Switch Theme:

Ork Trukk question???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Chili, NY

So I'm very perplexed with the way the new codex states the info about the Trukks. Am I only allowed to take a Trukk as a dedicated transport? I'd like to stick my burnas in there and have them use it but they don't have a "dedicated transport" slot. I mean I understand I can take a squad of 12 boys and use the their trukk as burna transport but then I feel like I'm obligated to take a small unit when my army is based on bigger units. Someone got an answer?

You fink dat hurt, wait till you see what I got in store fur you...
2000k
1500k  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Chili, NY

Does no one know?

You fink dat hurt, wait till you see what I got in store fur you...
2000k
1500k  
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Pensacola, FL

yes the trukk can only be bought as a dedicated transport, However when bought with a squad of boys it can only transport those boys since it is there dedicated transport. If you wanna get your burna boys into a transport it's gotta be either a battlewagon or a looted wagon.


 
   
Made in gb
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought






Albany, Australia

Not entirely correct. Only the mob of Boyz it was bought with may start embarked on it. You are quite free to deploy it empty and embark your Burnas in your first turn, or embark them at any later stage.

   
Made in ca
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Arakasi is correct, you can buy it for a unit of boys, and deploy it empty, then have your Burnas embark first turn. Also the squad of boys that brings the Trukk can be larger then 12, it just can not embark unless it is 12 models or less.

40k 7th Edition Record
11 Games played
5 Games Won 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Thaanos wrote:Also the squad of boys that brings the Trukk can be larger then 12, it just can not embark unless it is 12 models or less.

This is incorrect. Only mobs of 12 or less can have a trukk.

 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Thaanos wrote:Arakasi is correct, you can buy it for a unit of boys, and deploy it empty, then have your Burnas embark first turn. Also the squad of boys that brings the Trukk can be larger then 12, it just can not embark unless it is 12 models or less.


Only Spess Mareens of other colors than black get that special treatment.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in ca
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

insaniak wrote:
Thaanos wrote:Also the squad of boys that brings the Trukk can be larger then 12, it just can not embark unless it is 12 models or less.

This is incorrect. Only mobs of 12 or less can have a trukk.

Ooops my bad, I didn't have my codex in front of me....

Jidmah wrote:
Only Spess Mareens of other colors than black get that special treatment.

Ya I was thinking of my Tactical Marines and a Razorback....

40k 7th Edition Record
11 Games played
5 Games Won 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver




Los Angeles

Trukks aren't that great for burnas anyways, it will get blown up.

Battlewagons are a lot more survivable.

14 Trades and counting

http://www.3forint.com

 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

With the added bonus that you can fit 15 burnas, a kff mek with burna and a warboss with kombi-skorcha all in the same transport Flames...mmmmm....

Of course if you play full disclosure, and most do, that battlebus is going up in flames... mmm... flames...

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in gb
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker






Norwich

Ascalam wrote:With the added bonus that you can fit 15 burnas, a kff mek with burna and a warboss with kombi-skorcha all in the same transport Flames...mmmmm....

Of course if you play full disclosure, and most do, that battlebus is going up in flames... mmm... flames...





 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Chili, NY

Thanks everyone, great help!

You fink dat hurt, wait till you see what I got in store fur you...
2000k
1500k  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





insaniak wrote:
Thaanos wrote:Also the squad of boys that brings the Trukk can be larger then 12, it just can not embark unless it is 12 models or less.

This is incorrect. Only mobs of 12 or less can have a trukk.


Are you sure about this ? In the FAQ for the SM's I found this....... Am I reading this wrong ?



Q: Some Space Marine squads can take a Razorback as a
dedicated transport. A Razorback has a transport capacity
of six models. Can you still choose this as a dedicated
transport for a squad with more than six models? (p77)
A: Yes
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

Yes, but in the Kodex: Orks it specifically says that mobs of 12 or fewer may take a trukk.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





cgmckenzie wrote:Yes, but in the Kodex: Orks it specifically says that mobs of 12 or fewer may take a trukk.

-cgmckenzie


I just read that and it does not state that? What page so I can read it. Thanks...


Update.... It does not state that at all. It tells you they can have 12 models in a trukk. This would fall under the same issue i found on the SM FAQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/07 01:05:28


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's in the Boyz army list entry, where it lists the transport option.

The FAQ entry for Space Marines is referring to the fact that they don't have any similar restriction. It doesn't over-ride the rules for other Codexes that do have a restriction on unit size.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/07 01:05:14


 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

Pg 100 ork kodex
"Mobs of 12 or fewer models may take a trukk as a dedicated transport vehicle."

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





cgmckenzie wrote:Pg 100 ork kodex
"Mobs of 12 or fewer models may take a trukk as a dedicated transport vehicle."

-cgmckenzie


I see it and it does say it, Thanks. I have never played that way but that is dumb. Lol
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

Just a quick piece of advice: if people are referencing a rule about a unit, check all pieces in the codex about that unit before calling shenanigans.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





cgmckenzie wrote:Just a quick piece of advice: if people are referencing a rule about a unit, check all pieces in the codex about that unit before calling shenanigans.

-cgmckenzie


I wonder if this a is Good Case for RAW vs RAI. Are there other units that have this kind of wording to stop them from take more models then the vehicle can hold. Then again it is orks so they just might really wanted it this way. It would be cool to take 30 boys and a trukk for a group of burna's
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

jordan23ryan wrote:
cgmckenzie wrote:Just a quick piece of advice: if people are referencing a rule about a unit, check all pieces in the codex about that unit before calling shenanigans.

-cgmckenzie


I wonder if this a is Good Case for RAW vs RAI. Are there other units that have this kind of wording to stop them from take more models then the vehicle can hold. Then again it is orks so they just might really wanted it this way. It would be cool to take 30 boys and a trukk for a group of burna's


Almost every unit in the game has this restriction. There are a few exceptions, like Space Marines and Razorbacks. But, the idea is that if you take 10 Marines with a Razorback, you'd combat squad.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Only Space Marines get that groovy shenanigan. It's not just orks, it's all non-marines (and Black templars )

There is no Raw/Rai issue, as it was written deliberately that way, because they are such special snowflakes..

This theme seems familiar somehow..

Everyone else can only take a dedicated transport if the unit is under the capacity of the vehicle. It's usually pretty clear.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






No it's not. Most dedicated transports are just available to appropriate sized units due to balancing. Just imagine a kan wall getting 4-6 trucks just to tank shock stuff and blow up hordes with the guaranteed 6" explosion from Kaboom.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

um, you can, dude.

Take 6 barebones troops units, leave them disembarked and have at The Kaboom isn't a guaranteed 6'' as far as I remember though, nor is Kaboom a guaranteed result in any way. Sounds like a rather risky and pointless tactic to me...


No it isn't what? Which part of it are you disagreeing with?

Did I at any point suggest that the transports should be allowed regardless of unit size? I'm not seeing it.

I pointed out that dedicated vehicles are squad-size limited. They almost all have text saying that you can only have the transport if your unit is under x size. Seems clear to me

The only exception i know of is Space Marines, with he Razorback. Any others?

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Ascalam wrote:The only exception i know of is Space Marines, with he Razorback. Any others?


I believe Imperial Guard can take Chimeras even if they blob up into a squad too big to fit inside.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Grakmar wrote:
Ascalam wrote:The only exception i know of is Space Marines, with he Razorback. Any others?


I believe Imperial Guard can take Chimeras even if they blob up into a squad too big to fit inside.


There's few IG units that can buy a Chimera and be over capacity before that. Ogryns can since they take two spaces apiece and can potentially start the game ten strong. Still, that's one codex besides marines that doesn't mention units having to fit in the DT they can buy.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Ok.

How about anything non-IOM

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Ascalam wrote:um, you can, dude.

Take 6 barebones troops units, leave them disembarked and have at The Kaboom isn't a guaranteed 6'' as far as I remember though, nor is Kaboom a guaranteed result in any way. Sounds like a rather risky and pointless tactic to me...


No it isn't what? Which part of it are you disagreeing with?

Did I at any point suggest that the transports should be allowed regardless of unit size? I'm not seeing it.

I pointed out that dedicated vehicles are squad-size limited. They almost all have text saying that you can only have the transport if your unit is under x size. Seems clear to me

The only exception i know of is Space Marines, with he Razorback. Any others?


My post was in response to jordans, yours wasn't there. Just look at the posting times.

The point is you can get four fast big shootas with the ability to tankshock in addition to 80 boyz, for 35 points each.

Kaboom! is yet another translation error in the German codex, it actually says 6" rather than D6" there, my fault.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Fair enough then

Didn't see the posting times were so close, so I assumed that you were answering me. It had been a long day, and i'm never at my best after about 48 waking hours in a row. Sorry about that :(

I WISH it was guaranteeably as 6' explosion. It would make people a lot more cagy about attacking in close to ork vehicles

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: