| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 05:35:32
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Longmeadow MA 25+ Trade Rep
|
Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring attacks on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly As If It Were Disembarked and Charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"
It doesn't say they take place in the Assault phase, the only condition I see is that the vehicle be within 2 inches. So, hit me with some facts as to why this would only take place in the assault phase, Dakka Dakka!
|
"Orkses never lost a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fighting so it don't count. If we runs for it we don't die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!"
I dig how in a setting where giant, muscled fungus men ride Mad Max cars and use their own teeth as currency, the concept of little engineering dudes with beards was considered a step too far down the aisle of silliness. ADB |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 05:37:12
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
When else are you given permission for a model to make close combat attacks?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 05:45:58
Subject: Re:When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Longmeadow MA 25+ Trade Rep
|
I see where you are going with this, but my rebuttal is that you are allowed to make moves when not in the Movement phase...why not close combat attacks? Armor Plates don't say what phase they work in, they just work. Both the Grabbin Klaw and Wrecking Ball are very specific as to which phase they are used in, the Boarding Planks are not.
(I'm playing Devil's Advocate here, for the fun of the debate)
|
"Orkses never lost a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fighting so it don't count. If we runs for it we don't die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!"
I dig how in a setting where giant, muscled fungus men ride Mad Max cars and use their own teeth as currency, the concept of little engineering dudes with beards was considered a step too far down the aisle of silliness. ADB |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 05:51:39
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Read "...allows a single ork to make its close combat attack..."
So, it allows the ork to make its close combat attacks, which it will make in the Assault phase.
It's not the Boarding Planks making the attack, it's the Ork. And the Ork makes attacks in the Assault phase, with or without a Boarding Plank.
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 06:04:29
Subject: Re:When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Dez wrote:I see where you are going with this, but my rebuttal is that you are allowed to make moves when not in the Movement phase...why not close combat attacks?
You're allowed to move outside the movement phase when the rules specifically allow you to do so.
There is no such similar permission in the boarding plank rules. It doesn't say that you can make your attacks at any time, or in any phase that you wouldn't normally be allowed to make them in. It simply allows you to make your attacks as if you were disembarked and charging... which happens in the assault phase.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 07:47:19
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
the Ork FAQ update answers this, indirectly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 07:50:55
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Still waiting on a FAQ as to whether it works in your opponent's Assault phase
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 07:56:37
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Since you can't normally charge in your opponent's assault phase, and nothing in the boarding plank rules over-rides that, I'm not really sure an FAQ response is necessary.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 07:56:53
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
Why wouldn't it work in your opponent's phase? Models may make attacks in both phases if elible. The Boarding plank makes them eligible.
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 08:02:20
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except you cannot charge in your opponents phase, meaning you cannot attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 08:45:36
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
axeman1n wrote:Why wouldn't it work in your opponent's phase? Models may make attacks in both phases if elible. The Boarding plank makes them eligible.
Because it doesn't just let you make attacks. It lets you make attacks as if charging... which can only happen in your own assault phase without explicit permission otherwise.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/14 11:58:14
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
insaniak wrote:axeman1n wrote:Why wouldn't it work in your opponent's phase? Models may make attacks in both phases if elible. The Boarding plank makes them eligible.
Because it doesn't just let you make attacks. It lets you make attacks as if charging... which can only happen in your own assault phase without explicit permission otherwise.
Exactly this is the whole point with boarding planks, lean out and tap a vehicle or walker in your turn then scurry back inside and make them take out your transport before touching you.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 22:23:00
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
I decided to post here instead of making a new thread on the subject.
I do not feel that all of the questions have been answered fully.
The first question of when it goes off, the best we can assume is that it happens in the assault phase, and I doubt anyone would really argue against that.
As for the question of if it works in your opponents turn is a tougher one.Insaniak brings a good point that by counting as charging it excludes the opponents phase. However that is not entirely true.
For starters, we are counting as assaulting as if charging. This makes a lot of interpretations possible. Counter attack comes to mind as an example of getting charging bonuses in your opponents turn.
Also, the rules allow a unit to attack a vehicle in the opponents turn if it did not move, so it can be argued that the boarding plank does the same so long as the requirements of 2" and not moving greater than 12" are met.
This is really an FAQ question. One the INAT should cover. I have seen it played both ways and the majority consensus that I have seen is that it does work in both player turns.
|
NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 23:39:18
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Darkness wrote:For starters, we are counting as assaulting as if charging. This makes a lot of interpretations possible. Counter attack comes to mind as an example of getting charging bonuses in your opponents turn.
Also, the rules allow a unit to attack a vehicle in the opponents turn if it did not move, so it can be argued that the boarding plank does the same so long as the requirements of 2" and not moving greater than 12" are met.
Both of these other examples specifically address them working in your opponent's turn.
The Boarding Plank does not.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 01:42:43
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
Sadly, I feel any ambiguity would be answered if the codex was specific as to when the upgrade was used. With out it specifying "your assault phase" we have no idea when it works other than an assumption.
It does not specify this, and it says "exactly as if," which is a loaded statement in its own right.
Your assumption of when it goes off is as baseless as my point that it could work in the opposing assault phase by your logic. It does not specify any of it, which leads us back to the OP's question.
The GW FAQ and the INAT do not cover this, and one of them should. There is a valid strategy to be had using grabbing klaws and boarding planks to kill tanks in your opponents turn if this is legal, and as of right now, its a matter of a D6 or a TO's interpretation.
The wrecking ball upgrade is also peculiar in this as to if it works in both assault phases.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/04 01:44:33
NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 01:56:40
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
"exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging." does not appear to allow any room for ambiguity. There is only one phase during which the Ork may charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 02:07:23
Subject: When do Boarding Planks go off?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Darkness wrote:It does not specify this, and it says "exactly as if," which is a loaded statement in its own right.
But that's the thing, the 'exactly as if...' is what gives you the specification. If you perform an action exactly as if charging, then you follow the same restrictions as when you are charging, with the sole exception being that granted by the boarding plank rules (namely that you don't have to actually move the model into base contact).
If you're doing it in your opponent's turn, then it is not functioning 'exactly as if the ork was disembarked and charging'... because he can't do that in your opponent's turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|