Switch Theme:

Nightmare doll=Instant "I go first"?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

GW judges at Baltimore ruled that the Dark Eldar Nightmare Doll, which allows you to automatically choose your deployment zone, allows you to go first.

...due to the fact that when you roll for table side/go first, the roll is one dice roll, "If you get to choose sides, you must also get to go first".

Comments?

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







i think this another dead item as there is no roll for table edge any more ... just a roll for who goes first

edit ... IG's Lord Catellan can howeve choose to re-roll the for the first turn so he still works

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 16:01:14


 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

So yes, they go first?


EDIT: oh, you said Item, I thought you said issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 15:59:53


I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Deadshane1 wrote:GW judges at Baltimore ruled that the Dark Eldar Nightmare Doll, which allows you to automatically choose your deployment zone, allows you to go first.

...due to the fact that when you roll for table side/go first, the roll is one dice roll, "If you get to choose sides, you must also get to go first".

Comments?



That was a bad ruling, IMO.

A comparable item that has been ruled on in an official capacity is the Liber Heresius in the Witch Hunter codex (which also allows players to pick their deployment zone). In this case they ruled the item does not work at all in standard missions.

So personally I would rule that the Nightmare Doll suffers the same fate.



Of course, I do have to mention that I think by the RAW these items *should* work in 5th edition, but they should simply allow players to be able to choose their deployment zone regardless of who won the roll to go first (that's how I'd rule on both these items if GW hadn't made that ruling in the WH FAQ).

But in no way do I think the ruling you've presented is correct. It not only doesn't follow the precedent set by GW in a very similar situation, but I don't think it matches what the RAW says either. . .having a special rule that allows you to choose your deployment zone in no way entitles you to automatically go first.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 16:20:33


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Murfreesboro, TN

I must admit that I was guilty of using this item at several tournaments. None of the judges had an issue with it nor did my opponents when it came up.

EDIT: Just noticed something. This item does NOT allow you do automatically chose deployment sides. If you wish you can make your opponent reroll his dice when it comes time to chose table sides, but doing so inflicts a str 3 hit on the model carrying the doll with no save. While this does improve the odds it is by no means automatic.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/11/21 16:31:39


"I'm not much for prejudice, I prefer to judge people by whats inside, and how much fun it is to get to those insides." - Unknown Haemonculi 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Defintely a bad ruling, since the GW studio declared the opposite for the Liber Heresius. Answer to that one was that there is no such role any more, the Liber has no effect.

Edit: Oooops, missed where Yak said the same thing.................

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 16:27:46


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That's way too powerful for a wargear item. Considering GW has made plenty of items and rules have no effect in fifth edition, I'm surprised at this. But, then, I'm not either since this was Baltimore. I wasn't there, but it sounds like there were a lot of.... odd decisions from the judges at Baltimore that sound like they were 'knee jerk' answers and not well thought out. Very disappointing. I guess we just all have to wait for the 'Adepticon' FAQ, since that is done by gamers for gamers.


In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

I say it's cause I wasn't involved in the discussions this time................ (That's a joke son, you're supposed to laugh) Hmmmm, I think I'll drop Clay and Donovan a couple of 'notes' tho.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

yakface wrote:Of course, I do have to mention that I think by the RAW these items *should* work in 5th edition, but they should simply allow players to be able to choose their deployment zone regardless of who won the roll to go first (that's how I'd rule on both these items if GW hadn't made that ruling in the WH FAQ).

Totally agreed.

Roll to go first. Then apply the Nightmare Doll to override the choice of DZ.

   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver






Utah

Agree on the point above.

It is funny to me though that they say the codex overrides rules and uphold it sometimes(IG dedicated transports can't transport other units, Black templars IIRC smoke still does glancing only, tau disruption pods for only 5 points 4 + cover save) but in other cases say no way (liber herseius, all of the items that effect ourtnubmering and other out of date rules that no longer exist etc).

Meph

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

And that is why their FAQs are officially unofficially official.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: