Switch Theme:

Shrike + Assault Terminators = 1st Turn Assault?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Shrike + Assault Terminators = 1st Turn Assault?
Yes, they can 1st turn assault
No, They cannot

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver







If Shrike uses his ability to infiltrate one squad on Assault Terminators that leaves them 18 inches from the enemy(unless you can get them out of sight). If the terminators move their 6 inches forward, then Shrike is no longer part of the squad and can use his jump pack, correct?

If he then lands within 2 inches of the Terminators, Shrike will rejoin the unit, and will be 9 inches from the enemy. If the unit can roll at least 3 inches on the fleet of foot roll then they can initiate an assault, correct?
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Firstly, you have to start MORE than 18" away from the enemy.

Secondly, Shrike has to be the one who moves away from the unit he's attatched to, not the other way around.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

No, it is an illegal move. Basically, it doesn't matter if he leaves the squad or not. What matters is where he ends up at the end of the Movement phase. So if he starts off with the squad at the beginning of the phase and at the end of the Movement phase, he is still with the squad after performing the movement you described, then that unit has just illegally moved 8".

If you want a first turn assault with Shrike, join him to a unit of Assault marines (or jump pack vanguards) and infiltrate the unit. You can also 1st turn assault with cc-scouts. Infiltrate them and then scout move them for the 1st turn assault.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/19 17:54:11



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

Madness! wrote:If the terminators move their 6 inches forward, then Shrike is no longer part of the squad and can use his jump pack, correct?

This is incorrect. Shrike is still considered a part of the unit until the end of the Movement Phase. So, RAW he can only move 6".

A lot of people do not play it this way (myself included). Most people will let you move Shrike out of the unit using his full movement of 12", or so I've been led to believe.

Edit: Using that extra movement that some people might give you to pull this off, I believe, would be in bad form.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/19 19:02:44


“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




West Midlands (UK)

No. For the reasons already given.

To leave a unit, an IC (such as Shrike) needs to be out of coherency at the end of the movement phase. If he starts and ends the movement phase in coherency with the unit, he hasn't left it and needs to follow the movement rules of the unit.

   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

You could possibly pull it off with a land raider deployed sideways, that moves foward the 12, gains the extra 2 from pivoting, and then fleets 6, for 20 inches, then can move up to 26 in one turn.

But because deployment states you must be more than 18' away from the enemy, you can't pull the shrike trick unless they could gain scout movement as well some how.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




With Shrike Assault Marines get 12" move + d6" Fleet + 6" Assault. So they have no problem getting a turn 1 assault when infiltrated to 18.00000001" away from enemy.

Scouts can infiltrate to 12.00001" away if they are out of sight. Then 6" move + d6" Fleet + 6" will get them in as well.

Edit: Unless you were only talking about the OP's Terminator assault?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/19 19:19:38


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Terminators could infiltrate 12" out of LoS then move run Nd assault on the first turn. Not as easy as an assault squad, but possible.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Yes you could try to infiltrate out of the enemies LOS and the trick could work, but only then.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw





Jacksonville, FL

And the fact that it is so hard to infiltrate 12" out of sight is what is stopping me from trying that in my Raven Guard army.

5,000 points of Tau
2,000 points of Space Wolves
1,000 points of Raven Guard
Almost none of which is painted. 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver







Ok, so no can do then...
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

kmdl1066 wrote:With Shrike Assault Marines get 12" move + d6" Fleet + 6" Assault. So they have no problem getting a turn 1 assault when infiltrated to 18.00000001" away from enemy.

Scouts can infiltrate to 12.00001" away if they are out of sight. Then 6" move + d6" Fleet + 6" will get them in as well.

Edit: Unless you were only talking about the OP's Terminator assault?


This seems like you can't... as 18 is not 18.00000001, so not able to assault. In short, since the rule saying you must be more than 18 away, means it is impossible to get a result of more than 18 by taking 6+6+6.

Now being 12 away and in cover, yeah that can be done.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/22 04:50:03


DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I think you missed that the example put forth by kmdl1066 was Shrike + Assault Marines.

You are correct that 6" (move) + 6" (Run) + 6" (assault) cannot exceed the 18+ inches, but Assault Marines + Shrike goes like this; 12" (move) + 6" (Run) + 6" (assault).

PS. All Run rolls are assumed to roll max.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




West Midlands (UK)

I think the more important aspect is that no IC (Shrike or otherwise) can both leave and enter a unit in the same movement phase. If he's with the unit both at start and finish, he will have to be moved like any other (non-IC) member of that same unit. If his movement does not comply with that (say Shrike going 9" while part of a non-Jump Infantry-unit), the movement is simply illegal.

The IC only "officially" leaves the unit by virtue of being out of coherency at the end of the movement phase. Though by "anticipating" to leave the unit, you can employ Shrike's greater movement potential as long as you don't retrospectively make the move illegal by ending up, again, in unit coherency. And if Shrike left the unit (out of coherency at the end of the movement phase), he'll not be part of the unit for the following shooting and assault phase.

   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






juraigamer wrote:You could possibly pull it off with a land raider deployed sideways, that moves foward the 12, gains the extra 2 from pivoting, and then fleets 6, for 20 inches, then can move up to 26 in one turn.

But because deployment states you must be more than 18' away from the enemy, you can't pull the shrike trick unless they could gain scout movement as well some how.


Your math is wrong. ~2" from pivot + 12" move +~3"(more than)from disembark +6" from a good run = 23" move, that you can then add a 6" assault move for 29" total

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator







It seems like one of the best chances for Shrike+Termies to get a first turn assault is to play second, infiltrate, and then try to anticipate enemy movement and let them move within assault range for you (assuming that the squad doesn't get wiped out from incoming fire, of course). Disclaimer: I've never tested this strategy out in actual battle, so no guarantees.

Sanguine Fist Lion's Claw

Gitsplitta wrote:Yes, please note that the arrival of the cat coincided with my complete failure militarily. Cats not only suck the breath out of little babies, they sucked the life out of my counter attack!
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Or Infiltrate them out of LoS of your opponent. I've been unsuccessful finding terrain that'll let me do that recently though. (with Genestealers, but same difference)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Damnit... I got caught by this maneuver and blithely assumed my opponent knew what he was doing :(

Never again!

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: