Switch Theme:

modelling for advantage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





It specifically states the embarked unit's weapon. So those people who argue that the old Immolators can't fire because the template hits it's own hull still have that available.


However RaW their argument breaks down as the prohibition is on friendly models. Nothing states you cannot cover your self with the template as you can not be friendly to yourself.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Bzzzzt, wrong.

Corbulo proves you wrong.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare






Corbulo proves you wrong.


How exactly please explain (i'm not saying you're wrong I just don't have the BA codex to hand to check).

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The red grail Grant FC and FNP to all friendly units within 6". The rules then go on to say that Corbulo's FNP rolls(ostensibly from the red grail, as he does not have the rule himself) are better. Therefore he must, himself, be a friendly model within 6" of himself(or the better FNP does not actually do anything unless another Sang Preist is within their FNP bubble of corbulo, but then why is that rule in the red grail rule)

Edit: Spelling and the additional explanation.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/11/22 15:15:44


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Tjhe red grail Grant FC and FNP to all friendly units within 6". The rules then go on to say that Corbulo's FNP rolls(ostensibly from the red grail, as he does not have the rule himself) are better.


Units or Models? Because in this instance it would make a difference. A unit is a collection of one of more things a model is a single entity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/22 15:15:04


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Units. And it still does not matter because a single model is a unit by itself, and a unit is made up of models.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:Units. And it still does not matter because a single model is a unit by itself, and a unit is made up of models.




ahh but you are wrong. they are not one in the same. ask your self how the red grail would work if it said it provides furious charge and fnp to models within 6 inches.

Unit != Model although they can be one in the same.

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Units. And it still does not matter because a single model is a unit by itself, and a unit is made up of models.


A unit can be friendly to itself because it is not a singular entity even when made up of only 1 model. That is the difference...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Mrdabba - a single model is a unit. As in, a single MC, a single vehicle not in a squadron, are ALL examples of single models that are also units unto themselves.

So in this case (a baal flamestorm) you have a single model == 1 unit that IS friendly to itself.

Fling - so you are not a singular entity even when you are? Wrong.

Unit, singular, composed of 1 model, singular, CAN be friendly to itself. In this case the model is friendly to itself.

Saying you are "unfriendly" to yourself is nonsense.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Leo_the_Rat wrote:Actually it doesn't address the issue of the vehicle's own weaonry. It specifically states the embarked unit's weapon. So those people who argue that the old Immolators can't fire because the template hits it's own hull still have that available.

People also argue that the Earth is flat.

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare






Saying you are "unfriendly" to yourself is nonsense.


It isjust as saying you are friendly to yourself is... You can never be either friendly or unfriendly to yourself.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except Corbulo IS friendly to himself.

A unit of 1 model is a singular entity.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






FlingitNow wrote:You can never be either friendly or unfriendly to yourself.


The entire field of Psychology, and most major religions would like to have a word with you

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





No Corbulo the model is friendly to Corbulo the unit (or any unit Corbulo joins). Corbulo's unit is a transient thing that can be Corbulo himself or him and other models, hence Corbulo the model can be friendly to Corbulo's unit...

If he gave FnP to friendly models within 6" then he wouldn't give it to himself. Likewise if the radius of the effect was from Corbulo's unit (effecting friendly units) then it would not only not effect corbulo but would not effect any unit he joined.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And yet noone agrees with you on this.

You can very definitely be friendly to yourself.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





And yet noone agrees with you on this.


The great RaW by popularity clause.

You can very definitely be friendly to yourself.


Not in gramatically correct English.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




From the loudest supporter of "common sense!!!!" you really shouldnt be so dismissive.
   
Made in us
Charging Dragon Prince




Chicago, IL, U.S.A.

Canis can be modelled with a 12" diameter base, as bases only have to be as-big as the one supplied, but aren't prohibited from being bigger anywhere I read (RAI for modelling aesthetic purposes, but hey everything can be exploited somehow once TFG shows up). That's a lot of base-to-base-contact for his special ability. Good luck trying to pull that off with anyone to play with it though.

what basing scale are you required to use for thunderwolf cavalry (who have no models as a reference?)

Retroactively applied infallability is its own reward. I wish I knew this years ago.

I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





The explodes! instructions are entirely self contained, given you can perform them with no reference to any other rules at all....


Then try reading the 5th Edition rule book rather than the 4th Ed one you have been reading. You are required to be glued to the base you came with.

Also Canis has in his rules a prohibition from putting him on a larger base. Not that it is necessary as you are already prevented from doing so by the BrB.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. 5th ed ONLY lets you use the actual base supplied, anything else requires player consent. Consent that would likely NOT be forthcoming in that instance....
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

When I got all my Tyranids, I had a massive base preparation session. I got all the 40mm bases of the different models, ballasted them with lead shot, filled them with polystyrene resin, modded the top sides with putty, washed them, and sprayed them desert colour.

During this, they all got mixed up and I have no idea if any of the models are glued to the bases they were supplied together with. Most of them are probably illegal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/22 17:52:19


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Kilkrazy wrote:When I got all my Tyranids, I had a massive base preparation session. I got all the 40mm bases of the different models, ballasted them with lead shot, filled them with polystyrene resin, modded the top sides with putty, washed them, and sprayed them desert colour.

During this, they all got mixed up and I have no idea if any of the models are glued to the bases they were supplied together with. Most of them are probably illegal.


I am going to remember that.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Kilkrazy wrote:When I got all my Tyranids, I had a massive base preparation session. I got all the 40mm bases of the different models, ballasted them with lead shot, filled them with polystyrene resin, modded the top sides with putty, washed them, and sprayed them desert colour.

During this, they all got mixed up and I have no idea if any of the models are glued to the bases they were supplied together with. Most of them are probably illegal.


ROFL That, sir, is AWESOME!

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I have this visual of KilKrazy going to a big tourney, and in all seriousness, trying to explain the 'situation' to his opponent, and trying to get his opponents permission for using mixed up bases.

   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






"I'm really sorry but I know that one sure isn't on the base that was in the box is that okay with you?"

"?????????????????"

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

So if I buy some GW models, and clip the slotted insert part out and then buy some non slotted bases and glue their feet to said bases, all my models are on illegal bases? NOOOOO

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in sg
Regular Dakkanaut




So who is correct?

FlingitNow wrote:
Units. And it still does not matter because a single model is a unit by itself, and a unit is made up of models.
A unit can be friendly to itself because it is not a singular entity even when made up of only 1 model. That is the difference...
nosferatu1001 wrote:Fling - so you are not a singular entity even when you are? Wrong.

Unit, singular, composed of 1 model, singular, CAN be friendly to itself. In this case the model is friendly to itself.

Saying you are "unfriendly" to yourself is nonsense.
FlingitNow wrote:It isjust as saying you are friendly to yourself is... You can never be either friendly or unfriendly to yourself.
FlingitNow wrote:
And yet noone agrees with you on this.
The great RaW by popularity clause.
You can very definitely be friendly to yourself.
Not in gramatically correct English.
nosferatu1001 wrote:From the loudest supporter of "common sense!!!!" you really shouldnt be so dismissive.
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




Thanks for your opinions, everyone. Also, as for the tangent of vehicles hitting themselves, the new faq states that flames shooting from a firing point ignore the vehicle, it can be easily extrapolated that a tank can fire the weapons that it comes with.

In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Strider - the one backed up by the rules, not the one ignoring that in this case unit == model.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





converting rules also don't state when models can be converted and by whom.

so as your opponent do I have permission to convert your models during the game to my advantage?

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: