Switch Theme:

Imotekh the Stormlord and Night Fighting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So, unless I am missing something, if night fighting is present on your shooting phase, if it was caused by his ability, you can shoot lightning at things, however, wouldn't that also mean that the rest of your units also suffer night fighting? Also, why would you take solar pulses in your list if you are banking on Imotekh always keeping it night fighting?

Is there somehow a way where you can use his lightning ability, then solar pulse so that your units can shoot clear, then when it is your opponent's turn, it goes to night fighting again?

I am trying to think of the best way to utilize Imotekhs abilities.

Check out the blog! www.40kChampion.com 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Use his abilities to close and harass the enemy, who likely outranges you. Yes, you're affected by night fighting, but for at least the first turn you're also likely out of range anyway.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





The solar pulse is there as a safety net.

Specifically, Imotekh is taken with the shorter range necron armies (warriors, wraiths, lychguard, etc.) so that you have time to move up under the cover of night fighting.

His lightning ability is a secondary effect that helps you whittle down the enemy, not the primary use of the IC.

The basic idea is to tag imotekh with a chronometron cryptek so he can reroll his lightning strike power each shooting phase. This gets progressively harder as the game goes on, however playing a 12" effective list typically requires 3 turns of night fighting in order to get safely into range of the enemy. The issue with playing such a list is if something goes wrong with the night fighting... Like say turn 2 or 3 you fail the roll twice. In this case you can then solar pulse the enemy turn to buy you the last turn you need to advance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/01 19:56:13


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in fi
Honored Helliarch on Hypex




WanderingFox wrote:The basic idea is to tag imotekh with a chronometron cryptek so he can reroll his lightning strike power each shooting phase.


This doesn't work. The Chronometron's ability works as follows:
Necron Codex, p85 wrote:A model with a chronometron can re-roll one of his D6 rolls each phase. If the bearer is in a unit, this ability can be used to re-roll one of the unit's D6 rolls each phase.


It is important to note that Imotekh does not roll for his lightning. It is an army wide-effect, similar to the Dark Eldar roll for combat drugs. This is evident if you read his "Lord of the Storm" ability, which reads as follows:
Necron Codex, p55 wrote:If your army includes Imotekh the Stormlord, the Night Fighting rules automatically apply during the first game turn. Furthermore, you can attempt to keep the Night Fighting rules in play in subsequent turns by rolling a D6 at the start of the turn. If the result is greater than the turn number, the storm continues and Night Fighting rules remain in play. If not, the Night Fighting rules cease to be in effect and are not used for the rest of the battle.


As you can see, Lord of the Storm occurs without any action by Imotekh -- indeed, it continues even if Imotekh has not been deployed or was killed in a previous turn. Since the roll is not made by "a model" or "a unit," the Chronometron's ability cannot apply.

The plus side is that the effect doesn't end if the Stormlord bites it, so at least there's that.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/01 20:17:47


 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





I've seen it argued both ways. It really depends on whether or not you consider the power to generate from imotekh or not.

Regardless, the purpose of the solar pulse in the army is the same. It is there in case night fighting ends early.

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in fi
Honored Helliarch on Hypex




WanderingFox wrote:Regardless, the purpose of the solar pulse in the army is the same. It is there in case night fighting ends early.


Yup. No argument there.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Given that Imotekh can be dead and night fighting still continues, I think its clear it is NOT his ability, but an army rule that is caused when you buy him.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





You can take the Cryptek that allows you to turn on/off night fighting. So during your shooting phase you turn it off and then it goes away for night on his turn.

Right now you can take 2 courts and get 2 of these guys.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Right, but then you lose the lightning strikes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





USA

MJThurston wrote:You can take the Cryptek that allows you to turn on/off night fighting. So during your shooting phase you turn it off and then it goes away for night on his turn.

Right now you can take 2 courts and get 2 of these guys.


Why would you do that? Using a solar pulse in your opponents turn will yield the exact same effect, making Imotekh useless. If you're using SP's with him, use them after the night fight ends.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






MJThurston wrote:You can take the Cryptek that allows you to turn on/off night fighting. So during your shooting phase you turn it off and then it goes away for night on his turn.

Right now you can take 2 courts and get 2 of these guys.


Actually, you activate the solar pulse at the start of your turn or your opponents turn. Imotekh's lightning happens in the shooting phase.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Agreed with Corollax and Nos. Chrono DOES NOT work on Lord of the Storm.

You can take the Cryptek that allows you to turn on/off night fighting. So during your shooting phase you turn it off and then it goes away for night on his turn.


Well it's used at the begging of either players turn. If you use it during your turn while Lord of the Storm is still in effect you lose the lightning bolts.....Solar Pulse is really just a safety net as was said earlier.


Honestly with an Imotekh build you only NEED two turns of night-fight so why even bother with the solar pulse IMO. Personally I don't like Imotekh.....too gimmicky, predictable, and one-dimensional.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/02 07:01:05


 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Although I think rolling for the Night Fighting effect is still up for debate (I'll wait for the FAQ on this one), I'm pretty sure that you can use a Chronometron on the lightning effect itself, however.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It really isnt up for debate. There is no support anywhere that shows Imotekh makes the roll. None.

You cannot use it on the lightning effect, as again it is a roll made by the army, not by any unit
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:It really isnt up for debate. There is no support anywhere that shows Imotekh makes the roll. None.


Agreed. Specifically is says that YOU roll it. Not Imotekh(joined to the unit), not the unit, not the the model with the Chrono. You.

Since you don't fall under the requirements needed to re-roll, you aren't allowed to re-roll.


Now if it said that Imotekh rolls, then yeah......but it does sooooo you can't.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/02 18:30:12


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Nungunz wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:It really isnt up for debate. There is no support anywhere that shows Imotekh makes the roll. None.


Agreed. Specifically is says that YOU roll it. Not Imotekh(joined to the unit), not the unit, not the the model with the Chrono. You.

Since you don't fall under the requirements needed to re-roll, you aren't allowed to re-roll.


Now if it said that Imotekh rolls, then yeah......but it does sooooo you can't.


well of course YOU roll it, ive never seen a miniature pick up a dice and roll it
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Actually, the rules says "whilst the nightfighting rules are still in play, roll a D6..."

There are no abilities in the entire codex that say "Imotekh rolls a D6" or "the Cryptek rolls 2D6" or anything like that. Every rule, including general rules, just say "roll a D6...". By your logic, the Chronometron has no function whatsoever in the game of 40k.

For example: "ROLL TO HIT: To determine if the firing models have hit their target, roll a D6..." (BRB, p. 17)

This is the most basic concept: the unit is shooting. And the BRB still does not make any reference to "the firing unit rolls D6". Do you know why? Because the units are not rolling dice, they are firing guns. Imotekh is controlling lightning. The player is the only one that rolls dice.

No, I believe you are attempting to rules lawyer an entire ability (chronometron) out of the game because you do not like it.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

azazel the cat wrote:Actually, the rules says "whilst the nightfighting rules are still in play, roll a D6..."

There are no abilities in the entire codex that say "Imotekh rolls a D6" or "the Cryptek rolls 2D6" or anything like that. Every rule, including general rules, just say "roll a D6...". By your logic, the Chronometron has no function whatsoever in the game of 40k.

For example: "ROLL TO HIT: To determine if the firing models have hit their target, roll a D6..." (BRB, p. 17)

This is the most basic concept: the unit is shooting. And the BRB still does not make any reference to "the firing unit rolls D6". Do you know why? Because the units are not rolling dice, they are firing guns. Imotekh is controlling lightning. The player is the only one that rolls dice.

No, I believe you are attempting to rules lawyer an entire ability (chronometron) out of the game because you do not like it.


Nail on the head.

You roll a D6 to see if nightfighting continues. Immos with the Chronotek which allows you to reroll 1 D6 for that unit. The D6 is rolled for an ability Immo controls, hes in the unit, hence, you may reroll.

People are making it out to be much more complicated than it needs to be.... just like magic players.

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Zid wrote:
azazel the cat wrote:Actually, the rules says "whilst the nightfighting rules are still in play, roll a D6..."

There are no abilities in the entire codex that say "Imotekh rolls a D6" or "the Cryptek rolls 2D6" or anything like that. Every rule, including general rules, just say "roll a D6...". By your logic, the Chronometron has no function whatsoever in the game of 40k.

For example: "ROLL TO HIT: To determine if the firing models have hit their target, roll a D6..." (BRB, p. 17)

This is the most basic concept: the unit is shooting. And the BRB still does not make any reference to "the firing unit rolls D6". Do you know why? Because the units are not rolling dice, they are firing guns. Imotekh is controlling lightning. The player is the only one that rolls dice.

No, I believe you are attempting to rules lawyer an entire ability (chronometron) out of the game because you do not like it.


Nail on the head.

You roll a D6 to see if nightfighting continues. Immos with the Chronotek which allows you to reroll 1 D6 for that unit. The D6 is rolled for an ability Immo controls, hes in the unit, hence, you may reroll.

People are making it out to be much more complicated than it needs to be.... just like magic players.


So who's controlling it from the point imotekh dies and on? It's obviously not him but the ability continues.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Azazel - except some rolls are made on behalf of a specific model, like your attacks, and some are army rules.

Storm is an army rule. like seize the initiative.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Hate to bust bubbles.

You roll at the start of the turn.

You can re-roll a d6 in any phase.

The beginning of the turn is not a phase. It's before the movement phase. Sooooo....... No re-roll.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





MJThurston wrote:Hate to bust bubbles.

You roll at the start of the turn.

You can re-roll a d6 in any phase.

The beginning of the turn is not a phase. It's before the movement phase. Sooooo....... No re-roll.


"Beginning of Turn" has no definition in the rulebook. Means we have to fall back to the chart on page 9 with the turn sequence (which only specifies Movement, Shooting, Assault.....nothing else). By RAW then "Beginning of Turn" is synonymous with "Start of movement phase".
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





No beginning of the turn is before you do anything.

There is a game term of it. Turn 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ..... So at the beginning of the turn is when you roll. Then you get phases.

Also what happens before the Start of the Movement Phase? The turn does. So it's defined and it's not a phase.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/12/03 01:19:32


1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

There is no "start of turn" distinct from the start of the movement phase in 5th edition 40k.

The turn is broken down into Movement, Shooting, and Assault. Those are all the phases. There is no separate "start of turn phase", "upkeep phase", or "cleanup phase" like in some games.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Mannahnin wrote:There is no "start of turn" distinct from the start of the movement phase in 5th edition 40k.

The turn is broken down into Movement, Shooting, and Assault. Those are all the phases. There is no separate "start of turn phase", "upkeep phase", or "cleanup phase" like in some games.


Exactly. Start of turn IS start of movement phase. There is no difference.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/03 02:27:02


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Again people adding things that are not there.

You have a game turn and we all agree that there is a game turn.

So at the start of the turn you roll a d6. It does not say at the start of the movement phase. If it did say that then you would have some grounds. It does not say that. It says turn. RAW.

So you can't use the Cryptek to re-roll that d6 because the wording on that is phase.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Huntsville, AL

Beginning of the turn is the movement phase. Think you are alone your interpretation MJT.

Also models cannot roll dice. The player is still rolling the dice therefore an ability that belongs to a unit is rerollable.
   
Made in us
Shepherd





I don't iunderstand the infatuation with the stormlord.. I keep seein him in tons of lists that don't have the solar pulse. I spose it may be good in a list that uses tons of scarabs but otherwise I don't see the appeal.

The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MJT - there's no distinction between the start of the turn and the start of the movement phase.

The ability belongs to the army, not the unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Huntsville, AL

I like the storm lord because he reminds me of the old rouge trader tournament missions where each army got hit by orbital bombardment before the game started ... only I dont have to cringe while my opponent rolls dice =)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: