Switch Theme:

Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread (including Iyanden Supplement)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Flower Picking Eldar Youth



UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Atra Culpa wrote:
Regarding Faolchu's Wing; the codex states that a model with Faolchu's Wing may run up to 48" and you may not shoot or psych after it has done so, but does this ability transfer to the unit this model may be a part of or will the bearer simply fly off on his own?

No, cannot fly off on their own, reread the rules for run (models move at own speed, but as it is a move must maintain coherency) and the ruls for when ICs are allowed to join and leave units (hint: it isnt int he shooting phase

This question should be removed as it is clearly and unambiguously answered in the BRB


Apologies, the 'flying off on their own' was meant to be a bit of melodrama. I've rephrased the question to hopefully be more clear.
   
Made in fr
Swift Swooping Hawk






nosferatu1001 wrote:
 shamikebab wrote:
The way I read it, if you have a close combat weapon listed in the wargear of the model, then it is a possible target for disarming strike.

otherwise if we're saying tyranids are immune then why not powerfists? it's not like he can knock it out of his hand.

Because tyranids have a rule stating they do not use CCW? That rule, that I quoted, that makes them different to everyone else?

A powerfist is a CCW. Yes or No? Do 'nids use CCW, as defined in their codex? Yes or No?


Yes, yes.

The section says Tyranids do not wield close combat weapons as such instead slashing with their own teeth, claws and talons, they don't get the bonus for additional CCW's as it is included in their profile. It doesn't say anything about them not being treated as combat weapons for the purpose of other rules as far as I can see. It would need a FAQ to clarify if this were to be the case, as it stands the way I read it is they are as vulnerable as anyone else with a combat weapon.

They even have an armory section titled Close Combat Weapons. The description of Claws and Teeth for example is "models with claws and teeth count as having a normal close combat weapon"
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So, they dont wield Close Combat Weapons, but you are saying they should be treated as if they are> there is no rules support for that


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Atra Culpa wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Atra Culpa wrote:
Regarding Faolchu's Wing; the codex states that a model with Faolchu's Wing may run up to 48" and you may not shoot or psych after it has done so, but does this ability transfer to the unit this model may be a part of or will the bearer simply fly off on his own?

No, cannot fly off on their own, reread the rules for run (models move at own speed, but as it is a move must maintain coherency) and the ruls for when ICs are allowed to join and leave units (hint: it isnt int he shooting phase

This question should be removed as it is clearly and unambiguously answered in the BRB


Apologies, the 'flying off on their own' was meant to be a bit of melodrama. I've rephrased the question to hopefully be more clear.

Again, why does a model having an ability to Run farther confer to the unit? There is no allowance for it to happen, so it does not.

TYhis is again unambiguously answered in the rulebook, and should not be submitted to avoid answering a clearly answered in the rules question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 09:39:01


 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

If a War Walker has 2 Scatterlasers, does the Laser Lock still apply? It seems to read that you fire all Scatterlasers first and if you get a hit, then the other weapons get to re-roll to hit.

Basically, is it legal to fire one Scatterlaser, get a hit, then fire the other Scatterlaser with rerolls to hit.

If not, I've got Starcannons as a second weapon mount.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Sarigar wrote:
If a War Walker has 2 Scatterlasers, does the Laser Lock still apply? It seems to read that you fire all Scatterlasers first and if you get a hit, then the other weapons get to re-roll to hit.

Basically, is it legal to fire one Scatterlaser, get a hit, then fire the other Scatterlaser with rerolls to hit.

If not, I've got Starcannons as a second weapon mount.


The Laser Lock rule explains this perfectly. It's crystal clear.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Sarigar wrote:
If a War Walker has 2 Scatterlasers, does the Laser Lock still apply? It seems to read that you fire all Scatterlasers first and if you get a hit, then the other weapons get to re-roll to hit.

Basically, is it legal to fire one Scatterlaser, get a hit, then fire the other Scatterlaser with rerolls to hit.

If not, I've got Starcannons as a second weapon mount.

Laserlock tells you, totally unambiguously, that you fire those weaspons FIRST. IF you fire one first, the other second, have you complied with this rule?
   
Made in fr
Swift Swooping Hawk






This one has been raised in another thread, if you have a Striking Scorpion with Crushing Blow and a Scorpion Claw, does he strike at Strength 7 or Strength 8? Is crushing blow an adjustment to his basic stats (like a bike/jetbike) or a wargear modifier to be added after doubling strength from the claw?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 shamikebab wrote:
This one has been raised in another thread, if you have a Striking Scorpion with Crushing Blow and a Scorpion Claw, does he strike at Strength 7 or Strength 8? Is crushing blow an adjustment to his basic stats (like a bike/jetbike) or a wargear modifier to be added after doubling strength from the claw?

Explicitly covered in the rules

Whether permanent or temporary, it is defined as a modifier. You resolve multiple modifiers according to the rules in the rulebook.

S7
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear




Pittsburgh, PA

Does activating a force weapon (Staff of Ulthamar) count as using another psychic power for the limitations of Death Mission?

Eldar shenanigans are the best shenanigans!
DQ:90S++G+M--B+IPw40k09#+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







 yakface wrote:

EQUIPMENT
• Does a successful Scattershield save cause the model with the Scattershield (as well as any unit he may be joined to), to have to take a Blind test as well?


I think this is answered in the BRB under the Blind USR:

pg. 34 - '... Should the attacking unit hit themselves, we assume they are prepared and they automatically pass the test." When a scattershield passes a save, it's like they're hitting all the other units and should be considered the attacking unit.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 reds8n wrote:
Regarding Faolchu's Wing - again -- the move presumably ignores the effects of difficult terrain ? Be a bit awkward to roll for otherwise.

Dangerous terrain is ignored as well ?

That movement is Running. The rules explicitly tell you how Running interacts with dangerous and difficult terrain.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






 DarknessEternal wrote:
 reds8n wrote:
Regarding Faolchu's Wing - again -- the move presumably ignores the effects of difficult terrain ? Be a bit awkward to roll for otherwise.

Dangerous terrain is ignored as well ?

That movement is Running. The rules explicitly tell you how Running interacts with dangerous and difficult terrain.


There's no requirement to move in a straight line so with 48" movement you should be able to dodge all but the last bit of terrain (assuming you wanted to move into terrain at the end).

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in gb
Gnawing Giant Rat




Oxford

Ok, so how do Horrify, Terrify and Mind War work with the Orks Mob rule?

Just to give you a couple of examples:

1) Say I cast Terrify on a unit of 30 boys removing Fearless, then cast Horrify (-3LD) and then Mind War hits the Nob of that unit. What LD value is the Mind War tested on?

2) If I cast Horrify (-3LD) on a unit of 30 boys and then Terrify, do they take the morale check on 10 or 7?

3) If I cast Horrify on the a unit of 30 boys and then cast Mind War on the Nob in the unit is that test checked with the Nob having LD7 or LD10?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Another question regarding Diarming Strike - some weapons consist of a pair of weapons (such as the Gauntlets of Ultramar or Powerblades). Does disarming strike remove one of the pair or both?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





 Happyjew wrote:
Another question regarding Diarming Strike - some weapons consist of a pair of weapons (such as the Gauntlets of Ultramar or Powerblades). Does disarming strike remove one of the pair or both?


It says "weapons" in pg 30 . So it includes all weapons.

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

 Markaret wrote:
Ok, so how do Horrify, Terrify and Mind War work with the Orks Mob rule?

Just to give you a couple of examples:

1) Say I cast Terrify on a unit of 30 boys removing Fearless, then cast Horrify (-3LD) and then Mind War hits the Nob of that unit. What LD value is the Mind War tested on?

2) If I cast Horrify (-3LD) on a unit of 30 boys and then Terrify, do they take the morale check on 10 or 7?

3) If I cast Horrify on the a unit of 30 boys and then cast Mind War on the Nob in the unit is that test checked with the Nob having LD7 or LD10?


If the nob is attached to the unit, the -Ld should affect him just the same as the others. Since you are allowed to use the highest leadership in the unit to resolve leadership tests it will be his leadership, -3.

But isn't the rule with Orks not that they are fearless, but that their leadership is equal to the number of models in the unit?

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

They use the number of models for Ld and if they're 11+ models they're Fearless.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Markaret wrote:
Ok, so how do Horrify, Terrify and Mind War work with the Orks Mob rule?

Just to give you a couple of examples:

1) Say I cast Terrify on a unit of 30 boys removing Fearless, then cast Horrify (-3LD) and then Mind War hits the Nob of that unit. What LD value is the Mind War tested on?

2) If I cast Horrify (-3LD) on a unit of 30 boys and then Terrify, do they take the morale check on 10 or 7?

3) If I cast Horrify on the a unit of 30 boys and then cast Mind War on the Nob in the unit is that test checked with the Nob having LD7 or LD10?


Their Ld is the number of boys in the unit, capped at 10 as usual.

So if you have 30 boys, they are ld 30, capped at 10. If you reduce their Ld by 3, they are Ld (30-3), capped at 10

This isnt new, btw, and isnt an Eldar specific quesiton
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

PSYCHIC POWERS
• Does Doom allow all 'to wound' rolls to be re-rolled as described in the summary, or just failed rolls to wound as described in the main rules.


