Switch Theme:

Dashofpepper takes the Pink Waaaugh! to the Nova Open: Game 2 (pics!)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

The Leman Russ Demolisher, Executioner, and Punisher are all AV 14/13/11.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Janthkin wrote:The Leman Russ Demolisher, Executioner, and Punisher are all AV 14/13/11.


This.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






virginia

@ kirkia Im sorry your picture came out bluurier(if I misspelled that one sorry lol) then Dash's I tried my best for both of them I did I swear lol


i play bro plays
1100points
2500points
bros :1200 points 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Moody AFB, GA

Dashofpepper wrote:
Bullfrog wrote:Fair enough, not the way I would interpret it but I can see where the contention would be for some people.


Well.....it comes down to this: Is the Deffrolla part of the Hull?

RAW says no: If it isn't part of the hull, it is still part of the model, causing the Battlewagon's profile to narrow significantly over what it already is. Also, since you deploy 2" out of an open-topped vehicle, the models inside suddenly lose their ability to deploy out of the front since those 2" are taken up by a Deffrolla. On the flip side, you can now do things like deploy sideways, and rotate for an extra 3-4" of ramming ability on turn1!

If you count it as part of the hull: Since its open-topped, you can fire out of any part of the hull. Meaning you can stick a burna template on the deffrolla. The lesser of two evils, but still wrong.

Putting the Deffrolla somewhere else fixes all these issues.


I have the same rollas on my wagons and it only goes out about 1 and 3/4 inch leaving you room for one line of guys around the front. Yeah you cant stack them 3 deep but you still get the extra ramming with the rolla down.

4000
2500
2000
1850
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

sickening wrote:
Dashofpepper wrote:
Bullfrog wrote:Fair enough, not the way I would interpret it but I can see where the contention would be for some people.


Well.....it comes down to this: Is the Deffrolla part of the Hull?

RAW says no: If it isn't part of the hull, it is still part of the model, causing the Battlewagon's profile to narrow significantly over what it already is. Also, since you deploy 2" out of an open-topped vehicle, the models inside suddenly lose their ability to deploy out of the front since those 2" are taken up by a Deffrolla. On the flip side, you can now do things like deploy sideways, and rotate for an extra 3-4" of ramming ability on turn1!

If you count it as part of the hull: Since its open-topped, you can fire out of any part of the hull. Meaning you can stick a burna template on the deffrolla. The lesser of two evils, but still wrong.

Putting the Deffrolla somewhere else fixes all these issues.


I have the same rollas on my wagons and it only goes out about 1 and 3/4 inch leaving you room for one line of guys around the front. Yeah you cant stack them 3 deep but you still get the extra ramming with the rolla down.


Which.....brings up its own rules questions. if you have to get into contact with the hull to assault a vehicle, and you can only reach the Deffrolla, is the battlewagon un-assaultable? If there are three battlewagons in a line with deffrollas down, are they now un-assaultable? When you're ramming and have to get into model to model contact....how can you get into model contact unless counting the Deffrollas as part of the hull?

Its just easier for me to model it up. It avoids ALL issues.

   
Made in gb
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought






Albany, Australia

Or - as I've seen mentioned previously on Dakka (ie not my idea!) - I think I'll try modelling mine in place of the front wheels...

Love all the battle reports!

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Arakasi wrote:Or - as I've seen mentioned previously on Dakka (ie not my idea!) - I think I'll try modelling mine in place of the front wheels...

Love all the battle reports!


You have pictures of anyone doing that? That would save a lot of issues.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Sounds like it would, and look awesome to boot.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought






Albany, Australia

Dashofpepper wrote:You have pictures of anyone doing that? That would save a lot of issues.

Unfortunately, no - just saw the idea pop up in another thread. I have a Battlewagon due to be delivered this week... I *was* planning to loot it for parts for Looted Wagons, but I *might* be persuaded to give the front wheel Deffrolla a go instead

   
 
Forum Index » 40K Battle Reports
Go to: