Switch Theme:

land speeders - buying two guns = twin linked?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I was looking at the land speeders in the new Space Marine codex. People usually go for the heavy bolter/assault cannon combo. However, I was looking at taking two heavy bolters or two multi meltas for cheaper. One gun is usually with the passenger and one is under the land speeder. However, I realized if you take two they become twin linked......is this correct?
   
Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne




Salt Lake City, UT

While I know that on some units (Pentient (sp) Engine comes to mind) taking two of something makes it twin linked, I just looked at the SM codex and this isn't the case with the Land Speeder. They'd be treated as two seperate weapons.

As far as I can tell, most of those 'take two and it's TL'd' rules seem to be in older codices and are the exception rather than the norm.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/15 16:51:29


   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

rebmonk wrote:However, I realized if you take two they become twin linked......is this correct?


It would be true if it were somehow in the Tyranid Codex. There is no rule in the BGB or the Marine Codex that states that carrying two of the same weapon makes it Twin-linked. Anytime this is true is if it is stated as such or there is an army wide rule dictating such(Tyranids).

You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





I for one have never heard of a rule that makes two identical weapons on the same model twin-linked.
I don't know the exact wording in the SM codex though, so it's just my guess that they would count as two weapons.

EDIT: I was a bit slow, Platuan pointed it all out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/15 16:53:06


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Two weapons of the same type are not twin linked unless otherwise stated.

The problem stems from the fact that many codex's use that option (tyranids for example)

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






The ruins of the Palace of Thorns

The Eldar book uses it for some things (Wraithlord, for example), but not others (War Walkers & Vypers)

I wonder if it is a Monstrous Creature vs. Vehicle thing?

Though guards may sleep and ships may lay at anchor, our foes know full well that big guns never tire.

Posting as Fifty_Painting on Instagram.

My blog - almost 40 pages of Badab War, Eldar, undead and other assorted projects 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks guys. Yeah i am a tyranid player and i thought i had read it in the BRB. Guess not.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

No. Two of the same weapon on a landspeeder DO NOT make them twin-linked. It means it has TWO of the same weapon, and unless it is moving 6" or less, it won't get to fire both (as all of the weapon options are S5 or above and not 'defensive' as a result).

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: