if unit comes from reserve.. it has to be able to get all bases/hull to the board and so units coming from reserve always counting as moving in purpose for firing heavy weapons or rapid fire weapons?

Tau Empire: 2500p
Warriors of Chaos : 3000p
Dark Eldar: 2000p
Dark Elves: 1600p  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes. I believe (don't have my books at work) that it says that in the rules

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The rear wings are hull and a vehicle occupies the space of its hull. If that hull is beyond the edge of the playing area, it is not 'on the board' and is destroyed.

It is clear cut and simple.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Grand ol US of A

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Akroma06 wrote:All that matters for things on the flying stand is the base. It's in the FAQ:
Q: What part of a skimmer on a large oval flying base
is used to determine if it is in/on terrain or if it is on
friendly or enemy models? (p71)
A: Just the base itself.

Otherwise while part of the vehicle is off the board it is still targetable as long as it is hull. So just because its hanging off the edge doesn't mean it is magicaly out of LOS.


Terrain /= "off the board", youre conflating two very different things there

If any part of your model is off the board when you ve moved on from Reserves, youre destroyed.


I could have sworn I saw it in the faq, and thought I grabbed the wrong one, but since I can't find it I must say I was wrong...

Edited previous post so no one reads it and messes up.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/05 18:32:03


d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Raza` wrote:So if unit comes from reserve.. it has to be able to get all bases/hull to the board and so units coming from reserve always counting as moving in purpose for firing heavy weapons or rapid fire weapons?


Yes - read the reserve rules, and note you must MOVE to get on the board. You dont just magically appear there.
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Iwould say just the base. that is what cou8nts foir large vehicles on flyer bases, eg, Valkeries, Vendettas, Stormravens.

@Akroma

The INAT FaQ, at the top of this page, is what says the whole model must be on.


What would all of youi guys say about Baneblades moving on from reserve. The thing is longer than its 6" move, so it counldn't possibly move on from reserve without cheating or dieing, as you guys seem to suggest that i
f it can't get on, it is dead.


@ Raza

Vehciles count as stationary for Rapid Fire nad Heavy weapons. So a Bolter monuted on a Rhino would always gety to fire 1 shot at 24" or rapid fire. A space marine would have to rapid fire.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Grand ol US of A

Right My point was kinda the opposite. As for the Baneblade. That is apocalypse and alot of apoc stuff breaks the rules. Typically we just houserule it and say that it can hang off the edge but is still targetable by say a blast weapon.

d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

In fact almost all super-heavys/gargantuan creatures are longer than 6". If they start in reserve, they would never be able to be used.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Long story short, a Vendetta will have to move on over 6" from Reserve, meaning it will never be able to fire all 3 lascannons from Reserve.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Deadshot wrote:I would say just the base. That is what counts foir large vehicles on flyer bases, Eg. Valkeries, Vendettas, Stormravens.

@Akroma

The INAT FaQ, at the top of this page, is what says the whole model must be on.
The GW FAQ says this as well
The GW FAQ says this as well
@ Raza

Vehciles count as stationary for Rapid Fire nad Heavy weapons. So a Bolter monuted on a Rhino would always gety to fire 1 shot at 24" or rapid fire. A space marine would have to rapid fire.

Note: I added the yellow/blue above
Note: I added the yellow/blue above

first off, the Hull needs to be on the table or the vehicle is destroyed. So it is not just the base.

For clarity you do not rapid fire a bolter.

Rapid fire is a type of weapon, just like a lascannon is Heavy 1, you wouldn't heavy a Lascannon would you?

Call it 'Double Tap' to reduce confusion.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/10/05 21:11:17


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Could you use yellow next time please? Blue is hard to read.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Deadshot wrote:Iwould say just the base. that is what cou8nts foir large vehicles on flyer bases, eg, Valkeries, Vendettas, Stormravens.


Wrong. The base only counts for determining if it is in difficult terrain/on top of models, assaulting them, or disembarking/embarking models. Otherwise it is treated the same as any other skimmer which still requires that the hull be entirely on the board.

The INAT FaQ, at the top of this page, is what says the whole model must be on.


So does the GW FAQ.

What would all of youi guys say about Baneblades moving on from reserve. The thing is longer than its 6" move, so it counldn't possibly move on from reserve without cheating or dieing, as you guys seem to suggest that if it can't get on, it is dead.


Yup
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Deadshot wrote:Could you use yellow next time please? Blue is hard to read.

Blue is easy to read and yellow nearly impossible if you're using the workplace-safe theme.

I suggest Red.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

So, if a guy can't fit the Baneblade on the board at all, because of models or impassable terrain, and absolutely had to put it in reserve, would automatically lose it, if you had your way, because it couldn't comeon fully?

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Grakmar wrote:
Deadshot wrote:Could you use yellow next time please? Blue is hard to read.

Blue is easy to read and yellow nearly impossible if you're using the workplace-safe theme.

I suggest Red.


Fixed with yellow and blue so everyone can read it.

I do not like to use red, because that is what the mods generally use to add notes and such to peoples posts.

Deadshot wrote:So, if a guy can't fit the Baneblade on the board at all, because of models or impassable terrain, and absolutely had to put it in reserve, would automatically lose it, if you had your way, because it couldn't comeon fully?


Strict answer, yes.

Real answer, no, since playing Apoc requires a fair bit of houserules, just make up a rule that allows it to come on the board, like it must move onto the board at the first available moment. so 6 inches the first turn it arrives, then another 4 or so to make sure it is fully onto the board in its next turn.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/10/05 21:09:57


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Thanks.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

DeathReaper wrote:
Grakmar wrote:
Deadshot wrote:Could you use yellow next time please? Blue is hard to read.

Blue is easy to read and yellow nearly impossible if you're using the workplace-safe theme.

I suggest Red.


Fixed with yellow.

I do not like to use red, because that is what the mods generally use to add notes and such to peoples posts.


Yeah, now I can't read your text without highlighting it. Perhaps orange would make everyone happy.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Why do we all not just make the text bigger or bopld or something?

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Deadshot wrote:So, if a guy can't fit the Baneblade on the board at all, because of models or impassable terrain, and absolutely had to put it in reserve, would automatically lose it, if you had your way, because it couldn't comeon fully?


From the GW FAQ:
Games Workshop wrote:. . .if the tank is forced to
stop for any reason before the entire vehicle is on the
board then the vehicle, and any embarked units, count
as destroyed and are removed from play.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

So is there a diference between a wing and a tailfin?

Sometimes GW be damned with their rulings.

The only place you may be able to move 6" and be completely on is the corner move on 6 pivot your butt end into the corner, you may than fit. I'm unsure as I've sold off my Vendettas.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/06 02:01:14


   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The rear wings are structural and important to the flight of the valkyries just as much as the main wings, so I insist on them being hull when I play with or against them(I do run guard on occasion). Calling it a tail allows people to start claiming that it falls into decorative features, which is wrong.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Lawndale

Just play with the Pacific Mauraders. They feel that to not allow a person to play their models would be wrong. "Those vehicles are expensive" was what I was told by the TO when I sited the FAQ. They simply ruled that the base was to be used for all measuring purposes, except firing.
Looking forward to missing the Broadside Bash this year.

11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: