Switch Theme:

Doom Scythe - a few questions about the Death Ray  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Mandragora, Eastern Fringe

This came up in a game versus an Eldar player. I flew my doom scythe on 36" and then fired the Death Ray, dropping the first dot on the hull of a fire prism and then put the second point 13" away across the hull of a wave serpent, well out of the initial 12" range of the weapon. We weren't sure if the second point could be dropped outside of the weapons range. Neither the codex, nor the most recent FAQ clarify the matter to my knowledge. Perhaps I've missed something?

Sautekh Dynasty 5000 pts
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





12" is range of the initial, the line template is 3d6" long. Would be silly to make it 3d6" then have it limited to 12"
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

The 12" range is only for the initial firing point the end point can be up to 18" out of the 12" range.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in gb
Numberless Necron Warrior




It states pick a point within 3D6" of the initial firing point. Pretty clear to me.

Necrons: 2200 Points
Orks: 3000 Points
Space Marines: 165 Points

W-L-D (Necron Primary)
26-10-3 (67% Win Rate, 74% Win/Draw Rate) 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Yup, the second 'dot' does not have a given range other than 3d6 inches from the first and therefore can be up to 18 inches away from the initial targetted area if you roll well enough.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Sorry to Hijack the thread, buts its relevant.

Does the weapon have a limited 45 deg arc.?

Does “the line of death” need to be in that arc if so?

Can you nominate the first point "on" a vehicle or does it need to be on the table? Ie. battlefield
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

I think the precise phrase here is:

"anywhere within the weapon's range."

And since the codex (more specific) trumps the BRB (more general), that means:

It is not limited to the 45 deg arc because "anywhere" supercedes the more limited "45 deg arc".

The "line" does not need to be in that arc.

The point can be on a vehicle because "anywhere" does not restrict it to only being placed on open space on the table (battlefield).


Hope that helps.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




The 1st point would have to be in the weapon's arc. The 2nd point has its own rules.
And yes you can choose the points to be over the vehicle.
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

I happen to agree with jy2's interpretation and I'm glad this has come up. I need to bring this to a T.O's attention for our next GT so will be following this thread closely.

The phrase, for precisions sake, is:

"To fire the death ray, nominate a point on the battlefield anywhere within the weapon's range, then nominate a second point within3D6" of the first. Then draw a straight line between the 2 points."

The inclusion of "anywhere" really does mean you don't need to have LoS.

My 2 cents anyway.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Just remember you can't kill what you can't see.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I assume that when a vehicle is struck by the line it assumed to be coming from the model. Even though the line my be striking it in the side? Same goes for cover saves?
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

does it have to be a straight line?

Or can it be a curvy wonderful line of death ?

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

It's generally assumed to be a straight line but I guess it could be a curved line or anything that is considered to be a line. Though trying to do what you suggested could have people come over the table at you.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Mandragora, Eastern Fringe

Bloodhorror wrote:does it have to be a straight line?

Or can it be a curvy wonderful line of death ?


It has to be a straight line.

Sautekh Dynasty 5000 pts
 
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

any rules to prove it?

I don't have the codex, and i'm planning ahead for when someone tries it on me...

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Bloodhorror wrote:any rules to prove it?

I don't have the codex, and i'm planning ahead for when someone tries it on me...


Yes, in the codex under death ray on page 50.
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Bloodhorror wrote:any rules to prove it?

I don't have the codex, and i'm planning ahead for when someone tries it on me...


By the strictest of geometry definitions, a line connects two points on a plane by the shortest distance possible (ergo straight). Anything curved is not a line, but is considered a curve or an arc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/08 18:33:59


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Green is Best! wrote:
Bloodhorror wrote:any rules to prove it?

I don't have the codex, and i'm planning ahead for when someone tries it on me...


By the strictest of geometry definitions, a line connects two points on a plane by the shortest distance possible (ergo straight). Anything curved is not a line, but is considered a curve or an arc.


So if someone draws a sideways S do I say - "Hey looked at that curved...."
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Kevin949 wrote:So if someone draws a sideways S do I say - "Hey looked at that curved...."


Call it whatever you want.

If you call it a "line" in geometry class, you will get an F. Lines are straight, infinitely long, and infinitely thin. (Wow, would Mr. Donnelly be proud I am recalling this crap). GW has defined the death ray as a line between two points which is 1mm thick. (and to be technical, I believe in this case it would be a line segment. someone else is going to have to help me out here).

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Green is Best! wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:So if someone draws a sideways S do I say - "Hey looked at that curved...."


Call it whatever you want.

If you call it a "line" in geometry class, you will get an F. Lines are straight, infinitely long, and infinitely thin. (Wow, would Mr. Donnelly be proud I am recalling this crap). GW has defined the death ray as a line between two points which is 1mm thick. (and to be technical, I believe in this case it would be a line segment. someone else is going to have to help me out here).


I wasn't saying you were wrong, I was asking. *Shrug*

Either way, it's defined in the codex as well.
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Sorry. Re-read my post and it did come across as a bit mean. I assure you I didn't mean it that way.

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Green is Best! wrote:Sorry. Re-read my post and it did come across as a bit mean. I assure you I didn't mean it that way.


No worries. Funny thing is, it would simply be a "curved line". Though yes, the default of "line" is "straight".
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Mandragora, Eastern Fringe

Camarodragon wrote:I assume that when a vehicle is struck by the line it assumed to be coming from the model. Even though the line my be striking it in the side? Same goes for cover saves?


I love to know the answer to these questions as well

Sautekh Dynasty 5000 pts
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





To continue on with this thread then.......

I had a bad game last time where I unfortunatly had 3 bal preds lines up side to side when this thing raped all 3 of them. 2 of them from the Death ray and the Telsa finishing off the 3rd.

I know that the tesla can target any of the 3 but i think we went about the wrong order of doing things though. We determined the results of the death ray first (2 explosions) and then shot the tesla at the remaining tank and Hull pointed it out. I think we should have determened the line hits first and before rolling damage my opponent should have picked a target for the tesla as all shooting is at the same time. Correct? Possibly the one may have survived if he had choosen one that was about to blow up.

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Correct, all shooting happens at the same time (per unit) so he had to have declared a target for all weapons before rolling hits and pens. Or possibly just before armour pen rolls (I'm not talking about the RESULT rolls).
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Kevin949 wrote:
Green is Best! wrote:Sorry. Re-read my post and it did come across as a bit mean. I assure you I didn't mean it that way.


No worries. Funny thing is, it would simply be a "curved line". Though yes, the default of "line" is "straight".


A line is straight. An arc is curved. Simple geometry.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Dozer Blades wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:
Green is Best! wrote:Sorry. Re-read my post and it did come across as a bit mean. I assure you I didn't mean it that way.


No worries. Funny thing is, it would simply be a "curved line". Though yes, the default of "line" is "straight".


A line is straight. An arc is curved. Simple geometry.


That wasn't the point though.
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Mandragora, Eastern Fringe

Camarodragon wrote:To continue on with this thread then.......

I had a bad game last time where I unfortunatly had 3 bal preds lines up side to side when this thing raped all 3 of them. 2 of them from the Death ray and the Telsa finishing off the 3rd.

I know that the tesla can target any of the 3 but i think we went about the wrong order of doing things though. We determined the results of the death ray first (2 explosions) and then shot the tesla at the remaining tank and Hull pointed it out. I think we should have determened the line hits first and before rolling damage my opponent should have picked a target for the tesla as all shooting is at the same time. Correct? Possibly the one may have survived if he had choosen one that was about to blow up.



I felt really bad about that one to be honest. You're very much in the right. One might have survived. No hard feelings

Sautekh Dynasty 5000 pts
 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




Help! Its dark and I can smell...mmm...bacon

Now I am assuming yes, but does it hit fliers?

They Keep Getting Back UP  
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

Dragoon65 wrote:Now I am assuming yes, but does it hit fliers?


It's a 1mm template, I believe?

Now that they've added actual beam weapons, and said they use 1mm templates...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Camarodragon wrote:To continue on with this thread then.......

I had a bad game last time where I unfortunatly had 3 bal preds lines up side to side when this thing raped all 3 of them. 2 of them from the Death ray and the Telsa finishing off the 3rd.

I know that the tesla can target any of the 3 but i think we went about the wrong order of doing things though. We determined the results of the death ray first (2 explosions) and then shot the tesla at the remaining tank and Hull pointed it out. I think we should have determened the line hits first and before rolling damage my opponent should have picked a target for the tesla as all shooting is at the same time. Correct? Possibly the one may have survived if he had choosen one that was about to blow up.



I'm pretty sure he's supposed to declare first, but you should probably have had whichever tank was hit by the beam first be the primary target.

My 2c, at least.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/10 07:55:23


 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: