Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:27:23
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience
|
And then dismount Da Boyz and charge in to crump the bewildered Ex-Transport Denizens.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/27 16:29:14
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer
|
Could this mean we might start seeing less Mech armies? (I know they won't go away completely, but maybe just fewer)
|
I'm currently taking commissions.
Phil's Minis.
Contact me at my site.
Phil's Minis
Use coupon code NWSTRT5 for 5% off EVERYTHING! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:29:38
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
New Zealand
|
Erasoketa wrote:
Anyway guys: there is a lot of people here who doesn't have english as first language. There are many posters from Sweden, Germany, Japan... and we all use English, just as it is, a language. And for one time, you read a few words in another language that is not english and the first thing you do is make fun of that language? Who do you think you are?
Make fun of? No, no, no. I'm jealous. All we get a lame "ram". I say "Ramming your Rhino" and the opponent breaks into a rendition of "Baa-baa-black-sheep". I say "IRONCLAD BRUTALITY THROUGH THE SIDE OF YOUR PATHETIC LAND RAIDER YOU FETHING PIECE OF GAK!" and they cower in fear, rolling the dice meekly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:34:13
Subject: Re: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:BrassScorpion wrote: If any one thing in an army list is so near a guaranteed win that every army is built around it then there's little fun to be had for anyone else willing to play against it. Stuff like this which exists for nearly every 40K army constantly reminds me why I don't play pick-up games and only play games with friends who are also interested in the models and the hobby instead of just building "broken" army lists.
It won't be nearly so useful against armies that aren't LR spam or all mechanised. So, in tourney it may well come to limit those builds and force those currently relying on maximum land raiders to re-evaluate. So, back to the drawing board for those armies once this gets put out and about.
So it will be limiting spam of another kind.
Good isn't it.
Good, interesting point here about metagame.
On a clusterd vehicle formation, deffrollas could lead to big boom and double-crushes. Deadly, and great fun too.
|
longtime Astra Militarum neckbeard |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:35:05
Subject: Re: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
On the back of a hog.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:41:44
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Whoa! That's it, then... the very last question of that FAQ, and in English!
The OP should edit the original post and put that link in there, too.
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m970066a_2010_Orks_FAQ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:44:16
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Spellbound wrote:I don't PARTICULARLY mind it, but I think there should have been some sort of ....I don't know. d6 S10 is just ridiculous. AUTOMATIC hits. If you touch them, you throttle them. I mean a landraider ramming 12" does what, a S9 hit? Falcon moving 24" does a S10 but that's kind of a long shot getting that much distance. I think auto-S10 when ramming would have been fine. That would allow you to ram from any distance and still hit with crushing force.
All in all it's alright though. My issue is still with the boarding plank. Most broken 5 point upgrade ever. "I do 6 S10 attacks on your defiler cuz I'm next to it!" With no limitation on how fast you can move before using it, trukks moving 18" and then dropping a ton of hard hits on my walkers gets pretty damn annoying after a while.
Which btw, THERE is the ork anti-tank. Killakanz, lootas and powerclaws from boarding planks. What more do you need?
And one more thing - those complaining about the Monolith really need not worry. It's a skimmer, it gets a 3+ save to ignore a ram completely. Pass the save once, avoid d6 hits.
On the note of rules errata and translations, I prefer the Japanese way of handling things. Very few errata, very few FAQs. "I think Deffrollas work against vehicles" "I think they don't" "let's roll off" "ok"
END RULES DEBATE. Seriously the Japanese have such a wonderful way of settling rules disputes. Never had a problem over there, ever. No lengthy debates, no technicalities, no RAW down to the very nitty gritty of verb tenses and pronoun usage.... just roll a friggin' dice and get on with it!
Actually, you are wrong here. If the Ork vehicle, or the target moved over 12 inches (13 if Red paint of the Orks), then you can't use the Boarding plank.
Clay
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:45:27
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Primarch wrote:Actually, you are wrong here. If the Ork vehicle, or the target moved over 12 inches (13 if Red paint of the Orks), then you can't use the Boarding plank.
Keep in mind that it is 12" throughout the whole game, not just the previous turn
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:45:53
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Spellbound wrote:Never get near a battlewagon. I picture this scenario:
Ram rhino. d6 S10. Boom. Squad gets out. Squad's in the way. Squad gets shocked. d6 S10. Ouch! Rhino behind squad. Ram. d6 S10. Squad gets out. Tank shock. d6 S10. End movement. Boarding plank nearby rhino, 4 S9 attacks on rear armour. Boom, or not either way Wrecking Ball, S9 hit.
A single battlewagon can now crush its way through multiple vehicles and the units they carry now, even just barely clipping. And at the end of it all, drop the boarding plank on whatever else is around.
This brings up a new issue. If I ram a rhino or LR, if I successfully destroy the transport and the models are forced to disembark, they potentially can disembark out of the way of the path of the ramming battlewagon to avoid being crushed as the ram must continue to move forward. If the BW is wide enough by being a custom BW, it is possible to have a path that makes it impossible to disembark without being within the path of the wider BW.
Will the 'response' to Deffrollas being legal to crush LRs being a total backlash on the width of custom BWs and people getting up in arms and requesting the disqualification of any BW that is slightly larger than the stock model? Will people figure "if you are going to deffroll me, I am going to cause you pain by refusing to allow anything but the stock BW and stock deffroller 100% unmodified." While we all know they could claim RAW as the rulebooks ays official citadel minis, we all now RAP that most people don't mind custom ork vehicles and have never had a reason to really complain... until now.
I am curious to see how Adepticon handles this and how they rule on converted and custom Ork transports.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:50:09
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I would imagine that some bright spark measures the actual deff rolla as made by GW and rules that a converted one only actually gets this 'footprint' width, measured from the centre of the rolla...
Seems fair.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:50:18
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
Timmah wrote:Have you guys ever noticed that FAQ's aren't really official rules, that they are just GW house rules?
Nope, no one has ever brought this up before.
Fortunately, it's GW's house we are playing in.
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:55:20
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer
|
[quote=nkelsch
This brings up a new issue. If I ram a rhino or LR, if I successfully destroy the transport and the models are forced to disembark, they potentially can disembark out of the way of the path of the ramming battlewagon to avoid being crushed as the ram must continue to move forward. If the BW is wide enough by being a custom BW, it is possible to have a path that makes it impossible to disembark without being within the path of the wider BW.
Don't forget that if the vehicle is destroyed (explodes) the unit inside is placed within the area the vehicle was in, so they will get hit by the Battlewagon w Deffrolla. So it seems that with some good rolls the Battlewagon could go through multiple vehicles, and take a few members out of the passengers too!
|
I'm currently taking commissions.
Phil's Minis.
Contact me at my site.
Phil's Minis
Use coupon code NWSTRT5 for 5% off EVERYTHING! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 16:57:12
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
|
 |
Martial Arts SAS
|
Monster Rain wrote:I don't know if this makes it better or worse, but I didn't use an internet translator. That was based on my High School spanish classes and having a lot of Mexican friends when I was in the Marines.
"For the win" isn't really proper English either though. I think Para la Victoria suits my purposes just fine.
Studying Spanish grammar must be a load of gak for english-speaking people. A single word changes a lot depending on the sentence. Mexicans speak in a way different than Spain, and it's ok. But the Spanish in USA neighbourhoods... when I hear Jennifer Lopez speaking on TV I suddenly feel I need to stab my ears. I almost understand better Nelly Furtado speaking portugese.
Pika_power wrote:Make fun of? No, no, no. I'm jealous. All we get a lame "ram". I say "Ramming your Rhino" and the opponent breaks into a rendition of "Baa-baa-black-sheep". I say "IRONCLAD BRUTALITY THROUGH THE SIDE OF YOUR PATHETIC LAND RAIDER YOU FETHING PIECE OF GAK!" and they cower in fear, rolling the dice meekly.
Well, english has words like "fear", "evil", "crush"... that sound quite better than "miedo", "malvado" or "aplastar". English sounds better for me.
But on topic... the FAQ has already been published in english. Solved argue.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:01:57
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:Brother Ramses wrote:Why the attitude that because it is in Spanish, it is not legal? Why the obtuse push for English only?
Because English is the "official" language of the rules. GW has in the past said that if aEnglish version and a foreign language version (rulbook/codex) disagree, the English one is correct. Sooooo, until it's in English......
Does this mean that the English IG Summary overrides (all) the other versions of the IG summaries?
If so, woohoo revival of Close-ordered Drills!
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:03:00
Subject: Re: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
|
synchronicity wrote:I feel a great disturbance in the Imperium, as if billions of voices suddenly cried out in terror, and were suddenly silenced.
^ROFL!
This best news I've heard in awhile. I just orderd 3 more deff rolla upgrade kits for my Battle Wagons.
|
Orks - 5200
Ultramarines - 2900
Imperial Guard - 740
"The internet is a great way to get on the net."
- Bob Dole, Republican presidential candidate
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:08:15
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Gwar! wrote:Primarch wrote:Actually, you are wrong here. If the Ork vehicle, or the target moved over 12 inches (13 if Red paint of the Orks), then you can't use the Boarding plank.
Keep in mind that it is 12" throughout the whole game, not just the previous turn
Ummm, no? Heh, do we need an INAT clarification on this for Adepticon?
Clay
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:10:08
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka
|
What do you know, apparently when the rules say "ramming is a type of tank shock" they mean just that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:10:43
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Q. Can you use the Deffrolla when Ramming
vehicles or does it only work when Tank
Shocking non-vehicle units?
A. The death rolla does indeed inflict D6 S10 hits
against vehicles, as Ramming is just a type of
Tank Shock.
24th February 2010
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m970066a_2010_Orks_FAQ
English FAQ. For the "Because English is the "official" language of the rules"
The sky if falling! A broken codex! GW has ruined the game! I couldn't resist
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/24 17:13:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:12:38
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
I played it that way already an none of my opponents disagreed, although they didn't seem to like it for some reason
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:17:30
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Hulksmash wrote:Already done RiTides, they released the English one today or yesterday 
Heh, thanks Hulksmash... I'm a little slow on the pickup here! But I gots it now
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:18:39
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
We've been playing it like this at my FLGS since day 1, it's pretty simple. Ramming is a type of tank shock, deff rolla gives d6 str 10 hits on a tank shock. People that were "Debating" this were just playing ignorant.
It's still stuck on a vehicle thats 14 12 10.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:20:57
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Bane Knight
|
Wow...so I need to make some deffrolla's for the few BW's I have... Pretty cool stuff there.
Anyone know how wide the "actual" Deffrolla is?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:22:54
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Redbeard wrote:What do you know, apparently when the rules say "ramming is a type of tank shock" they mean just that.
You misquoted the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:24:11
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Actually, a question that arises is this "Are the 1d6 hits from the Rolla resolved AFTER the Ramming hit or BEFORE?" This could matter significantly as it may either Save the battle-wagon's life or doom it BEFORE the rolla even gets it's hits in. (Or it could strike Simul granting an almost assaurance the enemy vehicle will asplode.
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:24:40
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Lexington, KY
|
Erasoketa wrote:Anyway guys: there is a lot of people here who doesn't have english as first language. There are many posters from Sweden, Germany, Japan... and we all use English, just as it is, a language. And for one time, you read a few words in another language that is not english and the first thing you do is make fun of that language? Who do you think you are?
The joke is really that the online translators are humorously bad, not that Spanish itself is being made fun of. Try translating blocks of text (especially 40k related, for extra fun) from Spanish to English and back and tell me the computer didn't come up with something unintentionally funny...
|
Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:25:23
Subject: Re: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Now the deff rolla is finely worth the points.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:28:14
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
I don't want to sound like a moderator but please, don't turn this thread into "I was right and you weren't" like a lot of people have been saying. GW says that it is so, then it is. You won't get any respect points just by saying you and your mates thought like GW.
Not any personal to anyone.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/24 17:29:09
Win/Draw/Lost statics
Space Orks: 11/1/1
Space Marines: 10/2/5
Lizardmen: 8/2/3
High Elves: 13/2/2 and one tournament victory!
Dark Eldar: 1/0/0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:34:43
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
Ok I have a quick question.
Since when you ram you also hit yourself. How is that going to work out? D6 STR10 hits one yourself?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:34:50
Subject: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
fair enough..
As for debate what hits first- I would say its simultaneous...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/24 17:36:09
Subject: Re: Ork 40K FAQ amendment rules Deff Rollas can be used when Ramming even if you speak English
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So I am assuming the D6 S10 hits replace the actual ram rule then? No mention is made that they stack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|