When you submit this, I would add, for clarity, something like, "For example, may I re-roll successful wounds that are not Rending in order to try to get Rending wounds?" (or whatever the new Eldar Rending is called.)

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes





Hey, quick question. If you have the master of deception warlord trait from the CSM:codex does that mean you can nominate ANY infantry? such as jump infantry?

I know it's a silly question, just curious. Thanks dakka dakka!

The purpose of argument is informative discourse, not to see who finishes in front.


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Koski wrote:
Hey, quick question. If you have the master of deception warlord trait from the CSM:codex does that mean you can nominate ANY infantry? such as jump infantry?

I know it's a silly question, just curious. Thanks dakka dakka!


I'm not sure why you think this is the thread to ask that question! This is a thread just to post questions for the Eldar codex, and not even to get answers for those questions (just to collect the questions).



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

From this thread:

Can an Eldar psyker that has rolled on the Runes of Battle disclipine use both abilities from one result in the same turn?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/08 10:09:05


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

When exactly does Eldrad roll to see if he generates another witchfire point.

For example if he spends his last point casting a power and rolls a double 1 is he removed straight away or could he try to generate another point via his staff to spend on his ghost helm to save him or does he die first.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 reds8n wrote:
When exactly does Eldrad roll to see if he generates another witchfire point.

For example if he spends his last point casting a power and rolls a double 1 is he removed straight away or could he try to generate another point via his staff to spend on his ghost helm to save him or does he die first.


It is a good question, although it seems pretty likely that its the kind of thing that the player whose turn it is gets to decide (as its basically two things resolving at the same time). Given that Eldrad is REALLY unlikely to burn through 4 Warp Charges on the opponent's turn, I think this is only going to happen on the Eldar player's turn and he's going to choose to resolve the Spirtlink rule first...but regardless, it seems like a decent enough question to add (because technically the rule about the player whose turn it is choosing order is only supposed to apply when both players have something resolving at the same time, although GW's FAQ has referenced this rule incorrectly as though it does apply in all situations of simultaneous resolution, even those all belonging to a single player).




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

**remembering to update thread before responding is a good thing to do - post removed, already answered**

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/08 12:26:27


I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator






Are monofilament weapons AP1 vs. all targets on a 6 or just those that are AP3 or less. The sentence starts with "Additionally," it can be read that the AP is in addition to the Strength bonus, or because it is a new sentence it can be read that the AP rule is in addition to the rule about a bonus strength vs. low AP targets.

If you think you are too small to have an impact, try sleeping with a mosquito. 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







BRB 61 Grenades
Assault, Plasma, Haywire and Krak grenades can be thrown

can you use fast shot to change the profile to Assault 2?
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

steinerp wrote:Are monofilament weapons AP1 vs. all targets on a 6 or just those that are AP3 or less. The sentence starts with "Additionally," it can be read that the AP is in addition to the Strength bonus, or because it is a new sentence it can be read that the AP rule is in addition to the rule about a bonus strength vs. low AP targets.


Every other time "additionally" starts off a new sentence, it's been treated as a separate effect, not tied to the sentence before. This is how it makes sense applying the English language as well.

Tri wrote:BRB 61 Grenades
Assault, Plasma, Haywire and Krak grenades can be thrown

can you use fast shot to change the profile to Assault 2?


Not having the rulebook to hand... doesn't the rule state that one model per unit may "throw" a grenade? As opposed to taking an extra "shot" from the Fast Shot rule. Being pedantic, I know, but Fast Shot doesn't tell you to do anything to the weapon profile, that's why it has to give examples.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






I'd like to get a confirmation on whether you can, for example, use the shooting profile of a Laser Lance and still be able to use the melee profile in the same turn?

Linked thread:http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/532244.page
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







 Super Ready wrote:


Not having the rulebook to hand... doesn't the rule state that one model per unit may "throw" a grenade? As opposed to taking an extra "shot" from the Fast Shot rule. Being pedantic, I know, but Fast Shot doesn't tell you to do anything to the weapon profile, that's why it has to give examples.
As requested ... the important bits
"Only one grenade (of any type) can be thrown by a unit per shooting phase"
"when a unit armed with plasma grenades makes a shooting attack, one model can choose to throw a grenade rather then using another weapon"
"plasma grenade Range 8" S4 AP4 type Assault 1, blast"
"number of shots: some weapons fire multiple shots. Where this is the case, the number of shots is noted after its type"
"fast Shot: model always fires one more shot that is normal for his weapon."

Now I'm just trying to have a laugh with the rules here but technically if a model with fast shot throws a grenade he will always throw one more then normal ... actually getting that grenade is more problematic ( while we're on the subject ...

what happens if a model with fast shot fires a one shot weapon?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: