| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:10:20
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Grim Forgotten Nihilist Forest.
|
I run a mech heavy army, so I gotta know lol...
I keep getting told one thing or another and it's confuseing. D:
|
I've sold so many armies. :(
Aeldari 3kpts
Slaves to Darkness.3k
Word Bearers 2500k
Daemons of Chaos
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:27:01
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
You can disembark, but you cannot then assault.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:27:31
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Enginseer with a Wrench
|
I don't have my BGB with me, but it should be under the Transports section and Cruising Speed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:32:01
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Yes. An embarked unit can disembark after the vehicle moves, providing said vehicle did not move MORE than 12” that turn.
Note also, however, that a unit cannot embark and disembark in the same turn.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:34:16
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Mannahnin wrote:Yes. An embarked unit can disembark after the vehicle moves, providing said vehicle did not move MORE than 12” that turn.
Note also, however, that a unit cannot embark and disembark in the same turn.
<nitpick> Orks can go 13"
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:53:51
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
But count as going 12"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 18:54:46
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun
|
They don't count as going 12". They count as going 13" but suffer no penalties for the extra inch. I do believe that they get any relevant bonuses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/08 19:01:58
Subject: Re:Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Grim Forgotten Nihilist Forest.
|
Awesome!, I knew their would'nt be much point to a rhino if you couldnt move out more then 6 inches heh, thank's guys!!!
|
I've sold so many armies. :(
Aeldari 3kpts
Slaves to Darkness.3k
Word Bearers 2500k
Daemons of Chaos
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 03:00:52
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
IG gunships have access to grav chutes.
G
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 03:12:59
Subject: Re:Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
You can, if you dont move the rhino, move out 2", move 6", and assault 6". Most peeps forget that fact
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 03:31:11
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot
|
Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
I don't know, what's transporting them?
Ba-dum Ksh!
|
Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 03:32:39
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Just remember you cannot disembark, move the rhino out of the way then move the disembarked unit.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 04:27:10
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Gwar! wrote:Just remember you cannot disembark, move the rhino out of the way then move the disembarked unit.
My rules-lawyering friend demanded to know what wording disallows this, when I told him the news. Is it because the BRB says to pick a unit, move it, then move another? He says that though disembarking counts as moving for the purposes of shooting, the fact that the unit "can then move" after disembarking means that disembarking is not in fact moving the unit - so that way you CAN disembark, do the vehicle's movement, then do the squad's movement.
He claims too that SHOULD disembarking be movement, that the disembarkation movement should then count against your maximum - since you've moved x inches so far, and you can move up to 6, then the remainder is all you get.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 05:03:21
Subject: Re:Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Grim Forgotten Nihilist Forest.
|
Yup the APC doesn't magically disappear to make more room.
Nor do Daemonette's go though a "Moonie" Transformation and become hot.
|
I've sold so many armies. :(
Aeldari 3kpts
Slaves to Darkness.3k
Word Bearers 2500k
Daemons of Chaos
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 05:03:21
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
Spellbound wrote:Gwar! wrote:Just remember you cannot disembark, move the rhino out of the way then move the disembarked unit.
My rules-lawyering friend demanded to know what wording disallows this, when I told him the news. Is it because the BRB says to pick a unit, move it, then move another? He says that though disembarking counts as moving for the purposes of shooting, the fact that the unit "can then move" after disembarking means that disembarking is not in fact moving the unit - so that way you CAN disembark, do the vehicle's movement, then do the squad's movement.
He claims too that SHOULD disembarking be movement, that the disembarkation movement should then count against your maximum - since you've moved x inches so far, and you can move up to 6, then the remainder is all you get.
Thats how I've always seen the rule as, disembark (before moving) then move the unit or vehicle as you see fit
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 05:18:26
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Rhinos are therefore great for Thousand sons as they are relentless. You get to drive 12 inches, pop out a max of 2 inches, then rapid fire AP3 bolters 24 inches. 38 inch range in total.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 06:24:25
Subject: Re:Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Shadowbrand wrote:
Nor do Daemonette's go though a "Moonie" Transformation and become hot.
A Sailor Moon fan, eh?
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 09:38:11
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Zid wrote:Thats how I've always seen the rule as, disembark (before moving) then move the unit or vehicle as you see fit
Well, you have been seeing the rule wrong. By Disembarking, you are beginning that squads movement. If you then move the Rhino, you cannot go back to the squad.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 10:01:58
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne
Salt Lake City, UT
|
darkkt wrote:Rhinos are therefore great for Thousand sons as they are relentless. You get to drive 12 inches, pop out a max of 2 inches, then rapid fire AP3 bolters 24 inches. 38 inch range in total.
The bolters are rapid fire but relentless does not give them a 'rapid fire' range of 24 inches. They'd only get one shot each, but yes it can be done that way. It may just be the way that my group discusses the game, but normally when we refer to rapid firing a weapon, we normally mean that it's within that 12" 2 shot range. So sorry if I misread your statement, just wanted to make sure that distinction was made.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 10:07:51
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Well, if we want to get really Nitpicky, no-one has "Rapid Fired" a weapon since 2nd edition. You fire a Rapid Fire Weapon, but there is no such thing as Rapid Firing a weapon
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 10:15:39
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne
Salt Lake City, UT
|
I wasn't claiming that it was an 'official' term, Gwar, merely that as the statement was written to me, it sounded like he was talking about a double shot at 24". I understand this is not an official game term, which is why I mentioned in my previous post that it's simply how my gaming group refers to a model firing a Rapid Fire weapon in that 12" range. My intent was to make sure that any players that also could have read that statement the way I did, did not get confused.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/09 13:46:59
Subject: Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Orkeosaurus wrote:Can Rhinos still disembark after moving 12 inches?
I don't know, what's transporting them?
Ba-dum Ksh!
HA!
@ OP - Models inside a vehicle can embark or disembark (not both) if the transporting vehicle didn't move beyond cruising speed. (Which by default is 12" - not sure if there are exceptions to this, but there you go)
|
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|