Switch Theme:

Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread (including Iyanden Supplement)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Interesting... that's not entirely clear after all then, is it? Since grenades are still classed as weapons. Rather than discuss ins and outs I'll simply bow out and leave it as possible FAQ.

 Tri wrote:
what happens if a model with fast shot fires a one shot weapon?


This DEFINITELY needs FAQ'ing. Does "one more shot than is normal" override "once per game"?

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






"one use only" on a weapon is different from "fires one shot".

I could see using a one use only weapon that fires more than one shot.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

You're correct, Shandara - it is "one use only", not one shot, so you could use Fast Shot successfully. I wish I'd thought of it earlier - it's the same reasoning that allows combi-plasmas to fire two plasma shots within 12".

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

Also, I don't believe there are any one-use weapons in the Eldar codex so it's kind of a moot point.

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Seems there is a lot of conflicting opinions about the way warp spiders move.

Can we get an example in the FAQ about their movement options?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Apologies if this has been asked before, I've checked the op and didn't see it, so if its already been asked and answered I'd like to be pointed in the right direction

The exarch power fast shot states

Eldar Codex wrote:This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon


When the exarch uses a quad gun or an icarus lascannon, does this count as 'his' weapon or is 'his' weapon what he brought with him?


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/09 22:31:57


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




rob626 wrote:
Seems there is a lot of conflicting opinions about the way warp spiders move.

Can we get an example in the FAQ about their movement options?

Only by people not reading the rules.

As jetpack infantry they move 6" in the movement phase, ignorin g terrain. If they use their jump generator they move 6+2D6". They can then run, D6" rerolled, and as they are STILL jet pack infantry move 2D6" in the assault phase.

This is all completely clear, if you read ALL the rules around movement
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Can the same Exarch power be taken twice on the same model?
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







 grendel083 wrote:
Can the same Exarch power be taken twice on the same model?
... why would you want to? oh wait crushing blow yes? possibly fast shot? ... Page 32 bgb unless stated in the rules a model cannot gain the benefits twice
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut





Why can the Avatar get Night Vision?

Afaik night fighting doesnt effect weapons under 12".

Maybe for him to use a quad gun? Or am I missing something?

(Also, add the Battle Focus question to shining spears and not only the windriders.)
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Tri wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Can the same Exarch power be taken twice on the same model?
... why would you want to? oh wait crushing blow yes? possibly fast shot? ... Page 32 bgb unless stated in the rules a model cannot gain the benefits twice
Thats assuming an Exarch power is a USR.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Just ignore battle focus on what cannot run. Jet bikes can move in the assault phase after shooting 2d6. The cannot run so its a typo, or left on accident.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







 grendel083 wrote:
 Tri wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Can the same Exarch power be taken twice on the same model?
... why would you want to? oh wait crushing blow yes? possibly fast shot? ... Page 32 bgb unless stated in the rules a model cannot gain the benefits twice
Thats assuming an Exarch power is a USR.
USR =/= special rules BGB is quite clear you cannot gain the effect from the same special rule more then once. (on a side note GW has dropped the label USR we only have special rules now)
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Does Karandras' crushing blow give him S5?

If it's "included" in his profile, which these things tend to be, then that implies he has 1 less strength than the other phoenix lords, which would be... strange.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/10 18:34:29


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

He doesn't have Crushing Blow.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







 Rented Tritium wrote:
Does Karandras' crushing blow give him S5?

If it's "included" in his profile, which these things tend to be, then that implies he has 1 less strength than the other phoenix lords, which would be... strange.

 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
He doesn't have Crushing Blow.
but he does have a power claw ... that strikes at initiative ... Er wait what was the down side? oh you want him Str9? ¬_¬

wait ...do you mean Fuegan? ... ok yes you might be able to read that he is Str3 boosted to Str4 with crushing blow

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/10 19:15:23


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I don't have my codex with me. One of the PLs has crushing blow. If it is actually Fuegan, then I apologize. Same question with him in that case.

It doesn't say if it's included or not. GENERALLY these sorts of things are included, but it does seem odd to have one PL with a natural strength 1 lower than the rest, which indicates that it might not be what they meant to write.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/10 20:37:07


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It doesnt say it is included, so it isnt
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
It doesnt say it is included, so it isnt

While I would be perfectly happy to just play it this way and move on with my life, you know full well these things get more complicated with counter examples and opponents who disagree.

For instance, IIRC, guardian jetbikes get an extra T from the bike that doesn't say it's included. Whoops. I mean, the intent is obvious there, the T is included, but crap what about fuegan now? This is just the kind of hole that someone could argue about and slow down a tournament.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/10 20:45:20


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Rented Tritium wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
It doesnt say it is included, so it isnt

While I would be perfectly happy to just play it this way and move on with my life, you know full well these things get more complicated with counter examples and opponents who disagree.

