Switch Theme:

Daemonhunters' Storm Shields  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant





Teesside

I do think that this is one of those areas that's most easily handled by discussing it with one's opponent before a match, anyway. It's not like one can say to them "Oh, the guys on dakka agree with me", and have that carry any weight -- so till it's FAQed, it'll need to be discussed.

The easy approach for a DH player to take is "It gives me +1 attack in CC if I use RAW from the DH codex. Alternatively, if you prefer, I can treat it as a SS from the SM codex, in which case I don't get the +1 attack in CC, but do get a 3+ Invulnerable Save at all times, instead of just a 4+ in CC. I don't mind either way."

(I agree, incidentally, that RAI are that it doesn't give you an extra attack, but that RAW are that it does, simply because of the very specific meaning of "counts as" in a rules context; if it had said "counts as a single-handed weapon solely for purposes of determining how many weapons a character may have", that would have been a lot clearer, but it doesn't, so we can assume it counts as a single-handed weapon for all purposes.)

My painting & modelling blog: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/699224.page

Serpent King Games: Dragon Warriors Reborn!
http://serpentking.com/

 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





I would like an answer to this question:

Per RAW in the DH codex:

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon because nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield"

Despite not being a weapon, what is the reason given why a DH storm shield is to be counted as a single-handed weapon? It tells you despite not being a weapon to count is as a single handed weapon for one reason, and only one reason. Anyone care to answer?

To Insaniak, Orkeo, and others in the same camp I would completely agree with you had the sentence just been,

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon."

and even possibly,

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon. Nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield"

However attached to as part of the sentence with the "because" modifies how the storm shield counts as a single-handed weapon.

Done. I got stuff to do.



   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

hmmm.

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon because nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield"

So, because nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield, it counts as a single handed weapon?

Seems as permissive as exclusive.

I must be missing something again. Off to check!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hmm. Guess I am looking in the wrong place.

My Codex: Daemonhunters has the stormshields on page 18 and nothing about it counting as a weapon (single handed or otherwise) is listed.

shrug

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/09 23:29:04


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







kirsanth wrote:hmmm.

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon because nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield"

So, because nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield, it counts as a single handed weapon?

Seems as permissive as exclusive.

I must be missing something again. Off to check!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hmm. Guess I am looking in the wrong place.

My Codex: Daemonhunters has the stormshields on page 18 and nothing about it counting as a weapon (single handed or otherwise) is listed.

shrug


its in the bit with points cost i think it little (4) but don't quote me on that ... i can't be bother to check
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Tri wrote:
its in the bit with points cost i think it little (4) but don't quote me on that ... i can't be bother to check


Oh, I see the problem, I was looking in the section describing the rules for Daemonhunter's Storm Shields.

shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Brother Ramses wrote:I would like an answer to this question:

Per RAW in the DH codex:

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon because nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield"

Despite not being a weapon, what is the reason given why a DH storm shield is to be counted as a single-handed weapon? It tells you despite not being a weapon to count is as a single handed weapon for one reason, and only one reason. Anyone care to answer?

To Insaniak, Orkeo, and others in the same camp I would completely agree with you had the sentence just been,

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon."

and even possibly,

"although a storm shield is not a weapon as such... it counts as a single handed weapon. Nothing else can be used by the arm holding the shield"

However attached to as part of the sentence with the "because" modifies how the storm shield counts as a single-handed weapon.

Done. I got stuff to do.





actually the answer is even simplier than I thought.

See that line of rules refers to rules on how many items a model can have, back in 4th edition it mattered how many items a model could have so some rules were worded as such.

As per the gw faq on wargear items that have rules that no longer pertain to the current edition not being usable the item does not function so storm shields for DH have no effect whatsever other than costing points.
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

blaktoof wrote:actually the answer is even simplier than I thought.

See that line of rules refers to rules on how many items a model can have, back in 4th edition it mattered how many items a model could have so some rules were worded as such.

As per the gw faq on wargear items that have rules that no longer pertain to the current edition not being usable the item does not function so storm shields for DH have no effect whatsever other than costing points.


Right church. Wrong pew.

I think Blaktoof has the gist of it. Under the 5th edition rules, wargear that has no application or doesn't work under the new rules just doesn't work.

I would argue that since "one-handed" and "two-handed" weapons, and weapon limits are no longer part of the game, and have no impact, that the little endnote 4 on page 16 can be ignored.

The result is that the description of the Stormshield on page 18 is the actual rule that is followed on how the stormshield works.

However, that logic (ignoring restrictions in the codex on carrying limits) means I could arm my characters with two one-handed weapons, and a storm shield for the same effect.

If that doesn't cut it, and the DH limits on carrying still apply (as codex trumps rulebook), then all that is meant by the rule on page 16 is that it only applies as a rule regarding carry limits. It has zero impact on adding attacks.

The actual rule for the SS is on page 18, and makes no mention of extra attacks.

Its gotta be one or the other.

*edited for sleepiness

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/10 02:49:01


Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Minnesota

Cruentus wrote:I would argue that since "one-handed" and "two-handed" weapons, and weapon limits are no longer part of the game, and have no impact, that the little endnote 4 on page 16 can be ignored.
Explain how they are no longer in the game; they're part of the codex, what rules in the BRB makes that invalid?

Weapon limits are no longer appearing in codices. That doesn't mean they're no longer valid for the codex they're printed in. You use the rules in your codex, regardless of whether or not newer codices have those restrictions.

Brother Ramses wrote:Well in this case the author did not include any other bonuses or negatives of having a single-handed weapon equipped on one arm. You earlier mentioned that this argument has nothing to do with the permissive rule set when in fact it does.
Your opposition says that the rules do state you can get an extra attack.

They're aware of it being a permissive ruleset, they say they have permission. Telling them that they need permission isn't contributing much.

Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: