Switch Theme:

Necrons instant death?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





Bradley Beach, NJ

Luusormi wrote:Damn. Necrons got really hard to kill and without the phase out...how ae you supposed to kill them???


Same as before, focus fire, take out one unit at a time. It gets really fun if you play Guard like I do.

Hive Fleet Aquarius 2-1-0


http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/527774.page 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

nosferatu1001 wrote:
NecronLord3 wrote:

Sorry. the EverLiving rules and FAQ seem to totally disagree with you.

Try again.


No they dont - well, not unless you totally make gak up that has no basis in rules.

Oh wait, I see what you did there. You DID make gak up that has no basis in rules!


Try again - some actual rules owuld be useful, anytime you feel like it


Already posted them try reading it some time.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
time wizard wrote:
Yad wrote:And EL doesn't care about being an IC. It only cares about models that have the EL property. Meaning as long as a model has EL it can potentially leave and join another unit (per the EL rules) at the end of any phase.

-Yad


Yes! Indeed! It can leave the unit and/or join another at the end of the phase.

Perfect!

And when does one roll for RP and EL? At the end of the phase.

And when does a sweeping advance occur? From page 40, if the unit is caught in a sweeping advance, "The destroyed unit is removed immediately."

Let's repeat that so everyone gets it. "The destroyed unit is removed immediately."

Not at the end of the phase, not when they make their EL roll, but immediately!

So, the character with the EL rule is part of the unit, again as per the res orb FAQ, and if the unit is swept, "The destroyed unit is removed immediately.".

So at the end of the phase, there are no RP or El counters to roll for, they have already been removed when the unit was destroyed.



Except when the EL token was placed prior to the Sweep. In which case nothing removes the EL token.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 00:19:23


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Squidmanlolz wrote:
Luusormi wrote:Damn. Necrons got really hard to kill and without the phase out...how ae you supposed to kill them???


Same as before, focus fire, take out one unit at a time. It gets really fun if you play Guard like I do.


Correct. That's the best way to do it.
In one game (old Necron codex) I managed to take out 7 warriors from 1 squad and all 10 from another squad. I just couldn't take out those last 3 warriors!
In my opponent's turn, all 17 models were within range to make a WBB roll, and he brought back 14 of the 17!
He now had a 17 strong unit of warriors that I had to try to take out all over again.
So he brought back 14 warriors. At 18 points each, he had just got an additional 252 points of models in his force!

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yad wrote:And EL doesn't care about being an IC. It only cares about models that have the EL property. Meaning as long as a model has EL it can potentially leave and join another unit (per the EL rules) at the end of any phase.

-Yad

You're going to have to cite something for that. The only way for a model to be eligible to join another unit is if it is an IC.
And ICs can only leave their unit at the end of their movement.

You could, however, come back from a counter with your 3" allowance putting you inside join range of a unit or two, which EL allows you to join.
There's no provision saying EL models leave units. In fact, there's other rulings that say they don't (res orb "his unit" - if you leave the unit when dead, there is no "his unit" and it doesn't say "his old unit")


Automatically Appended Next Post:
NecronLord3 wrote:Except when the EL token was placed prior to the Sweep. In which case nothing removes the EL token.

So you're saving the unit after SA has happened, when SA forbids saving the unit unless you have a specific exception?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 00:33:14


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





Missouri, USA

time wizard wrote:
Yad wrote:And EL doesn't care about being an IC. It only cares about models that have the EL property. Meaning as long as a model has EL it can potentially leave and join another unit (per the EL rules) at the end of any phase.

-Yad


Yes! Indeed! It can leave the unit and/or join another at the end of the phase.

Perfect!

And when does one roll for RP and EL? At the end of the phase.

And when does a sweeping advance occur? From page 40, if the unit is caught in a sweeping advance, "The destroyed unit is removed immediately."

Let's repeat that so everyone gets it. "The destroyed unit is removed immediately."

Not at the end of the phase, not when they make their EL roll, but immediately!

So, the character with the EL rule is part of the unit, again as per the res orb FAQ, and if the unit is swept, "The destroyed unit is removed immediately.".

So at the end of the phase, there are no RP or El counters to roll for, they have already been removed when the unit was destroyed.



Ok, now we need to know if EL lets you save from effects that aren't wound-based, which should answer the question entirely I think.

Do you get EL from JOTWW for example? How about void grenades in apocolypse? If you do then you theoretically should get it from sweeping advance as well as thats a remove model not tack on wound basis. If not then you the opposite, I would think.

My Dakka Blog: Necrons, Inquisition, Eldar, Space Marines with a few other bits mixed in: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/440998.page 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

As (I'm sure someone has) mentioned before, EL token are only placed when a model is removed from play as a casualty. JOTWW says you are "Removed From Play".

Apocalypse Vortex Grenade also says that you can not take any saves, and any special rule doesn't work. The model is removed from the game.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

rigeld2 wrote:
So you're saving the unit after SA has happened, when SA forbids saving the unit unless you have a specific exception?


No I'm saying that SA advance has no effect on a model that has already been removed as a casualty by other means.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Which (as I originally stated) based on the FAQ and wording of EL is ambiguous. Personally I don't think that EL can be used if the unit was wiped by SA, regardless of when the model was "killed". If I play a Necron player and he feels differently, we will roll off. Of course, I think this whole thing got horribly off topic from the original post, which I was hoping to avoid.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in fi
Excited About the Great Crusade



Finland

If the unit is destroyed by Sweeping Advance, you may place EL counters. Here's the relevant FAQ.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170012a_Necron_FAQ_Version_2_0_January_2012.pdf

Q: If an entire unit, including an attached character
from a Royal Court, is wiped out, do you get to make
any Reanimation Protocol rolls? (p29)

A: You would only get to make one roll for the
attached character as he has the Ever-living special rule.
Note that in this case, he must be placed within 3" of
the counter as his unit has been wiped out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 01:08:25


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

JasoX wrote:If the unit is destroyed by Sweeping Advance, you may place EL counters. Here's the relevant FAQ.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170012a_Necron_FAQ_Version_2_0_January_2012.pdf

Q: If an entire unit, including an attached character
from a Royal Court, is wiped out, do you get to make
any Reanimation Protocol rolls? (p29)

A: You would only get to make one roll for the
attached character as he has the Ever-living special rule.
Note that in this case, he must be placed within 3" of
the counter as his unit has been wiped out.


And here's the relevant rule, main rules page 40, sweeping advances, "Unless otherwise specified, on save or other special rule can rescue the unit..."

Are RP and EL "special rules"? Page 29 Necron Codex heads with "Necron Special Rules".

Do either or these "special rules" say that the unit is not destroyed by a sweeping advance? No, they don't.

So after all these pages, we are right back where we started. Sheesh!

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





NecronLord3 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
So you're saving the unit after SA has happened, when SA forbids saving the unit unless you have a specific exception?


No I'm saying that SA advance has no effect on a model that has already been removed as a casualty by other means.

SA destroys the unit. Bringing a model from the unit back brings back the unit - we know this because you can't farm EL units for kill points.
So you're attempting to restore the unit from being destroyed. SA prevents that without specific exemption.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
JasoX wrote:If the unit is destroyed by Sweeping Advance, you may place EL counters. Here's the relevant FAQ.

It'd be great if you'd read the thread. Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 01:23:44


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

rigeld2 wrote:
NecronLord3 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
So you're saving the unit after SA has happened, when SA forbids saving the unit unless you have a specific exception?


No I'm saying that SA advance has no effect on a model that has already been removed as a casualty by other means.

SA destroys the unit. Bringing a model from the unit back brings back the unit - we know this because you can't farm EL units for kill points.
So you're attempting to restore the unit from being destroyed. SA prevents that without specific exemption.

And that applies not at all to IC. If you want to proceed with an argument along the lines that a Royal Court member can not resurrect because he is part of the unit and when the unit is removed it cannot resurrect, you might have a viable argument. However, since this issue is with Ever Living, and that rule is specifically designed to super cede the rules for RP, the argument is moot. You don't get your kill point from shooting until the EL model fails it's RP roll, the same goes for Sweeping and assault. Nothing inconsistent.

rigeld2 wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
JasoX wrote:If the unit is destroyed by Sweeping Advance, you may place EL counters. Here's the relevant FAQ.

It'd be great if you'd read the thread. Thanks.


Back the feth up dude. Do you have any idea how many times I could say the same thing to you. Don't jump down someone else's throat who is trying to participate in this forum just because they aren't part of your little NOS clik.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





rigeld2 wrote:
Yad wrote:And EL doesn't care about being an IC. It only cares about models that have the EL property. Meaning as long as a model has EL it can potentially leave and join another unit (per the EL rules) at the end of any phase.

-Yad

You're going to have to cite something for that. The only way for a model to be eligible to join another unit is if it is an IC.


Easy enough, the entire EL rules section. There is absolutely nothing in the EL rules to suggest that they only pertain to IC's. I would look at the paragraph that describes how to place EL models that succeed on their roll. You should see that it follows how I broke it out in my previous post. Any model that has the EL property (regardless of the type of model (IC vs. non-IC) must follow all the rules for EL. This means, given the right conditions, that such a model could leave and join a different unit at the end of the Movement/Shooting/Assault phase. Whichever one the player is making the roll for.

rigeld2 wrote:And ICs can only leave their unit at the end of their movement.


In general, yes absolutely. Per the EL rules, not so much.

rigeld2 wrote:You could, however, come back from a counter with your 3" allowance putting you inside join range of a unit or two, which EL allows you to join.
There's no provision saying EL models leave units. In fact, there's other rulings that say they don't (res orb "his unit" - if you leave the unit when dead, there is no "his unit" and it doesn't say "his old unit")


This is where I think you're stumbling a bit on the reading of the EL placement rules. The option to choose which unit to join upon a successful EL roll is not dependent upon the EL model being a unit of 1. The coherency requirement is satisfied in either placement scenario. All EL cares about is that when you return the EL model to play is::

Can the EL model be returned to play in coherency of the unit that it was previously attached to and at least 1'' away from an enemy model?

or

Can the EL model be returned to play within 3'' of the marker and at last 1'' away from an enemy model (if the EL model was not attached to a unit when it was killed).

In either case if the model is placed within coherency of one or more friendly units, you now have a choice as to which unit you want the EL model to join. This is an exception to the normal requirement of leaving/joining units only in the Movement phase (for IC's). There's no reason that, in the second option you can't return the EL model to play in coherency with a friendly unit. There's nothing in the EL rules or the BRB that would prevent this.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
NecronLord3 wrote:Except when the EL token was placed prior to the Sweep. In which case nothing removes the EL token.

So you're saving the unit after SA has happened, when SA forbids saving the unit unless you have a specific exception?


EL is not a save. You're conflating the concept of 'saving' with the game mechanic of Save. The SA rule expressly forbids the use of a Save.

-Yad

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 02:50:20


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





NecronLord3 wrote:And that applies not at all to IC. If you want to proceed with an argument along the lines that a Royal Court member can not resurrect because he is part of the unit and when the unit is removed it cannot resurrect, you might have a viable argument. However, since this issue is with Ever Living, and that rule is specifically designed to super cede the rules for RP, the argument is moot. You don't get your kill point from shooting until the EL model fails it's RP roll, the same goes for Sweeping and assault. Nothing inconsistent.

ICs are not the only model type that have EL. The IC is part of the unit when it goes down, so it suffers along with the rest of the unit. It's a normal member of the unit, per the rules for ICs.

And KPs aren't awarded when the unit is destroyed, they're awarded at the end of a match for every destroyed unit. Note the difference.

Back the feth up dude. Do you have any idea how many times I could say the same thing to you. Don't jump down someone else's throat who is trying to participate in this forum just because they aren't part of your little NOS clik.

I didn't? If I was "jumping down his throat" I'd have been far less polite. And I'm sorry if you're feeling persecuted, but there's no "clik" (I think you mean clique). nos and I disagree on as many things as we agree on it seems like.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Yad wrote:
EL is not a save. You're conflating the concept of 'saving' with the game mechanic of Save. The SA rule expressly forbids the use of a Save.

-Yad


Partially correct, SA expressly forbids the use of a save or other special rule unless otherwise specified.



I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yad wrote: This means, given the right conditions, that such a model could leave and join a different unit at the end of the Movement/Shooting/Assault phase.

The EL model has to be eligible to join another unit, per the EL rules. Guess what the only type of EL model is eligible to join different units is?

This is where I think you're stumbling a bit on the reading of the EL placement rules. The option to choose which unit to join upon a successful EL roll is not dependent upon the EL model being a unit of 1. The coherency requirement is satisfied in either placement scenario. All EL cares about is that when you return the EL model to play is::

Can the EL model be returned to play in coherency of the unit that it was previously attached to and at least 1'' away from an enemy model?

or

Can the EL model be returned to play within 3'' of the marker and at last 1'' away from an enemy model (if the EL model was not attached to a unit when it was killed).

In either case if the model is placed within coherency of one or more friendly units, you now have a choice as to which unit you want the EL model to join. This is an exception to the normal requirement of leaving/joining units only in the Movement phase (for IC's). There's no reason that, in the second option you can't return the EL model to play in coherency with a friendly unit. There's nothing in the EL rules or the BRB that would prevent this.

I feel that this is a big enough issue to warrant it's own thread. Mind starting one?


Yad wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
NecronLord3 wrote:Except when the EL token was placed prior to the Sweep. In which case nothing removes the EL token.

So you're saving the unit after SA has happened, when SA forbids saving the unit unless you have a specific exception?


EL is not a save. You're conflating the concept of 'saving' with the game mechanic of Save. The SA rule expressly forbids the use of a Save.

-Yad

No - SA denies saves and special abilities from rescuing the unit - I used the word save above meaning rescue (which I should not have done) and you read it as "save" like invulnerable save. I wasn't conflating anything, it was a miscommunication.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/05 03:14:05


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





time wizard wrote:
JasoX wrote:If the unit is destroyed by Sweeping Advance, you may place EL counters. Here's the relevant FAQ.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170012a_Necron_FAQ_Version_2_0_January_2012.pdf

Q: If an entire unit, including an attached character
from a Royal Court, is wiped out, do you get to make
any Reanimation Protocol rolls? (p29)

A: You would only get to make one roll for the
attached character as he has the Ever-living special rule.
Note that in this case, he must be placed within 3" of
the counter as his unit has been wiped out.


And here's the relevant rule, main rules page 40, sweeping advances, "Unless otherwise specified, on save or other special rule can rescue the unit..."

Are RP and EL "special rules"? Page 29 Necron Codex heads with "Necron Special Rules".

Do either or these "special rules" say that the unit is not destroyed by a sweeping advance? No, they don't.

So after all these pages, we are right back where we started. Sheesh!


This is why I think your understanding of timing should decide which side you agree with.

If SA is an action the winning unit does "immediately" as it the rule states, and the FAQ was intended to answer this very question then:
1) SA does not prevent placing a counter
2) SA kills the unit and its effect ends (nothing is preventing this or saving the unit). Nothing is rescuing the EL model during Sweeping Advance.
3) EL may bring the model back at the end of the phase since SA ended before consolidation or at the end of combat. (you may still prevent EL by having a unit standing near the counter)

A) the changes to WBB to RP and EL to use counters instead of the model remaining in play
B) the codex gives EL to characters with a special rule (not all models) limiting its power
C) FAQ so simply states EL rolls are allowed
D) the SA rule says "immediately" and "at this stage" showing it is a time limited action
E) SA happens before consolidation meaning it also ends
F) SA does not remove EL counters
G) there is no separate BRB sections for RFP and RPFaaC sections - only RFPaaC and Instant Death (as a casualty). There is no RFP rule in the BRB.
H) Celestine has a similar rule, and is allowed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/05 07:00:52


 
   
Made in gb
Proud Triarch Praetorian





In my opinion, if you lift a model of the table top, it is now a 'casualty' (regardless if it is a casualty at the center of the earth [JotWW] or a casualty in several pieces in a crater [demolisher cannon]). Therein, you get to place the counters, unless the original unit (ie no characters that joined it) is destroyed, then there is no RP counters, only EL counters.

As far as Instant Death is concerned, Necrons don't give a feth any more.

As far as SA is concerned, I would say place a EL counter. I have played that way all along, and no-one at my flgs has cared

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 07:54:17


Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




time wizard wrote:
Yad wrote:
EL is not a save. You're conflating the concept of 'saving' with the game mechanic of Save. The SA rule expressly forbids the use of a Save.

-Yad


Partially correct, SA expressly forbids the use of a save or other special rule unless otherwise specified.




Which is what NL and ND keep failing utterly on. They cannot find a single rule which says ANY EL model leaves the unit before EL rolls are made, meaning they are still a member of the unit - as per the FAQs - and are thus destroyed.

ND has an interesting timing theory, which also has no rules basis and also falls apart when you consider that WBB, which worked at a LATER stage than RP / EL, never worked against SA - so trying to bring in that SA removes models "now" and doesnt prohibit saving later is a terrible argument, as it ignores both the rules for SA AND ignores the past.

NL - just gve up, you are sounding REALLY paranoid now. Oh, and as was pointed out - "clique". Please try to at least use the correct words when you are feeling ganged up on - you arent, it's just you're wrong in soooo many threads.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Nemesor Dave wrote:H) Celestine has a similar rule, and is allowed.


As clarified by the SoB FAQ, which is not the Necron FAQ. And seeing how GW answers often go by fluff instead of RAW this might well be the only "return to life" power that will ever do that - she won't stay down until the Emperor himself calls her. Yarrick's strength of will does nothing, a Necron Overlord's repair systems don't help. Or even if they do, he probably uses them to get his personal teleporter online first so he can get the hell out while there's any getting out.
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Spetulhu wrote:
Nemesor Dave wrote:H) Celestine has a similar rule, and is allowed.


As clarified by the SoB FAQ, which is not the Necron FAQ. And seeing how GW answers often go by fluff instead of RAW this might well be the only "return to life" power that will ever do that - she won't stay down until the Emperor himself calls her. Yarrick's strength of will does nothing, a Necron Overlord's repair systems don't help. Or even if they do, he probably uses them to get his personal teleporter online first so he can get the hell out while there's any getting out.


I agree, its not black and white, but one more link to add weight to the decision.
In the Space Wolf FAQ they are treated the same:

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170015a_Space_Wolves_FAQ_Version_1_2_January_2012.pdf
Q. Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g.
Necrons, St. Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule
even after being removed from play by The Last
Laugh? (p52)
A. Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule
works just fine.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Nemesor Dave wrote:I agree, its not black and white, but one more link to add weight to the decision.
In the Space Wolf FAQ they are treated the same:

Q. Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g.
Necrons, St. Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule
even after being removed from play by The Last
Laugh? (p52)
A. Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule
works just fine.


That does add a bit, but then The Last Laugh lacks any "no special rule can save them at this stage" part.

And I do repeat my earlier thoughts on GW and timing - that "at this stage" isn't a point in time, it's the fact you've been swept. Once it's happened nothing can help. Until it's put in a FAQ I'll personally be happy to agree on it either way before a game (if I have a similarly "grey" special rule in my army) or just roll off when it comes up.

Spetulhu signing out, nothing more worthwhile to add I'd say.
   
Made in ru
Regular Dakkanaut




The whole argument rest s on ingnorance of the meaning of the word "rescue".
Rescue, by definition, means avoiding harm and evading it. Thus, if suffering of harm was not prevented, no rescue occured.
Everliving rule does not allow models or units for that matter to avoid being removed as casualties - or, in case of units, destroyed. Thus Everliving never rescues anything.
Thus all that talk about sweeping advance having any relevance to everliving is gibberish.

Furthermore, the cases when Everliving and Resurrection Protocol tokens are removed from play are clearly defined. Adding any cases to them is a rule violation.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





time wizard wrote:
Yad wrote:
EL is not a save. You're conflating the concept of 'saving' with the game mechanic of Save. The SA rule expressly forbids the use of a Save.

-Yad


Partially correct, SA expressly forbids the use of a save or other special rule unless otherwise specified.




I was simply pointing and correcting the use of the term save. There have been times, when this particular topic comes up, that folks focus on the 'save' bit of the SA rules as an attempt to deny EL. I am fully aware of the remainder of the SA rule. As stated previously, I do not believe that EL can be used as a response to a SA. The SA rules forbid this. It can however be used after the SA has been resolved. Because it has no association with SA there is no 'rescue'. EL is never used to stop a model from being removed from play.

-Yad

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 11:35:33


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yad wrote:
time wizard wrote:
Yad wrote:
EL is not a save. You're conflating the concept of 'saving' with the game mechanic of Save. The SA rule expressly forbids the use of a Save.

-Yad


Partially correct, SA expressly forbids the use of a save or other special rule unless otherwise specified.




I was simply pointing and correcting the use of the term save. There have been times, when this particular topic comes up, that folks focus on the 'save' bit of the SA rules as an attempt to deny EL. I am fully aware of the remainder of the SA rule. As stated previously, I do not believe that EL can be used as a response to a SA. The SA rules forbid this. It can however be used after the SA has been resolved. Because it has no association with SA there is no 'rescue'. EL is never used to stop a model from being removed from play.

-Yad

SA destroyed the unit. You're asserting that returning the unit to the board is not rescuing the unit?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It's a matter of timing.

While an IC (killed before the sweep) is attached to a unit that's been swept he can't be returned to the board.

The only time a IC can leave the unit is 1). during the movement phase OR 2). after they've made an EL roll and returned to the board. Being dead isn't enough to leave the unit.

Now he can't do 1). as being dead stops this right away.
Nor can he do 2). as the sweep prevents him from making a EL roll as he's still attached to the swept unit.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yad - so, when you rescue the unit you are using a special rule which does not allow you to rescue the unit from Sweeping Advance

WHich is against the rules of SA.

Again - this timing theory not only has no basis in the rules, it entirely ignores that WBB, which worked even later than EL / RP does, never worked. Ever.

ALso Yad - SA removes the unit. The whole of it. That includes any EL counters, as has been proven many times.

Your belief has no basis in fact
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
SA destroyed the unit. You're asserting that returning the unit to the board is not rescuing the unit?


The SA rule does not suggest that it continues indefinitely. SA happens "immediately" and is a step in combat before consolidation.

If you ask yourself what steps are taken in combat:
1) Determine Assault Results
2) Loser checks morale
3) If the loser is falling back, the attacker does a Sweeping Advance
4) the attacker consolidates
5) End of combat
6) All combats resolved
7) End of Phase (when EL rolls are made)

#3 here is Sweeping Advance
Do you think the SA rule means "you may never rescue or save"? Wouldn't it say that?


This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/04/05 12:50:20


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




8) Beginning of next turn, when WBB occcured - yet WBB never worked

What makes you think EL works?


We can do without the digs thanks. Further such comments will result in an extended "easter holiday" . Reds8n

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 13:08:05


 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





The premise of not allowing EL rolls after SA is based on the term "rescue".

Where is "rescue" defined in the rules? (It isn't, we all know that)

Now, it just becomes an argument of interpretation of the word "rescue" since we have no definition.

It is entirely feasible that the word "rescue" COULD mean, not allowing the return of the models even though the situation has already occurred. It does seem pretty logical that if the unit died but is resurrected, it got "rescued".

It is also entirely feasible that the term "rescue" can be interpreted that it must occur before the situation concludes itself.

The dictionary more agrees with this second scenario. Logically, to rescue someone from a situation, you must do so before the situation concludes. (I.e. to "rescue" you from a lion, I must do so before the lion eats you)

Logically, to "rescue" a unit from a sweeping advance, you must do so before the effects of the sweeping advance wipes them out.

So, is EL a "rescue" attempt or is it more akin to a "resurrection" attempt? I believe the dictionary clearly supports one interpretation over another.

(I.e. I couldn't rescue you from the lion, it ate you. However, later on, I did resurrect you. You still got eaten but through other means you are alive again.)

Dave's timing argument makes perfect sense. Not to mention, it is supported by the use of "at this stage" which is clearly written.

The argument about a unit having been rescued because it resurrects at a later date also makes sense.

However, I believe the timing argument, lacking any definition of the term rescue, is the stronger argument because it more closely fits the dictionary definition of the word. The reason is that trying to make the word "rescue" apply after the situation has already occurred is STRETCHING the definition of the word rescue considerably. The timing argument makes no such stretch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/05 13:05:19


Neil Gilstrap
Co-Founder of Chronicles
http://www.chroniclesthegame.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: