Switch Theme:

Vehicles turning for extra movement...legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




TX, US

Lately I have seen players turning their vehicles sideways before their movement begins, move "forward" their full distance, then turn their vehicles facing forward again at the end of movement, giving them an extra 1 to 2 inches of movement depending on hull size. It has happened to me a few times allowing tanks that may have been out of firing distance to suddenly be able to hit my units.

Reading from the little book, it says that "pivoting alone on the spot does not count as moving", but this just seems like gaming the rules for advantage. So is this tactic legal?

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

davidgr33n wrote:Reading from the little book, it says that "pivoting alone on the spot does not count as moving", but this just seems like gaming the rules for advantage. So is this tactic legal?
Using Eternal Warrior to ignore Instant Death seems like gaming the rules for advantage when I play Tyranids.

It is legal. (Though it can be done wrong)

Shoot them while they are sideways.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/15 04:14:25


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




TX, US

Yes, but "Eternal Warrior" usr deals specifically to counter the Instant Death rule. To me, turning the vehicle to make a vehicle that is only supposed to move 12" and then gets nearly 15" from its move is like putting a modified turret that is 4" long on my Predator because I can...

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

davidgr33n wrote:Yes, but "Eternal Warrior" usr deals specifically to counter the Instant Death rule. To me, turning the vehicle to make a vehicle that is only supposed to move 12" and then gets nearly 15" from its move is like putting a modified turret that is 4" long on my Predator because I can...

I was making a silly point.

The rules you stated are [just as] clear, if somewhat mis-applied.

In simple states, it is perfectly acceptable to make a blatant example of a deploy sideways then turn fire. That will have bonus range without moving.
Nothing can possible say otherwise, but modeling.

Do that after moving. Or before. I forget, but it really doesn't matter.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/15 04:52:54


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Perfectly legal and very common. Just remember to take it into account when you deploy or during your own turn in games. If you expect and plan for it, it doesn't have a massive impact.
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Lately I have seen players turning their vehicles sideways before their movement begins, move "forward" their full distance, then turn their vehicles facing forward again at the end of movement, giving them an extra 1 to 2 inches of movement depending on hull size

This needs more explanation. What everyone above is referring to is pivoting to face a different directing, and then moving 12" in that direction, and the front of your vehicle is 13-13.5 inches in that direction closer to the opponent than at the start of the turn. Perfectly legal.

You're describing something odder, I think. Are they really pivoting back to the original position? Because if you pivot, move 12", and pivot back, you haven't gained any additional move. If they do, they are doing it incorrectly to gain an unfair advantage.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Pasadena

Completely 100 percent legal. People do it all the time and it is well within the raw and is accepted.

Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato

 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Did BoLS spawn this thread?

http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2012/02/bols-academy-9-vehicle-shenanigans.html

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Its simple... front of hull to front of hull cannot exceed the movement distance, as per page 12. If they move that Razorback more than 6", can't fire. Too bad, so sad.

If you look at page 57 it also says that pivoting ALONE does not count as movement.... any other movement IS movement and cannot exceed the combat speed to still fire and cannot exceed maximum movement.

RAW and RAI. I've stuck to my guns on this, and so far, I reminder and quick "please, look at pages 12 and 57, and tell me how you can do that" is all its ever taken. Every still plays me, but they know they can't fudge movement on me. I don't make people measure every model, but I don't let them cheat me either.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Mississippi

I just allow it most of the time just to avoid the argument it brings, but no, it's not a legal move as the model exceeds its movement value.

Yep it sucks but people will never give up on it. Just plan on it being used and plan accordingly.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Lobukia wrote:Its simple... front of hull to front of hull cannot exceed the movement distance, as per page 12.


It does not say this at all. It shows you that you should measure from the hull to the hull, not from the front to the back.

Lobukia wrote: If they move that Razorback more than 6", can't fire. Too bad, so sad.


How about back of the hull to back of the hull? There is no "right" way to measure. You can measure from the front of the hull or the back of the hull. But if I am sideways and I pivot, and then I measure from the back of the hull, I am going to be "cheating" as you put it. Even more common, is measuring from the center of the vehicle (where you pivot). If you do it there, it is also legal.

By your logic, if I measure from the back of the hull, I can start sideways, then move up 12", then pivot, and since the back of my tank is about 2-3" behind where I originally moved, I can continue to move, since where I measured from is not 12" away, exactly.

The point is, this tactic is legal. It is not cheating in any way, shape or form. It leaves a sour taste in some peoples' mouths, but it is legal.

Edit: The easiest method is to measure from the center. It is universal (give or take a micrometer) and illustrates why this tactic works. If you're looking for specifics, check out page 56. It simply says "measure to and from the hull." Nothing about back, middle, side or front. You measure from where you measure. If you measure from the front, it looks like you gain ground. If you measure from the back, it looks like you lose ground. If you measure from the middle, everything works out.


This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/02/15 06:14:48


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





1-2 inches is nothing. Try doing this with a ghost ark.

The ghost ark is about 8-10 inches long on a 2 inch base somewhere in the middle.

Lets say it's facing forward 12" from an enemy unit. If I measure from the tip of the hull 6" then PLACE THE MODEL SIDEWAYS, then rotate it to face forward. From the starting point of the tip of the hull to the ending point of the tip of the hull, it will have probably moved 10 inches.

I would not do this because from the start of the move to the end of the move, the hull moved 10". If I'm moving it the full 12", at the end of my move it will probably have moved 16". It's obviously cheating.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

I re-read BRB p12 and p57. I don't see this as cheating. I would be willing to hear more about it, but to call this cheating vs RAW seems like assumptions are being made.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nemesor Dave wrote:1-2 inches is nothing. Try doing this with a ghost ark.

The ghost ark is about 8-10 inches long on a 2 inch base somewhere in the middle.

Lets say it's facing forward 12" from an enemy unit. If I measure from the tip of the hull 6" then PLACE THE MODEL SIDEWAYS, then rotate it to face forward. From the starting point of the tip of the hull to the ending point of the tip of the hull, it will have probably moved 10 inches.

I would not do this because from the start of the move to the end of the move, the hull moved 10". If I'm moving it the full 12", at the end of my move it will probably have moved 16". It's obviously cheating.


How so?

1) The ghost ark deployed sideways -- Nothing wrong with that
2) You pivot on the spot to face forward -- Rules say that pivoting does not count as moving...nothing wrong with that.
3) You move 12" forward measuring hull-to-hull -- Nothing wrong with that.

I don't see how the above violates any rules in the book.

And really all you've done is move your giant bunker closer to the enemy and putting you well within melta range of mech troops or very close to assault troops. Sure you "gained" movement, but you're you're risking your 115 point repair bunker.

Pros and Cons here. Pros and Cons.
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Nungunz wrote:
Nemesor Dave wrote:1-2 inches is nothing. Try doing this with a ghost ark.

The ghost ark is about 8-10 inches long on a 2 inch base somewhere in the middle.

Lets say it's facing forward 12" from an enemy unit. If I measure from the tip of the hull 6" then PLACE THE MODEL SIDEWAYS, then rotate it to face forward. From the starting point of the tip of the hull to the ending point of the tip of the hull, it will have probably moved 10 inches.

I would not do this because from the start of the move to the end of the move, the hull moved 10". If I'm moving it the full 12", at the end of my move it will probably have moved 16". It's obviously cheating.


How so?

1) The ghost ark deployed sideways -- Nothing wrong with that
2) You pivot on the spot to face forward -- Rules say that pivoting does not count as moving...nothing wrong with that.
3) You move 12" forward measuring hull-to-hull -- Nothing wrong with that.

I don't see how the above violates any rules in the book.

And really all you've done is move your giant bunker closer to the enemy and putting you well within melta range of mech troops or very close to assault troops. Sure you "gained" movement, but you're you're risking your 115 point repair bunker.

Pros and Cons here. Pros and Cons.


You're not seeing it.

1) I deploy sideways.
2) I free rotate forward, gaining 4 inches.
3) I move 6" and place the model perpendicular, sideways. Tip of hull to forward facing side of hull is correctly only 6".
4) I free rotate forward gaining 4 inches. Tip of hull start to tip of hull finish is 10".
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Nemesor, that doesn't make any sense, unless you're moving the model as you pivot.
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





MasterSlowPoke wrote:Nemesor, that doesn't make any sense, unless you're moving the model as you pivot.


The Ghost Ark is long and narrow with the pivot point in the middle. I don't have my base glued on, so I don't even have to lift it up to spin the model on the base. No way does it move while pivoting. It's the same as a land speeder without the base glued on. You can spin the model on the base.

Perhaps someone else can better explain the whole gain distance while moving.





   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Entirely legal, and entirely known about since 3rd ed. 1998. 14 years.

It is a necessary consequence of the simplified vehicle rules, and the studio are fully aware of it.

So no, ND, it is not "obviously" cheating - it isnt cheating at all. You are talking displacement, not movement. The rules care about movement 99.9% of the time, and only care aboutdisplacement when they explicitly state so - e.g. turboboost and hitting vehicles in CC
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

ND, I wasted my time building this diagram to show how your steps don't work:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/15 09:12:26


 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





nosferatu1001 wrote:Entirely legal, and entirely known about since 3rd ed. 1998. 14 years.

It is a necessary consequence of the simplified vehicle rules, and the studio are fully aware of it.

So no, ND, it is not "obviously" cheating - it isnt cheating at all. You are talking displacement, not movement. The rules care about movement 99.9% of the time, and only care aboutdisplacement when they explicitly state so - e.g. turboboost and hitting vehicles in CC


You can pivot while you move any number of times, which makes this seem legal. However, if you measure the starting most forward point against the ending most forward point in this case you've clearely moved beyond your allowed move.

Legal to turn. Legal to measure 12" from front of hull to side of hull place model turned. Legal to turn again. Starting most forward point of hull, to ending most forward point of hull being 16" is not legal. They are making legal moves to result in an illegal result.
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive

Read As Written it is legal.

But anyone that does this smells of desperation...
In friendly games, its sad.
In tournaments.... well so be it, but getting points deducted for sportsmanship.

"Everyone does it so its ok?" that logic is why the world is awful...

As for how much extra distance is moved *assuming we pivot from center of model.

Then the total extra distance is exactly 50% of vehicle's length.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/15 09:33:28


Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





rainbow dashing to your side

this is a legit tactic, just ask dash who use's it for his raider rush

my little space marine army, now 20% cooler http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/424613.page
school league:
round 1 2011 W/2 L/1 D/0 round 1 2012 : W/2 L/1 D/0
round 2 2011 W/3 L/0 D/0 round 2 2012 W/3 L/0 D/0
round 3 2011: W/2 L/0 D/1 round 3 2012 W/4 L/0 D/0
school league champions 2011
school league champions 2012
"best painted army, warhammer invasion 2012/2013  
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

Nemesor Dave wrote:However, if you measure the starting most forward point against the ending most forward point in this case you've clearely moved beyond your allowed move.

This is the assumption I was referring to earlier. Please find me the rule that says movement is measured from most forward point to most forward point. It's not.

Since pivoting does not reduce distance moved, I believe the PRO position has made the (logical) inference that it is measured from model center to model center. More specifically, it is a measure of any and all forward or backwards movement on the part of the model, with an unlimited number of pivots that do not change the model's central point location.

This is part of the reason that a particularly evil RAW opponent can point and laugh when you deploy with one of your side armor edges flush with a table edge. You can never turn that vehicle.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Here you go MasterSlowPoke.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
foolishmortal wrote:
Nemesor Dave wrote:However, if you measure the starting most forward point against the ending most forward point in this case you've clearely moved beyond your allowed move.

This is the assumption I was referring to earlier. Please find me the rule that says movement is measured from most forward point to most forward point. It's not.

Since pivoting does not reduce distance moved, I believe the PRO position has made the (logical) inference that it is measured from model center to model center. More specifically, it is a measure of any and all forward or backwards movement on the part of the model, with an unlimited number of pivots that do not change the model's central point location.

This is part of the reason that a particularly evil RAW opponent can point and laugh when you deploy with one of your side armor edges flush with a table edge. You can never turn that vehicle.


You don't have to deploy sideways even. You can deploy forward, measure, move and place sideways, pivot forward. There is no downside.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/02/15 09:47:20


 
   
Made in pl
Screaming Shining Spear




NeoGliwice III

LunaHound wrote:As for how much extra distance is moved *assuming we pivot from center of model.

Then the total extra distance is exactly 50% of vehicle's length.

Actually it's half length minus half width.

Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

It looks to me like you are doing it wrong in step 2+3. You cannot move the model sideways or pivot it while you are moving. You must stop, pivot, move, stop, pivot, move, etc

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





foolishmortal wrote:It looks to me like you are doing it wrong in step 2+3. You cannot move the model sideways or pivot it while you are moving. You must stop, pivot, move, stop, pivot, move, etc


For the sake of this, step 1 is unnecessary. If you can't pivot while moving, this is not a legal move.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

Macok wrote:Actually it's half length minus half width.

Math FTW, it's like a super-power


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, you do have to be careful to pivot at the center of the vehicle. In the diagrams posted above, it looks like the pivot point is off center.

I agree that many people are sloppy and careless in their movement of vehicles, especially in casual games, but you are looking at the wrong thing. If this is still not clear tomorrow, I will generate some pretty pictures.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/15 10:06:12


"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I don't know. Sounds pretty cheesy to me
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ND - "You can pivot while you move any number of times, which makes this seem legal. However, if you measure the starting most forward point against the ending most forward point in this case you've clearely moved beyond your allowed move. "

So, youre breaking the rules by changing where you are measuring from, and claim that by thus breaking the rules you can show how someone else has broken the rules?

Wrong.

This has been legal since 1998.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: