| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/18 16:02:58
Subject: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I see alot of people mentioning that Tiggy gives you a 24" radius on fear of the darkness. However, I noticed that Tiggy doubles the (game term) range on psychic powers, and Fear has no mention of range anywhere, so fear should only be 12" for Tiggy also.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/18 16:23:15
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From page 26 of Codex Space Marines: Every enemy unit witiin 12" of the Librarian...
Sure sounds like a range to me.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/18 16:25:12
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Actually, to me it sounds like the range is 0, and it's basically a template.
But if Tiggy can double the area of effect on a fear, then the range on a bolter changes to 12" when it double taps.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/18 19:18:40
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
Ummm... no. How does that compute? Those two concepts pass like ships in the night. One does not mean the other.
The range of FotD is 12" in all directions; Tigurius doubles that. End of line.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 01:20:17
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But no where is the game term 'range' mentioned in the fear entry.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 02:02:04
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It could be equally argued that the range for FoD is 12", or that FoD has no range, but rather an area of effect with a 12" radius. The term 'range' is not clearly defined in the rules.
A strict, logical interpretation of the Shooting rules (which also pertain to psychic powers), would indicate that if you treat the multiple enemy units affected by FoD as all targets of FoD, you are then measuring a 12" range to all of them, which would suggest that 12" is the range, and Tigurius then doubles it to 24". An extension of that, however, is that you are then treating all of them as targets of the power, which means that he must have LOS to all units he is affecting. If you treat FoD as having no target at all, then you are not measuring a range to any target - you could then argue that 12" is not a range, just a radius that defines an area of effect.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 02:32:21
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There are powers that have a defined 'range' value (The shooting type powers-Smite, etc). Fear is not one of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 06:23:41
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Skyth, 02/18/2006 10:25 PM Actually, to me it sounds like the range is 0, and it's basically a template
If it was a template, then they'd tell you to use the template. The range is a 12" radius around the Librarian.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 06:29:11
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Then were does it say range? Range is a game term (See Storm of the Emporer's Wrath). Fear has nothing that is listed as 'range' so Tiggy can't double it.
It's the exact same issue as with bolter's double-tapping. They will target a unit within 12", but the range is NOT 12".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0056/11/19 07:04:31
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And where does it say that a power's range must be expressed in a profile like a weapon? The range of Fear of the Darkness is a 12" radius from the Librarian.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:08:35
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Prove it then.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:12:47
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Could just as easily say prove it isn't...
What would you call that 12" if it isn't range?
I would say it doubles the area of effect- which is a type of range as far as i can tell
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:13:17
Subject: RE:Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted By skyth on 02/19/2006 12:08 PM Prove it then.
Yes, prove it. Prove that a range must be expressed in a profile. Otherwise the power has no range and affects nobody at all and is useless.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:15:49
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Actually, since you are the one that wants to double the 'range' with Tiggy, you are the one that is required to prove that there is a 'range' to double.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:17:20
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And again, we've shown you the range. It is a 12" radius from the Librarian. You've yet to prove that's not the power's range.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:17:23
Subject: RE:Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Posted By Bignutter on 02/19/2006 12:12 PM I would say it doubles the area of effect- which is a type of range as far as i can tell
Does that mean that if Tiggy uses Storm of the Emporer's wrath, he uses the large template?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:18:31
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Actually, you are required to prove something, not disprove something, in order to use it.
You keep on saying that the 12" is a 'range' WITHOUT any proof of that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:22:15
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
What would you call that 12" if it isn't range?
I would say it doubles the area of effect- which is a type of range as far as i can tell
If that were the case, you could then argue that Tigurius doubles the size of the Blast Template when he uses Storm of Emperor's Wrath. We know he doesn't, because the area of effect is not the range - they are not equivalent terms. It doesn't sound like it's a question of proving that range must be expressed in a shooting-type profile or not. It's more a question of whether you consider 12" to be the range of the power, which affects multiple targets, or whether you consider it to be the outer limit of a defined area of effect.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:30:47
Subject: RE:Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted By skyth on 02/19/2006 12:18 PM Actually, you are required to prove something, not disprove something, in order to use it.
You keep on saying that the 12" is a 'range' WITHOUT any proof of that.
Kind of like the pot calling the kettle black. So once again, you don't have proof that it is NOT the range. We can go on with this 'is not, is too' argument all day You keep on saying that 12" is not a 'range' WITHOUT any proof of that. If it's not the bloody range of the power, then why not?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 07:37:46
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The thing is, with the 40k rules, you NEVER have to prove something isn't, only that they are.
From the How to Have an Intelligent Rules Debate post-
'...The rules system is permissive: this means you may only do things you are expressly allowed to do or that the rules imply you can do. You are not allowed to do anything else. '
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 08:30:42
Subject: RE:Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
I actually think Skyth is on to something. If Tiggy doubles the range of a psychic power, that shouldn't mean he doubles any distance mentioned in any psychic power. I'm having trouble thinking of other powers that mention a distance and don't refer to it as a range, but here is what I thought of that is a bit of a stretch: A minor psychic power (can't remember the name of it) allows you to hold a unit back and deploy it after all other units, including infiltrators. So the deployment zone could be 18" out, and Tiggy doubles the range of the power. Therefore if you use this psychic power with Tiggy you can deploy your unit 36" away from your board edge right? I think range needs to be clearly defined in the psychic power if you want to claim that you can double it. In FotD it isn't clearly defined, so you should err on the side of caution. - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 09:24:26
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The thing is, with the 40k rules, you NEVER have to prove something isn't, only that they are
And again, you have never proven that they ARE anything other than the range.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 09:59:05
Subject: RE:Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
So, uhh... lemme get this straight, just so we're clear. The 12"... uhh... range of FoD isn't actually a range because FoD doesn't have a range. In stead, and, again, this is just so we're clear, it has a psudeo-template without having a template or mentioning a template in the rules.
Yeah, I'd say this thread is yet another good example of why Skyth's post count is so high.
BYE
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 11:04:03
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
12" might be the range of FoD. Or the range might be zero, and 12" nothing more than defining the outer area of effect. That's what it comes down to - does the power have a range, or just an area of effect?
Without a useful definition of the term 'range', this discussion will not advance beyond 'is not-is too'. However, since everyone is so certain of their rightness in this thread, I'm sure people will have no trouble giving a definition of the term 'range' that supports their view.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 11:05:59
Subject: RE:Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Let's start with rapid fire targeting within 12" without a 12" Range. Besides, the onus isn't on me to prove that it isn't range, rather on YOU to prove that it is range. And HMBC, since you have to resort to ad hominum attacks, I'll take that as you conceeding the argument in my favor.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 11:38:18
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Besides, the onus isn't on me to prove that it isn't range, rather on YOU to prove that it is range.
Yes it is about you proving that it is not the range of the psychic power. So far you have provided squat to back up your position other than 'I say so' You want proof that it is the power's range? Fine. The 'range' of a psychic power is the distance at which it is effective. Storm of the Emperor's Wrath is effective against one unit within 12". That is it's 'range'. Fear of the Darkness is effective against any enemy units within 12" of the Librarian. That is it's 'range'. Now either provide something to actually back up your postion other than your lame 'It's not and I don't have to prove it' so-called argument.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 11:38:28
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
To answer for HBMC: ?I was not making fun of you personally; I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea -- a practice I shall always follow.? - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 11:52:38
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Range is a game term.
The game term range is not mentioned ANYWHERE in the fear entry.
Your so-called proof is inadequate.
As I am not attempting ANY action, I need to prove nothing. The onus of proof is on the person attempting an action.
This is the EXACT same situation as a marine moving and firing his bolter at something within 12". The weapon can only affect a unit within 12", but the RANGE of the bolter remains 24" and can cause casaulties within 24". Unless something says that it is a RANGE (game term) then it isn't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 12:16:51
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It does seem to me that you can't claim that the 12" is a range.
While 'the distance at which it's effective' is a good definition, we don't know that it's the right one. It might well be 'the distance such that if the distance between the firer and the target exceeds it, the weapon/power cannot be used'. You simply don't shoot your guns if you're out of range - you don't even roll to-hit for plasma weapons. However, you're perfectly capable of casting Fear if nothing's around. This at least hints at the Librarian being the target.
Furthermore, when you talk about 'the distance at which it's effective', the question has to be asked: what is the effect? Couldn't we argue that the 'effect' is that everything within 12" of the Librarian gets scared? That is, 'things within 12" getting scared' is just a side effect. It's effective at all ranges, as there doesn't seem to be a target other than the Librarian.
You really do need to prove that the 12" is a range. You're essentially saying that you can take a given number in a weapon/power description, with no demonstrable proof that it's a range (so far anyway), and claim that it's the range.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/02/19 12:50:27
Subject: RE: Tiggy and fear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The game term range is not mentioned ANYWHERE in the fear entry.
And again, so bloody what. Where is it ever mandated that that a psychic power's range must be given in a profile in big bold letters? It's still 'because I said so' with you. Provide any rules that states that if they don't use the word 'range' then it does not have one.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|