Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 04:15:39
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
No rules to cover this situation....
A grabbin' klaw on a battlewagon hits a landspeeder, which may not move now. It has a squadron of three.
One rule says that the vehicle may not move this turn.
The BRB says that a squadron of vehicles all move at the same speed.
If two can move and one cannot...and two members move 7" while maintaining 4" coherency, then they would all move at cruising speed. Then you end up with a vehicle that cannot move that has just moved cruising speed.
What do you think we should do?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 04:17:19
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dashofpepper wrote:No rules to cover this situation....
A grabbin' klaw on a battlewagon hits a landspeeder, which may not move now. It has a squadron of three.
One rule says that the vehicle may not move this turn.
The BRB says that a squadron of vehicles all move at the same speed.
If two can move and one cannot...and two members move 7" while maintaining 4" coherency, then they would all move at cruising speed. Then you end up with a vehicle that cannot move that has just moved cruising speed.
What do you think we should do?
The Rules as Written do not cover this situation at all to be honest, as I told you over skype.
However, I personally would play it as "Break No Rule". One rule says no moving, one rule says everyone moves, so no moving.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 05:00:40
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
I would point to the rule that says a unit can only move as fast as it's slowest member. I just can't seem to remember the page number.
|
"So that's a box of lootas/burnas (there's only FIVE complete minis in here, and only four of them what you wanted!), a Dark Elf army book and two pots of paint. That will be your first born." - Kirbinator |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 05:03:09
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think thats just infantry though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 05:05:04
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Pasadena, California
|
Here's a question for you. Because it can't move is it technically immobilized for the time being? And if its a squad of vehicles and immobilized then it is destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 05:07:37
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You could be mean and say it's "immobalised". It sounds the least correct though.
I'd personally play it as noone moving. Does a claw work on bikes?
|
"There's a difference between bein' a smartboy and bein' a smart git, Gimzod." - Rogue Skwadron, the Big Push
My Current army lineup |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 06:43:04
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
...As black said guys, "All of the models in a unit move at the speed of the slowest model." page 11.
Is it a unit? Yes. What is the slowest speed in the unit? 0/dissallowed. How far can I move? Disallowed/0.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 07:05:14
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Bikes are infantry, so no.
|
orks 10000+ points
"SHHH. My common sense is tingling."--Deadpoool
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: ...it doesn't matter how many times I make a false statement, it will still be false.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 07:09:18
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Geemoney wrote:Bikes are infantry, so no.
Erm... Bikes are Bikes, not Infantry.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 08:06:39
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Okay but the grabbing claw still doesn't affect them.
|
orks 10000+ points
"SHHH. My common sense is tingling."--Deadpoool
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: ...it doesn't matter how many times I make a false statement, it will still be false.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 08:39:18
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
nor does it affect pink cuddly care bears, we are however discussing Land Speeders in this thread
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 08:50:28
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Geemoney wrote:Okay but the grabbing claw still doesn't affect them.
tedurur wrote:nor does it affect pink cuddly care bears, we are however discussing Land Speeders in this thread 
^^ lol
Land Speeders are Vehicles (Fast, Skimmer). Methinks you're thinking of jetbikes, Geemoney?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/05 08:51:05
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 09:43:01
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I believe the rules cover this just fine.
The way the rulebook is written is that it presents the basic rules, generally aimed towards infantry and then other units types have rules which explain how those different unit types break the normal rules for infantry with their own specific rules.
In other words, if a specific unit type doesn't have a rule that overrides the basic rules for infantry then it has to follow it. For example, the 'movement phase' rules starting on page 11 of the rulebook are mainly for infantry but also clearly cover how to move a vehicle model in the diagram on page 12. So vehicles follow the basic movement rules presented on those pages except where the more specific vehicle rules override them.
This means the rule on page 11 about models in a unit moving at the speed of the slowest model absolutely positively applies to vehicle squadrons.
If one vehicle in a Squadron is unable to move for some wacky reason (like a Grabba Klaw) then the rest of the squadron is effectively prohibited from moving as well.
And even if this wesn't the case (and it is) then the basic rules for vehicle squadrons all having to move at the same speed would dictate that since one model in the squadron is prevented from moving (i.e. not moving) then the rest of the squadron would be forced to move at the same speed.
Either of those rules are pretty cut and dried IMHO.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/05 09:43:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 17:38:13
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
How about this idea.
The speeder that has been grabbaed doesn't get to move; that makes sense. The other speeders could move, but would have to maintain 4" coherency. Their movement would determine the amount of shooting that could be done
That's my guess.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 18:07:58
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
i gotta agree with yak.... i think the vehicle squad would have to move at the same rate. if one gets prevented from moving by some means, then the rest of the squad doesnt move either.
totally off topic here.... but why are land speeders getting grabba klawed? they shouldnt be getting anywhere close enough to let this happen imo.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 18:16:44
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I have a question adding on to this as I dont think I've seen it in this thread. Would the other speeders be able to rotate/pivot to shoot the vehicle with the claw? I would assume so, but thought I would ask.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 18:20:30
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, as althgouh pivot "does not count as movement" it still IS movement, and you have been told you cannot move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 15:30:07
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
it says you cant move, it doesnt say you cant pivot.
though more interestingly in this argument is if you stun one of the vehicles in the squadron, the rest cant move thus allowing auto hits in assault.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 15:36:51
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Can't stun squadrons. They count it as Shaken
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 15:51:19
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
my thinking is if a squadron is a unit of vehicles then it has to follow rules for units, so the unit can only move as fast as it's slowest model. Isn't because a squadron a unit the reason that killer kanz grant cover saves to other units?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 16:05:53
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
lixulana wrote:it says you cant move, it doesnt say you cant pivot.
though more interestingly in this argument is if you stun one of the vehicles in the squadron, the rest cant move thus allowing auto hits in assault.
Stunned results are automatically transformed into Shaken if the vehicle is part of a squadron.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 17:35:19
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
lixulana wrote:it says you cant move, it doesnt say you cant pivot.
though more interestingly in this argument is if you stun one of the vehicles in the squadron, the rest cant move thus allowing auto hits in assault.
Pivoting IS movement, otherwise it could not "not count as movement".
You CANNOT pivot if you cannot move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 17:46:43
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:lixulana wrote:it says you cant move, it doesnt say you cant pivot.
though more interestingly in this argument is if you stun one of the vehicles in the squadron, the rest cant move thus allowing auto hits in assault.
Pivoting IS movement, otherwise it could not "not count as movement".
You CANNOT pivot if you cannot move.
Just like you can't pivot if you're immobilized.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 22:34:25
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'd give them a choice: 1. "Gotcha." No one in the squadron moves (see p. 11) or, 2. "Yikes!"squadron deserts the grabbed vehicle (it is immobilized and thus automatically destroyed) and they can run (fly) off to fight again another day.
It'd be 'fluffy' to leave the trapped vehicle and buzz off to continue the battle - just like a Kan squadron leaves it's immobilized members behind as it continues the advance.
I think 1 is correct, I'd let them do 2 because it is cool, and is what would probably 'really' happen. (yes, I do know that none of this 'really' happens BTW).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 23:10:12
Subject: Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Lost Boyz wrote:I'd give them a choice: 1. "Gotcha." No one in the squadron moves (see p. 11) or, 2. "Yikes!"squadron deserts the grabbed vehicle (it is immobilized and thus automatically destroyed) and they can run (fly) off to fight again another day.
It'd be 'fluffy' to leave the trapped vehicle and buzz off to continue the battle - just like a Kan squadron leaves it's immobilized members behind as it continues the advance.
I think 1 is correct, I'd let them do 2 because it is cool, and is what would probably 'really' happen. (yes, I do know that none of this 'really' happens BTW).
I like that rule
|
orks 10000+ points
"SHHH. My common sense is tingling."--Deadpoool
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: ...it doesn't matter how many times I make a false statement, it will still be false.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 15:48:37
Subject: Re:Grabbin' Klaw vs Squadron of Landspeeders
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
p11....great! We didn't know about that when we were playing it.
The flip side of that coin is that inside the battlewagon is Big Mek with a Powerklaw - so if the squadron can't move, then he'll be getting 4 auto-hits the following turn, glancing on a 1, penetrating on a 2+.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|