| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 14:32:00
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
this came up in a local apoc game where i took DH melta orbital strikes to fill up a few hundred points i needed for the army. the melta torpedo is technically melta and ordnance, so...
melta lets you roll an extra d6 and add it to the normal 1d6 for armor penetration...
ordnance lets you roll 2d6 for armor penetration and choose the highest for your armor penetration...
so does adding the two rules together let you roll 2d6 choose the highest for the first dice and THEN roll an extra d6 for the melta? looking for a RAW answer.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 14:32:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 14:41:14
Subject: Re:do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
Does melta give you a penetration of 2d6 or "an extra D6". If its the former then no, if its the latter then yes.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 14:45:23
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
There is only 1 weapon this applies to, the Melta Orbital Strike thing from the DH codex.
The INAT FAQ ruled that you roll 2D6 pick the highest for the first D6 of penetration, then add a further single D6.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 14:46:06
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 14:45:59
Subject: Re:do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
Razerous wrote:Does melta give you a penetration of 2d6 or "an extra D6". If its the former then no, if its the latter then yes.
prior to writing the post i looked up the wording. it says "roll an extra d6 when rolling to penetrate a vehicle's armor value at half range or less". i can't imagine any reason to add the melta rule and not count it at less than half range as the additional rule would be useless without that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 15:11:12
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar! wrote:There is only 1 weapon this applies to, the Melta Orbital Strike thing from the DH codex.
The INAT FAQ ruled that you roll 2D6 pick the highest for the first D6 of penetration, then add a further single D6.
how do ya determine if the strike cruiser is in half range? Apogee versus epogee?
G
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 15:25:26
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I thoguht the range was "unlimited"?
You are always within half range at that point....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:50:29
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:I thoguht the range was "unlimited"?
You are always within half range at that point....
That's true, X/2 = X where X is infinite. But I don't see anywhere that it lists a range statistic, so that doesn't come into play.
But anyway, where does it say that the torpedo has the melta rule? It just says "Barrage Ordnance Blast, 2D6 Armour Pen" in my version of the book. I woudl say that the INAT faq has a pretty good solution by just rolling it as an ordnance weapon, taking the highest of those two dice, and then adding a single D6 to that result.
Without the 'Melta' rule I don't think you should get a +1 on the damage table either.
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:52:12
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Melta doesn't give the +1 to the damage table.
AP1 does.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:53:14
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
DogOfWar wrote:Without the 'Melta' rule I don't think you should get a +1 on the damage table either. You get +1 damage table modifier due to AP 1 not for being a Melta type weapon. (Not sure about this case if its even a AP1 weapon, but in general on melta weapons) Ed: Bah Gwars too fast :( :(
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/11/17 17:55:44
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:11:59
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Kind of curious of how you determine half range as well.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 23:00:31
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
i guess mathematically. half of infinity is still infinity.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 23:13:02
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
warboss wrote:i guess mathematically. half of infinity is still infinity.
well seeing that the universe is the biggest thing I know and it is 13.7 billion light years across .... converting to inches ... its approximately 51063167562283008000" across I don't see it ever being a problem ¬_¬
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 23:16:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 23:22:33
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tri wrote:warboss wrote:i guess mathematically. half of infinity is still infinity.
well seeing that the universe is the biggest thing I know and it is 13.7 billion light years across .... converting to inches ... its approximately 51063167562283008000" across I don't see it ever being a problem ¬_¬
Actually, the age of the universe is 13.7 billion years. The Observable universe is actually ~46.5 billion light-years away.
Furthermore, that makes the assumption that the universe is isotropic, and that the edge of the observable universe is in fact the actual edge of the universe and also that other theories about the shape of the universe or the open multiverse theories are incorrect.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 00:15:13
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Hollismason wrote:Kind of curious of how you determine half range as well.
Why? There is no requirement to do so. The meltatorpedo does not use the 'melta' special rule and therefore has no abilities changed depending on its range (exactly like a meltabomb by way of example).
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 01:31:08
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I think if the strike cruiser is in geosynchronous orbit a strong case could be made for half range, however if the ship is above a polar region then not so.
G
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 02:30:30
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
Yeah, the Melta Torpedo just always rolls 2d6 armour penetration. It isn't a weapon with melta rules.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 03:38:07
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Gwar! wrote:Melta doesn't give the +1 to the damage table.
AP1 does. Mm.. true. I wish I didn't always equate those two. Good ol' Meltaguns.
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 04:54:03
Subject: Re:do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It's not melta, but it is 2d6 penetration and ordinance. (The reason why it's better than the Lance torpedo against vehicles, btw, is because it's 2d6 penetration even when the center of the template is not wholly on the vehicle - 4 + 2d6 is still pretty nasty).
The INAT is as good a way of doing it as any.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 07:35:28
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Melta's also good because your terminators can get saves against it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 20:32:16
Subject: do ordnance and melta rules stack?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:The INAT FAQ ruled that you roll 2D6 pick the highest for the first D6 of penetration, then add a further single D6.
And they got it right!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|