| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 03:30:55
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
Moving your opponent's units during your movement phase.
Having your Commisar join one of your opponent's units, and executing its leader when it fails a leadership check.
Those were the two I was going to vote for.
BYE
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 06:17:44
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
That the Devilfish Transport is an actual Troop Choice and can be taken on it's own.
DoomFist striking first.
Magic Cylinder (really annoys the piss out of me).
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 06:46:10
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted by BatCommander on 08/10/2006 4:11 AM Using any base size other than the standard for the model to your advantage is completely farcical and against the rules
Uh, please tell us what they mean on page 6 of the Warhammer 40,000 4th edition rulebook then when they tell us that you may base your models on a larger base than those supplied if it is 'against the rules'.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 06:50:46
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ghaz, you are right. BUT I think GW really screwed the pooch on that one.....
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 19:02:57
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The base can be larger, but the measurements would be from the original size.
|
WRYYYYYYYYY!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 19:23:50
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted by BatCommander on 08/11/2006 1:02 AM The base can be larger, but the measurements would be from the original size.
Once again, please tell us where in the rulebook you found this imaginary rule. You measure from the edge of the base, no matter what the size of the base is. You are never once directed to measure from where the edge of the base would be if you based the model on the size base it came with.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 20:26:02
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Let's see you try to enter some official tournament with the largest bases possibly on all your models.
|
WRYYYYYYYYY!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/10 23:40:23
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ummm...You are totally missing the point of this thread...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/11 00:06:38
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I think some of the silliest rules interpretations revolve around two of the same type of army fighting each other.
Tyanid units falling towards opponent's Syanpse creatures or Necron Warriors getting back up and joining their opponent's Necron units are two good examples.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/11 01:06:04
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
What happens to Tau if both players have an ethereal and one dies?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/11 03:40:17
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Posted By Longshot 08/11/2006 6:06 AM What happens to Tau if both players have an ethereal and one dies?
Also note that anytau that makes their Ld test in this scenario hates themselves (Tau)....
|
Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."
For Hearth and Home! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/11 05:45:08
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted By BatCommander 08/11/2006 1:26 AM Let's see you try to enter some official tournament with the largest bases possibly on all your models.
So? What does that have to do whit YOUR claim that you measure from where the original base should be?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/11 16:56:25
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dives with Horses
|
A really common mistake is measuring from the end of a weapon mounted on a vehicle instead of the mount as you are supposed to.
|
Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.
engine
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/11 17:21:47
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Blackship Exhumation
|
my termies can deep strike on your teleporting homer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/14 04:41:42
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Three quick ones. Orks: Can your orks flee towards your enemies wartrukk, and if they make it can they drive it? Necrons: Can your monolith port enemy necrons, and if the rules allow it whats wrong with porting them off a board edge? Can your necron lord raise dead enemy necrons? Imerial Guard: Can your Commisar join an enemy unit? And if so can he execute character models leading that squad?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/14 05:08:47
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
...your enemies wartrukk, and if they make it can they drive it?
No because they cannot be within 1" of an enemy model unless they are assaulting it, therefore they'd never be able to mount it. Can your monolith port enemy necrons, and if the rules allow it whats wrong with porting them off a board edge?
See above about not being within 1" and in order to do so you would then need to be able to control the enemy Monolith, which you would not be able to do. Can your necron lord raise dead enemy necrons
I believe you mean "Can your Necron Lord's Resurrection Orb be used for enemy models" Can your Commisar join an enemy unit?
Again see above about being within 1" of an enemy unit. second part-no by default.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/14 07:15:23
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
DaIronGob, to the above, you can if youre within 2 inches to fufill unit conherency, right? Close, but not too close, per se.
|
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/14 07:34:57
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Oh that IS disgusting.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/14 14:00:19
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
A really common mistake is measuring from the end of a weapon mounted on a vehicle instead of the mount as you are supposed to.
An even more common mistake is measuring range from anything other then the main body of a model. LOS is where you'd refer to the weapon mount, not range.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/14 17:53:14
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted by winterman on 08/14/2006 8:00 PM An even more common mistake is measuring range from anything other then the main body of a model.
Actually for models with a base you measure from the base, not the main body of the model. Only miniatures without a base (such as vehicles) measure from the nearest point of the hull/main body.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 03:17:53
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Lexington, KY
|
Well, we've gone over that the marine in a tactical squad with the lascannon keeps his bolter by the strict RAW.
Then, you read the Rapid Fire rules, and the way it's written, the ability is granted to the model carrying the gun, and not to firing with the gun itself -- so the marine with the bolter and lascannon can fire his lascannon twice at a target within 12" on the move...
Another one is Thunder Hammers. At least, I usually see them played that they delay attacks until the next combat's I1. Except they don't grant your opponent the ability to delay the attacks, just prevent you from attacking until I1; so unless the wounded model is I1 or has some manner of Power Fist, it doesn't get to attack -- you can't choose to attack at a different initiative value.
|
Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 04:11:08
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Then, you read the Rapid Fire rules, and the way it's written, the ability is granted to the model carrying the gun, and not to firing with the gun itself -- so the marine with the bolter and lascannon can fire his lascannon twice at a target within 12" on the move...
Not likely since the lascannon is listed as a HEAVY 1. That means that the rapid fire rules do no pertain in the least to a heavy weapon. You forget that the weapon itself it what classifies how it fires, not the model.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 07:13:07
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Actually for models with a base you measure from the base, not the main body of the model. Only miniatures without a base (such as vehicles) measure from the nearest point of the hull/main body.
Sorry I should have said vehicle instead of model.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 10:54:42
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Not likely since the lascannon is listed as a HEAVY 1. That means that the rapid fire rules do no pertain in the least to a heavy weapon. You forget that the weapon itself it what classifies how it fires, not the model.
Nope, 'fraid not. Go have another look at the Rapid Fire entry. It actually says: "An infantry model armed with a Rapid Fire weapon can shoot twice at models up to 12" away." Is a model with a Lascannon and a Bolter armed with a Rapid Fire weapon? Indeed they are. They can therefore, according to the Rapid Fire rules, fire twice at a target up to 12" away. No mention is made of that firing being restricted to the Rapid Fire weapon.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 11:18:02
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
In fact, if you only go by the quick reference chart for shooting (i haven't checked exceedingly heavily in the actual rules text for contradictions, but I do not know of any of the top of my head that do exist) then the number of hits inflicted are determined, THEN you use the strenght and AP of weapons in the squad to determine wounds. It never states that the hits have to coincide with the weapons firing them, thus a 10 man double melta CSM squad can fire 16 bolter rounds and two melta rounds, hit about 17 times, and then use the 2 meltas to declare 17 melta weapon attacks. WHEEEEE! go excellent legalistic rules writting GW!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 16:20:38
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
That sounds like a good way to get an army box to the face... at high velocity.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 17:21:21
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Nope, 'fraid not. Go have another look at the Rapid Fire entry. It actually says:
"An infantry model armed with a Rapid Fire weapon can shoot twice at models up to 12" away."
Is a model with a Lascannon and a Bolter armed with a Rapid Fire weapon? Indeed they are. They can therefore, according to the Rapid Fire rules, fire twice at a target up to 12" away. No mention is made of that firing being restricted to the Rapid Fire weapon.
Hmm the rule is specific to rapid fire weapons... but tries to add a generalization to the model as a whole. Also then wouldn't that now allow the models to fire on the move? :S Also the quote states the model can fire twice, so is that twos pulls of the trigger on any weapon the model has making a model being able to fire a rapid fire weapon twice (i.e. two sets of two). If this allows a heavy 1 weapon fire twice then it should allow a rapid fire weapon to rapid fire twice as well. too bad that the rules for Heavy Weapons would then over ride this with "When shooting, heavy weapons always fire the number of times indicated regardless of range". So regardless of having a bolter a lascannon can only fire once.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 17:27:01
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
too bad that the rules for Heavy Weapons would then over ride this with "When shooting, heavy weapons always fire the number of times indicated regardless of range".
Not at all. The Heavy Weapon rule simply means that every time the weapon shoots, it fires the number of times indicated. And the model carrying a Rapid Fire weapon is allowed to shoot twice. So if he has a heavy and a RF weapon, he is allowed to shoot twice, and each time he shoots, the weapon fires the number of times indicated for that weapon.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 17:30:24
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
To the extra bit you just added in... If this allows a heavy 1 weapon fire twice then it should allow a rapid fire weapon to rapid fire twice as well.
'Rapid Fire' is a class of weapon, not a mode of fire. A Rapid Fire weapon fires once. Shooting at a target under 12" allows you to shoot twice. You're trying to make it say that he can shoot twice, twice... which isn't backed up by the rules no matter how you twist them.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 17:32:19
Subject: RE: Most Insane rules interpretation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
he is allowed to shoot twice, and each time he shoots, the weapon fires the number of times indicated for that weapon.
See i figured you'd say that. Which leaves Rapid Fire weapons in a never ending algorithm (sp). Rapid fire follows the rapid fire rules allowing a model to fire twice while being armed with a rapid fire weapon. So it can fire the rapid fire weapon twice, each rapid fire shot would then allow the model to fire twice which would then allow those rapid fire shot to fire twice until you get into an insane amount of shots. 2 rapid fire shots = 4 rapid fire shots which in turns =8 rapid fire shots which in turns allows 16 rapid fire shots which = 32 rapid fire shots ad nausea
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|