Switch Theme:

Ramshackle Rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The rules tells you to Move, not if you wanna move you can.

It says Move 3d6. Not you may not move 3d6 because you trukk is immobilized.

As far as Possible , means as far as possible as long as you don't run into area terrain or other models. It does not state anything about Immobilized? Can you show me where it says this ?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sigh. Do you just not bother reading the posts? Note where I state that the lack of "move, even if immobilised" means it is NOT specific enough to override immobilised?

You are told you cannot do some thing (move when immobilised)
You need to be told you can do something in order to override this (needs to say "yes, even if you're immobilised")

Seriously, after 13 pages you're still trying this? Can you, for once, cite some actual rules?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





You are siting any rules at all. You are siting opinions based on what you have read.

Where in the rules does it state that i have to be told to do something to override ? Page please so i can read it..... please !

Here is a Rule.

3-4 Kareen-- The shot sends the trukk out of controll. Move the trukk 3d6 as far as possible in a random direction(the Ork Player chooses if he rolls a Hit on the scatter dice). Then apply the Kaboom result above. If the Trukk would kareen into enemy models or terrain, stop it 1" away.


What so hard about the rule that tells you to do something and when not too ! Move the trukk 3d6 as far as possible unless one of these other things happen like running into enemy models or terrain.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, I AM citing rules, and have done since the start. It is also entirely logically consistent and doesnt require assuming they didnt REALLY mean "move" when they wrote "move"

Clearly you just dont understand what specific > general actually means. Truly.

Go, have a read of Sweeping Advance. Then, read And They Shall Know No Fear. Note what "specific" truly means in this ruleset.

I'm done here. "move" and "as far as possible" all tell you that an immobilised trukk isnt going anywhere. 13 pages of no new rules to contradict this shows this plain and simply.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/04 20:57:15


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





You have not proved me wrong yet. Give me some page numbers. If you can show me where in the rules it states what you are saying i will agree but i don't think you can. you are not siting rules but interpretation of the rules you have read. when i post a rule as written in the BRB and give page numbers, you say I am not siting any rules.


Please again show me where it says what you are referring too.


GW does not use the same writers for all of there books. This guys made it clear. Not all the Codexes out there are this black and white. Just because you can pick a rule out like this does not mean anything. I am sure I can go to a faq and show this does not always work the same way. I will for you !

Go, have a read of Sweeping Advance. Then, read And They Shall Know No Fear. Note what "specific" truly means in this ruleset.


Here is" And they shall know fear"
Space Marines automatically pass tests to regroup, and can take such tests even if the squad has been reduced to less than half strength by casualties, though all other criteria
apply. Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special
rule. If Space Marines are caught by a sweeping advance, they are not destroyed and will instead continue to fight normally. If this happens then the unit is subject to the No
Retreat! rule in this round of close combat and might therefore suffer additional casualties.Units which include Servitors are still subject to this rule, providing that the unit contains at least one Space Marine.

SWEEPING ADVANCES

When a unit falls back from combat, the victors make a Sweeping Advance, attempting to cut down the retreating enemies.

If the victor has models still engaged in combat with other units that are not falling back, the victors do not get a chance to execute a sweeping advance and the retreating enemy falls back safely

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/04 21:59:48


 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig



Southern California

You (and others) have shown, Jordan23, many examples of "immobilized" items beeing moved in 40K. It does happen. Kareem (In My Opinion) is one of those instances.

It will take a black and white FAQ to finally settle this for some of those who have posted in this thread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/04 22:42:51


Brunettes and Beer 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I would agree, It needs to be and to bad there is not away to get a lot of these items looked at and FAQ'ed faster. I think GW does a lot of this crap on purpose.
   
Made in gb
Preacher of the Emperor






Manchester, UK

jordan23ryan wrote:I think GW does a lot of this crap on purpose.


On purpose to annoy you? or on purpose because 99.9% of people play the rule as it is written?


1500pts

Gwar! wrote:Debate it all you want, I just report what the rules actually say. It's up to others to tie their panties in a Knot. I stopped caring long ago.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Jordan - now you've got both rules, do you see where ATSKNF *specifies* trhat is works against Sweeping Advance?

That is an example of specific > general.

Now show, finally, where Kareen SPECIFICALLY overrides Immobilised. AS in, where Kareen states "move the model, even if the model is immobilised"

Oh wait, you cant. Kareen is NOT more specific than Immobilised.

You're done.
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

I think after 13 pages, with, if we're honest, pretty much just the same points being hammered back and forth, we are all done.

.. least we can agree on that eh ? [/optimism]

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: