Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 02:46:08
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!!!
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Niiai wrote:If you can make a konga line with 2-3 scarabs the spiders can make 5 scarabs and if each base is 2" and they can be 2" away from each other then that is a BIG jump in charge range. They also charge 12". This is just amasing!
No, you can't congo line the Scarabs across the table. The new Scarabs are not made and placed one at a time. They are made and placed at the same time, meaning that the new ones have to be placed in coherency with the existing unit. They are still sick, though.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 03:04:46
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
Newark, CA
|
Ghenghis Jon wrote:Niiai wrote:If you can make a konga line with 2-3 scarabs the spiders can make 5 scarabs and if each base is 2" and they can be 2" away from each other then that is a BIG jump in charge range. They also charge 12". This is just amasing!
No, you can't congo line the Scarabs across the table. The new Scarabs are not made and placed one at a time. They are made and placed at the same time, meaning that the new ones have to be placed in coherency with the existing unit. They are still sick, though.
Yeah you can. The wording of the Scarab Hive ability suggests that you activate each Spyder individually. If they wanted you to place all three bases at the same time, they would have worded it differently.
|
Wake. Rise. Destroy. Conquer.
We have done so once. We will do so again.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 03:09:03
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!!!
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Phoenix, Arizona
|
well even if they can only place in coherency that means their effective charge range is 2" coherency + 1.5" base size + 6" move + 1" fleet + 12" charge, so a minimum of 22.5", max is 27.5", means you can charge without taking a hit from rapid fire weapons (only 3+ fleet roll).
A theoretical turn 2 charge (with buffing), could be a min of 33" and a max of 43" with 38" being the average charge range. Not half bad really.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 04:33:30
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Arandmoor wrote:Yeah you can. The wording of the Scarab Hive ability suggests that you activate each Spyder individually. If they wanted you to place all three bases at the same time, they would have worded it differently.
Nocron Codex, Pg 46, CANOPTEK SPYDERS: WARGEAR: Scarab Hive: "At the start of each Necron Movement phase, a Canoptek Spyder that is not locked in close combat can expend energy to create a Canoptek Scarab Swarm."
The Rules Writers at Games Workshop do want you place all three bases at the same time, "At the start of each Necron Movement Phase." How could they have worded it more clearly?
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 04:41:16
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!!!
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
They would have phrased it like reanimation protocols. "... within coherency of a model that itself was not..." yadda yadda.
RAI, you're probably correct, but RAW you have absolutely no leg to stand on. Especially given that the rules use the phrase "may move and act normally" in reference to the placed scarabs.
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 04:51:57
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!!!
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
This is really for YMDC, but Ghengis is right. There is only ONE begining of a phase, and all things that happen at the start of a phase happen at the same time, in game terms...this means that the conga line being advocated across the forums is ilegal..
No decent TO is going to allow the conga line, becasue of the wording of "start" of the phase, and it WILL be in the Cron FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 04:54:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 05:06:06
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!!!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Regardless of the Conga-line argument, simply adding a scarab base to an existing unit can give you an extra 3"ish of reach, considering they can move 6+1d6 and assault 12, we're looking at an effective threat range of 22-27" on turn 1.
With c'tan deployment shenanigans, or Stormy McCheapo's night fighting blanket, or a solar pulse, they're even more likely to get their hits in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 05:09:13
Subject: The Wonders that are SCARABS!!!
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
WanderingFox wrote:They would have phrased it like reanimation protocols. "... within coherency of a model that itself was not..." yadda yadda.
RAI, you're probably correct, but RAW you have absolutely no leg to stand on. Especially given that the rules use the phrase "may move and act normally" in reference to the placed scarabs.
The phrase "may move and act normally" has no bearing on placement at the start of the Movement Phase, only what the model can do afterwards. The phrase in the Reanimation Protocols "... within coherency of a model that itself was not..." is not needed and only reminds player to use existing timing and cohesion rules, not the boundless extent of their imagination.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
|