Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 16:47:54
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
The question is in the title. If a unit of Space Marines fails a morale test and falls back, then regroups on their turn and moves the 3" allowed by the regroup rules, do they count as stationary or moving?
From the Rulebook on regrouping:
....If the unit successfully passes its Leadership test, it stops falling back and regroups. The unit can immediately move up to 3" (this move is unaffected by difficult terrain, but dangerous terrain tests must be taken as normal).
Once a unit has regrouped, it cannot otherwise move during that Movement phase, but otherwise it behaves as normal. For example, it can shoot (though it always counts as moving on the turn it regroups) or run, and it can even launch an assault if it gets the chance.....
From ATSKNF:
......Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule.....
A friend of mine insists that while ATSKNF allows Space Marines to move normally in the movement phase, it does not allow them to count as stationary if they only move the 3" allowed by regrouping successfully due to the underlined wording. I believe he is wrong, and the last line of the section I quoted above removes ALL restrictions, and allows a unit to count as stationary even if they move the 3".
Thoughts?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0010/10/30 16:51:30
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Yep you make a 3" consoldation and then can fire a heavy weapon if you are a space marine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 16:56:33
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You are still stationary, as the rule about "moving" does not apply to you. Only if you choose to move the 6" normal move would you count as having moved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 18:20:06
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Tri wrote:Yep you make a 3" consoldation and then can fire a heavy weapon if you are a space marine.
Does that mean a SM unit that regroups can make a further 6" movement after the 3"?
The way I have always read the rules is that the 3" is a limitation placed upon the unit when it regroups and it is pointless not to take because they count as moving regardless yet for SM with ATSKNF ignore that limitation and if they stand still they are stationary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 18:24:55
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Snord
|
You Get both "moves" yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 18:29:23
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
One more vote with the others, Aldarionn:
SM get the 3". And then do anything normal.
Move. Or stay still and fire a heavy wep.
'cuz dayz spehshul.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 18:35:32
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Saiisil wrote:Tri wrote:Yep you make a 3" consoldation and then can fire a heavy weapon if you are a space marine.
Does that mean a SM unit that regroups can make a further 6" movement after the 3"?
The way I have always read the rules is that the 3" is a limitation placed upon the unit when it regroups and it is pointless not to take because they count as moving regardless yet for SM with ATSKNF ignore that limitation and if they stand still they are stationary.
from the FAQ
Q. When a unit with the And They Shall Know no Fear
special rule regroups do they get to immediately move up
to 3" as well as moving as normal that turn? (p51)
A. Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 22:06:39
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Actually, the argument that my friend makes is that ATSKNF removes the restrictions for MOVING FURTHER, but not for moving the 3".
......Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule.....
He claims that the second half of the above line only refers to the first half. IE, that "these restrictions" are simply "cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not" which does not preclude that you have moved 3" and have thus moved in the movement phase, and therefore count as having moved.
Does that more specific argument change anyones opinion?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/30 22:07:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 22:12:19
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
Aldarionn wrote:Actually, the argument that my friend makes is that ATSKNF removes the restrictions for MOVING FURTHER, but not for moving the 3".
......Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule.....
He claims that the second half of the above line only refers to the first half. IE, that "these restrictions" are simply "cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not" which does not preclude that you have moved 3" and have thus moved in the movement phase, and therefore count as having moved.
Does that more specific argument change anyones opinion?
Nope. Still stationary.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 23:00:05
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Yeah that seemed like the most likely answer. The problem I see (and the likely reason behind the argument my friend is making) is the inclusion of the line "whether they do or not."
If we break down the actual quoted phrase, there are about 10,000 things wrong with it.
1{Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally} and 2{always count as moving} 3{whether they do or not}, but 4{these restrictions} 5{do not apply to models subject to this special rule}
Lets take this line by line.
Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally - Essentially this is referring to other models that do not benefit from ATSKNF. These models cannot move normally after regrouping, so we have established one restriction. However, these models may STILL move 3", which we know must be ABNORMAL movement, since they cannot move normally.
always count as moving - This is tied to the first section, and establishes a second restriction. Models that regroup always count as moving.
whether they do or not - This line is redundant. Models that cannot move normally would not count as moving if they did or not, because they CANT move normally in the first place, and always count as moving anyway. Why is this line even there?
these restrictions - So now we use this line in reference to the above restrictions we have established. Models that Regroup cannot move normally. Models that regroup always count as moving. With me so far?
do not apply to models subject to this special rule - This line tells you what the models do with the restrictions listed. They ignore them. That said, they ONLY ignore THOSE restrictions.
The rule does not allow you to ignore movement. It simply allows you to ignore the "always counts as moving" restriction. In other words, if you Regroup and stand still, you do not count as moving and may fire heavy weapons, or rapid-fire weapons up to their maximum range, etc...
So we come down to the question of the 3" move. Nowhere in the above sentence is the 3" move mentioned, however it is implied that the 3" movement is ABNORMAL, since Regrouping models cannot perform normal movement. So does abnormal movement in the movement phase count as having moved for purposes of firing heavy weapons?
I don't know. Honestly I don't think so, because it's abnormal and outside of the standard movement rules, and I believe the intent of the rule is to allow Space Marines to take the 3" move as a bonus and then have a complete phase to do as they wish.
But this is the basis for my friends argument, and I sort of see his point.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/30 23:01:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/30 23:16:01
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
A Move is an established thing, up to 6" in the movement phase.
Since ATSKNF models ignore "these restrictions" about "always count as moving" they do not "always count as moving" so they can regroup up to 3" and stay stationary to fire heavy weapons.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 00:21:30
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
That's how I would interpret it. But I would be remiss if I did not include my friends argument in full, hence the above post. Personally I don't believe the 3" move for regrouping should count as movement as it's simply a means of re-positioning the unit to your liking, so I agree with you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 00:29:13
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
The only issue I have with that is this, even though the regroup movement is an 'abnormal movement' it is still movement. Myself as a Blood Angels player have always played it that if they move just 1 inch they move but then I never added the 3" to any movement I make due to that FAQ (which I missed somehow). Even with that extra 3" allotment I would still consider it movement here is why, unit moves from X 3" to Y because of regroup, has the unit moved? yes it has moved, is it a normal movement? no it isn't, but is it movement? yes it is.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 01:05:19
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, the unit has not moved because of ATSKNF. Since the "always count as moving" parts "do not apply to models subject to this special rule" (ATSKNF). So if they regroup they ignore the "always count as moving" bit because that is what tells you that they count as moving when the make the regroup move. They get to ignore the part that says they count as moving, so the remain stationary even if they have regrouped up to 3"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/31 01:06:08
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 02:03:04
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
What I am trying to say is that the 3" regroup movement is still movement and it isn't a mandatory movement it is an optional movement. This is why I believe if the move even with only the regroup movement they can not fire the heavy weapon because the rule for the heavy weapon is 'if the unit moves' it doesn't specify if it moves using normal movement just if it moves.
Hey if I am wrong about this movement meaning that the models have/haven't moved thing I am wrong but I don't think any TO would let anyone by on that.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/31 03:03:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 03:55:57
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Right, If the unit moved.
Units with ATSKNF do not count as moving when they make the 3" regroup.
They get to ignore the part that says they count as moving, so the 3" regroup is not movement for units with ATSKNF.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 05:48:50
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
To be honest, that just sounds fishy to me. How does movement not count as movement?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 05:50:04
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Because in the rule it says it doesn't count as movement.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 06:02:51
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
It does? where does it say that specifically?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 06:23:50
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Saiisil wrote:It does? where does it say that specifically?
Grab Codex: SM and read ATSKNF
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 06:29:53
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
I have and I see no where in ATSKNF where it says that they count as stationary even if they move the 'regroup move' I see where it says that they aren't prevented from moving and where it says that they don't always count as moving regardless of if they move or not but I do not see it saying "if they choose to make the 3" regroup move they count as not moving"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 07:40:21
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, but it DOES say they ignore the part about always counting as having moved if they do move 3".
You'd also be wrong about TOs lettting it by - given we follow the rules, in the main, this is perfectly well known and "gets by" us a lot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 07:47:22
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Where exactly does it say that in this 'Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule'? neither here nor anywhere else does it say that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 07:55:35
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wait, so 3" consolidation doesn't take place during the movement phase, or does it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 09:54:22
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, but it DOES say they ignore the part about always counting as having moved if they do move 3".
No it doesn't. It says that they ignore the part about always counting as moving whether they do or not. It doesn't say that they don't count as moving if they do move. Automatically Appended Next Post: junk wrote:Wait, so 3" consolidation doesn't take place during the movement phase, or does it?
Consolidation takes place in the assault phase.
The 3" move for regrouping takes place in the movement phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/31 09:55:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 12:13:28
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Ahh, I think I see what Saiisil is saying.
It's like saying this:
"I do not always eat with a fork."
Is not the same as this:
"I always do not eat with a fork." (Or, more correctly, "I never eat with a fork.")
The ATSKNF rule is essentially saying:
"Space Marines do not always count as moving on the turn they regroup."
In other words, the ATSKNF rule is telling the reader to completely ignore the existence of those restrictions. They are not there. It does not actually say that they do not count as moving; it just says that they don't always count as moving.
In light of that, if a Space Marine unit regroups and moves 3", does it count as moving?
I'm not completely sure whether or not I agree with this, but it's worth considering.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 12:53:28
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
... it is an interesting view point. I could have sworn that they tell you it doesn't count but I'm damned if i can find anything that backs that up. Ok i take back what i said earlier you can consolidate 3" and move 6" or you can stay still and shoot heavy weapons.
On a side note ...
Q. If Marneus Calgar chooses to pass a Morale Check
using his God of War special rule does he, and any unit
he has joined, take Wounds from the No Retreat!
special rule? (p84)
A. No.
...with that little rule change he just became a much better character.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 15:42:53
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Cheexsta wrote:Ahh, I think I see what Saiisil is saying.
It's like saying this:
"I do not always eat with a fork."
Is not the same as this:
"I always do not eat with a fork." (Or, more correctly, "I never eat with a fork.")
The ATSKNF rule is essentially saying:
"Space Marines do not always count as moving on the turn they regroup."
In other words, the ATSKNF rule is telling the reader to completely ignore the existence of those restrictions. They are not there. It does not actually say that they do not count as moving; it just says that they don't always count as moving.
In light of that, if a Space Marine unit regroups and moves 3", does it count as moving?
I'm not completely sure whether or not I agree with this, but it's worth considering.
This is the EXACT point of view my friend is expressing. It says they do not ALWAYS count as having moved, which is not the same as they NEVER count as having moved. Thus, if they move the 3", they have moved in the movement phase and thus cannot fire heavy weapons, nor can they fire Rapid Fire weapons at max range.
And I see his point, I really do, but it's so ambiguously worded that I'm really not sure which is right. I think the INTENT is that Space Marines are supposed to get the 3" move for free with no restrictions, and should then be able to act as normal (IE move 3" and fire as if stationary, or move 3" and an additional 6" and fire as if they moved), but that doesn't appear to be what the rule says.
Sometimes I wonder if GW actually TRIES to make the wording of their rules as convoluted as possible.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/31 15:44:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 20:09:01
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Cheexsta wrote:In light of that, if a Space Marine unit regroups and moves 3", does it count as moving?
Since nothing in the rules says that they don't, yes, they moved... and so they moved.
If they didn't move, then they wouldn't count as moving, whereas models without ATSKNF would.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 20:21:39
Subject: ATSKNF and Regrouping - Do you count as stationary even if you move the 3"?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule
So units with ATSKNF can regroup and move 3" (Because thats what the regroup rules say) and they (Do not) count as moving whether they do or not.
as per the reading of ATSKNF.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|