Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/16 21:42:00
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Is there any concrete proof that the Hellcannon does D6 wounds? Everyone I've talked to online says it does but my LGS(the only one in town so driving an hour to the next one is not an option), is convinced it only fires as one, but damage is not resolved as such. Since it is a monster they say that is more proof that it can't I called GW and got two different answers, one saying it does D6 wounds because it fires like one, and another that says it doesn't since it's a monster. The fact these arguments come froma Dark Elf, Skaven and Daemon Player is rather ironic since they are damn near broken as it is, they want to make other armies gimped? They were the same way with 3rd eye and Lifebloom. I had to show them the FAQ before they'd change their minds. So I need literal proof it does D6 wounds, because I can't use these forums as a reliable source.
|
5deadly wrote:Well besides all the Kids not getting there way… it seems like a good codex… as a matter of fact it’s the best codex for 6th edition so far. (we’ll see who… you know?)
so…. I guess the rumors part of this is over now… Kinda feel like I waking up on the floor of a kinda cool house party where I messed with an Kinda Ok looking Chick… but now my balls itch…
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/16 22:48:27
Subject: Re:Hellcannon question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Actually the Hellcannon uses the large template and does 2D6 multiple wounds per model hit. It's on the same page in the rulebook that says "Monsters that shoot like Stone Throwers only do 1 wound per model hit." You may as well make up your own rules if your group is going to do the same thing. After all, the game is about having fun.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/16 22:54:59
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, it's a monster, so it shoots like a stone thrower then does d6 thunderstomp hits on them during the shooting phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/16 22:59:09
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Killjoy00 wrote:No, it's a monster, so it shoots like a stone thrower then does d6 thunderstomp hits on them during the shooting phase.
Another good suggestion!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/16 23:08:11
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, everyone at my store wanted proof that he doesn't attack them with his 5 attacks when the stone thrower template hits. I told them that was stupid and besides what about the chaos dwarf attacks anyway. The only rational way to handle it is to have the template do one wound each and then have the hellcannon thunderstomp them. They had to agree with that.
My store is also just in my head though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 01:14:45
Subject: Re:Hellcannon question
|
 |
Powerful Chaos Warrior
Legion of Doom Headquarters, Virginia
|
smack them with your rule book. It's a stone thrower. This is cut and dry.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 01:37:32
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Fickle Fury of Chaos
|
Doesn't it just use the stone thrower rules to fire, and use the weapon profile in its book to deal the damage? Its weapon profile does not mention D6 wounds on it, where as I'm pretty sure all other stone throwers do regardless if they special rules or not. The stone thrower rules themselves say to only use the weapon profile, and thus the multi-wound, when the armybook itself does not specify. The Warrior of Chaos armybook does specify. It does show the weapon profile for the hellcannon, and that profile does not have multi-wound.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/17 01:46:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 04:16:48
Subject: Re:Hellcannon question
|
 |
Powerful Chaos Warrior
Legion of Doom Headquarters, Virginia
|
I was completely wrong. I never noticed that part of the BRB that tells you to differ to the rules in the army book. I thought the big book had a general description of stone throwers and that the Hell Cannon was the same, but strength 5.
Needless to say, I had this completely wrong. Thanks for the info seph.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 04:43:22
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
While I've enjoyed the ridiculous combinations of monster + stone thrower rules, here's the text from the WoC book: Doomfire: The Hellcannon fires as a stone thrower with a Strength of 5 (10 for the model under the hole). Units hit by the template must take a Panic test at -1 Ld. So, it's a 5(10) stone thrower. Which means small template, placed within 60" (or so), scattered using scatter + arty dice, hits what it touches, and does D6 wounds. Ka-bam! - Salvage
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/17 04:43:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 07:38:49
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
I think people are getting caught up in the "fires as", tells you how to shoot it, but they think that doesn't tell you how it hits.
Does that mean my Scrap Launchers now do D6 wounds? I'll have to double check the wording on those.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 10:35:29
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Powerful Pegasus Knight
|
Uhhm, no.
Scraplaunchers say that they do a single wound only. But they have their own fun suprise of course.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 13:46:11
Subject: Re:Hellcannon question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Glimpse The Void wrote: I never noticed that part of the BRB that tells you to differ to the rules in the army book. I thought the big book had a general description of stone throwers and that the Hell Cannon was the same, but strength 5.
.
No you were right. The Hellcannon IS the same, but strength 5. Nothing overrides its ability to do d6 wounds, it just overrides the strength of those hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 14:53:33
Subject: Re:Hellcannon question
|
 |
Trollkin Champion
|
Wow, everyone has a different answer. All with rules to back them up... a pretty gray area.
|
"You have to be realistic about these things." Logen Ninefingers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 16:01:25
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
The thing is a monster which also is a stonethrower. The "fires as a stonethrower" simply lets you know how you need to resolve firing it and the wounds it causes.
Since the stonethower rules are not listed in the entry you then go to the BRB entry on stonethrowers. There you find out how a stonethrower works, which is how the hellcannon fires.
The only way the hellcannon wouldn't cause d6 wounds is if you were explicitly told in the hellcannon's entry that wounds caused by it are resolved differently.
To resolve this show them that it says it shoots like a stonethrower then challenge them to show you where it says that wounds are resolved differently. They won't be able to.
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 16:21:51
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It does D6 wounds, as it is fired "as a stonethrower"
There is no more specific rule saying it does less wounds, so it doesnt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/17 20:29:12
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Bear in mind it only does d6 wounds to whatever was under the hole taking the Str 10 hit. Everything else just gets 1 wound.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/19 00:19:20
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Scribe of Dhunia
|
"the stone throwers multiple wounds (D6) only applies to the high strength hit caused against the model under the templates central hole - unsaved wounds from the low strength hit are not multiplied." pg. 115
Only the model under the hole is going to get the D6, no others.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/25 03:22:14
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So the general consensus seems to be that the WoC army book ONLY over writes the Strength of the shot, thus the D6 Wounds still applies.
Now, riddle me this:
Misfire 6: Boom!
The Hellcanon fires a spectacularly devastating blast. Resolve the shot as if it were a direct hit, using a Strength of 10 instead of 5. The Hellcannon cannot fire for the rest of the game
Additionally, Stone Thrower rules:
The Stone thrower's Multiple Wounds (D6) special rule applies only to the high-Strength hit cause against the model under the template's central hole - unsaved wounds from the low Strength hit are not multiplied
I'm GUESSING every wound would be Multiple Wounds ( D6), since it's all resolved at the higher strength, but because the BRB also mentions the template's central hole, it's kind of a grey spot as well.
Additionally, the Hellcannon can stand and shoot, since it fires as a stonethrower, but it's not actually a warmachine, right?
edit; The rulebook describes the reason for the D6 wounds as because the central target is hit by "the main payload", but this is just a hypothetical explination for the matter and not the literal reasoning for it, so I don't think this really matters? I don't know.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/25 03:44:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/25 05:49:23
Subject: Re:Hellcannon question
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Additionally, the Hellcannon can stand and shoot, since it fires as a stonethrower, but it's not actually a warmachine, right?
No as per the FAQ
Q. Can the Hellcannon Stand and Shoot against chargers? (p66)
A. No.
|
2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/25 11:06:07
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it is NOT D6 wounds on that misfire - it is still 1 wound at S10, and D6 wounds at S10 if you are under the central hole.
Again, all it is doing is changing the strength of the blast, NOT the special rule for what happens if you are at the centre of the blast.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/25 12:16:18
Subject: Hellcannon question
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
^
Thats what I thought.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
 |
 |
|