For instance, IIRC, guardian jetbikes get an extra T from the bike that doesn't say it's included. Whoops. I mean, the intent is obvious there, the T is included, but crap what about fuegan now? This is just the kind of hole that someone could argue about and slow down a tournament.


Except that if you read the rules for bikes, it covers that situation. Models that come equipped standard with bikes have the T bonus included in their profile...its right in the rulebook in the bike unit type section.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker




San Diego, CA

Well, lets look at it this way:

Chaos lord wrecks some guy in a challenge using his powerfist of face krumping. Rolls on the boon table. Gets +1 str for his boon. Awesome.

So... is he at str x2 + 1 now or is he at str + 1 x 2 now for his subsequent melee attacks?

Whatever the answer is there, I'm betting the same answer applies to crushing blow.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/10 23:30:54




"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

deathmagiks wrote:
Well, lets look at it this way:

Chaos lord wrecks some guy in a challenge using his powerfist of face krumping. Rolls on the boon table. Gets +1 str for his boon. Awesome.

So... is he at str x2 + 1 now or is he at str + 1 x 2 now for his subsequent melee attacks?

Whatever the answer is there, I'm betting the same answer applies to crushing blow.


He would be at Strength x2 +1 for subsequent attacks. The only time you add before multiplying is when GW says so (i.e Hammerhand and Thunderwolf mounts).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Tri wrote:
USR =/= special rules BGB is quite clear you cannot gain the effect from the same special rule more then once. (on a side note GW has dropped the label USR we only have special rules now)
This isn't right.
USR and Special rules are the same. They just dropped the U. But not entirely. The first paragraph of "Special Rules" (p32) still describes them as Universal Special Rules.

Anyway, to be more specific...
"Are Exarch powers such as Fast Shot and Crushing Blow considered Special Rules and therefore cannot be selected more than once?"
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







 grendel083 wrote:
 Tri wrote:
USR =/= special rules BGB is quite clear you cannot gain the effect from the same special rule more then once. (on a side note GW has dropped the label USR we only have special rules now)
This isn't right.
USR and Special rules are the same. They just dropped the U. But not entirely. The first paragraph of "Special Rules" (p32) still describes them as Universal Special Rules.

Anyway, to be more specific...
"Are Exarch powers such as Fast Shot and Crushing Blow considered Special Rules and therefore cannot be selected more than once?"
All USR are Special rules ... but not all special rules are USRs. This is why different codex can have different versions of the same special rule.

And yes USR is mention in that paragraph ... it is not mention in any of the rules ... Special rules cannot (unless specifically stated) stack. "What special rules do i have" makes it clear that the common ones are found here and other more specific ones are found in the codex.

Now can you take the same Exarch power (special rule) twice? Yes, there is nothing stopping you picking the same one twice. Will it do anything? No. Its a special rule without specific permission to stack.

While you could FAQ this its quite clear it doesn't do anything

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/11 10:06:41


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

How does the Shield of Grace interact with Mind Shackle Scarabs? Can I activate it if I fail my leadership and thus are mind shackled? Does it reduce the hits (I don't think so but I had to ask) I inflict? It is chosen to be used immediately before the I10 step.

I guess the simple question is:

Does MSS prevent the use of Shield of Grace?

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator






How does the Disarming Strike Exarch Power work against Whip Coils or Lash whips? Would the Eldar with the power get to try and disarm the whips before his Initiative is lowered or is the whip not classed as a weapon so immune to the power?

Also does Disarming Strike work against Tyranid biomorphs that function like weapons for example boneswords, scything talons etc?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/12 11:59:16


Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 rohansoldier wrote:
How does the Disarming Strike Exarch Power work against Whip Coils or Lash whips? Would the Eldar with the power get to try and disarm the whips before his Initiative is lowered or is the whip not classed as a weapon so immune to the power?

Also does Disarming Strike work against Tyranid biomorphs that function like weapons for example boneswords, scything talons etc?

No, to both cases. Clearly answered by page 33 where you are told they do not wield CCW

if they are not using them in order to gain an advantage, disarming them has no effect
   
Made in ca
Executing Exarch






Ask if blessings and maledictions stack, because a 10 man seer council with multiple quickens is pretty damn fast.

Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Something that came up in a game yesterday - What happens if a squad of Swooping Hawks under an ongoing effect (such as Soul Blaze) leave the board via Skyleap?

This also applies to Flyers and FMCs leaving the board as well.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






 Happyjew wrote:
Something that came up in a game yesterday - What happens if a squad of Swooping Hawks under an ongoing effect (such as Soul Blaze) leave the board via Skyleap?

This also applies to Flyers and FMCs leaving the board as well.


The counter you have to put with the unit (as most of those kind of effects have you do) would stay on the table I think? And it would go away I suppose, much like Res. Protocol/Everliving tokens that are removed if you leave the table.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: